BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

Ultimate Nutrition, Inc.

Phone: (860) 409-7100 Fax: (860) 409-7388 PO Box 643, Farmington, CT 06034 http://www.ultimatenutrition.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers health and diet food supplements.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ultimate Nutrition, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ultimate Nutrition, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 19, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated: 11/30/1988 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian M. Rubino, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian M. Rubino, Vice President
Business Category

Health & Wellness Vitamins & Food Supplements


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 643

    Farmington, CT 06034

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought 1 bottle of *** ****** ******. This product was clumpy and clotting and appeared to be wet and substance like glue.I have bought this product multiple times and other items from this company and the item appeared to be ok. I called ULTIMATE NUTRITION customer service and I was hung up on multiple times and also was spoke to very rudely. I then spoke to a ****** ****** I believe who needed information from the bottle i gave him every information he needed and i have pictures of the botttle. After weeks of waiting results for this aforementioned product ****** told me they searched the serial number and found no clotting issues. They basically said I lied. I have a witness with me when they saw the clotting. All im asking for is a replacement bottle and this company tells a good paying customer that im lying? it was 99$ that is alot of money for someone who buys this product numerous times. what happened to customer is right attitude.

Desired Settlement: I just want one replacement bottle of *** **** ****** ******. One bottle will not bankrupt the company. I do not want money or anything else just a simple replacement.

Business Response:

 

Complaint ID#:

********

Company Name:

Ultimate Nutrition, Inc

Company Contact Name:

****** ******

Company Contact Phone:

###-###-####

Company Contact Email:

*****************************

Consumer's Name:

******* *****

BBB Staff Member (if you know):

**No Response**

Complaint Information:

Better Business Bureau, Inc. ** ***** ******** *** ************ *** ***** Date: July 16th, 2014 Re: Customer product complaint Dear ******* ****, *** ***** contacted our company via email on May 23rd, 2014 at 2:21 PM. Based on our records, our customer service representative, ****** ****** replied to this gentleman’s request on May 23rd, 2014 at 2:53 PM. ****** ****** asked *** ***** for pictures of the product and all relevant lot information so our Quality Department could conduct a thorough investigation. This information was provided by *** ***** on May 27th, 2014 at 9:16 AM. *** ***** sent an email on June 5th, 2014 at 2:09 AM requesting an update of our investigation. ****** ****** responded to *** ***** at 8:00 AM June 5th, 2014 letting him know he has not received the results of our Quality Department’s investigation and that he would follow up and alert *** ***** as soon as the investigation was resolved. On June 20th, 2014 Marc Hudson received the results of our Quality Department’s investigation which was quickly forwarded to *** *****. The identical retention sample of *** *****’ product was examined by our lab and other applicable quality control employees. The condition of the bottle and the powder were examined closely. There were no hardened clumps or granules found in the powder. The powder was soft and fluffy in texture and condition. There were a few clumps, but they broke down very easily and the powder still mixed well in water as it’s supposed to. This product has a very complex formula and an active ingredient in this product is oil based pre-blend. Oils do have the ability to attract other ingredients just as flour would clump together with a water mixture. Based on our findings, we decided that there was nothing wrong with *** *****’ product. We are a manufacturer of products and consumers usually buy our products from other retailers or in this case, the product was purchased at a trade show. Once our products leave our establishment, it is out of our control how other retailers, gyms, etc. store and distribute our products. This is why we ask customer’s who have any discrepancy to please contact whomever they bought our product from to resolve any issues. We’re sorry to hear a long standing customer is dissatisfied with our decision but we feel as though our investigation was nothing but professional and justified. Respectfully, *** ***** Executive Vice President Quality, Regulatory & Safety

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

******* *****

 

Be that as it may just because you checked the aforementioned "powder" it is not the same exact powder that I had. I have witnesses who saw it and your corporation basically called me a liar. I want a reason as a company cannot afford 97$ to someone who used to purchase your products at all times.  And even though i did not purchase the product directly from you this is still your product and it was still brand new. Hudson stated to me i could still be compensated a bottle just not monatary value. Which is fine i do not want money just a replacement bottle. I figured this is better than court action or  Media attention. I just want whats lawfully just for the the people. Thank you. Just one simple replacement bottle . And the company stated there were clumps but crumbled...my clumps did not crumble!

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 4 containers of "Muscle Juice 2544" approximately 14-16 months ago and two of these containers have developed a strong, pungent odor. One of the odorous containers was opened a few months ago and developed the odor, then I opened a second container to find the same. All of the containers are within the marked shelf life indicated on the bottom of March, 2014. I have sent photos, usage details, storage details, and a problem description to Ultimate Nutrition and they refuse to assist in any way. Product_Or_Service: Muscle Juice 2544

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I expect a refund.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/06) */ Customer contacted us on July 14th stating he wanted to return a product. On July 15th our customer service responded and said. We regret to hear about your experience with our product. We suggest returns/exchanges be taken up with whatever retailer that you bought the product from. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/08/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) The product is defective. I am unable to return it to the retailer. The manufacturer is ultimately responsible for its products and should provide a refund or replacement. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/08/09) */ All product returns, exchanges must be done with the retailer from where the product was purchased from. Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/08/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't keep records of sales receipts for over 12 months and therefore am unable to go throught the retailer. The manufacturer should stand behind its product regardless of the distribution channel.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

3/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After purchasing a vanilla Protein Isolate from Ultimate Nutrition I was not happy with the horrible taste and the fact that it did not mix good at all. I no longer had the receipt from my purchase so I contacted the manufacturer directly by email...I even went as far as to provide them with the serial number, lot number, and manufacture date of the product. The first employee I had communication with was a Jon Leoni who gave the typical "script" responses that customer service reps are told to. After a few emails with him got me no where I asked for his supervisor..he provided me with the contact information for Julie Brown. I emailed Julie and got basically the same response. They both went on to lecture me that their product is superior to others and that cause it is made from wheat that is "may not mix well". In the end I wanted a refund or a credit directly from them that I could use on their website and Julie closed the door on that and pretty much told me to get lost. This is the worst customer service I have ever experienced..I have been a loyal customer of their products for years now..well no more! Additionally, I have told numerous people about this and they have agreed to stop using their products. Product_Or_Service: Vanilla Protein Isolate Powder

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want a refund for the amount of the product or at the very least a significant credit that can be used on their online store. This credit will have to be higher than the original products cost to offset ALL of the time and hassle I have gone through in dealing with their poor service.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/07) */ Our customer service department responded within 1 day to this gentlemen's inquiry. He wondered if something was wrong with the quality of the product. Our quality department pulled our retain sample of the batch in question and determined the prdouct met all our quality specs. customer then asked for a refund and was told that all refunds/exchanges for non-quality issues must be done at the place of purchase. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/03/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) The response by Ultimate Nutrition is unacceptable! They have offered absolutely nothing. The simple fact remains that if their product met all of their quality inspections such as they claim, then I would not have encountered any problems with it. Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/03/12) */ If the customer is unhappy with the product we encourage him to return it to wherever he bought it from. Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/03/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Ultimate Nutrition is well aware that I can not return it to where I purchased the product from as I did not save the receipt...again, they are aware of this as it was clearly indicated in the emails we exchanged. They are making false claims about their products (the only protein made from wheat) and failing to stand behind their product. I have contacted one of the local television stations and they are going to look into doing a story on the poor customer service from Ultimate Nutrition (apparently I am not the only one that has experienced issues with them, though I do not know the details of the other problems...yet). Again, to summarize what has gone here...Ultimate Nutrition sold me an inferior or defective product and they are not willing to stand behind it by offering a refund or credit of any sort. During the process of our communication they have made false statements in regards to their products' production process. Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/03/15) */ Again, if the customer is unhappy with the product he purchased he should return it or exchange it from whereever he purchased it from.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1