BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Greenwich Handyman, Inc. offers handyman services, including carpentry, drywall, deck repair, electrical, HVAC, plumbing and general home improvements.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Greenwich Handyman, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Greenwich Handyman, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Greenwich Handyman, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 02, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2008 Business started locally: 01/01/2008 Business incorporated 11/12/2008 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Cassano, Office Manager Mr. Christopher Kendall, Owner Mr. Larry Kendall, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Cassano, Office Manager
Business Category

Handyman Services Hardwood Floor Contractors Property Maintenance Furniture Assembly Services Generators - Maintenance Water Leak Detection Porch Shades Railings Stair Builders Wine Cellars Woodworking Awnings & Canopies Cabinet Refacing Closet Systems & Accessories Countertops Door & Gate Operating Devices Doors - Installation Fence Staining Gates Cabinet Hardware Mirrors Shower Doors & Enclosures Shutters Blinds Landscape Lighting Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Glass - Repair Home Inspection Service Labor Contractors Lighting Fixtures - Repair & Maintenance Locks & Locksmiths Project Management Telephone Equipment & Systems Service & Repair Ventilating Systems - Cleaning Pressure Washing Window Cleaning Windows - Repairing Screen Repair Junk Removal Lights Bulbs & Tubes Moldings Grout Resurfacing & Repair Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing Garage Door Repair Childproofing Services Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Carpenters Caulking Contractors Basement - Finishing Electricians – Residential Demolition Contractors Drywall Contractors Electricians Excavating Contractors Floor Coverings & Installation Floor Coatings - Epoxy/Polyurethane Foundation Contractors Gutter Cleaning Home Improvements Contractor - Insulation Iron Work Mason Contractors Painters - Commercial or Residential Patio & Deck Builders Deck - Repair Sealing - Pavement Plastering Contractors Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Contractors - Framing Siding Contractors Ventilating Contractors Wheel Chair Lifts & Ramps Basement - Remodeling Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Cabinet Refinishers Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Method(s) of Payment

Visa, Mastercard, Discover, American Express, Cash, Check, Online Check


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    440 N Main St

    Port Chester, NY 10573

  • 522 E Putnam Ave Ste 8A

    Greenwich, CT 06830 (203) 618-1234

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/8/2014 I had an appointment for GH to arrive to hang two restoration hardware curtain rods in a small bedroom and re-hang a mirror from one height to the next. Two men arrived and were on location from 7:50am-10:35am to hang 2 curtain rods and rehang a mirror (the mirror took less than 10 minutes). I understand with plaster hanging the rod brackets might be hard but that amount of time seems excessive. I had to take calls from home for work not realizing it would take so long and while they worked I did check in and ask them to come talk to me if any problems. When they finally got the rods up (after the two hours plus to do the brackets) I noted the rods overhang the brackets significantly on one of the windows and Im not sure why that would be. I told them I could not wait for them to fix it since hanging the brackets seem to be what caused all of the time.I didnt expect to be out of work for 2.5 hours for this project. I emailed and called the organization to let them know I was not happy and needed someone to come back and fix the rod. I received an email stating they would resolve asap. I called when I did not hear from them and again was told I'd get a call back. Weeks passed (I subsequently had my neighbor fix the rod which took all of 20 minutes) and I received collection phone calls from the organization. I spoke to multiple different people between May 8 and June 29th when they again called asking for payment. The resolution they proposed was a $50 reduction of a $300 dollar bill. I proposed to pay $150 in total for one hour of work for two men which seems fair to me. I am awaiting a response.

Desired Settlement: I propose to settle for one hour of work (2 men) which the rate they quote is $70/man hour....so $150 in total.

Business Response: I understand why you might think 2 hours is excessive, and if we were installing on sheet rock or masonry walls I would agree.  However, as you mentioned they were being installed on plaster walls.  For various reasons, it can make the installation much more difficult.  Yes, it's true that ***** made a mistake while installing the rods, however, we would have stayed to finish the job correctly if you didn't have to leave.  Again, having to leave for work is totally understandable, but that's the only reason we left without the job being 100% correct.  In addition, the men are supposed to receive payment for the work upon completion.  Before they could review the work and invoice you, however, the men reported that you left, quickly, without saying anything.  The invoice we sent was reviewed and questioned before being sent, and the time was found to be justified.  Originally you requested that we come back out and fix the issue free of charge, which after discussing with the owners we agreed to.  However, when we responded to your email you had already asked your neighbor to complete the job.  We would have appreciated the opportunity to make it right.  We then presented you with the bill for the time we spent there and you dictated that you would only pay for 1 hour of labor.  While we are willing to work with you since you were obviously upset, we cannot offer that deep of a discount (46%).  We're offering $50, you're asking for $150, can we meet in the middle at a $100 discount?

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and accept the offer - HOWEVER I am NOT PLEASED with the customer service of this organization and will never use or recommend them to ANYONE.  I fully disclosed the nature of the walls when making the appointment and I was clear that I am a professional with a job (I'm a partner at an accounting firm) and needed a first thing appointment.  The workers themselves were only scheduled for my job for 30 minutes as I heard them talking by phone to their business about it taking longer than expected.  I waited and took work calls from home for TWO AND A HALF HOURS...I did not want the men to start over when they made a mistake I would have been out of work all day!  Their sloppy service should not be my problem.  I specifically called GH and ***** ******* the minute the workers left to complain and let them know I DID NOT WANT THOSE TWO TO CORRECT THE ISSUE.  Despite REPEATED calls and messages (over months!) the only follow up was to collect the $300 bill.  THERE WAS NEVER ANY follow up from GH to fix the problem-SO THAT IS FALSE.  The men never requested payment - and in my past two times of using GH they never requested payment on demand they always sent a bill so that IS FALSE. 

What perhaps was once a family organization has turned into a 2 bit racket outsourced to god knows who and I would not trust this organization or it's workers again in my home.
Sincerely,

**** *****

FROM GH:  I understand why you might think 2 hours is excessive, and if we were installing on sheet rock or masonry walls I would agree. However, as you mentioned they were being installed on plaster walls. For various reasons, it can make the installation much more difficult. Yes, it's true that ***** made a mistake while installing the rods, however, we would have stayed to finish the job correctly if you didn't have to leave. Again, having to leave for work is totally understandable, but that's the only reason we left without the job being 100% correct. In addition, the men are supposed to receive payment for the work upon completion. Before they could review the work and invoice you, however, the men reported that you left, quickly, without saying anything. The invoice we sent was reviewed and questioned before being sent, and the time was found to be justified. Originally you requested that we come back out and fix the issue free of charge, which after discussing with the owners we agreed to. However, when we responded to your email you had already asked your neighbor to complete the job. We would have appreciated the opportunity to make it right. We then presented you with the bill for the time we spent there and you dictated that you would only pay for 1 hour of labor. While we are willing to work with you since you were obviously upset, we cannot offer that deep of a discount (46%). We're offering $50, you're asking for $150, can we meet in the middle at a $100 discount?v 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Greenwich Handyman, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)