BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Connecticut

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Lillian August Designs, Inc. offers furniture, antiques and interior designer services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lillian August Designs, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lillian August Designs, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 20, 2001 Business started: 12/01/1987 Business started locally: 12/01/1987 Business incorporated: 11/21/1990 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Weiss, C.O.O. Ms. Cyndi Schroeder, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Cyndi Schroeder, Customer Service Manager
Principal: Mr. John Weiss, C.O.O.
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Interior Decorators & Designers Antiques - Dealers Furniture Stores (NAICS: 442110)

Alternate Business Names
Lillian August Warehouse

Additional Locations

  • 181 Marsh Hill Rd

    Orange, CT 06477 (203) 799-0229

  • 32 Knight St

    Norwalk, CT 06851 (203) 847-3314 (203) 847-1596

  • 47 John St

    Stamford, CT 06902

  • 85 Water St

    South Norwalk, CT 06854 (203) 838-0153

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 629-1539(Phone)
  • (203) 838-8026(Phone)
  • (203) 847-1596(Phone)
  • (203) 226-2514 (Fax)
  • (203) 629-1940 (Fax)
  • (203) 852-0527 (Fax)
  • (860) 561-4114 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered furniture worth approx $30k for our living room in October 2013 and were told that it would take 10-12 weeks for in-house delivery. It's almost 18 weeks since the order was placed and there is still no information on when the order will be delivered. *********, the designer who helped us with the order, quit her job almost right after we placed the order. The store never bothered informing us or contacting us on how they planned to handle our account. After making several phone calls and leaving multiple messages in January I found out that a new designer, ******, will be given our project. We never heard back from her after the first phone call, even when she retuned my phone call after 3 weeks (expected delivery time) she had no idea about expected delivery date nor did she seem interested in helping us pick lighting options or accessories to complete the room. Once again we were left at the mercy of the store. Someone named ***** did call a couple of times, first to connect us to ****** and then to another designer, which never happened. When furniture did not arrive at scheduled time ***** said that the vendor is out of the fabric for 2 of our chairs..it took 12 weeks for the store to tell us that...the time when we were expecting our furniture delivery we were told the fabric was unavailable, I can't call this anything other than complete lack of professionalism and careless attitude towards customer service!! We went to Lillan August because we thought it was an established and reliable store but the service so far has been worse than any retail store I have dealth with. No one has any answers on when we will get our furniture. I have dealt with them with utmost patience and decency but I am not getting anywhere with that.

Desired Settlement: After 18 weeks of aggravation and waste of our time we want our furniture NOW and not give Lillian August the callous option of cancelling our order and backing off from their responsibility . we had several options to chose from in the NYC area but we decided to shop at Lillian August

Business Response: Website Complaint Response:

Customer special ordered furniture on 10-26-13. 2 sofas in custom fabric, 2 stools in custom fabric, a cocktail table and end table, a bench in custom fabric, nesting tables, and 2 swivel chairs in custom fabric. As per terms of agreement on invoice- which customer signed (all invoices) special/custom ordered furniture is not subject to cancellation. Customer paid a 50% deposit as required. We have been trying to deliver the merchandise to the customer since March, and customer has refused. If the clients desired settlement is as stated we would love to deliver the merchandise.
6/3/2014 10:05:37 AM

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This complaint was made on March 2, 2014 and my understanding was that Lillian August had 2 weeks to respond and 30 days untill complaint would be closed as unresolved. I am surprised to hear back after 3 months!! It's not just a delay in response to the complaint but this is how thier overall attitude has been towards this trasaction - no status updates, no follow up, not even a clue on possible time frame despite numerous attempts to reach the store. Someone just chooses to wake up and respond on thier convenience with no value for customer's time. It has been an extrememly frustrating 8 months. They need to learn to respect thier customers rather than tossing them around and treating them like they are doing them a favor by selling merchandise.  

Sincerely,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a bed from Lillian August with a fabric that never should have been sold as bed upholstery. I had two service technicians out one of whom made the problem exponentially worse. I was then informed by the company that I had damaged the product myself by steaming. The fabric was only damaged after the repair person came to my house. Until that point, it was simply matted down. Now the whole texture of the fabric on a headboard has been ruined by their technician and I'm being told it's my fault. Not only this, but I can't get anyone to return a phone call. This level of service is horrifying considering what they charge for their products. Rather than acknowledge their error, they are blaming the customer.

Desired Settlement: I would like the bed reupholstered in a fabric that will wear reasonably, what they should have sold me in the first place. If this were my fault, I would be more than happy to take the blame. It is incredibly disappointing to see a company trying blame the customer for their faulty product.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/07/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** Mgr Cust s Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX ***** Contact Email: **********@*************.com Customer special ordered a bed with custom fabric on 2-13-13 special orders are not subject to cancellation. Took delivery on 4-11-13 called the next day there was marks in fabric - tech out on 4-26-13 steamed shading /knapp marks customer inspected and accepted as complete. Cust called again on 5-1-13 more marks (this is a velvet type fabric -prown to shading and markings) -cust steamed herself and called thought she made it worse- tech sent our as a courtesy on 6-21-13 he re-steamed fabric.I spoke to customer on 6-26-13 explained we would look into if fabric had any issues - found from vendor there were none - however since she's unhappy offered recovering the bed for her - she will be in to look at fabric. this should be all set

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1