BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Franchise World Headquarters LLC offers Subway franchises.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Franchise World Headquarters LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Franchise World Headquarters LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Franchise World Headquarters LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1976 Business started: 08/28/1965 Business started locally: 08/28/1965 Business incorporated: 02/03/1993 in FL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Peggy McCarthy Ms. Paula Gomez, Customer Care Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Paula Gomez, Customer Care Manager
Principal: Ms. Peggy McCarthy
Business Category

Franchising Restaurants Lessors of Nonfinancial Intangible Assets (except Copyrighted Works) (NAICS: 533110)

Additional Information

All Subway locations are individually owned and operated franchises.

A consumer who has an inquiry or complaint about a specific location should contact that location's owner directly. In the event the issue is not addressed at that location, the consumer may contact the BBB which services that franchise's location.


Additional Locations

  • 325 Bic Dr

    Milford, CT 06461 (203) 877-4281 (203) 877-4281

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 877-4281(Phone)
  • (800) 888-4848(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ******* **** ****************On 6/10/14, 240 points were added to my rewards card cardOn 6/11/14 240 points were removed from my rewards cardOn or about 6/13/14 I contacted the rewards card customer service number listed on the back of the card. They refused to replace the points, stating that it was a "3rd party error".I do not know where these points came from, but I noticed them and made promises ( to buy sandwiches) based on them as I had a reasonable expectation that they were mine to use.

Desired Settlement: I would like these points added to my rewards card, or the equivalent in free sub coupons.

Business Response:

 

Unfortunately **** ******** is not going to add 240 points to the customers card. These points were added by mistake and were deducted after the error was discovered. The customer did not earn the points by purchasing ****** sandwiches and so is not entitled to the points. This is no different than how a bank handles an error on a customer's account. 240 points could be used to purchase Sandwiches which translates into a financial loss for the franchisee since the points were not earned.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 
Business is making no effort to make customer happy.

Sincerely,

**** *******

Business Response: I'm sorry but there is nothing more that can be done. They feel the points weren't yours that you are trying to claim, which they feel is fraudulent. You can't expect something that isn't yours. Had this happened with your bank account the money would have been drawn out as well.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a veggie patty sub from Subway. The patty was undercooked and slimey. I contacted Subway through subway.com. They sent a replacement voucher, which Subway refused to honor. I mailed it back to Doctor's Associates, asking for a refund, but they didn't respond.

Desired Settlement: refund****************************** ****************, MI$5.04

Business Response:

 

From: ***** ***** ********************
To: ******* ******** ***************************** *** ****** *********************
Sent: Wednesday, February 12, 2014 3:54 PM
Subject: RE: Refund

 

Hello Mr. ********,

 

I have spoken to the owner personally today and they are going to send out a preloaded gift card to you. It is good at any Subway with no expiration date.

 

I hope that this will resolve the issue and allow you to visit any Subway at your convenience.

 

Sincerely,

***** *****

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. It only took 3.5 months of me fighting with Subway, but it's finally resolved.

Sincerely,

******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False Advertisement. Charged more at the cash register, than the posted prices of their sandwiches. On Monday, 07-29-2013, shortly after 09:00, I purchased 2 sandwiches from the store manager, ******* ******* at **** ********* ********** CA XXXXX, Store XXXXX. When I looked at the receipt while walking out the door, I noticed I was charged a higher price than what was posted. I walked back in and asked her why that was. She said the prices posted were wrong and that the store was waiting for corporate to send the correct prices. I called Subway's Corporate Office, speaking with **** ****, and was told they would check into it and return my call, which they have not in the last two days. **** **** also said that I should have been charge the posted price until the new prices were posted. I then called California Consumer Affairs, speaking with ******, and she directed me to the California Attorney General's Office, believing this is false advertisement --- posting one price and then charging a higher price at the register. I have taken a picture with my cell phone of the posted prices along with a picture of my receipt showing a higher price. I am wondering how many people they have been doing this to. The dollar amount in dispute was $0.25 more for the sandwich plus tax, which is a small amount that I feel I should not have had to pay, but the greater offense is being charged more than what was actually posted.

Desired Settlement: Due to the overcharge, time and expense spent driving back to the store to take a picture of the posted prices for documenting this claim, and my time lost making calls and filing complaints related to this illegal act, I would like a refund of the $4.34 I was charged.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-5, 8, 2013/08/19) */ Consumer indicated they have heard from the company and the company resolved their complaint

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For sometime now, Subway has advertised on TV their Sub with avocado. Their picture of the sub shows the avocado oozing out of the open face sandwich. They hype the avocado up big in the commercial. A few weeks ago, I bought one of their subs with avocado, because it is one of my favorite foods. A scoop the shape of a small ice cream scoop was used to measure the amount of the avocado used. When spread out on the bread of the sub it is very thin and they charge 50 cents more for the avocado. When eating the sub one would not even notice that there was any avocado at all. I told the person who was making my sub that it was not like the one they advertise on TV and got no response. I then contacted Subway via the Internet. I received a response via the same on 6-12-13, stating "... has been forwarded to the appropriate areas for further review." The next day, I received a telephone call from the restaurant where I bought the sub. I was told that the company has mandated to put only one scoop from the scoop provided. So I emailed the company that it was not the restaurant's problem but theirs. I told them that their advertisement was false and fraudulant and that it should be changed. I have never heard from them again. It is obvious from their response to me, as indicated above, that they plan to do nothing about it. I know that this appears to be a small thing to complain about, but they are making alot of money on this small thing.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Either put more avocado on the subs they sell or change the TV advertisement so as to truthfully show what the buyer gets.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/24) */ All Subway® restaurants are independently owned and operated. I have investigated this complaint and have been informed that the amount of avocado used in the television commercial is the same amount that was directed to be use in the Subway® restaurants. This also conforms with the response that the customer received in the restaurant. In addition, the amounts used in both the commercial and at the Subway® restaurant that the customer contacted were correct with the specifications for avocado use on sandwiches.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Subway froze gift card, leaving me in a position where I had to use a credit card to pay for my purchase, an unplanned expense. Case #XXXXXX. Subway froze my gift card without contacting me. In subsequent dealings with Subway, representatives refused to give me a refund or offer to compensate me for the inconvenience of not being able to pay with a gift card for which I had purchased. I am now left with a frozen card, with a company who doesn't care about their customers, and where I am no longer a Subway customer. I will keep this frozen card as a reminder not to buy from Subway again and not to use their gift cards as gifts to my friends. I will no longer recommend them to anyone; in fact, I will tell anyone who will listen to stay away from Subway. The attitude of Subway is despicable and apparently they haven't learned that it is easier to keep a customer than to find a new customer. The sad part of this event is that I was a satisfied customer of Subway but no longer.

Desired Settlement: I would have liked for them to have been sympathic to my problem and maybe compensated me with a free footlong sub. But their uncaring attitude has made me change my mind and now want a full refund of the remaining amount. I would have remained a customer but now since I have seen other complaints about the company over their gift card, I am not sure if reimbursement would retain me as a customer. Had the company been more on the ball and customer driven, I would not have had been put in this situation. As is, I am surfing the Internet finding others who have complaints to see if they have had any resolution of their complaints.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/07/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** A. ******* Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX x1425 Contact Email: *********@subway.com Complainant ******* purchased a Subway(R) cash card. It was temporarily 'frozen'when the card was swiped through a terminal several times triggering a security response. Under our company policy and Alberta law, we do not make cash refunds. When Mr. ******* was contacted by the group which administers cash cards, he related his story, he was told that we would not make a cash refund, but the could have the card reactivated at its current value. We apologize for any inconvenience, and should Mr. ******* seek to reactivate his card for use at one of our restaurants, he should let us know. However we will not refund his cash balance. Sincerely, David A. ******* Managing Attorney Franchise World Headquarters LLC Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/07/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) Dear Mr. ******** Using company policy and Alberta law as an excuse to take advantage of a customer, I find it shameful for a company such as Subway to not deal with a customer better. Since Subway froze the account, Subway should have made an effort to contact the customer to find out what their concern was. Instead, Subway would sooner make it inconvient for a custoner to enjoy Subway food than to keep a customer happy. Well, I will no longer enjoy Subway sandwishes again. I will keep the card with the $130 balance as a lesson not to shop Subway again. I will continue to post complaints about Subway wherever I can so that people will learn just how Subway treats their customers. I am sorry that you don't care about customer service. As far as I am concerned, Subway has treated me shamefully. I had no problem with Subway until this happened. Shame on Subway! This will be the message I will promote to whoever will listen. Sincerely, ***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
6/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went to Subway to buy a sandwich, with my Subway gift card. After the purchase was made, the clerk told me my card had a zero balance on it. This was embarrassing for me. After work that day, I returned home and contacted Subway card services, by phone. They informed that I had a balance of $55.29 which, I already knew this. They told me that the card should work fine.I informed the telephone clerk that this was embarrassing for me, and also made the point that, I was sure that the telephone clerk had his lunch that day! Ask the phone clerk, if there was any type of compensation for my troubles? He responded no, and didn't seem to care nothing about my situation. Product_Or_Service: Sub

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Tell me that you are truly sorry for my troubles, and it wasn't my fault and just maybe care a little more about your clients. Maybe a free sub or some coupons for Subway.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-5, 8, 2013/05/17) */ Consumer indicated they have heard from the company, but the issue has not been resolved. Comments follow below: Recieved an email from Subway, but I didn't respond to the company; I was waiting to hear back from Bettter Business Bureau, for advice or suggestions before I responded. Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/05/23) */ A need location letter was sent to Mr. ******* the day we received his complaint via email to *********@yahoo.com however we never received a reply from him.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October 2012, Subway ran a promotion where they placed codes on their Doritos chip bags and soda cups. When you register your emails online with subway you could enter these codes to see if you won a prize. Some prizes were for cash, food gift cards and I think even vehicle. When you entered the code this video would have a bunch of people dancing letting you know if you won a prize. When I entered my code it said I won a sandwich. I have placed over 10 calla And submitted 2 emails with no response. I finally called to follow up on March 18, 2013 and was told they would not be issuing me anything because they were not able to find anything. ******* in Customer Service said that they get rid of their records and then they start a new promotion. I am very disappointed in Subway that they did not offer to make this right with their customer. There is no one to escalate this further because she said there is no CEO to speak with and there is nothing they can do. The issue is a matter of principle. I wonder how many more customers they cheated from this promotion.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like Subway to make this right and hive me my prize. Give their customer the benefit of the doubt.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/05/07) */ Case ID 84116154 From:*************** Sent: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 5:02:39 PM (UTC-05:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada) Subject: RE: Customer Service Comment for Store 0 Comment ID # ******* Thank you for bringing this to our attention. The original 3 email addresses that were provided could not be located in our system, but I have found the newest ********************* account that has been provided. This user is in fact a $5 Subway gift card winner. The complication was that she failed to complete the registration at the time of the promotion, so we simply did not have any address to send the card to. At that point, she was scrubbed out, and left off of the fulfillment list because of insufficient shipping information. I will arrange for a $5 gift card to be sent to the address that Anna has just recently provided. Thanks, *************** Project Coordinator

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint centers around a local Subway store where I have been continuing to receive some extremely poor service. And when I tried to contact the corporate office in Milford, CT, I continued to receive poor service there as well. On 2/25/13 my wife had called in a phone order at the local Subway store #716 on 2210 E Silver Springs Blvd in Ocala, Florida. My wife was told by the female employee that the order would be ready in 15 minutes. After waiting the amount of time, I went to the store & not only was our order not even started, the female who took the order wasn't even working the counter. She was in the back doing something else, with a relative in the lobby waiting for her to get off work. The male employee behind the counter had 3 other customers in line, & when done with the first one, he started my order and continued with the second customer. He had no idea what the order consisted of and was completely messing it up. By this time I was upset and proceeded to leave the store. And as I was walking out the door, he made a rude comment towards me. I filed 2 complaints online via the store's website, but I haven't heard from anyone. I tried to contact the store directly all of last week, but kept getting rudeness & the run around. So that is when I called the customer service department at corporate & left a message for the store owner to call me and I have yet to hear from that person. I called the customer service department today 3/4/13 to follow up, and I got a VERY RUDE female rep on the phone. I don't know who I spoke to, but she was very argumentative, rude, unprofessional, and kept cutting me off! She doesn't know a thing about customer service, and yet she works in your customer service department. So why should I take up this issue with your CS department if I just end up getting the same person an continue to be treated the same way over & over? This is why I am choosing this route of action. Product_Or_Service: Food Service

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Your customer service standards need to be reviewed, both at the store level and at the corporate level. A loyal customer such as myself should not be treated this way. Right now I feel that Subway does not even care about my issue or even care to continue to receive my business. If that is the case, I will be taking my business elsewhere PERMANENTLY!! Someone at your corporate office needs to contact me. I have tried multiple times to reach the store owner, and I continue to get nowhere!!

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/03/21) */ I am sorry Mr ****** felt that customer service at corporate did not care about his complaint. That was not the case at all. The rep was trying to let Mr ****** know that we cannot correct the problem only the owner could since all stores are individually owned and operated the owner is the only person who can rectify the problem. We can not reprimand the employees. Below is the response we received from the owner. We were first made aware of this problem on 2/26/13 thru a comment from *****@subway.com(from Mr. ******) and also with complaint #XXXXXXX (from his wife). On Feb 26, we watched the video at the store level, spoke to the Manager (who in turn spoke to the employees involved) and sent an apology letter targeted to their issue and some coupons addressed to his wife (they have the same address). Since then we received 2 more complaints through HQ and a Tell Subway complaint. The last one was yesterday which was the first time we heard that HE wanted a personal apology. My husband called him yesterday around noon and was under the impression that he was finally satisfied. Now we receive this new one about the BBB and he is still wanting a response. What would you like us to do? We are trying to satisfy this man, but have run out of options, any suggestions?????? Maybe we should call him again? Donna Consumer Response /* (2110, 11, 2013/03/22) */ The owner of the local Subway store which was partly involved with my complaint has previously called me. The issue was resolved here locally. My complaint also involved a rude representative at the corporate office. But since the corporate office appears to not care about the issue, it is of no use to push for any further communication. You may close this case since it has mostly been resolved here locally. Thank you for your assistance.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

3/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service