BBB Accredited Business since

Valley Floor Covering, LLC

Phone: (203) 723-6978 Fax: (203) 723-4315 562 Rubber Ave, Naugatuck, CT 06770 http://www.valleyfloorcoveringct.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Valley Floor Covering LLC offers sale and installation of carpet, ceramic tile, vinyl (resilient), pre-finished hardwood, laminate flooring and window coverings.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Valley Floor Covering, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Valley Floor Covering, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Valley Floor Covering, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 1997 Business started: 10/01/1988 Business started locally: 10/01/1988 Business incorporated 11/02/1995 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Richard Adamaitis, President Mr. Peter DaSilva, Manager Ms. Bernadette DiFabbio, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Adamaitis, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Peter DaSilva, Manager
Business Category

Floor Materials - Retail Resilient & Vinyl Flooring Floors - Hardwood Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Venetian Blinds - Dealers Blinds Window Shades Carpet & Rug Cleaners Tile & Marble Stone - Natural Organic/Green Products Tile & Grout Cleaning Tile Restoration Tile Sales Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning Contractors - Flooring Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design Carpet Layers Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Floor Coverings & Installation Carpet Installation Floors - Laminate Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Hardwood Floor Contractors Hardwood Floor Maintenance Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Countertops Floor Covering Stores (NAICS: 442210)

Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 562 Rubber Ave

    Naugatuck, CT 06770 (203) 723-6978

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Valley Floor Covering installed a ********* vinyl floor and new subfloor on 8/19/14. We noticed "bubbles"or bumps in about 1/3 of the floor and brought it to their attention the next day. The installer came out twice but could not resolve the problem. The installer told us that it appeared to be a problem with the glue applied to the subfloor and the vinyl. The owner checked out the problem. He offered to replace the vinyl, but not the subfloor. We have had two other contractors quote replacing the vinyl. in both cases they stated that the bumps were caused by glue that had not been spread out sufficiently and that a new subfloor is required. it is not realistic to try to remove all of the existing glue and backing which would peel off of the existing floor if it was pulled up. After a heated conversation with the owner of Valley Floor Covering, he still refused to replace the subfloor. He did offer to give us the replacement vinyl and to pay for its installation if we chose another vendor. Again this would not include the new subfloor. We have been advised by ********* that they are providing the replacement vinyl and that they will absorb the (reasonable) costs for installing it. Therefore, Valley Floor Coverings is not accepting any responsibility for their shoddy workmanship. Since we are now in the same position we were before our contract with Valley Floor Covering, i.e. we still need a new floor AND subfloor, we are requesting a full refund.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of our contract price ($875.00). Valley Floor Covering can keep the replacement vinyl and whatever money they receive from ********* for installation and we can choose a different flooring company and begin again.

Business Response: I, ******* *********, the owner of Valley Floor Covering did indeed inspect the floor and believe it is not up to the standards of Valley Floor
Covering's work   Even prior to my evaluation, Ms ***** chose to contact ********* directly, which is her prerogative.  ********* agreed to replace the vinyl floor and I agreed to install it at no cost to Ms. *****. 

I do not believe that there is any issue with the sub-floor, contrary to the information Ms. ***** received from her other sources.  Therefore there is no need to replace it.  ********* must also be in agreement, otherwise, they would have offered replacement of that as well.  I need a piece of the existing vinyl in question to return to ********* for evaluation, so that we can determine the issue. 

I do not believe that I can make Ms. ***** happy with any further work, so I will be willing to give her the replacement floor from ********* and a $135.00 refund for labor, contingent upon Ms ***** allowing me to take that sample piece.

I hope this can be resolved to the satisfaction of both parties.  I am not in business for over 30 years by not addressing a problem situation and trying to resolve it amicably.


Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 
While we understand that Mr ********* is reluctant to reimburse us for replacing our subfloor, we have received quotes from three flooring professionals, all of whom stated that they would be unable to replace the vinyl without replacing the subfloor since they would be unable to remove all of the glue and backing from the current vinyl sufficiently to provide for a clean enough surface to sustain the new vinyl. (Copies available upon request) .As for our conversation with *********. they told us via phone and email that they had been told by ***** of VAlley Floor Covering that the problem was with the vinyl and that it is their practice to base their decision to replace the vinyl on the retailer's inspection.  Therefore ********* has only VAlley Floor Covering's version of the problem.  We are opting to take the word of several other contractors who have actually seen the floor and done a first-hand  assessment of the problem.  
 
We do not want the vinyl from VAlley Floor Covering.  A major part of our decision to use them in the first place was due to the fact that we wanted both the product and the installation to be from the same company.  Especially now, since this issue has occurred, we are determined to stick with this decision.  Any contractor we choose will provide both the subfloor and the vinyl.  
 
Frankly, I am disappointed  in Mr.  ********** reluctance to return our payment.  We gave VAlley Floor Covering several chances to fix the problem and they were unable to do so.  They breached our contract by not supplying  adequate flooring and installation. We have no confidence in their ability to fix the problem and again are asking to be made whole and returned to the position we were in before we contracted with them.
 
Unfortunately we received a discount for paying cash at the time the work was done.  We won't make that mistake again,  We are still expecting a full refund in the amount of $875.00  Thank you for your help.


Sincerely,

******* *****