BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Core Club, LLC offers group fitness classes, as well as personal training and private parties.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Core Club & 24/7 Gym meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Core Club & 24/7 Gym include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Core Club & 24/7 Gym
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 01, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2010 Business started locally: 01/01/2010 Business incorporated: 01/28/2011 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Health, Dept. of
410 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dph.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 509-8000
webmaster.dph@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Cheryl Salva, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cheryl Salva, Member
Business Category

Fitness Centers Weight Control Services Yoga Instruction Event Planners Event Planners - Corporate Party Planning Party Supplies - Renting Event Center Dancing Instruction Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs Health & Fitness Program Consultants Personal Trainers Health & Wellness Fitness and Recreational Sports Centers (NAICS: 713940)

Alternate Business Names
The Core Club, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 350 Main St

    Durham, CT 06422 (860) 349-9100

  • PO Box 292

    Durham, CT 06422

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Core Club debited another year of service $74.42; and, continues to debit $21.26 every month on the 5th. The Core Club was contacted and asked what the charges involved because did not request another year of service; response - welcome to another year of the Core Club. Went to the Core Club in person, spoke to the assistant on the desk and was advised needed to write a letter. Received paper and wrote a letter advising no longer wanted to be a member; did not have a contract, cancel my services and handed in all the cards for entry into the building. The Core Club continues to bill every month - it should not be necessary to wait 8 weeks for cancellation and credit of all the charges.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation, no longer debit my account and credit back all the charges since the beginning of the "new year of service". 11/05/2014 - $74.42 // 12/05/2014 - $21.26 // 01/05/2014 - $21.26 Total $116.94

Business Response: In response to complaint ID# ********:


Our cancellation policy is as follows:

A certified letter must be sent to cancel any membership.  Upon which time it takes 30 days until the membership is canceled.  This particular Client wants a refund for her Membership BEFORE it was canceled.  Also, her membership has been auto renewing since 2011(auto renewing 3 times)  indicating she was full aware of our auto renew policy.  As a business owner in a small town I must be consistent with enforcing the Clubs policies to alleviate any confusion or what could be received as favoritism between Clients.   

In the case of this client the course of events are listed below.
11/07/11   Joined Club (membership auto renewed 3 times going forward)
11/03/14   $74.42 Yearly Processing Fee &  Monthly  Membership Fee.
12/03/14   $21.26  Monthly Membership Fee 
12/19/14   Received written notice to cancel.
01/03/15   $21.26 Monthly Membership Fee 
01/19/15   Membership Cancelled 
02/03/15   $21.26  Monthly Membership Fee  (Client is due a refund of $21.26) 

I am in hopes that the Client will fully understand our position and that we cannot change our policy to accommodate one as we need to be fair across the board to all Clients.  We will always welcome this client back to help with all fitness goals set.

Thank you for your time.





Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I found my signed contract and after the one year contract is met; the notice of renewal dues states that the member may cancel this agreement at any time after the initial term by written notice (not certified).  The written notice was handed to an employee of the Core Club at the end of December.  The Core Club billed me for an annual processing fee in November; then, proceeded to continue billing for December, January and most recently even with a BBB Complaint # in February.
One month refund would not resolve this complaint.
Sincerely,

* *********

Business Response: Please see below response:


I am rejecting this response because:
I found my signed contract and after the one year contract is met; the notice of renewal dues states that the member may cancel this agreement at any time after the initial term by written notice (not certified).  The written notice was handed to an employee of the Core Club at the end of December (Yes, but your membership renewed in November - WE DO NOT BACK DATE MEMBERSHIP CANCELLATIONS with no exception - we received your cancellation at the end December - meaning you would have been charge in November.)  The Core Club billed me for an annual processing fee in November (YES, AS YOUR MEMBERSHIP IN NOVEMBER WAS IN GOOD STANDING  - MEANING NOT CANCELED); then, proceeded to continue billing for Dec (Yes, your membership was not cancelled at this time therefore you were charged) and, Jan (YES, standard operating procedures for this industry is it takes 30 days to process a cancellation - this means you would be billed in Jan.)   and most recently even with a BBB Complaint # in February. (You have been refunded $21.26 as of 2/3/2015)
One month refund would not resolve this complaint.
Sincerely,
All charges in Nov., Dec.,  and Jan. are legitimate.  This Client wants us to change our policy for her and back date her cancellation.  We do not do this as stated before.  It is important for the integrity of the business to be fair and consistent with all Clients.  We take great pride in our business and value every Client.  Adjusting and changing our polices to fit each Client would not be conducive for a cohesive account of our business.  

I am in hopes that this Client would understand that there are no exceptions to our policy and respect that.  

To summarize;  we do not back date cancellations, you will be charged  for months/fees if you have not yet canceled,  all charges/fees are nonrefundable, it takes 30 days to process ALL cancellations.  Yes, this would mean you may get one more charge after cancellation letter is received.  This is the case here.  

Sincerely,

****** *****

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

My Complaint and Request remain the same - cancellation of my renewal membership; refund for January and February.
I have never requested November, December charges be refunded.
The renewal portion of the copy of the contract I signed does not have a 30 day process or certified requirement and I would be glad to send this copy to the Better Business Bureau.
And, whoops Core Club forgot to stop the membership and charged an additional month. 
Perhaps this is a pattern of fraudulent activity, forgetting to cancel and charging customers additional months of fees is a policy for profit.
Once again, my Complaint and Request remain the same - cancellation of my renewal membership; refund for January and February.
Sincerely,
* *********