BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Superior Stone & Fireplace, LLC offers the sales, installation, and service of fireplaces, wood and gas stoves, pellet stoves, and gas inserts.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Superior Stone & Fireplace, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Superior Stone & Fireplace, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Superior Stone & Fireplace, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 14, 2011 Business started: 11/20/2006 Business started locally: 11/20/2006 Business incorporated: 11/20/2006 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. William J. Mastrangelo, Manager/Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William J. Mastrangelo, Manager/Member
Business Category

Fireplaces Gas Burners Gas - Propane Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies Stoves - Wood, Coal Heating Equipment Stone - Crushed Stone - Natural Chimney Builders & Repair Mason Contractors All Other Home Furnishings Stores (NAICS: 442299)

Alternate Business Names
Superior Stone & Fireplace Company

Additional Locations

  • 3876 Whitney Ave

    Hamden, CT 06518 (203) 287-0839

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November my husband and I purchased a pellet stove insert from Superior Stone and Fireplace and received directions on installation and purchased the parts necessary for installation, on numerous occasions it was asked if this was all we needed and if it was simple to do, the answer was yes every time. So we went home and installed the product, and bought the most expensive and recommended pellets and the stove worked great for a week. Then it stopped working, it would not heat up as much as the first week, it would turn on and off by itself which is dangerous, and sometimes would not turn on at all. I called Superior numerous times, the owner avoids phone calls and had his young employee deal with us and our warranty claims, this has gone on for about a month or so now and we still have no answer as to what to do to fix the stove and the company refuses to return it. The company that makes this model pellet stove has told us that only the company we purchased it from has the ability to return, exchange, or fix the product which they have not done. I keep calling for answers and they keep telling me they will call me back and they are trying to reach out to the manufacturer but it has been over a month and we are out of $2300 for the pellet stove plus the cost of pellets and STILL have to pay for oil deliveries because this company will not fix, return or replace the faulty product they sold us. I have many e-mails saved to both Superior and the manufacturer as proof as to our complaints and lack of responses. I feel as the customer that I at least deserve some answers or help and in a much more timely manner.

Desired Settlement: When I originally reached out to Superior and I just wanted help fixing the stove or I wanted to exchange it for a working model. But after trying to deal with a company that is clearly avoiding me and carrying this issue out for more then a month and the owner clearly avoiding us I want a refund. I want to take my business elsewhere to a company that has better customer service and cares about the quality of the products they sell.

Business Response: Mrs.Walker called Superior Stone and fireplace specifically looking for the ******** ********** pellet stove.She was looking for the best price we could give her on a cash and carry unit.We are a ******** dealer and helped her get the stove she wanted at a better price than she was given elsewhere.Mrs.walker came picked up the stove from ************ and left. Mrs. Walker installed the stove herself and had issues with the performance of the stove.The ******** ********** Is A $1700.00 pellet stove insert that is an entry level stove that she specifically asked for and wanted at a low price point.We have been working with ******** on this matter and this all was taking place during the holiday season.Fireplace manufactuers are on shutdown for two weeks from Dec.23-Jan2.When we could speak to a tech from our Distributor we gave her the info instantly.The tech said to make sure unit is getting proper voltage,and also check temp.in surrounding rooms since a pellet stove will draw cold air from the surrounding rooms.Another tech suggested to make sure unit was not in thermostatic mode.This would make unit turn on and off.The tech also suggested that since they installed themselves to make sure there was no cold air coming down the chimney.This was all sent to Mr. walker via email .Mr.walker disregarded this info and basically he went into how the stove is under warranty and he wanted an upgra ded stove.We informed Mr.Walker via email that ******** said they would honor warranty if an Authorized ******** tech from their area came out.Mr. walker did not want to pay for a tech to come out from N********We have done evertyhing we can including convincing ******** to warranty unit even though it was not installed by a Licensed dealer.My full belief is that the Walkers purchased a unit that is not up to the standards they were expecting.The walkers bought an entry level product and they are expecting way to much from this unit.If they want they could sell their unit and buy a higher end ******** and see the difference.The truth is they are mad at the pellet stove and Looking for us to take unit back.this is not an option on a cash and carry unit that we did not Install. **** *********** (owner)

Business Response: Superior Stone and fireplace has done nothing but try and help Mrs. Walker.Superior Stone has fowarded the response from ******** the manufactuer to Mrs.Walker.******** will honor the warranty from any authorized ******** dealer,including Mrs walkers local dealer.The problem is with the Stove or the installation both of which have nothing to do with Superior Stone Fireplace.The first email we received from the Walkers was 12/26.We have to followed proper protocal when dealing with a manufacture such as N********I stated in a prior email the shut down period for the holiday's,so we could not respond any faster.We have been in contact with the Walkers and have tried to help them through their problem with the Timberwolfe pellet stove.I have turned this problem over to the manufature for them to handle since the problem is with the stove or the installation.The manufacture will handle any problems through the Walkers local dealer and honor any warranty issues.******** is a reputable company and if the stove is defective for any reason they will do everything within their policies to warranty their product. Regards Bill

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Superior is only now claiming that they have tried to help us after we contacted the BBB. I did receive the e-mail regarding a local dealer taking over the warranty but the problem with that is local dealers are skeptical of handling a product that they a. Made no profit from and b. Gain nothing from. We have been working with ******** directly for the past week trying to figure our issue out and how to handle this matter and we will continue to do so but that doesn't excuse the fact that Superior sold us what THEY call a bottom of the line product which we had no idea and then claimed they could not return an item that we owned for less then 3 weeks, they then said they would take it back and allow us to pay the difference for an upgraded stove which they never did and now they are putting of their responsibility on a major company that has very little time to deal with us or solve this matter. This is awful customer service, this is not honoring the warranty in the conditions it was stated at time of purchase and this is not good business etiquette to now try to pawn the problem off on a local dealer who may not even want to take over. It's very frustrating that a company would take advantage of a young married couple, first time home buyers with a young child. I feel like this matter is not solved although Superior seems to have washed their hands of the problem. 

Sincerely,

Nicole Walker

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March 2012 I contracted with Superior Stone to build an out door kitchen area. In late June 2012 before the work had been completed I notice that one of the slate stone had a major defict I tooke pictures and brought it to the attention of the job formen . i was told that the repaires would be handled with in a few days. I took him for at his word and made my final payment ( my misstake) to this date I'm still waiting for the repaires to be made I have received nothing but empty promises from Superior.(they have told nme that GOD made the defict not Superior) . I have been calling them for the last 3 months they will not even return my calls. They have received 100% of my money in returned i only have received 70% completed work.. Product_Or_Service: out door kitchen

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement all that I am looking for is for Superior to stand behind their workmenship and make the repaires .

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/06/27) */ Mr.*****,does have a legitimate complaint about the mineral deposit in his stone.Mr.***** has zero complaints about the construction of his job.Our store manager told Mr.***** he would replace te stone at the end of last year.Our manager never replaced.Mr.***** contacted me this spring to replace stone.I started to research and track material down for Mr.*****.very difficult stone size to get.Mr.***** gave me a date or deadline to replace 0f June 14th.His complaint was turned in before that date to the BBB.Mr.***** stone was replaced and fully taken care of by june 14th as I promised.If you contact him he will say the stone has been replaced and the matter is resolved as promised.Thank you for helping us.We take pride in running under proper business practices even when mother nature ruins stone.Regards **** ***********,Owner Superior Stone Supply

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.