BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Realgy, LLC offers energy marketing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Realgy, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Realgy, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 21

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Realgy, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 2003 Business started: 05/10/1998 Business started locally: 05/10/1998 Business incorporated: 05/10/1999 in CT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Laura Larocco, Customer Service/Office Manager Mr. Michael Vrtis, Managing Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Laura Larocco, Customer Service/Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Michael Vrtis, Managing Partner
Business Category

Energy Conservation Products & Services Computer Software Publishers & Developers Marketing Consultants Environmental Consulting Services (NAICS: 541620)

Alternate Business Names
Realgy Energy Services

Additional Locations

  • 675 Oakwood Ave

    West Hartford, CT 06110 (877) 431-8527 (860) 233-2270 (877) 300-6747

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 300-6747(Phone)
  • (877) 431-8527(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Realgy Energy is one of our energy suppliers, which was signed up by a former employee in 2009. They're billing rates are ridiculous and they bill every 2-months. We have vacant units, and they're fees are still too much. I've called and left messages to cancel this service, they make me make an appt., for a call back and they call in 2 weeks. They're contract states you can only cancel 30-days prior to February 28. They've said since I didn't cancel then I must wait another year. I said we wanted to cancel and they said they'd email me a cancellation form. I wait and wait, I call back and do the same thing over again. Finally I disconnected the service because they were too expensive (still vacant) Now, I'm getting cancellation fees, and when I fax, nothing goes thru, when I go to their website ********************, it gives me an error when I try to click on topics. They state we picked a new marketer, which is false, we chose not to pay for empty units in our property.

Desired Settlement: Cancel my account *********** * **********, refund all overcharges due to vacant units not using any energy. Provide any backup documents showing energy use (there is none)

Business Response:

CASE:   10172843

CUSTOMER NAME:     Ridge Investors

ACCOUNT STATUS:  Inactive

ACCOUNT:  5*********, *********7, 197534000

UTILITY:  Nicor

 

CUSTOMER HISTORY TIMELINE:

07/16/09 – enrolled via TPV

07/17/09 – Welcome letter sent

12/19/12 – notice from Utility, Acct ********** dropped service

12/26/12 @ 2:46 pm - Realgy called number on file to inquire about the drop service, the number has been disconnected

03/20/14 @ 4:17 pm – Customer left message

03/21/14 – Realgy sent TimeTrade Invitation

03/24/14 @ 7:53 am – Realgy left message for Customer

03/27/14 @ 2:16 pm – Realgy left message for Customer

04/14/14 @ 10:46 am – Customer left message

04/16/14 @ 10:28 am – Realgy called and spoke with Customer.  Discussed contract details.  Customer requested copy of TPV, T&Cs, as well as Drop Service Procedure

06/23/14 – Rec’d notice from Utility, accounts dropped

06/23/14 – Release letter sent to Customer

07/29/14 @ 10:07 am – Realgy attempted to contact Customer (###-###-####), message stated “not authorized to call this number” and it hung up.  We tried the 2nd number for Customer (###-###-####) and the phone just rang with no voice mail.

08/12/14 – Rec’d Complaint

08/25/14 – Researched and responded to complaint

 

DIRECT RESPONSE TO COMPLAINT:

Realgy Energy is one of our energy suppliers, which was signed up by a former employee in 2009.  Statement, not a complaint.

They're billing rates are ridiculous and they bill every 2-months.  The contract for this customer is Index + .65, that has never changed.  We bill when the Utility sends the Usage.

We have vacant units, and they're fees are still too much.  The contract for this customer is Index + .65, that is what they are charged.

I've called and left messages to cancel this service, they make me make an appt., for a call back and they call in 2 weeks.  Evidence refutes this statement.

They're contract states you can only cancel 30-days prior to February 28.  Below is the TERMINATION portion of the contract:

TERMINATION: Buyer may terminate this Agreement, without cost, by providing 60 day written

notice prior to the end of current Term. If Buyer fails to provide 60 days written notice to Seller or

if Buyer is removed from the Program prior to final billing month of Term the Buyer agrees to

reimburse Seller a service fee of up to $80 and market related losses (surplus will be returned to

Buyer) incurred by Seller in reselling any quantity of Buyer’s fixed price natural gas (does not

apply to Index or Spot) and Buyer shall forfeit natural gas Storage inventory.

They've said since I didn't cancel then I must wait another year.  Below is the TERM portion of the contract:

TERM: Buyer’s Price and Quantity terms will begin on the date the Utility reads each service

location’s meter and transfers them to Seller and will continue until the April meter reading

following 24 months (Term) and thereafter for a like Term until Terminated.

I said we wanted to cancel and they said they'd email me a cancellation form.  We do not have, and have never had a Cancelation form.

I wait and wait, I call back and do the same thing over again.  Statement, not a complaint.

Finally I disconnected the service because they were too expensive (still vacant)  Affirmative

Now, I'm getting cancellation fees, and when I fax, nothing goes thru, when I go to their website www.realgyoffice.com, it gives me an error when I try to click on topics.  Our Website is ************************

They state we picked a new marketer, which is false, we chose not to pay for empty units in our property.  New Marketer includes NICOR.  Unless the Customer shuts the meters off, we are informed by the Utility at time of drop service it is due to a new marketer.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their customer service is pathetic. You cant call to talk to someone you have to schedule an appointment. They over charged me. The business next door is paying less for a therm then I am in my business. They can deny all they want to Im looking at my bill and my neighbors gas station bill.I cant even get away from this company its taking 2 weeks for someone to call me back. Don't let them tell you they buy the gas in the summer when its cheaper that's how they are able to sell it at a better price. Well they over charge you in other ways. I would never tell anyone to go with these people.

Desired Settlement: I would love for someone to go through the bills and charge me for the exact therms that I used and of cores they have to bill me for the delivery and taxes. But for Gods sakes don't bill me 1705.62 for using 533.2 therms. I don't want the excuses .Just refund me the money you owe me

Business Response:

CASE:   10075711

CUSTOMER NAME:  Remember When Past and Present

ACCOUNT STATUS:  Dropped Service

ACCOUNT:  *********

UTILITY:  ******

 

 

Good morning,

 

Realgy has taken proactive numerous steps to explain how this winter’s extreme weather has affected Pricing, Market conditions, and most obviously increased usage.  We have sent out our Quarterly Newsletter, we have published numerous articles on our website and directed Customers to the Website to stay informed.  We have also sent out an email blast to all our customers with the link to our Website and all the Blogs regarding this issue.  Please feel free to visit our Website and view the articles and information; http://realgyenergyservices.com/blog/

 

We have anticipated the questions that are arising due to the Defined Quantity portion of the Customer’s Invoice.  Here is what is being stated to Customers.  Defined Quantity is last year’s historic usage. The defined Difference is the difference between the Actual Usage and the Historic usage (Defined Quantity).  If the difference is a positive number the account used more than was planned and that difference will be charged at the market price.  To find this information, you can look at your Storage Report there is a section at the bottom called Applies to Defined Quantity Pricing: ANR-ML7.  This shows the difference and the market cost for any usage over the defined quantity. The DQ Total will equal the Defined Quantity Cost at the top of the Storage Report.

 

CUSTOMER HISTORY TIMELINE:

 

01/02/14 @ 12:20 pm – Potential Customer called in left message

01/03/14 @ 3:08 pm – Customer enrolled via TPV

01/07/14 – Submitted to Utility for enrollment

01/16/14 – Utility rejected, invalid meter

01/16/14 @ 11:24 am – Realgy called and spoke with customer, explained she gave a invalid meter number, she gave corrected meter.

01/16/14 – Submitted to Utility for enrollment

01/17/14 – Confirmed enrollment from Utility

01/21/14 – Welcome Letter sent

04/28/14 @ 10:25 am – Customer left message

04/28/14 – Realgy sent TimeTrade Invitation

04/29/14 @ 12:02 pm – Customer set appointment for 04/30/14 @ 11:30 am

04/30/14 @ 11:45 am – Realgy called and spoke with Customer.  Reviewed billing, and defined quantity charged and polar vortex increases.  We discussed her profile, her storage is empty last year so the historical figures are low, but we can adjust that for this coming year if she chooses.  She wants to Drop Service, said bills are too high.  Advised the process to drop service, in writing, we will waive the ETF.  She had to go and will call us back.

05/02/14 @ 2:47 PM – Customer left message

05/07/14 @ 11:42 am – Realgy called customer, phone just rang, no pick up, not message

05/14/14 @ 10:01 am – Customer left message

05/16/14 @ 11:16 am – Customer left message

05/19/14 @ 9:59 am – Realgy called customer, left message

05/19/14 @ 10:49 am – Customer left message

05/19/14 @ 11:57 am – Customer left message

05/20/14 – Realgy sent TimeTrade Invitation

05/21/14 @ 12:58 pm – Customer set TimeTrade appointment for 05/22/14 @ 11:00 am

05/22/14 @ 11:49 am – Realgy called and spoke to Customer.  Again went over the billing, she doesnt understand, we adjusted her profile upon her request because she states the building was empty last year and the profile will be off.  She wants to set up another appointment when her accountant is available. 

05/29/14 @ 10:15 am – Customer left message

06/02/14 @ 9:30 am – Customer left message

06/03/14 @ Realgy sent TimeTrade Invitation

06/03/14 @ 10:06 am – Customer set TimeTrade appointment for 06/05/14 @ 1:30 pm

06/03/14 @ 10:20 am – Customer left message

06/03/14 – Rec’d Complaint

06/05/14 @ 1:30 pm – Realgy called customer, phone was picked up, then hung up.  Tried again, no answer

06/05/14 @ 2:14 pm – Customer left message

06/05/14 @ 2:20 pm – Customer left message

06/06/14 @ 12:57 pm – Realgy called and spoke to customer, Said we are charging her illegally.  Explained again about the Defined Quantity Charges.  She is comparing her bill with her neighbor who she said is a Realgy customer.  We attempted to look up that customer, but cannot find anything.  We explained that we cant speak about a comparision without seeing the information.  The difference could be the neighbor is on a Fixed Rate, or PriceWatch rate, etc.  We attempted again to explain her account to her, but at this point she wouldnt listen.  She send the Drop Service request via email while we were talking.  She asked if we received it, we confirmed and let her know the Drop Service Request would go up today.

06/06/14 – Submit Drop Service Request to Utility

06/09/14 – Researched and responded to both ****** and BBB complaint

 

DIRECT RESPONSE TO COMPLAINT:

Their customer service is pathetic.  This is an opinion, not a Complaint.

You cant call to talk to someone you have to schedule an appointment.  Due to the extreme winter conditions, we are experiencing a high call volume.  We do our best to return all calls within 2 business days, but we do suggest the customer choose a date and time for the return call so that we do not miss the customer.

They over charged me.  The customer is on an Index + adder of 6.5.  This did not change, what did change was the Market Pricing (Index).  We do have a guarantee to save our customers over a 12 month period.  Due to the extreme conditions this past season, we have offered to our current customers if we have not saved you money between January 2014 through May of 2015 we will refund the difference.

The business next door is paying less for a therm then I am in my business.  We cannot see this customer’s information and cannot speculate or comment on it.

They can deny all they want to Im looking at my bill and my neighbors gas station bill.  This is not a complaint.

I cant even get away from this company its taking 2 weeks for someone to call me back.  Evidence refutes this statement.

Don't let them tell you they buy the gas in the summer when its cheaper that's how they are able to sell it at a better price.  This is called the Storage Program, and it is exactly that.  We are able to purchase 20% of a customer’s annual historical usage during the summer months when pricing is lower.  It is then used in the winter months, at no cost, because it has already been purchased.

Well they over charge you in other ways.  Again, this season was extreme and in order to combat that, we are offering to all our current ongoing customers if we do not save you money between January 2014 through May 2015 we will refund the difference.

I would never tell anyone to go with these people. 

Business Response:

CASE:   10075711

CUSTOMER NAME:  Remember When Past and Present

ACCOUNT STATUS:  Dropped Service

ACCOUNT:  *********

UTILITY:  ******

 

Good morning,

 

Realgy has taken proactive numerous steps to explain how this winter’s extreme weather has affected Pricing, Market conditions, and most obviously increased usage.  We have sent out our Quarterly Newsletter, we have published numerous articles on our website and directed Customers to the Website to stay informed.  We have also sent out an email blast to all our customers with the link to our Website and all the Blogs regarding this issue.  Please feel free to visit our Website and view the articles and information; http://realgyenergyservices.com/blog/

 

We have anticipated the questions that are arising due to the Defined Quantity portion of the Customer’s Invoice.  Here is what is being stated to Customers.  Defined Quantity is last years historic usage. The defined Difference is the difference between the Actual Usage and the Historic usage (Defined Quantity).  If the difference is a positive number the account used more than was planned and that difference will be charged at the market price.  To find this information, you can look at your Storage Report there is a section at the bottom called Applies to Defined Quantity Pricing: ANR-ML7.  This shows the difference and the market cost for any usage over the defined quantity. The DQ Total will equal the Defined Quantity Cost at the top of the Storage Report.

 

CUSTOMER HISTORY TIMELINE CONTINUED SINCE LAST COMPLAINT:

06/10/14 – Rec’d end date of Service from Utility (07/24/14)

06/18/14 – Researched and responded to 2nd complaint

 

DIRECT RESPONSE TO COMPLAINT:

You say you buy the gas at a low rate so you don't have to charge as much why was I charge 1.50 a therm and ****** only charge 1/2 of that.  The Customer is on a Variable Plan, Index + 0.65.  That has never changed, the Market however did change.  We do stand by our saving our customer’s money on Natural Gas.  Due to the extreme conditions of this past winter season and the Market Price drastically increasing, we have put in place a program that if we have not saved a customer money for the period of January 2014 through May of 2015, we will reimburse the difference.

You did over charge me it dosent matter if the winter is colder you bought the gas when it was lowOnly 20% of the gas is prepurchased and we pass that onto the customer on the Storage Plan, they purchase 20% of their gas during the summer months and then use it during the winter months at no additional charge because they had purchased it during the summer.  This customer signed up during the winter so there was no Storage yet.

Don't charge me double or triple .

The charges where not explained on the bill until you finally called.  The Utility does not allow us to put anything but the amounts on the bill.  We had taken the initiative and send out emails, auto calls, and updated our website weekly, if not daily, to let customers know of the extreme market conditions and how it was effecting the pricing for Natural Gas.

As for hanging up on you It never happened I have been waiting to talk to someone about my bill.  This is comment, not a complaint that can be answered. 

I would have no reason to not answer your call.  This is a comment, not a complaint that can be answered.

Lets see what my bill is for this month the gas is shut off.  This is a comment, not a complaint that can be answered.

Last month wasn't cold but I used 43.6 therms and got charged 270.00.  If you look at the Storage Report and the Defined Quantity, it is shown and explained that it can take up to 60 days for the pricing and usage to be reported correctly and billed.

Consumer Response: This dose not explain why the business next door got charged a different rate then we did. I will be contacting my attorney.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

6/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I receive gas through a third party supplier, Realgy Energy Services and have since 2007. It is delivered and billed through ******. My latest bill for gas supply was $409.65 (an increase of over $141, even though I used 145 less therms this month). Upon further investigation, in the last 12 months Realgy has been charging almost twice what ****** charged (Realgy: .7514/therm; ******: .3831). I called Realgy 4 times on 3 consecutive days without anyone returning my calls. I finally received a return call after I threatened to call the news and my attorney. The staff was insolent and gave me false information (quoted incorrect gas prices, provided inconsistent explanation of their high rates). When I said I wanted to cancel their service due to poor customer service and extremely high gas prices, I was told I would receive an early cancellation fee even though I have been a customer for 7 years!

Desired Settlement: I want to be able to cancel my service with them without being charged a cancellation fee. Also, a refund of the astronomical rates they have been charging would be nice.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

 

Realgy has taken proactive numerous steps to explain how this winter’s extreme weather has affected Pricing, Market conditions, and most obviously increased usage.  We have sent out our Quarterly Newsletter, we have published numerous articles on our website and directed Customers to the Website to stay informed.  We have also sent out an email blast to all our customers with the link to our Website and all the Blogs regarding this issue.  Please feel free to visit our Website and view the articles and information; http://realgyenergyservices.com/blog/

 

CUSTOMER HISTORY TIMELINE:

 

03/06/07 – Customer enrolled via TPV

03/2007 – Welcome Letter sent

04/14/14 @ 4:46 pm (after hours) – Customer left message

04/15/14 @ 4:47 pm (after hours) – Customer left message

04/16/14 @ 4:09 pm – Customer left message

04/17/14 @ 1:43 pm – Realgy called and spoke to Customer.  She continued to yell, would not let the CS Rep finish a sentence without interrupting and yelling.  She was asked several times to refrain from yelling and she just yelled “I’m not yelling”.  We attempted to explain the issues with the extreme weather and how it is affecting the Market Pricing, she didn’t want to hear it.  We let her know that she has been with us since 2007 and overall we have saved her money.  She said she doubted it.  She was given the Cancelation Process and told about the ETF of $80.  She became irate over the ETF.  She asked to speak to a Supervisor and was transferred.  The same thing happened, she continued yelling.  She then asked to speak to a Manager, and was transferred.  She complained she didn’t want to pay an ETF because she has been with us for 7 years.  It was explained that if she cancels now, it is considered early and there would be a fee.  She was extremely irate and again yelling, was asked several times to refrain from yelling.  She asked and was given the name and address of the President of Realgy, and hung up.

04/18/14 – Rec’d request to drop

04/18/14 – Rec’d Complaint

04/18/14 – Submission for Drop request to Utility

04/22/14 – Confirmation from Utility for Drop Request

04/23/14 – Researched and responded to complaint

04/25/14 – Rec’d, responded to BBB Complaint

 

DIRECT RESPONSE TO COMPLAINT:

 

I receive gas through a third party supplier, Realgy Energy Services and have since 2007.  Affirmative

It is delivered and billed through ******.  Affirmative

My latest bill for gas supply was $409.65 (an increase of over $141, even though I used 145 less therms this month).  The Terms of the contract have not changed.  The Market pricing has increased significantly due to the extreme conditions of this past Winter Season.

Upon further investigation, in the last 12 months Realgy has been charging almost twice what ****** charged (Realgy: .7514/therm; ******: .3831).  This is incorrect.

I called Realgy 4 times on 3 consecutive days without anyone returning my calls.  We have had an extremely high call volume.  Our normal procedure is to return all calls with 1 business day.  Due to the extremely high call volume, we offer the customer to go online to schedule a time for a call back that will fit in their schedule, otherwise we will call back within 2 business days.

I finally received a return call after I threatened to call the news and my attorney.  The return call had nothing to do with the Customer’s threats.  We called this customer as her turn came up.  We do not respond to threats, we call all customers back in the order they are received.  When a customer does threaten to complaint, we let them know as a consumer they have that right. 

The staff was insolent and gave me false information (quoted incorrect gas prices, provided inconsistent explanation of their high rates).  This statement is not factual, but the opinion of the complainant.  We explain exactly what is going on in the Market and the reason for the high pricing. 

When I said I wanted to cancel their service due to poor customer service and extremely high gas prices, I was told I would receive an early cancellation fee even though I have been a customer for 7 years!  The ETF has nothing to do with the customer’s opinion of the service.  If you cancel your contract early (this contract will expire April 2015) there is an ETF.

I want to be able to cancel my service with them without being charged a cancellation fee.  The ETF will not be waived.

Also, a refund of the astronomical rates they have been charging would be nice.  The rates are the Market Rates, the Terms of the contract (6.5 adder) never changed.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

 

Realgy has taken proactive numerous steps to explain how this winter’s extreme weather has affected Pricing, Market conditions, and most obviously increased usage.  We have sent out our Quarterly Newsletter, we have published numerous articles on our website and directed Customers to the Website to stay informed.  We have also sent out an email blast to all our customers with the link to our Website and all the Blogs regarding this issue.  Please feel free to visit our Website and view the articles and information; http://realgyenergyservices.com/blog/

 

CUSTOMER HISTORY TIMELINE:

 

03/06/07 – Customer enrolled via TPV

03/2007 – Welcome Letter sent

04/14/14 @ 4:46 pm (after hours) – Customer left message

04/15/14 @ 4:47 pm (after hours) – Customer left message

04/16/14 @ 4:09 pm – Customer left message

04/17/14 @ 1:43 pm – Realgy called and spoke to Customer.  She continued to yell, would not let the CS Rep finish a sentence without interrupting and yelling.  She was asked several times to refrain from yelling and she just yelled “I’m not yelling”.  We attempted to explain the issues with the extreme weather and how it is affecting the Market Pricing, she didn’t want to hear it.  We let her know that she has been with us since 2007 and overall we have saved her money.  She said she doubted it.  She was given the Cancelation Process and told about the ETF of $80.  She became irate over the ETF.  She asked to speak to a Supervisor and was transferred.  The same thing happened, she continued yelling.  She then asked to speak to a Manager, and was transferred.  She complained she didn’t want to pay an ETF because she has been with us for 7 years.  It was explained that if she cancels now, it is considered early and there would be a fee.  She was extremely irate and again yelling, was asked several times to refrain from yelling.  She asked and was given the name and address of the President of Realgy, and hung up.

04/18/14 – Rec’d request to drop

04/18/14 – Rec’d Complaint

04/18/14 – Submission for Drop request to Utility

04/22/14 – Confirmation from Utility for Drop Request

04/23/14 – Researched and responded to complaint

04/25/14 – Rec’d, responded to BBB Complaint

 

DIRECT RESPONSE TO COMPLAINT:

 

I receive gas through a third party supplier, Realgy Energy Services and have since 2007.  Affirmative

It is delivered and billed through ******.  Affirmative

My latest bill for gas supply was $409.65 (an increase of over $141, even though I used 145 less therms this month).  The Terms of the contract have not changed.  The Market pricing has increased significantly due to the extreme conditions of this past Winter Season.

Upon further investigation, in the last 12 months Realgy has been charging almost twice what ****** charged (Realgy: .7514/therm; ******: .3831).  This is incorrect.

I called Realgy 4 times on 3 consecutive days without anyone returning my calls.  We have had an extremely high call volume.  Our normal procedure is to return all calls with 1 business day.  Due to the extremely high call volume, we offer the customer to go online to schedule a time for a call back that will fit in their schedule, otherwise we will call back within 2 business days.

I finally received a return call after I threatened to call the news and my attorney.  The return call had nothing to do with the Customer’s threats.  We called this customer as her turn came up.  We do not respond to threats, we call all customers back in the order they are received.  When a customer does threaten to complaint, we let them know as a consumer they have that right. 

The staff was insolent and gave me false information (quoted incorrect gas prices, provided inconsistent explanation of their high rates).  This statement is not factual, but the opinion of the complainant.  We explain exactly what is going on in the Market and the reason for the high pricing. 

When I said I wanted to cancel their service due to poor customer service and extremely high gas prices, I was told I would receive an early cancellation fee even though I have been a customer for 7 years!  The ETF has nothing to do with the customer’s opinion of the service.  If you cancel your contract early (this contract will expire April 2015) there is an ETF.

I want to be able to cancel my service with them without being charged a cancellation fee.  The ETF will not be waived.

Also, a refund of the astronomical rates they have been charging would be nice.  The rates are the Market Rates, the Terms of the contract (6.5 adder) never changed.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company charged me double per unit for my natural gas it went from .395 to .799 in one month and they won't do any thing about it

Desired Settlement: $73.02 is what they owe me

Business Response:

CASE:              9941377

NAME:            Randy Scheffler

ACCT:              0096568.500

Realgy has taken proactive numerous steps to explain how this winter’s extreme weather has affected Pricing, Market conditions, and most obviously increased usage.  We have sent out our Quarterly Newsletter, we have published numerous articles on our website and directed Customers to the Website to stay informed.  We have also sent out an email blast to all our customers with the link to our Website and all the Blogs regarding this issue.  Please feel free to visit our Website and view the articles and information; http://realgyenergyservices.com/blog/

CUSTOMER HISTORY TIMELINE:

06/12/12 – Customer enrolled via TPV

07/03/12 – Welcome Letter sent to Customer

02/24/14 @ 1:28 pm – Customer left message for Realgy

02/24/14 @ 4:15 pm – Realgy called Customer, explained Program, Pricing issues, cancelation procedure.  Customer became hostile, said he wanted to cancel and hung phone up.

02/24/14 – Submitted Drop request to Utility

02/24/14 @ 4:35 pm – Customer left message for Realgy

02/24/14 @ 4:36 pm – Realgy called customer back, he just wanted to inform us that he is filing a complaint with BBB

02/25/14 – Rec’d complaint from BBB

03/04/14 – Researched and responded to complaint

DIRECT RESPONSE TO COMPLAINT:

1.       This company charged me double per unit for my natural gas it went from .395 to .799 in one month and they won’t do anything about it.  The customer is on a variable rate of 0.65 above market pricing.  Not only did the Market Price go up, so did the customer’s usage.

Business Response:

The evidence provided clearly shows that Realgy has returned this customer's calls.

We request the customer's email address at the time of enrollment.  If the customer will not provide an email address, we cannot send them our email notices or Newsletter.  This customer would not provide his email at time of enrollment.  We sent this customer, as all our customers, a Welcome Letter, which clearly gives our website so that they can log on at anytime.  Our website keeps up to date information on the market and we have been posting numerous articles and information to inform the public on the Polar Vortex and the issues we are all facing during this extreme season.

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 9941377

I am rejecting this response because: They didn't change me back until 3/14/2014 and they also raised the rates again from .799 to 1.199 my friends are paying .450 per unit  so in 2 months I paid almost $200.00 than my friends did in the same period they have my address they never sent a newsletter and when I talked to them on 2/24/2014 they had my E-Mail they never sent me anything on the new increase.

Sincerely,

Randy Scheffler

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was promised a 20% guarantee savings for the first 60 day. That has not happened but actually have been charged $152.44 over what ***** would have charged on the 2 accounts. I check with ***** on both accounts and here is the truth....... 1st account - ***** charged 40 cents a therm in Dec and 46 cents for January. While Realgy is charging 54 cents for the bill from 12-19-13 1-20-14 Thats a $62.78 over charge for that bill***** charged 40 cents a therm in Nov and Dec ... While Realgy is charging 47 cents for the bill from 11-19-13 12-19-14 Thats a $28.63 over charge for that bill .. A total of $91.41 over charge for the first account. -------------2nd account = ***** charged 40 cents a therm in Dec and 46 cents for January. While Realgy is charging 54 cents for the bill from 12-19-13 1-20-14 .... Thats a $35.61 over charge for that bill ------That is a total of $152.44 over charged in just 2 month that I was guaranteed a 20% savings When I asked for a credit I was told well they can't be responsible for market changes. The market price is what ***** charges and the 20% guaranteed savings was over 12 months. Not what I was told. Plus how on earth could they show a 20% savings if they are that high now? Bad company and Bad sales Reps that lie to you. Do not trust this company...

Desired Settlement: I want my $152.44 refunded plus The difference in next bills until I am switched back to ***** where I should have stayed.

Business Response:

Response to BBB File No *******

Customer:  **** ********* ******

Acct:  ********** * **********

CUSTOMER HISTORY TIMELINE:

10/25/13 – Customer enrolled via TPV

11/01/13 – Welcome Letter sent to Customer

01/28/14 @ 2:07 PM – Customer left message

01/28/14 @ 2:46 pm – Realgy called Customer, discussed Program, rates, Terms.  Customer upset asked to speak with Supervisor.  Told Supervisor would call her back this afternoon.

01/28/14 @ 3:33 pm – Realgy CS Supervisor called Customer.  Again discussed Program, Rates, Terms.  Explained that with a variable rate we can guarantee a savings over any 12 month period, but it will not necessarily be monthly because it is a variable rate and we cannot predict the market each month or what the Utility will charge.  But we can guarantee a savings in any overall 12 month period.   Customer was mad, rude, and didn’t want to hear what we were stating.  She just said over and over she wanted the savings to be every month and that she was filing complaints.  She said she wanted to cancel, we asked that she send it in writing.

01/29/14 – Rec’d email requesting to drop accounts

01/30/14 – Realgy submitted drop

01/31/14 – Utility accepted drop, to be effective next meter period

DIRECT RESPONSE TO COMPLAINT:

1.     I was promised a 20% guarantee savings for the first 60 day.  According to our script and Program we guarantee up to a 20% savings annually.

2.     That has not happened but actually have been charged $152.44 over what ***** would have charged on the 2 accounts.  As stated previously we do not guarantee a monthly lower price, the savings is over a 12 month period.

3.     I checked with ***** on both accounts and here is the truth…… 1st account – ***** charged 40 cents a therm in Dec and 46 cents for January.  Realgy cannot speak to what *****’s conversation with the customer.

4.     While Realgy is charging 54 cents for the bill from 12-19-13 1-20-14 That’s a $62.78 over charge for that bill ***** charged 40 cents a therm in Nov and Dec… While Realgy is charging 47 cents for the bill from 11-19-13 12-19-14 That’s a $28.63 over charge for that bill.. A total of $91.41 over charge for the first account. ------------2nd account = ***** charged 40 cents a therm in Dec and 46 cents for January.  While Realgy is charged 54 cents for the bill from 12-19-13 1-20-14 …. That’s a $35.61 over charge for that bill ----- That is a total of $152.44 over charged in just 2 month that I was guaranteed a 20% savings.  Again, Realgy cannot speak for *****.  Our program shows a savings over a 12 month period, not month to month. 

5.     When I asked for a credit I was told well they can’t be responsible for market changes.  The market price is what ***** charges and the 20% guaranteed savings was over 12 months.   Correct.

6.     Not what I was told.  This is what our script dictates and what the Representatives state.

7.     Plus how on earth could they show a 20% savings if they are that high now?  With our storage program and pricing, our savings is shown annually.

This customer has been taken off the Realgy Program and is back with *****.  We did waive all early termination charges for this customer.  The customer has only been charged for the Natural Gas used. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: July, 27th 2012 I called Realgy to stop my service as their prices were higher than my local gas company price for heating. Their customer service person took my name account number and was told to cancel my service at (see my account #) and the address on my information. I did not recieve a call back or was not home for the call back. on 6/25/2013 I called very upset that they were still my provider. I requested that they refund my service from July of 2012 as they did not do what I ask them to do. I was told that I would have to wait until someone called me back. I requested that I recieved a call back by 4:00 pm eastern time on the 25th of JUne 2013 with my number given to her 2 times. No call until 6/26/2013. Was told that they did call me last year.Not true, was told whe called me on my cell phone on the 25th again not true. They knew the date I called on 7/27/2012 as it was in their records. Their customer service representative could have told my all I have to do was to send a e-mail to support@realgy with my name, and account number to have the service stopped. I believe they did nothing to continue to bill my gas company and I request a full refund from them from 7/27/2012. They are responsibile for their customer service procedures. they also did not give me the option to sign up for the rate watch or managed price and lastly on their web page it states that they will assure the costomer that same low cost rate as the local gas company. That is not true, as I have the historical print out from NIPSCO, my gas company and their price is ten cents cheaper per therm over the last 2 years than Realgy LLC. Product_Or_Service: natural gas supply Account_Number: ********** (nipsco)

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund A full refund, so they are sure to put their requirements with either on their web site or with their Customer Service represtative. In lieu of that for this company to match the nipsco rate charge for the last two years. You can get that rate comparison from the NIPSCO site.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/10) */ CUSTOMER: ***************************** CONTACT: ************** ACCT: ********* METER: ******* CUSTOMER HISTORY TIMELINE: 05/15/06 - Customer enrolled via TPV 12/29/09 - Sent customer System Generated Log On 07/27/12 @ 8:06 am - Customer left message 08/01/12 @ 10:43 am - Realgy called customer, we could not pull up any of her information with the account number she left, please call back with the correct account number. 06/25/13 @ 9:35 am - Customer left message 06/25/13 @ 11:44 - Realgy left message for customer 06/26/13 @ 10:09 am - Customer left message 06/26/13 @ 10:10 am - Realgy left message for customer, both at office and on cell phone 06/26/13 @ 4:48 pm - Realgy spoke with customer. Customer was rude, and said she wanted to speak to someone in this Country not a foreigner (our Customer Service Rep has a British accent), she was assured she was speaking to the Connecticut Office. She repeatedly interrupted and kept demanding our FCC number. We tried explaining that we had nothing to do with Radio or TV and therefore did not have an FCC Number, but we did give her our Federal Id number. She just became more agitated and ask to speak with the Customer Service Supervisor. She was transferred. Customer upset she was not dropped last year. Advised customer that we called her back last year and let her know we could not locate her account with the information she left on her message and asked that she call with correct information. Customer stating she was busy and acknowledged she never called back. We gave her the proper instructions on how to cancel her account. She also asked for our CEO's contact information, which we gave her. We also offered to send her her Savings Analysis which shows she has saved a total of $141.78, just in the last year. 06/27/13 @ 4:40 PM - Rec'd email requesting drop. 06/27/13 - Drop submitted to Utility 06/27/13 - CEO Rec'd and responded to email from customer. 07/05/13 - Drop confirmed by Utility DIRECT RESPONSE TO COMPLAINT: 1. July, 27th 2012 I called Realgy to stop my service as their prices were higher than my local gas company price for heating. CUSTOMER LEFT A MESSAGE WITH ANSWER SERVICE. DID NOT SPEAK TO REALGY. 2. Their customer service person took my name account number and was told to cancel my service at (see my account #) and the address on my information. INCORRECT, A MESSAGE WAS LEFT WITH OUR ANSWERING SERVICE, AND THE INCORRECT ACCOUNT NUMBER WAS GIVEN. 3. I did not receive a call back or was not home for the call back. INCORRECT, CUSTOMER WAS CALLED BACK AND MESSAGE WAS LEFT FOR HER EXPLAINING THAT WE COULD NOT LOCATE HER ACCOUNT WITH THE INFORMATION SHE HAD LEFT. TO PLEASE CALL US BACK WITH THE CORRECT ACCOUNT NUMBER. 4. On 6/25/2013 I called very upset that they were still my provider. CONFIRMED 5. I requested that they refund my service from July of 2012 as they did not do what I asked them to do. OUR POLICY STATES THAT THE DROP REQUEST MUST BE IN WRITING, SHE DID NOT MAKE THIS REQUEST. 6. I was told that I would have to wait until someone called me back. CORRECT, AGAIN SHE WAS TALKING TO AN ANSWERING SERVICE. 7. I requested that I receive a call back by 4:00 pm eastern time on the 25th of June 2013 with my number given to her 2 times. THE CALL WAS RETURNED AT 11:44 AM ON JUNE 25TH, A MESSAGE WAS LEFT. 8. No call until 6/26/2013. INCORRECT, CALL WAS RETURNED AT 11:44 AM ON JUNE 25TH. WE ALSO CALLED ON JUNE 26TH AT 10:10 AM, MESSAGES LEFT ON BOTH HER OFFICE LINE AND CELL PHONE. 9. Was told that they did call me last year. FACT THAT THE CUSTOMER VERIFIED WHEN SHE SAID SHE WAS TOO BUSY LAST YEAR TO RETURN THE CALL. 10. Not true, was told when called me on my cell phone on the 25th, again not true. NO COMMENT AS THE PHONES RECORDS PROVE OTHERWISE. 11. They knew the date I called on 7/XXXXXX as it was in their records. CORRECT, JUST AS OUR CALLS BACK TO THE CUSTOMER ARE IN OUR RECORDS. 12. Their customer service representative could have told my all I have to do was to send an e-mail to support@realgy with my name, and account number to have the service stopped. IT WAS NOT REALGY CUSTOMER SERVICE THAT SHE FIRST SPOKE TO, IT WAS AN ANSWERING SERVICE AND THEY ONLY TAKE MESSAGES. 13. I believe they did nothing to continue to bill my gas company and I request a full refund from them from 7/27/2012. REALGY SUPPLIES THE GAS, AND THE CUSTOMER IS ONLY PAYING FOR THE GAS THAT WAS USED. AND DURING THIS TIME, REALGY ACTUALLY SAVED THE CUSTOMER $141.78 THEN IF SHE PURCHASED THE GAS DIRECTLY FROM THE UTILITY. 14. They are responsible for their customer service procedures. VERIFIED 15. They also did not give me the option to sign up for the rate watch or managed price and lastly on their web page it states that they will assure the costomer that same low cost rate as the local gas company. OUR GUARANTEE IS THAT THE CUSTOMER WILL SAVE OVER ANY 12 MONTH PERIOD AND THIS CUSTOMER SAVED $141.78 BY PURCHASING THEIR NATURAL GAS FROM REALGY OVER THE UTILITY. 16. That is not true, as I have the historical print out from NIPSCO, my gas company and their price is ten cents cheaper per therm over the last 2 years than Realgy LLC. THE CUSTOMER IS LOOKING AT THE INCORRECT INFORMATION. THE COMPARISON ON THE NIPSCO SITE MUST BE THE PRICE DELIVERED. 17. RefundA full refund, so they are sure to put their requirements with either on their web site or with their Customer Service representative. THE CUSTOMER HAS TO PAY FOR THE NATURAL GAS THEY USED. OUR CUSTOMER SERVICE DID GIVE HER ALL THE INFORMATION SHE REQUIRED. 18. In lieu of that for this company to match the Nipsco rate charge for the last two years. REALGY'S PRICE WAS LOWER. 19. You can get the rate comparison from the NIPSCO site. CORRECT, IT IS THE PRICE DELIVERED. If you have any other questions or comments regarding this customer, please feel free to contact us.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am the secretary of a small company. I was duped into giving permission to this company and they have since charged way more than was promised and technically didn't have the authorization to do this. All I asked for was information that I would pass along to my boss.Now we have big bills and no way to handle this.My power company ****** will not help at all and everytime I call the Realgy 800 number it is either busy, or after cycling through, I just get hung up on. I did get a human and they told me to email them, which I did and haven't heard anything from them Product_Or_Service: Gas Supply Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund of all charges to ALL ACCOUNTS that REALGY STOLE

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/03/27) */ CUSTOMER HISTORY TIMELINE: 04/01/05 - Customer enrolled via TPV 11/09/09 - Customer called in, info on how account was enrolled, info on dropping 11/11/09 - Customer faxed in request to cancel 12/31/09 - Customer called in to confirm accounts canceled 01/02/13 - Customer reenrolled via TPV 01/31/13 - Welcome Letter Sent 03/01/13 - Rec'd Complaint from customer via Utility 03/05/13 - Customer emailed Drop Request 03/05/13 - Drop uploaded 03/08/13 - Drop confirmed 03/12/13 - Rec'd BBB inquiry DIRECT RESPONSE TO COMPLAINT: 1. I am the secretary of a small company. Uncontested 2. I was duped into giving permission to this company Incorrect, the Rep asked for the information, and it was freely given. 3. they have since charged way more than was promised Incorrect, the customer was told the price was + $0.065 and that is what they were charged. 4. technically didn't have the authorization to do this. Incorrect, the customer went through the TPV, which clearly states that are authorized to make the switch from the Utility to Realgy's service. 5. All I asked for was information that I would pass along to my boss. Incorrect. The TPV clearly states that they are switching from the Utility for their Natural Gas Supply to Realgy. 6. Now we have big bills and no way to handle this. We performed a Savings Audit and since January of this year this customer has saved $268.64. 7. My power company ****** will not help at all I cannot speak for ****** 8. and everytime I call the Realgy 800 number it is either busy, or after cycling through, I just get hung up on. We do have an automated phone system, the customer must press the correct extension to get to Customer Service. According to our records, we have spoken to this customer when they have called in. 9. I did get a human and they told me to email them, which I did and haven't heard anything from them We received the request to Drop and have confirmed that the drop has gone through. If you have any other questions or concerns regarding this account, please feel free to contact me.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/24/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/8/2012 Billing/Collection Issues