BBB Accredited Business since

Connecticut Cellar Doors LLC

Phone: (866) 483-0576 Fax: (203) 591-9505 PO Box 153, Oakville, CT 06779 http://www.ctcellardoors.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers basement access cellar doors, vertical basement doors and cellar windows.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Connecticut Cellar Doors LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Connecticut Cellar Doors LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Connecticut Cellar Doors LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 02, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2002 Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business incorporated 03/31/2003 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Claude Raffin, Owner Mr. Steve Wolff, Director of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Claude Raffin, Owner
Business Category

Doors - Cellar/Basement/Bilco Doors - Repair Construction & Remodeling Services Doors Other Building Material Dealers (NAICS: 444190)

Service Area
cellar doors, hatchways, bulkheads, basement doors
Alternate Business Names
CT Cellar Doors

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 153

    Oakville, CT 06779

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Ct Cellar Doors to replace a door on the basement hatchway of my home. The price was $3,30.98, including unpainted door/necessary repairs to the existing side walls. May 15, 2013: I signed the contract with *********** (rep) and paid deposit ($1,515.49).The workers arrived to complete the job on June 28th. I received a call saying that the retaining walls would need more repair resulting in an additional $700. to complete the job. I responded no, saying I would rather cancel the installation/job. They called back a few minutes later saying that they would complete the job for the agreed price, but that I would have to sign a waiver saying that they could not guarantee the "integrity of the foundation" in the future. I never signed such a waiver. Upon return, I inspected the door. The foundation seemed fine, but I was shocked to see the appearance of the outside walls; they looked unfinished, shoddy, sloppy, messy - completely unacceptable. ******************.I called and asked a rep to meet me at my home to discuss the terrible quality of the mason work. Three different masons came out, three different times, to inspect. The second one agreed that the job was terrible and that if it were his job, he never would have left it in said condition.Manager ***** came out yesterday and reiterated that it would cost additional money (now $400.) and told me to read the contract. Contract: "Improvements shall be constructed according to plans and specifications (P & S), approved by owner." The term "P & S" suggests a separate document that is different from what is written on front, which is only "installed with work site debris removed." I NEVER SIGNED ANY SEPARATE "P & S."... all work and labor shall be performed in a good and workmanlike manner." THE WORK IS NOT GOOD, NOR WORKMANLIKE."Warranty: Contractor shall remedy by repairing or replacing any... defects in the work due to faulty material or workmanship." THIS HAS NOT BEEN DONE, NOR ACKNOWLEDGED. Product_Or_Service: Basement hatchway door Order_Number: not given Account_Number: not given

Desired Settlement: Refinishing of outside walls of the hatchway, smoothing out the cement in a neat, professional-looking manner. I am holding out remittance of the balance due, upon completion of the work. I would really like to have a reasonable and amicable solution to this problem, and am so disappointed that I feel it is necessary to proceed in this way.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-101, 8, 2013/08/13) */ From: *************** Sent: Tuesday, August 13, 2013 11:36 AM To: Better Business Bureau Subject: ****** Re: BBB Complaint Case#***************************************** Thank you, Yes, they have contacted me and I believe we have a resolution. They have agreed to repair the walls and will split the additional cost with me. I am satisfied. Sincerely, *************** Thank you so much!

12/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service