BBB Accredited Business since

Country Style Homes, LLC

Phone: (860) 817-0900 38 Fairview Ave, Bristol, CT 06010 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.countrystylehomesllc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new home construction, as well as remodeling and repair services, including windows, additions, painting, hardwood floors, and kitchens and baths.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Country Style Homes, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Country Style Homes, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Country Style Homes, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 04, 2010 Business started: 04/10/1989 Business started locally: 04/10/1989 Business incorporated 03/26/1999 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Charles Weber, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Weber, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Garage Builders Gutter Cleaning Home Improvements - Additions Painting Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Deck - Repair Walkway Design Patio Design Deck Builder Contractors - Framing Siding Contractors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Hardwood Floor Contractors Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction Cabinets Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Pressure Washing Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design Carpenters Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)


Additional Locations

  • 38 Fairview Ave

    Bristol, CT 06010 (860) 817-0900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Country Style Homes and ******* ****** to build an addition to my existing home and extend my driveway. While I have many complaints regarding the quality of sub-contractors he hires as well as his customer service skills, the problem I still have is to the driveway extension his subcontractor installed in November of 2012. The extension is currently crumbling and the driveway is pitted. Mr. ****** and the subcontractor visited my home and inspected the driveway and have denied any liability for the driveway not performing as it should. Mr. ****** has now stated that he was "banned from the property" and refued to return to my home to further discuss a resolution. When asked who "banned" Mr. ****** from my property he did not respond. To be clear no one has asked Mr. ****** to not return to the property. Country Style Homes is attempting to avoid responsibility for a workmanship issue that one of its sub-contractors caused which would not be the first time I have experienced this with Country Style Homes.

Desired Settlement: Based on the inspections of other asphalt contractors and their quotes to repair the damage to the driveway extension I am requesting a $1,000 from Country Style Homes in order to effect proper repairs.

Business Response: Mr. ***** and the asphault subcontractor meet with the customer when he complained to him almost 7 months after the work was completed. The subcontract told him that the damage was not done by his work but that the damage occurred after the work  was completed. They noticed that there was work done to the existing fence and that the customer didn't know exactly when the damage was done.  The work date was in November and his complaint was in June of the following year, any number of factors could be to blame.  Mr. ***** never told the customer he was banned from the property.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The driveway is pitting and is a result of the driveway being installed improperly. This type of damage would not show up immediately after installation and is not consistent with any outside force. Having a vinyl fence installed on my property has no relation to the driveway pitting or crumbling. I also dispute the fact that Mr. ****** refused to return to the property as text messages received from Mr. ****** on August 24, 2013 at 3:54pm state: "Was told not to step on property again!..." I can supply the transcript of his text messages to me but this just speaks to character and not to the damages to my driveway. When I tried following up with Mr. ****** on this issue he did not contact me back and had the asphalt contractor contact me directly which did not offer me any assistance. Mr. ****** has never shared the identity of the sub-contractor who performed the work. I again am requesting in good faith the cost of repairing the driveway extension to function correctly in the amount of $1,000.

Sincerely,
***** ********

Business Response: As stated before, the subcontractor went to the property and inspected the damage and stated it was not faulty on his installation.  The work was done in November and in June it becomes damaged? Anything could have happened over the winter to the driveway and after the other work completed at the home during that time. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
The issue with the driveway is not due to physical damage but an installation defect. The pitting in the asphalt indicates this. Clearly Mr. ****** is refusing to stand behind his sub-contractor and his contract and refuses to consider any other professional opinion except the contractor that installed the driveway improperly which creates a conflict of interest. Without compensation for the expense to repair the defect the case will not be resolved to my satisfaction.

Sincerely,

***** ********

Consumer Response: Here is a copy of the contract which included extending the existing driveway.