BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

MBI, Inc. offers direct marketing of collectibles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that MBI, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MBI, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 114 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

114 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 25 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 20
Billing/Collection Issues 36
Delivery Issues 14
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 44
Total Closed Complaints 114

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1969 Business started locally: 01/01/1969 Business incorporated: 10/01/1973 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Bart, Controller Mr. Russell Friedman, Executive Vice President Mr. Peter M. Maglathlin, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Bart, Controller
Business Category

Collectibles Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Product Sales - General

Alternate Business Names
Danbury Mint Easton Press, The PCS Stamps & Coins Willabee & Ward

Additional Locations

  • 47 Richards Avenue

    Norwalk, CT 06857 (203) 853-2000

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called today on February 11, 2014 and spoke with a woman about an issue I had with not receiving an item. She proceeded to talk over me and argue and wouldn't let me explain the problem. Finally she did but interrupted me and continued to argue with me. The customer is NOT always right. In this case, I am. I had an issue with a payment for a bracelet a few months ago and explained to them that they sent me a bracelet but on the invoice, it had a different month. ( I ordered monthly bracelets with the month's theme on them ), and they apologized. I NEVER received the one for December and called today. She said I misplaced it and wouldn't let up. I DID NOT MISPLACE IT! I told her to cancel my subscription and she said, "Fine!" This company is by far the rudest and crudest I have ever encountered. I have NEVER had an issue like this in my life! There is no sense in calling because THEY ARE RIGHT and according to them, you are not. Why would I lie about a bracelet?

Desired Settlement: I want my money back for all the bracelets they sent me and I also want to be removed from their mailing list. I've yet to wear any of them.

Business Response:

I sincerely apologize for the manner in which Ms. *****’ call was handled.  We pride ourselves in providing exceptional service and clearly fell short of that in handling her call. 

I spoke with Ms. ***** today and arranged the replacement for the bracelet she didn’t receive.  She also agreed to continue with the collection.

She seemed satisfied when we spoke and we believe the matter to be resolved.

**** **********

******** * ****

Customer Service Supervisor

************ **** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/26/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I PURCHASED A I LOVE YOU PENDANT FOR VALENTINES DAY WHICH CLEARLY STATED GUARANTEED DELIVERY FOR VALENTINES DAY. IT WAS PURCHASED 3.5 WEEKS AGO AND ON THERE ORDER TRACKING IT STATED ON WEDNESDAY 02-05-2014 IT WAS BEING SHIPPED OUT THE NEXT DAY. I DID NOT RECEIVE IT SO I CALLED ON MONDAY 02-10-2014 AND WAS TOLD IT WAS SHIPPING ON TUESDAY 02-11-2014 OVERNIGHT MAIL, AS OF TODAY I HAVE RECEIVED NOTHING FROM THEM. I NEVER RECEIVED AN EMAIL OR PHONE CALL THAT IT WASN'T GOING TO SHIP FROM THEM AND WHEN I CALLED ON THURSDAY 02-13-2014 THE PHONE STATED THEY WERE CLOSED BECAUSE OF WEATHER ISSUES. IF THEY KNEW BAD WEATHER WAS COMING THEN AN ATTEMPT TO SHIP PRIOR TO BAD WEATHER OR A LEAST SEND AN EMAIL ON 02-12-2014 OR 02-13-2014 LETTING THE CUSTOMER KNOW THEY WERE NOT SHIPPING AN ORDER PLACED 3.5 WEEKS AGO. I WAS LEFT WITH NO GIFT FOR VALENTINES DAY AND HAD TO GET A CHEAP REPLACEMENT GIFT IN THE MEAN TIME ON 02-14-2014. I HAVE PURCHASED BEFORE FROM THEM AND PAID MY BILL ON TIME.

Desired Settlement: THEY NEED TO SHIP THE ITEM ASAP AND WHAT EVER THERE SO CALLED GUARANTEE BEFORE VALENTINES DELIVERY NEEDS TO BE HONORED.

Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding this complaint to us.  We regret the delay with Mr. *******’s order of the Personalized Diamond I Love You Pendant.  When we spoke with Mr. ******* on 2/12 we advised him of the potential delay in receiving his order after Valentine’s Day. 

His order was shipped on February 14th and, according to the FedEx tracking, it was delivered on February 19th.  In the interest of resolving this matter, we have refunded the $37.15 he already paid, and cleared the balance from this order.  

We regret the inconvenience this has caused and believe this matter to be resolved. 

**** **********

Danbury Mint

Customer Service Supervisor

************ **** ****

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a pendant 2 weeks ago for valentines Day for the Wife called Forever Together!They sent me one that has someone elses names On It-****** and ****** and should have been A***** and l******! Anyhow They told me to send it back and hope the people that have Ours will send it back in enough time or make another to have it here before Valentines Day-No garantee on That-One person said could be 4-6 weeks-My wife was waiting on it as it was a surprize that she did not know what it was! This is there mistake period and they should send me the Correct one without me having to wait 4-6 weeks period! Its not my fault they hired someone that cannot get the orders Straight and sent to the right people!

Desired Settlement: I need this before Valentines day-Thats why I ordered Way early so there would be NO PROBLEMS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding this complaint to us.  We regret the error in sending the wrong Pendant to Mr. *********.  We were able to expedite the correct pendant and it was shipped to Mr. ********* on Friday for delivery today.

Again, we apologize for the error and believe this matter to be resolved to his satisfaction.

Regards,

**** **********

Danbury Mint

Customer Service Supervisor

************ **** ****

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

A***** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I helped my father order an item from Danbury Mint for my mother's birthday. He received an advertisement in the mail that even had the date of her birthday in the advertisement, January 20th. The website we ordered from and the advertisement said it would take 7 to 10 days for shipping. We ordered the item on the 8th.Their own internal tracking now shows it did not even process until the 15th and there is no way it can be here on time. My parents are in their eighties, there are not many birthdays left. It is horrible they would deceive the elderly and ruin the occasion.

Desired Settlement: My ideal settlement is to see them out of business. Nothing they offer can fix the lack of this gift on the actual birthday and this is in their actual email:e are happy to let you know that the item you ordered has been shipped.Item Ordered: I Love You Diamond PendantShipped on: January 13, 2014Ship Method: *** Global MailTracking Code: **************************But when you hit the tracking link:Jan 15, 20143:54AM********* **, USProcessed2:57AM********* **, USArrival *** Global Mail Facility1:57************* *** USPicked up by Shipping Partner

Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding this complaint to us.  We regret that this order did not arrive by January 20th.  Our records indicate that it was delivered on January 21stWe handed off your order to *** on January 13th (they entered it into their system on January 15th).  It should have taken between 1-4 days for delivery.  We are very disappointed in ***’s mishandling of your package and we have registered a complaint with them.

We are processing a refund of the $7.50 shipping and service charge to Mr. ****** Visa card.

We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.

Regards,

<st1:personname w:st="on">**** **********

Danbury Mint

Customer Service Supervisor

************ **** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order one half FRANKLIN dollar coin about two months ago from PCS stamps and coins and , and had been paid for it.Later, I received one envelop with the letter said I ordered which I did not. I returned to sender right away, but now I received a bill for 71.90-bill account 9921242211. Please let the company know that I did not order nor I kept the order, and please do not send any mail or order to me.Please let the public know that do not buy any thing from this company which has horrible sale method. Any one who did order from this company will become a nightmare.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company apology to me and send a letter to cancel the billing request.

Business Response:

We are responding to the complaint filed by *** ******** regarding a Franklin Half Dollar Coin he ordered from PCS Stamps and Coins.  We received a mail order from him on 08/7/13 for the first coin in the collection, the 1963 Philadelphia Mint Franklin Half Dollar.  Enclosed with his first shipment was information regarding continuing the collection.  *** ******** contacted us on 12/03/13, upon receipt of the second shipment,  to cancel.  At that time, we canceled his order and we forwarded a postage paid return label to send back the second shipment.  We have not yet received the return of this merchandise, however, we have closed his account and he will receive no further billing notices from us. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 
I only order from it. when I received second shipment, I returned it to sender right away even without opened it.
The company should and had received the return shipment long long time ago, not until couple months later and send the bill.
I trust the USPS should delivery it to sender with missing.

Sincerely,
****** ********

Business Response:

We are responding to *** ********** rejection to our previous response.  To clarify what we have done in response to his original complaint; while we have not received the return of the merchandise, we are writing off the balance due on his account.  He will have no further contact from us.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:as I email to BBB , I do not have the shipment. I appreciate the response for no more further bill notice,

however, the company did not understand that I did not keep the shipment. The shipment, I did not know what was enclosed, already returned 
to sender. I have to make it very clear that I do not have the shipment. 
Sincerely,

****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a "Complete" presidential coin set from The ****** *****. The website clearly states that you will receive every released coin to date for 1 payment of 29.95Upon reviewing our order they now claim that the cost is for a single set of 3 coins and they will then automatically bill me again and again for additional sets of coins as they send them to me. This is the web page offering the coins*************************************************************************************************************This is very unethical advertising and they never receive authorization to bill my card more than once. The product should be clearly marked as to what you will receive and how much it will cost. I have cancelled the order with this company and I wish to report this event to prevent others from being deceived.

Desired Settlement: I would ultimately like to receive the offer that this company posted. I would like every presidential coin released up to this date from all three mints for the total cost of 29.95. This is what was advertised and this is what I would like to receive.

Business Response:

We are responding to the complaint filed by Mr. ******** regarding the cost of our Presidential Dollar Sets.  Mr. ******** is correct-we made a mistake.  Our website did state the incorrect price of $29.95 for this collection of coins.  The correct price is $29.95 plus $2.00 shipping and service per set of coins.  As an apology and a token of our appreciation for bringing this error to our attention (he was the first and only customer to come across this), we have sent Mr. ******** a letter of apology and a $100.00 credit on his account towards his next purchase. 

The advertisement that the customer mentioned was inadvertently left on our ****** ***** website, which sells leather-bound books, after an unsuccessful marketing test.

Please feel free to contact us with any further questions.

Business Response:

In response to Mr. ********’s rejection of our original offer, we have reviewed his current proposal.  We feel this is reasonable and have accepted his proposal.  We will be shipping the coins to him shortly.

Please contact us if there are any further questions.

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

In regards to the resolution that they are offering, I am glad to accept the offer for MBI to ship the 84 coins. There should be 18 different presidents each with the P, D, and S mint marks. I would like to receive confirmation that the items have been shipped within the next 2 weeks. If we do not receive the proper information regarding the shipment, we will reopen this case.

I am glad that MBI took responsibility for the error and they have done everything that they could to resolve the issue. 

Sincerely,

****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered coin collection for a Christmas gift, midway they sent a coin I did not order, they refused to send the right coin until I sent a double payment for something I did not want. Sent the money and then toward the end of getting the last coin, you guessed it they send another unwanted coin. I called and this time they actually sent me something to send the coin back, I send the coin back but they are still holding the very last coin that I ordered hosptage until I send them a payment of $35.00..(two more payments).Isn't this illegal, can't we join together and start a class action suit against them or at least shut down the gangsters

Desired Settlement: The one coin that I was suppose to receive to be sent

Business Response:

We are responding to the complaint filed by *** ****** stating that we are holding the last coin needed to complete her collection, <st1:state w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on">******.  We are not holding her coin waiting for a $35.00 payment. In fact, the coin was shipped to her on 02/20/13 and was returned to us on 04/19/13 by the U.S. Postal Service.  Since she had cancelled her order on 04/11/13, we assumed that she did not want this coin. The double payment ($35.90) *** ****** refers to that was paid in December, was for her August 2012 and October 2012 shipments which were past due.  There is a current balance due in the amount of $17.95 for her <st1:state w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on">****** coin panel, which was shipped on 01/23/12. As a courtesy, we are going to credit her account for this payment.

*** ****** never contacted us to find out where her <st1:place w:st="on"><st1:state w:st="on">****** coin was.  If she had, we would have explained that it was returned by the U.S. Postal Service and reshipped it to her. We will gladly reship the <st1:state w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on">****** coin to her now to the address provided on this complaint.  

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  I purchased these quarters as a gift, when the envelope came I "thought" it was what I had orderd.  I  sent them to the person and later they called me to tell me they weren't the right quarters, called these people and they "said" they were going to send a label to return the "junk" I didn't want but they thought they could force on me (which they did).  Never got the label  then low and behold after I went ahead and paid for what I didn't want they started back sending the quarters I actually ordered.  Then wham here comes another not wanted junk.  I called again they said they would send a label  this time they actually did Finally monts later send a label.  The instructions said to return the original  invoice and the credit card charge,   since I paid online through my bank I did not have the original invoice.  For some reason I thought they had got it right.  so I just went ahead and sent the quarters back without the invoice  cause I really didn't want the thing anyhow.  Well today I get a return label to send the other stupid junk and same thing they want original invoice and credit card information.. I'm going to send this junk back but I DON'T HAVE THE INVOICE!!! the people threw away that when they got their quarters.  I guess I will send them another $17.95 because this was a gift but I do think people should be wary of their practice and I thought it was against the law to send unwanted items and then collect I did go online and checked complaints and I'm not the only one.           

Sincerely,


BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

10/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I came across the following website for Danbury Mint: http://www*************************************************************************************************Website specifically states that for $3.95 shipping you will get a free flag and pole with NO obligation to buy any additional products: "Receive your first Dallas Cowboys Yard Flag for FREE -- a savings of $24.95! You pay only $3.95 shipping and service. What's more, you'll receive a sturdy metal yard stake to display your Dallas Cowboys Yard Flags -- FREE of charge!Don't miss this exclusive opportunity to own a Dallas Cowboys Yard Flag for FREE -- a savings of $24.95. Youll receive additional Dallas Cowboys Yard Flags on approval at the rate of 1 per month at the regular price of $24.95 (plus $3.95 shipping and service) each. You will enjoy our no-risk satisfaction guarantee. There is no obligation and no minimum purchase so you may cancel your collection at any time. "After reviewing the information, I placed order 57717859. The $3.95 was charged to my credit card and I received my flag but not the pole even thought the website indicates: "What's more, you'll receive a sturdy metal yard stake to display your Dallas Cowboys Yard Flags -- FREE of charge!" It also specifically states: "You will enjoy our no-risk satisfaction guarantee. There is no obligation and no minimum purchase so you may cancel your collection at any time. "I contacted Danbury Mint and they stated that they will not send me my flag pole even though the website specifically states that it is free with no minimum purchase. Customer service stated that I will have to purchase an additional flag in order to get the pole and the customer service agents attitude was nasty. This is absolutely false advertisement. I printed copies of the website in case they try to be deceptive and change it after receiving this complaint.

Desired Settlement: I want my free yard stake as indicated on the website.

Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding this complaint to us.  We have already contacted Ms. ******* regarding her order.  The flag pole is being shipped and we have cancelled the rest of the collection as she requested.

We regret that Ms. ******* was given misinformation that the flag pole was sent after the second flag in this collection.  This has been addressed with the representative that responded to Ms. *******’s email.

She seemed satisfied and we believe this matter to be resolved. 

Regards,

**** **********

******** * ****

Customer Service Supervisor

************

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: hi My name is ******* ******I purchase two yankees cups.it was on face book advertise for $7.99 eachI pay for them in full.I now been receiving letter for the past year that I own then $35.99 and they are going to report me to the collection agency if I don't paym themthe order number is ************* need your help in this matterthank you******* ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I don't want to pay again. they false advertisedthe item price on face book and I am not responsable for their mistake

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this complaint to us. Mr. ****** responded to an offer to enroll in our collection of Yankees Shot Glasses.

This is our first record of contact from Mr. ******. We do not have record of any returns but, in the interest of resolving this matter, we are clearing the balance on his account for the two shot glasses shipped in January 2013.

We regret any misunderstanding that has occurred and believe this matter to be resolved to his satisfaction.


Regards,


**** **********
Danbury Mint
Customer Service Supervisor
************ **** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 84-year old father, who has suffered from dementia for at least three years, purchased, from June 2011 to Sept. 2012, some Indian Head pennies and some state quarters, spending a total of $703.60. He returned $70 of purchases late in 2012 for refund. I have recently taken over all of his affairs, as agent under power of attorney, and have been trying to rectify as many of his financial mistakes as possible. Today I valued hIs Indian Head pennies, purchased from PCS, at approximately $115, and his state quarters at approximately $24. When I called customer service at PCS to inquire about returning all of the pennies and quarters for refund, even after explaining the unique circumstances of my father purchasing them while suffering dementia, I was told that PCS only allows refunds on purchases made within the past 30 days. I believe an exception should always be granted in such situations. Product_Or_Service: coins

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I wish to return all of the Indian Head pennies and state quarters for a full refund of the purchase prices.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/17) */ We are responding to the complaint filed by ****** ****** on behalf of his father, ****** ******. Mr. ****** did contact us on 06/07/13 and asked if we would accept back the collection purchased by his father. Our standard return policy is 30 days as stated on all of marketing materials. However, under the circumstances, we will make an exception for Mr. ****** and accept the return of both collections for a refund. We have contacted Mr. ****** and advised him that we will accept these returns and refund the amount paid by his father. Please feel free to contact us with any further questions.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I keep on getting unwanted mailings about Danbury mint, pc stamps & coin & their other sister businesses. I want to removed all their mailings lists I am not interested in there product & want the constant mailings to stop. I find it a form of harassment.

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY NAME & ADDRESS TO REMOVED FROM THEIR MAILINGS LISTS & NOT TO BE SENT OTHER MAILINGS FROM ANY OF THEIR SISTER COMPANIES ASAP!

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/29) */ We are responding to the complaint filed by ******** **** regarding removing her name from our mailing list as well as that of our sister companies, The Danbury Mint and Easton Press. We received and processed her request on 05/21/13. Once the request is processed, it does take 4-6 weeks for the mailings to stop completely, as our mailings are prepared in advance. Please feel free to contact us with any further questions. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) They made no mention of the pcs stamp & coin & their other sister companies. I received some more things in the mail from pcs stamp & coin even though I have contacted them repeatedly to remove my name & address from their contact list. They have told me they did this mo's ago but YET I am still receiving brochures & mailings. Why can't this co. understand that I do want to be bothered with their dung & consider it harassment. I want assurances that they are going to take me off ALL their mailing lists with this co. once & for all. I even contacted the AZ attorney general's office about it. I have no intention to agreeing with this outcome until I see that I no longer am receiving their mailings. I have this co.repeatedly & even talked to a supervisor& emailed them several times. IN short I hate this co. & will never buy another thing ever from them so they are wasting their money. I have even sent back their mailings to return to sender & have written messages telling them to stop sending me their stuff in the post paid letters but NONE of it works. I also wrote the president or ceo of the company but that did not work either. Why does this co. NOT LISTEN that I will never spend another cent & I am getting tired of the HARASSEMENT! Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/06/14) */ We are responding to the rebuttal filed by ******** ****. As stated in our previous reply, her name has been removed from the mailing list of PCS Stamps and Coins as well as our sister companies, Easton Press and Danbury Mint. Our records show that no mailings have been sent from any of our divisions within the last 4 weeks. Please feel free to contact us with any further questions.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

6/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company claims they do not grade their coins. I bought a silver dollar and on the coin holder it was written genuine uncirculated. I had the coin looked at by a local coin dealer and he said the coin was cleaned. Which severely devalues the value of the coin.

Desired Settlement: I would like a partial refund on the two coins I received from this company.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/04) */ We are responding to a complaint filed by Mr. *****. Mr. ***** purchased two silver dollars from us at our promotional discounted price of $39.95 each (as the ad he responded to states, the regular price per coin is $90 plus $4.90 shipping and service) - a discount of 58%. He is now asking for a further discount because he is unhappy with the condition of the coins he received. The coins we sell are not professionally graded. The definition of "uncirculated" according to the Red Book of Coins is the one we follow when inspecting the coins we acquire from our network of dealers: "details are not worn but may still show a number of contact marks, and whose surface may be spotted or lack some luster". Some of our coins have been restored, as he notes; this type of coin restoration, designed to improve a coin's luster and increase its eye appeal, is not uncommon practice in the industry, and does not prevent a coin from being considered uncirculated. Given the significant discount Mr. ***** has already received on the coins he purchased, we cannot offer him a further discount. Therefore, we are going to forward a postage-paid return label to Mr. ***** so he can return his coins for a full refund.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This issue involves unfair billing practices. My credit card was not charged for a book shipment they made sixty days ago and I'm told of this later. On 3/21/13 Easton Press shipped a book to me. They have my Discover card account number and expiration date on file. There were problems in the recent past where Easton Press claimed that Discover declined payment on some shipments because of an incorrect expiration date. However, the customer service representative I spoke to yesterday recited the correct Discover card account number and expiration date. Furthermore, upon speaking to a customer service rep at Discover I was informed that no charges were put my credit card for the shipment of this book in March 2013 or in April or May of 2013 for that matter. They just left this charge lying and sixty days aftter the fact I get a past due statement. This amounts to unfair business practice.

Desired Settlement: I just want the charge put through my credit card for payment and I want no further books from them.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/04) */ We are responding to a complaint filed by Mr. ****** regarding charges not being processed on his credit card for his monthly book subscription. On 01/28/13, prior to sending out his 01/31/13 shipment, we attempted to pre-authorize the purchase to his Discover card. This pre-authorization failed on 01/28/13 and a letter was sent to Mr. ****** on this date advising him of this fact. Since we did not hear from Mr. ******, his credit card was removed from his order. When his next book was shipped to him at the end of March, an invoice was enclosed with the shipment showing the balance due. We sent a reminder notice advising him of his balance on 05/14/13. He called on 05/20/13 inquiring about his balance. On 05/21/13 he called again and a payment was charged to his credit card for the past due amount on his account. There is no balance due and we have canceled his account per his request. Please feel free to contact us with any further questions.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started collecting the presidental dollars coins from Danbury mint for $34.95 plus shipping for a total of 39.90. I was getting a set every other month. I paid on time. They started to take longer and longer to get to me. I called several times , getting different answers. I was finally told the shipments would come 4 times a years after I received 24 of 44 total in collection. I talked to ********* (customer service supervisor) to see if they would buy back the my collection as it was going to take 6 plus years to finish the collection and still may not complete the collection as some of the presidents are still alive, which they did not disclose in the beginning. She never called me back. I called her today and she said she could buy the last 5 or 6 shipments for $200.I asked her what I can I do with the other $757.60 I put out. That is not acceptable as I paid out $957.60. I want them to buy back the collection for what I paid for it! I would not have started collecting these coins if they had be fourth coming about the president that are still alive. Product_Or_Service: coins Account_Number: XXXXXXXX XX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund buy back whole collection I have so far. And be forth coming about the president that are still alive and also their business

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/22) */ Thank you for forwarding Mr. ****** complaint to us. Mr. ****** enrolled in this program in March 2011. At the time of order, as well as in the letter included with his first shipment, we stated that shipments would occur every six to eight weeks until caught up to the U.S. Mint release schedule of a new coin every three months. This policy has been in place since the beginning of this program. Mr. ****** is receiving coins as they are made available by the U.S. Mint. Our return policy is 30 days, and we offered to accept 6 months of shipments from Mr. ******. I spoke with Mr. ****** on Monday, 3/4 and again when I called him back on Thursday, 3/7/13. We regret any misunderstanding that has occurred, and Mr. ****** can contact us directly should he wish to return the last 6 months of shipments. Regards, ****** Danbury Mint Customer Service Supervisor XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. 4337 Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/03/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) Like i said that when i decided to go ahead and start this COLLECTION Dan Bury Mint told me that i would receive 1 Presidental EVERY 6 to 8 WEEKS until i filled the COLLECTION, Never did Dan Bury Mint Say or in any notice that it would change. Or did they ever disclose that the last of the COLLECTIION could ever be filled when President are still alive, This would take me INDEFINITE to fill this COLLECTION, I believe that most any body would not start something that would be almost NEVER to Finish. Dan Bury Mint i believes knows this, way else would they go beyond there POLICY of 30 days return to 6 of Presidental of collecting witch would be around 1 year or more. I have right around $959.76 and they want me to except $200 and i would have a lost $759.76. Make no sence for me to go that way. Just to sun it up I would NEVER NEVER go into some COLLECTION that there is a GREAT chance to NEVER complete. I want a full refund, This is no way to do BUSINESS and except no complaints. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/04/10) */ We reviewed the advertising and shipment letters and confirmed that the shipping schedule was clearly, accurately, and repeatedly explained. We are also fulfilling the program as we said we would. The ad Mr. ****** responded to stated six times that with your order you will "receive past and future Presidential Dollar Collector Rolls about every two to three months..." We reiterated this in the welcome letter accompanying his first shipment further explaining "you will receive future shipments about every 6-8 weeks until you've caught up to with the U. S. Mint release schedule of a new coin about every three months." The U. S. Mint has been minting four new Presidential Dollar coins a year since the program began in 2007. Mr. ****** enrolled in the program in 2011 and began receiving coins every six to eight weeks. He has now received all of the 2007 through 2012 coins and is caught up to the U. S. Mint's release schedule. So he is now receiving 2013 coins as they are minted and released, about one shipment every three months - as originally stated. It is impossible for us to ship any coins before they are actually minted. This U.S. Mint program is currently scheduled to end in 2016 after President Ford has been honored. Regards, ****** Danbury Mint Customer Service Supervisor XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. 4337

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have requested several times to be taken off the mailing list of this company.I am constantly being inundated with deceptive mail flyers. Take me off the mailing list.

Desired Settlement: Take me off the mailing list. I do not want any contact from this company.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/07) */ We have removed Mr. ****** from our mailing list. Please be advised that since some mailings are already in process, it may take up to 30 days for our mailings to Mr. ****** to cease.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
2/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/8/2013 Delivery Issues
12/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/22/2012 Delivery Issues
11/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/31/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/31/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/8/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2012 Delivery Issues
6/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/31/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/16/2012 Delivery Issues
3/16/2012 Delivery Issues
2/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/14/2012 Delivery Issues
1/20/2012 Delivery Issues
1/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/28/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
12/27/2011 Delivery Issues
12/27/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/27/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
12/20/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
12/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
12/16/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/28/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/31/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/26/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/26/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2011 Delivery Issues
8/3/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/8/2011 Delivery Issues
7/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/7/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
6/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
6/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
5/26/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/10/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
4/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
4/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1