BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

Liberty Galleries LLC

Phone: (800) 216-2703 Fax: (203) 362-2868 View Additional Phone Numbers 910 Broad St, Bridgeport, CT 06604

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Liberty Galleries LLC offers numismatics, gold, silver and collectibles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Liberty Galleries LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Liberty Galleries LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Liberty Galleries LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 07, 2009 Business started: 02/01/2004 Business started locally: 02/01/2004 Business incorporated: 02/02/2004 in CT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Eugene R. Romano, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eugene R. Romano, President
Business Category

Collectibles Art Galleries, Dealers & Consultants Numismatics All Other Miscellaneous Store Retailers (except Tobacco Stores) (NAICS: 453998)


Additional Locations

  • 910 Broad St

    Bridgeport, CT 06604 (800) 216-2703 (203) 683-4306

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 683-4306(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****, an employee of Liberty Galleries, called to inform me merchandise i had agreed to purchase was not available...we had a discussion about possibly substituting similar value merchandise....he was going to assemble a similar collection of goods and call me to discuss the relative value and specific items....no such call occurred....there was no follow-up discussion and no authorization to proceed...the next day there were additional charges ($1600) against my credit card far exceeding, and including, my original agreed amount ($2900)....a total of $4500....since there was no follow-up of merchandise condition or specific items there was no authorization to proceed....i called their office several times during normal business hours and left messages...their message machine suggests a return call shortly...i have now incorporated my credit card company to leverage assistance in disputing these unauthorized charges....

Desired Settlement: i would like the charges removed from my credit card....as of this writing there has been no indication merchandise has been shipped and no verification from the merchant of same....there is a combined $4525 of unauthorized charges on my credit card....

Business Response:

This is in response to the contact we received on 4/14/14, regarding an order placed with our company by Mr. ********.  We have been in subsequent contact with Mr. ********, in regard to ID #********.  We refreshed his memory as to the specifics of the order that was placed with us.  We believe it was a simple oversight and are delighted we had the opportunity to clarify any confusion.

 

We were unaware of any concerns Mr. ******** had regarding this order, because he specifically asked for the material by type and date, and readily agreed verbally to the price as recently as 2 weeks ago.

 

Mr. ******** informed us of his intention to graciously rescind his complaint with the BBB.  If we can provide any further clarification, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

3/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Father, ****** R. *******, died on Jan. 13, 2014. He was in financial distress when he passed, due to a relentless and callous phone sales campaign by Liberty Galleries. Once he had made a few small purchases of collectible coins from them, his phone records indicate they began calling him as many as seven times in a few hours, sometimes as early as 7:30am MST. They had found an 88 year old man with a credit card, and they wanted to take him for all he was worth. Not content with taking the last dollar he had in savings, the sold him enough coins at greatly inflated prices to put him in debt to ******** ******* $26,000. We began contacting them within a few weeks of his last purchases as soon as the family became aware of his spending, and their excuse was "we didn't know about his age and failing health". After they were told of his issues, it made no difference. They still refused to accept return of the two recent purchases. Operating a company completely unencumbered by a sense of decency means excuses are easy, doing the right thing is difficult. They were provided with my Power of Attorney allowing me to act on my Father's behalf. The only solution they offered was to ask about other coins in his collection that they might assist us in selling, in other words they were hoping to make further profit out of the terrible situation they helped put him in. I'm hoping with this complaint to show that civilization has not declined to the point where Liberty Galleries' abusive phone sales techniques are considered "better business".

Desired Settlement: Over the period of a few short months Liberty Galleries sold my aged Father over $45,000 in coins that are worth possibly half of that. We are seeking to return all the coins on invoices ***** and *****. This represents $25,375.00 in purchases. If these coins are the great investment Liberty claims, and fairly priced, they should have no trouble selling them to someone else.

Business Response:

Mr. ******l ******* chose to characterize us as using a relentless and callous phone sales campaign directed towards his father.  There is nothing further from the truth.

 

He was not privy to any conversations or correspondence between us.  We had an excellent rapport with Mr. *******, we accommodated him and gladly pursued his requests. His age was never a topic of conversation.  There was absolutely nothing about our interaction that would have led any reasonable person to question whether Mr. ******* was in complete control of his faculties.  When Mr. ******* requested merchandise, we reasonably assumed he was financially capable of making these purchases.

 

Months later, we were contacted by both of Mr. *******’s children regarding business he had done with us.  When we mentioned to Mr. ****** ******* that we were contacted by his children, he was adamant that his business was no one’s concern but his.  In spite of his comments, we honored his son’s request to refrain from further business, and in fact cancelled a pending order.

 

We were subsequently contacted by the credit card company that Mr. ****** ******* used for some of his purchases.  It was clear they were provided with inaccurate information regarding several of his transactions.  The information was provided by someone other than Mr. *******.  Mr. ******* never disputed or questioned any of his purchases.  In fact, during subsequent conversation, he commented on his satisfaction with his purchases.  It was clear that whoever contacted Mr. *******’s credit card company was less than truthful, and misrepresented Mr. *******’s wishes and intentions.

 

Ultimately after a thorough review of all the facts, the credit card company determined that there was absolutely nothing inappropriate about the business we had conducted with Mr. *******, and refused any claims.

 

At that juncture we still offered to assist Mr. *******’s son ******l in marketing merchandise his father had purchased, regardless of where he acquired it.  The way our company was characterized in the letter you received was questionable at best, and our offer to assist the family in selling their father’s material was clearly misconstrued.  It was a gracious offer, although it is certainly their choice to decline.  The offer was made in good faith.

 

We believe that this is a case of children looking for a way to get out of legitimate purchases willingly made by their father, and remove the financial responsibility put upon them by their father’s unfortunate passing.  They are obviously not above using slanderous accusations to achieve their objective.

 

Mr. ****** ******* was a gentleman, and a truly valued customer.  Our offer to help his family market his merchandise still stands.

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:   The sheer volume of calls from Liberty Galleries to my Father belies the claim that this was not a telephonic campaign with sales the only goal.   I was not privy to their conversations with my Father, but I could be.  In my experience Liberty Galleries record all incoming phone calls, and so should be able to provide the recordings of all calls initiated by my Father to order coins.  It would be good if they recorded all sales calls, but I'm not aware if that is the case.  I would be particularly interested in the conversation in which my Father allegedly said this was no one's business but his, as I believe this to be a scurrilous lie.  My Father asked us for help with this financial tragedy, as he didn't have the stamina to deal with problems like this anymore.  Many times after august I would come over to his house and find him surrounded by coins at his computer, looking haggard.  My Father was not very computer literate, but he would spend too much time on the computer trying to find real values for the coins he had purchased.  Time after time he was dealt another crushing blow as he discovered the actual value of the item was a fraction of what he paid.  To assert that he was happy with his purchases, and pleased to have eliminated his life savings is offensive.  The purchases we seek to reverse were made July 18, 2013.  Were were in contact with Liberty Aug. 20, 2013.  How this becomes "months later" is unclear, unless it is simply an attempt at deception and distortion of the truth.  Other coin companies, apparently with a greater sense of decency, accepted returns of my Father's most recent purchases when they informed of the circumstances.  In regards to the credit card company my Father, not his children, registered his disagreement with the result of that dispute.

  Using the term "legitimate" in regards to my Father's recent purchases in generous at best.  I believe many of these ungraded coins represent the new version of Florida swampland.  They are worth as much as they can get a victim to pay for them.  Although this may be legal, it certainly is unethical and in my Father's case immoral.  Just because you can do something doesn't mean you should.  Although this may be "good" business, I don't believe it should be considered "better" business.  
  My Father was a gentleman, and his worst failing was in believing others to be as honorable as he.  If this goes to civil court, we will seek any and all unedited recordings of phone calls with my Father, and all documentation regarding sources and values of the coins sold to him.    We only seek to return merchandise for the purchase cost.  These coins certainly haven't depreciated in our hands.  Unless Liberty Gallery's profit is obscene and way beyond standards of what is reasonable, I don't understand the unwillingness to accept these returns from an infirm senior.  My Dad's passing has served to steel my resolve, and I will do whatever I have to within the law to achieve the fairness that eluded him while he was alive.

Sincerely,

******l *******

Business Response:

We had what we believed were frank and constructive discussions with the customer’s son (Mr. *******) many months ago. We have been unsuccessful in our repeated attempts to reach out to the family since then. Based on those conversations, and subsequent written responses we’ve sent, we believe our offers have been consistent and reasonable. Any other implication is not based on any comments; fact or actions on are part and are speculative in nature. From day 1 we have offered to help. Although perhaps the offer was misconstrued, our stand has never changed. We look forward to an opportunity to work directly with the family and encourage them to contact us.

Sent on: 3/6/2014 2:32:05 PM

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August of 2012 I traded 250 morgan silver dollars worth $20.00 a piece at that time. Total of Morgans was approximately $5000.00. This was my investment from a small inheritance I received after my fathers death. The representative that I dealt with for months before the actual exchange assured me that I would receive a great deal. He assured me that the coins that I would receive would be worth much more than my morgans. He and someone else who I spoke with at the company assured me that I would receive an even exchange. He said that the value of the new coins would grow exceedingly compared to the morgans. When I received the coins I had four coins and received no explanation as to what the coins were or what they were worth. I called the company at least 40 times in the month of September, 2012. When I finally reached someone I was told that the agent whom I had been working was no longer with the company. When I was finally able to reach someone I asked for an itemized list of the coins and their value. I did receive this itemized list. I will email or fax this this paperwork to you. I have spoken with a representative at Rarity investments whom I and my family have done satisfactory business with for years. I was told that the four coins that I received are worth less than $2,000. I want to return the four coins which I received from ******* *****l.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $5000.00 which was the value of the 250 morgan silver dollars which I gave ******* *****l for the exchange. I want to return I feel that I should be compensated for mental anguish which was caused by attempting to call this place of business approximately 40 times to try to resolve this issue, Most of my calls went unanswered. I left two messages for the owner to call me but this did not happen.Attached to this complaint is an itemized list of the coins which I received

Business Response:

In August of 2012, after several conversations with a sales representative, Mrs. **** agreed with a suggestion to consolidate her coins by exchanging her silver coins for a group of gold coins. It was intended to make her collection more manageable.

       

Mrs. **** subsequently shipped us her coins. They were of very poor quality. They were very worn and circulated. Most displayed severe damage. This was all explained to Mrs. **** thoroughly before she agreed to the exchange.

 

We are not certain of how many calls Mrs. **** made to us or how many of the calls were missed.  Mrs. **** called frequently and she and her representative spoke many times. They often spoke about subjects that were not related to business matters, which was their choice. There was a familiarity to their calls. We assumed we had provided all the information she required based on the tone and subject of her many calls.

 

Mrs. **** claims she was told her coins were evaluated by another company. There was no mention whether the appraisal was an actual physical appraisal or just a verbal estimate. We don’t dispute that another company made the claim, but question whether that company has Mrs. ****’s best interest and clearly not our best interest at heart, due to the extremely low estimate they gave her on the exchanged coins.

 

Even accounting for the considerable drop in the price of gold and silver in the last few years, the coins are worth considerably more than Mrs. **** was led to believe.

 

We would be happy to work with Mrs. **** on this matter and show it is useful to consider the source of her information, irrespective of the fact that it has been about a year and a half that she agreed to this exchange.

 

Please note at the time of this exchange she expressed great delight at the material she received.

    

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The 250 morgan silver dollars were not in bad shape like you suggested. They were worth approximately $5,000 at the time of the exchange(approx. $20.00 per coin). The four gold coins which I received were worth the price which I quoted. I received this information from ********** ********. I have done business with them in the past and was very satisfied. When I spoke with the owned of your company The coins I shipped to Liberty were not severely damaged. Some were in very good condition.

 
The representative I spoke with assured me that the coins I would receive would to replace mine would be a great and better investment. The exchange was not to make things more manageable. I had no idea that I would receive only four coins. I was not happy with the exchange. I was very unhappy and confused about these four gold coins. I therefore called the company to speak with my representative. I needed him to explain to me the value of these coins. He was no longer with the agency and I was calling many many times to receive clarity about the coins. I must have called over 30 times within a period of three weeks. Most of those times no one answered the phone. I left two messages for the owner but my call was never returned. I want to add that I needed to speak with the representative many times in order to build up trust. This representative told me that he would be my investment broker for the rest of my life. This gave me assurance that I could call him and go ahead with the exchange. As I felt that this representative had my best interest at hand concerning questions and concerns about any coin investments. After the transaction I was not able to contact this representative to ask questions about the four coins, which I was very confused about. I was told that he was away on sabbatical. From that point on I was not able to connect with anyone in the company who focused on or cared about my concerns and questions about the four gold coins I received. Not knowing anything about these coins and not being able to connect with a representative at Liberty I then called my former representative at ********** ********. When I was told how little the coins were worth I felt that I had been taken advantage of. I am discouraged about this whole situation. 
 
This was the small inheritance which I received upon my fathers death. Something needs to happen in order to make this a fair exchange. My coins were worth about $5,000.00 and the coins that I received per my previously attached documentation were quoted to be worth a little less that $2,000.00. I would like to return the coins that I received from Liberty for the amount of money they quoted me to be worth. 

Sincerely,

****** ****

Business Response:

We and Mrs. **** have come to a mutually satisfying verbal agreement regarding her recent complaint.

 

After a lengthy and productive chat, I believe she now realizes that the values quoted to her blindly from another company on her purchases from us in 2012 were totally unrealistic at best, and incredibly deceptive at the least.

 

After the conclusion of our business together, Mrs. **** informs me that she will gladly contact you and let you know that she was pleased with the result.  I am glad we were able to clarify the situation for her.

 

8/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Insulted by telemarketer. Told since I didn't remember prior solicitation that, "You must have Altzheimer's and should get checked out!" Unsolicited call received from XXX-XXX-XXXX at approx 10:40AM on 7/23/13. Caller informed me of his name (male/forgotten) and said he was from Liberty Mint in Connecticut. He asked me if I remembered him calling me in the past. When I said, "No" I was told that, "Well maybe you have Alzheimer's and you should have it checked out!" He then abruptly hung up. I called the company and spoke with Mr. ****** who said he would check this out and get back to me by email.

Desired Settlement: Apology from company and disposition of complaint to prevent further occurrences.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/06) */ We have been in contact with the consumer and have received direct correspondence stating his opinion that the matter has been handled to his satisfaction. And I quote from his correspondence to us. "Thank you for your response and concern. I consider this matter has been resolved in an excellent fashion. I will so inform the BBB." Thank you for your assistance.

6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Four gold coins that I bought for $7,600 were only worth $4,140 because they were not in the condition claimed by Liberty Galleries. In January 2013, I bought a fifth gold coin from Liberty Galleries that clearly was not in the condition claimed. It was returned for a refund. This prompted me to send the four coins bought earlier to a grading service in Flordia who confirmed my suspicions. If in the condition claimed by Liberty Galleries (in writing), the coins should have been worth $9,210. In the condition reported by the grading service, they were only worth $4,140, a difference of $5,070. Liberty Galleries is not willing to refund my $7,600 because it has been more than 30 days since I purchased the coins. They are willing to replace the coins with coins that are in the same lousy condition as the coins I bought. I've written to the Connecticut Attorney about this matter because I believe Liberty Galleries has been intentionally and systematically mislabelling its coins for quite some time. The incentive to do so is enormous and so is the resulting profit. If caught, the excuse is okay, so we made a mistake. You should have told us about it months ago. Its too late now. All told, I bought five coins. The condition (and value) of all five was less than claimed. Instead of giving me a refund, Liberty Galleries talked me into accepting another coin to replace my fifth coin. Like the others, its condition (and value) was less than claimed. At this point I requested and obtained a refund. What is the probability that a knowledgeable and ethical coin shop would accidently overstate the actual condition of six consecutive and very expensive gold coins? This is why I believe Liberty Galleries is not a legitimate coin shop. A lot of people have lost a lot of money, haven't a clue, and will not find out until they try to sell their coins several years from now. This is why I have also written to the Connecticut Attorney General.

Desired Settlement: I am currently asking for a refund of $8,000. The refund will cover what I paid for the coins in 2012, the cost of hiring a professional grading service, plus $200 of the $1,610 profit that I lost because the coins were not as advertised. Liberty Galleries is refusing on a variety of grounds. They claim my 30-day right to a refund expired long ago, and the coins that I sent to be professionally graded were not their coins. Even, if they were Liberty Galleries' coins, the grading service misgraded the coins, they have been know to make mistakes. Furthermore, Liberty Galleries claims, compared to its world-class experts, I know next to nothing about coins. In reality, the coins that I bought are worth much, more than I believe they are worth. If BBB had a 10-Point Sleeze Factor Scale, I'd give the Madoff Enterprise a 9.9 and Liberty Galleries a 10.0. When it comes to pure unadulterated slipperiness, Liberty Galleries is in class by itself.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/10) */ As the customer stated, his last purchase was returned for a prompt refund. Without any further discussion, the customer claims he sent in his other coins for independent grading, and were returned graded lower than he had hoped. After being contacted for the first time by letter, we offered to exchange the coins he purchased for coins of comparable grade to the original coins, certified by the very same service he chose to submit to, at no cost to him. We offered to upgrade his coins for a modest fee. The customer claims we offered replacements "in the same lousy condition". That is simply unfounded. The customer's claims and accusations are inappropriate and unsubstantiated. The customer demanded for fees and postage he paid, and an additional $1610.00 profit. The customer chose this course and assumed these expenses without any discussion or mention to us. Considering the precious metal market is considerably lower today than at the time of his purchase, his demand for profit is curious and suspect. We nor anyone else has any control over the precious metals markets. We promptly credited his purchase on a coin he returned. We offered to exchange his material with coins graded by the very same service he himself chose to submit them to. We feel we have been more than reasonable in trying to resolve this. We feel the customer, based on his hostile and threatening language, has a different agenda. We stand by our original offer to exchange his material, and are happy to discuss the details. Please let it be also noted that we made reasonable attempts to resolve his issues many months after his return privilege expired. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) In short, the coins that I had independently graded were worth considerably less than what I paid and what they should have been worth if their grade was what Liberty Gallaries claimed in writing. Liberty Galleries only offered to exchange three of the four coins. My problem with the offer is I have zero interest in paying Liberty Galleries to engage in a like-for-like replacement of coins that were worth less that what I paid for in the first place. Yes, for a small fee, they will replace my substandard (lousy) coins with coins that are the same substandard (lousy) grade. No thanks, this is not a reasonable offer. Yes, I used threatening language. I said, if I eventually need to hire an attorney, I will also be seeking to recover legal costs. The $1,610 profit Liberty Galleries mentions is a small percentage of the profit that I would have realized if the coins I received were as advertised. And, the fee Liberty Gallaries is talking about is not my fee. What I am attempting to recover the shipping and handling fee it charged me when I bought the coins. I have asked Liberty Galleries if it is willing to replace my coins with coins having a grade (or value) equal to that claimed in writing when I bought the coins. This would be a exchange worth exploring. I have not received an answer. Liberty Galleries claims language used in my correspondence has been "hostile". I would be more than willing to send copies of all correspondence to the BBB and let it be the judge. My letters have been business-like and free of profanity. Yes, I have accused Liberty Galleries of swindling me out of thousands of dollars. This could be interpreted as a hostile statement. If so, I am guilty as charged and, frankly, see no need for apologies. Consumer Response /* (-5, 9, 2013/06/14) */ I would like to add to my June 12 reply Liberty Galleries position on this matter. First, what I told you and what Liberty Galleries told you about a $1,610 "profit" was, at best, extremely misleading. What I meant to say was, had the coins that I bought been what Liberty Galleries claimed, they would have been worth $1,610 more than the $7,600 that I paid. Instead, they were worth $3,460 less based on NGC's appraisal of their condition. In my latest letter (May 26) to Liberty Galleries, I offered to settle for $8,000 which represents my costs to date ($7,600 + $250 in expenses) + $150 of the $1,610 "profit" that I was denied. I have never "demanded" a $1,910 profit as claimed by Liberty Galleries. However, if I have to resort to hiring an attorney, yes, I will be requesting to be compensated for my expenses plus coins or equivalent having a value equal to what Liberty Galleries promised in writing. As for Liberty Galleries claim that, at today's gold prices, the coins would be worth nowhere near $7,600 +1,610 = $9,110. Not true. Their current value would be $9,560. Second, Liberty Galleries claims that I rejected its offer "to exchange the coins ... for coins of comparable grade ... certified by the very same service he chose to submit to at no cost." This offer was similar to but not Liberty Galleries' offer of May 13, its most recent offer when I wrote to you on June 12. The major differences being Liberty Galleries: 1) only offered to exchange three of my four coins, 2) only offered to exchange two of the three coins for certified coins, and 3) none of the certified coins would be certified by a grading service of my choosing. Today, I received a written offer from Liberty Galleries that reads like the offer Liberty Galleries says I rejected. It was mailed from Bridgeport, CT, on June 12. I will not be rejecting the offer, but will be seeking clarification. The letter says I will need to pay a "very small fee" if, during the exchange, I wish to upgrade my coins from a "comparable grade" to a "higher grade". However, at no cost to me, Liberty Galleries will exchange my four NGC-certified gold coins for four of its NGC-certified gold coins from the same mint, with the same date, having the same grade, and being of the same denomination. But, what would be the point of engaging in a like-for-like trade? Nothing in Liberty Galleries latest offer suggests it is interested in exchanging, free of charge, my existing coins for coins worth $7,600 or $8,000. However, perhaps a compromise is possible. I will definitely be asking about Liberty Galleries fee for exchanging my four NGC-certified gold coins for four NGC-certified gold coins of the same denomination, date, grade, and mint that that I presumably bought and paid for last year. If the four coins lost "considerable" value, as Liberty Galleries claims, its fee should be "very small". Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/06/26) */ All of our correspondence has been consistent in our willingness to resolve this matter amicably. We have chosen to be professional, and courteous, regardless of any comments or accusations that we felt were truly undeserved and inappropriate. At this juncture, it seems more that likely this matter will be resolved in a cordial manner. We are awaiting a direct contact from the customer. Thank you for being part of the solution. Sincerely, ****** ******