This business is not BBB accredited.

Consignment Boutique LLC

Phone: (860) 693-9444 View Additional Phone Numbers 282 W Main St, Avon, CT 06001 http://www.mycb.org View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Consignment Boutique, LLC offers the consignment of gently used and new clothing, accessories, and other items.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Consignment Boutique LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Consignment Boutique LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 04, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2009 Business started locally: 01/01/2009 Business incorporated 03/10/2009 in CT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Melissa Sabo, Owner/Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Melissa Sabo, Owner/Member
Business Category

Clothes - Consignment & Resale Consignment Service


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    282 W Main St

    Avon, CT 06001 (860) 674-8773

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I left hundreds of dollars worth of consignemnt items at Consignment Boutique *******. I was told that my items would be given away if not sold during the contract term, however, I saw some of my items still on the floor two months later. An itemized list of sold clothing was not given as promised. I went in the store asking for payment after never hearing from the store and never receiving money for items sold. I was told that it was not her responsibility to contact me and I would have to schedule an appointment to come back in for payment the next week unless I wanted to shop in her store instead. I declined the offer. After giving the owner 3 different times I could return, and she responded that she would not be there all 3 times (a variety of times of day), I told her I would leave a self addressed envelope in her mail box if no one was there when I returned. On the way out I saw a designer (Coach) bag of mine for sale for 225.00. When I asked the owner why she told me all of my items were given away when one of my purses was right there for sale, she responded, "Well maybe it's yours and maybe its someone else's. I have no way of knowing."I came back about 6 weeks later (I work full time & it was hard for me) to leave my self addressed envelope and found the owner in. I handed her the self addressed/stamped envelope and asked her to provide an itemized list of sold items as I was suspicious when I heard that she only sold 67.00 worth of clothing when one of my dresses was bought for 1200.00 and only worn once. My items would have easily sold for a total of 500.00 at consignment prices. The next week (now 4 months after my consignment contract ended) I finally received a notice of store credit for $67.00 with no payment!Please look into this business. Something is dramatically wrong. I have since seen bad reviews with similar stories, but somehow the bad reviews seem to be removed and the same two positive reviews remain.I just added a review today to Yelp to warn others. Product_Or_Service: multiple Consignment clothing and acessories Order_Number: N/A Account_Number: contract is in my na

Desired Settlement: I would like an investigation to determine exactly what was sold of mine so that I can receive the accurate amount of money owed to me. I have not received a penny for hundreds of dollars worth of items.I am wondering if some items that people leave are deliberately held and then pawned. I am also wondering how she accounts for items sold and if sales are accurately reported to the government.Thank you for your assistance. This is a new business and really needs a sound investigation!

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/02) */ The contract states: "The expired items become property of Consignment Boutique. Consignment Boutique does not pay on expired items. The expired items will be donated when they are removed from the sales floor." Meaning: The unsold items remain on the floor until they are removed and then donated. On June 12, 2013, Ms. ********** brought in a self-addressed stamped envelope to mail a payout of what sold on her account along with any money earned. On June 20, 2013, as a courtesy, Consignment Boutique sent a payout sheet along with a store credit sheet stating Ms. ********** has store credit which can be used through December 9, 2013. Ms. **********'s store credit is $64.10. Here is a breakdown: If every item that Ms. ********** brought in sold at full resale price, she could have earned $225. Not one single item was priced over $49.00. Three dresses were brought in for sale: $10, $28 and $49. None of them had a high retail price, not even close to $1200! The contract clearly states high value items are able to be returned to the consignor. Nothing was requested to be returned. There were two ***** bags consigned. They were very worn and priced accordingly; $39 & $48. Not one single item of Ms. **********'s came close to a $225 resale tag. Here is what sold on her account: (amount shown is what the consignor payout is.) **** hooded sweatshirt $3.00 Junior denim $8.00 ***** bag $17.55 Cardigan $4.95 Dress $12.60 3 piece suit $18.00 Total: $64.10 available for consignor to use as store credit. At a loss to conjure up hundreds of dollars worth of consignment here. It is important for the consignor, Ms. **********, to actually read the contract she signed to clarify her confusion. Hopefully the summary helps Ms. ********** understand the realistic values of her items. Consignment Boutique

7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues