BBB Accredited Business since

Loyalty Chimney Services, LLC

Phone: (203) 596-7935 View Additional Phone Numbers 51 Georges Ct, Waterbury, CT 06708 http://loyaltychimney.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Loyalty Chimney Services, LLC offers roofing, complete chimney maintenance, stainless reliner specialists, chimney cleaning, wood stove, oil flue, stainless caps, flag stone tops, repointing, stuccoing, waterproofing, painting, dryer vent cleaning, condo inspection / maintenance programs and gutter cleaning.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Loyalty Chimney Services, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Loyalty Chimney Services, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Loyalty Chimney Services, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 23, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated 03/14/2005 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Curtis H. Watson, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Curtis H. Watson, Member
Business Category

Chimney Cleaning Ventilating Systems - Cleaning Dryer Vent Cleaning Chimney Lining Materials Chimney Builders & Repair Roofing Contractors Stucco & Exterior Coating Contractors Waterproofing Contractors Concrete Patching Compounds Other Services to Buildings and Dwellings (NAICS: 561790)

Service Area
Danbury, Branford, New Haven, & Hartford 

Additional Locations

  • 51 Georges Ct

    Waterbury, CT 06708 (203) 596-7935 (866) 596-7935

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: From: **************************To: loyalty**********Subject: Re: ThingsDate: Mon, 6 Oct 2014 12:42:19 -0400 Hi ******, Since you did not come for a scheduled and agreed appointment on Thursday, Oct.2nd, to fix some things anddid not return three of my calls that day, while I was waiting for you, I was forced to check your businesson line, including all the reviews of your services.Unfortunately, as I have learned, it's not a single case when you just simply did not show up to do a serviceafter scheduled appointment: it goes on re-occurring basis, and when customers are not satisfied and askto fix what was done wrong, you either become rude, or just do not show up.I could not believe that, because for us, at least in the beginning, you appeared as the contractor and person, whom we can trust. But it turned a different way, and we feel now that we were taken advantage of...Please answer the following questions, and, if I will not hear from you, the message will be attached to my complaintsto a many agencies, because I do not like the fact that somebody is taken advantage of the customers, especially seniors.You know that I and my mother are both seniors. 1. Do you have a professional license? What is the number? I would like to have a copy of license for doing roofing and fireplaces-the work you have done for us, and you know that the customer has a full right for this request. If you will not provide, I will have to callthe State Department and check with them. 2. Are you insured? What is the policy number? 3. What substance did you use for filling up the crack in the fireplace: it's still the same bright color and very soft, which you saidwill change the color in a few days, so that filling will not be noticed. Is it fire-proof? How harmful it is? I need the name of that substance.I have spoken with specialists, and they told me that the cement should be used for fixing the crack which was not the case. 4. What painting did you use to paint the frame? I need the name to check how harmful it is. I and my 84 yrs old mother (who paid you in fullfrom her pension) told you that we are allergics and asked you to use the paint which is not so harmful. You have assured us that in a 2 hoursthe odor will disappear. However, even after almost one month, it's still there-in the room. 5. As you may remember, our agreement was to change the fireplace case and put the doors on. However, instead of doing that you sloppy "fixed thecrack and painted the frame(sloppy as well) without even cleaning it from rust, motivating this that you will charge us less. The painting nowdoes not have a smooth look and has stains everywhere.Moreover, you brought us a screen stand instead of doors, again assuring us that it will cost us less. However, you have charged us $245 for this screen!!!We have checked with other specialists and in some stores: it should cost less than you have charged us. You have mentioned that you have thrown away the box from this stand. OK! But do you have a receipt? I would like to see the copy! What was the name of the store you purchased it from? I would like to check with them! If I will be wrong, I will owe you apology. But so far, I think you will not be able to provethat you charged me correctly for that screen! 6. But the most important, we wanted to give you back that screen because of the following: it's not right size for our small fireplace; it's not stable on the floorand once it fell into my mother when she was trying to open it's doors, so she fell herself and got some serious bruises. We have seen a doctor, who can confirm the visit due to bruises. And I have told you about that.It was actually, another and first reason for our appointment with you last Thursday when you did not show up without any explanation. We wanted to give you back the screen stand and choose the doors from catalog which you supposed to bring with you. Please contact me with all the answers as soon as possible right after receipt of this email. If I will not hear from you within two days, I will have to proceed with my complaints. Thank you. Customer ***** ********

Desired Settlement: Please see above the self-explanatory email to the owner ****** ******, who's email address seems to be wrong as well. His address is ** ******* **** ********* **. However, he has a different websites and different locations and his alternate ph.# is ###-###-####.We want the money back for the service on a fireplace due to sloppy workand the difference on overcharging us for the screen stand which we actually did not ask for, unless he will provide us with the store name where he purchased it

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

In response to the complaint that was filed against my business. I have been honest and very respectful to the customer. The first day of responding to the customer request for my service, I came with honesty and everything seemed to be pleasing to the customer. (1). We talked about repairs on an area on the roof around the metal chimney stack that was causing a small leak in the fireplace box according to the customer which the day I came it was a dry day. (2). We talked about fireplace screens and the replacement of the panels in the fire box. I showed the customer different styles of fireplace screens and glass doors in the catalogs that I carry in my truck. The prices in the catalog I agree that they were costly because the customer firmly stated that she did not have that kind of money to spend. I showed the customer in the catalog the panels for the fireplace, I also assured her that they come as a kit she thought they cost too much. So we suggested that a repair would be suitable and less costly. She ask me to find a nice set of screens for her.

  1. I came and made some repairs around the chimney stack where it appeared to be leaking, shingle was removed metal flashing was nailed down and tar with ice and water shield around the area and re-shingled over, and I tarred around the metal stack making it water-tight. There was other area that I did because shingle was lifting up along with tarring.

  2.  About a week or so, the customer wanted the fireplace repairs.  Up on her request she wanted to be home when I did the repairs to make sure the paint was not to strong and the customer requested that I change the filters in my vacuum cleaner so I did which it cost me $15. The customer requested I have a clean drop clothe which I did because she stated they have allergist, I bought the can of  paint which $15 and change, high temperature, I bought a tube of clear calk $4.35 to seal a cap on the outside siding. The fireplace screen that I bought from ***** cost me $60.

  3. I started the repair on the back wall being concerned because the customer said they have allergy I kept asking her if there was dust she said no everything is fine and she watched as I did the work. I repair the back wall of the fireplace and other area that had cracks and the customer thought it was looking good, I started the painting around the outside frame of the fireplace and the screen, I asked the customer if the paint was to strong she said it was not.  The customer request that I put more sealer on the cracks because she thought it wasn’t enough I did. The customer thought I would look better if I painted the fireplace floor black so I did as she ask.  After I was finishing the customer wanted the brick that was in front of the fireplace sealed which was white painted already so I did apply sealer on the brick and she said she would re-paint it white.  Everything was done she said it looks good fireplace screen is put together and standing in front of the fireplace, the customer asked me how much I said $240. And she said Wow that’s it. I thought it was fare SHE gave me a tip of $20 a glass of juice and some cookies, we talked and everything was good.  I feel I was very honest, patience, and respected everything she said. I gave my time and labor honestly.

******.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:

The main points  of this complaint are:

1. He did not provide us with a contract, just issued the invoice for $ 475 -repairs on roof and for $260-repairs on fireplace, both sloppy. He mentioned that he  does not issue contracts, he has experience.

2. We paid cash for both repairs, which was our huge mistake. Unfortunately, at that time I did not have enough of money on my checking A/C
and my 85 yrs old mother gave me some of her money from her small reserve for the future.

3. Despite I asked a many times: he did not provide me with copy of his license nor insurance information. I wanted to show inspector who could come from the insurance
company, what he did. I checked, on Consumer Dept. side, if company has a license: no sign of it.
 Furthermore:

As it was agreed over the phone, on Sept. 9, 2014 this contractor came to identify and fix the leak into my fireplace. He said it's the roof problem and two spots need to be repaired, and it will cost $475.
We paid in full the amount of the invoice after repairs on roof were done. However, on 10/23/14, there was a rain in the night, and the water was leaking again into my fireplace and into the same spot on the left. 
We made pictures, left a message for contractor and sent the pictures to BBB: ******* ***** because she is handling our first complaint about fireplace sloppy job, for which we were charged $260 on 09/19/14 , including overcharge for screen stand.

The contractor did not show up for an  appointment on Oct. 2,  to fix the fireplace sloppy job and did not  return my many calls, nor responded  to my email for almost one month, only after I sent my first complaint to BBB, he had responded.

He did not provide us with receipt for screen stand, nor did want to tell us what store he bought it in. After a many of my pressures on him, he mentioned that it was ****'s. At the ****’s such a screen costs $59.95, but he told us in the very beginning that it costs $245.

 He agreed to return at least $100 which we never received so far. I will need somebody to totally redo his sloppy job and pay for that, so I need to pay again for the same job.

 We are asking you to help us, as seniors (I am 61.5 and my mother is 85 yrs old), to get back at least $200 for fireplace "job", which will be more than fair in the circumstances as ours. 

 Next day, after I emailed him and BBB pictures of fireplace full of water again, (even though as he said he fixed the roof), he came when I was not home and brought somebody to figure out what is wrong.

My 85 yrs old mother said they spent some very short time on the roof and left. Then later he called me to notify that everything is fine. But at the same evening after even a very light rain the water was still coming to my place.


We started thinking that he does not know how and what to fix. We asked him for a copy of license 10 or more times, but our request was refused.
I was forced to ask two other licensed, insured and experienced roofers, whom I found unfortunately later, to evaluate his job; they confirmed for me:
1. I was overcharged
2. The spots on the roof did not need any repairs and the job was very sloppy, anyway.
3. The real problem is around chimney and they will fix it for me for $10.
4. They said, if the inspector will come to see his job, he will lose his 
professional license
5. I checked on Consumer Department website: there is no sign of his license at all.
I and my mother are seniors and cannot afford overcharge and paying for something which is sloppy done and does not eliminate the problems. 
Since this contractor took advantage of old people, especially women, we would like to get a full refund of $475 for the roof job and $200 for the fireplace job, both sloppy done.
Moreover, after I complained, he called us and in a rude manner  was  threatening us.
In the beginning we liked him and tried to treat him with respect and be
courteous and polite.

But now we do not want this contractor to do any job for us anymore!!!
It's so sad that we made a huge mistake choosing him to do repairs for us.

Thank you for your help in advance.

***** ********, owner
  

     

             

     

     

    •   

     

     



     

    Business Response:

     


    To whom it may concern,                                                                                        Dec 10, 2014


    In response to the complaint that was filed against my business. I have been honest and very respectful to the customer. The first day of responding to the customer request for my service, I came with honesty and everything seemed to be pleasing to the customer. (1). We talked about repairs on an area on the roof around the metal chimney stack that was causing a small leak in the fireplace box according to the customer which the day I came it was a dry day. (2). We talked about fireplace screens and the replacement of the panels in the fire box. I showed the customer different styles of fireplace screens and glass doors in the catalogs that I carry in my truck. The prices in the catalog I agree that they were costly because the customer firmly stated that she did not have that kind of money to spend. I showed the customer in the catalog the panels for the fireplace, I also assured her that they come as a kit she thought they cost too much. So we suggested that a repair would be suitable and less costly. She ask me to find a nice set of screens for her.


    1. I came and made some repairs around the chimney stack where it appeared to be leaking, shingle was removed metal flashing was nailed down and tar with ice and water shield around the area and re-shingled over, and I tarred around the metal stack making it water-tight. There was other area that I did because shingle was lifting up along with tarring.

    2.  About a week or so, the customer wanted the fireplace repairs.  Up on her request she wanted to be home when I did the repairs to make sure the paint was not to strong and the customer requested that I change the filters in my vacuum cleaner so I did which it cost me $15. The customer requested I have a clean drop clothe which I did because she stated they have allergist, I bought the can of  paint which $15 and change, high temperature, I bought a tube of clear calk $4.35 to seal a cap on the outside siding. The fireplace screen that I bought from ***** cost me $60.

    3. I started the repair on the back wall being concerned because the customer said they have allergy I kept asking her if there was dust she said no everything is fine and she watched as I did the work. I repair the back wall of the fireplace and other area that had cracks and the customer thought it was looking good, I started the painting around the outside frame of the fireplace and the screen, I asked the customer if the paint was to strong she said it was not.  The customer request that I put more sealer on the cracks because she thought it wasn’t enough I did. The customer thought I would look better if I painted the fireplace floor black so I did as she ask.  After I was finishing the customer wanted the brick that was in front of the fireplace sealed which was white painted already so I did apply sealer on the brick and she said she would re-paint it white.  Everything was done she said it looks good fireplace screen is put together and standing in front of the fireplace, the customer asked me how much I said $240. And she said Wow that’s it. I thought it was fare SHE gave me a tip of $20 a glass of juice and some cookies, we talked and everything was good.  I feel I was very honest, patience, and respected everything she said. I gave my time and labor honestly.


    *******


    Consumer Response:

     
    Complaint: ********

    I am rejecting this response because:

    Complaint: ********

    I am rejecting this response because: As stated many times before the job was sloppy, also,  we were overcharged for the fireplace job (total was $260 as appears on the invoice and not $240 as stated by business).

    Moreover, the job on roof was done sloppy as well, and we were overcharged: total amount charged as per invoice is $475.

    The business is trying to lie to free himself from responsibility of what was done wrong. His response is not to the point: it's not about cookies, drink and honesty!

    It's about that the job was done wrong: you have the pictures after his so called repairs were done and we have opinions of licensed, experienced contractors who evaluated his job. They can testify, if needed.

    One of them, by the way, finally  fixed what really needed to be fixed after the such a" perfect job scenario" described by business below.

    I believe, the BBB should protect customers from such a businesses like Loyalty!

    We need a refund, if not full, a big part of it: he can keep his $15 +$60 (if he shows receipts)  for what he spent for material(even though very small part of that was used on my fireplace). The rest should be refunded: $260-65-60(screen which we actually did not ask about)=135.

    For the roof: fixing two spots on the roof was not necessary, because it did not solve the problem: there was a leak again after first rain into my fireplace: we have provided BBB with pictures. Since the problem was not identified, nor solved not at a first time, nor at a second visit by this business,

    we need a full refund of $475 for the roof.

     

    *******, please proceed with arbitrage and make a record on BBB about my complaint. It should be a shame for owner to do such a job, overcharge the customer (especially seniors) and respond in such a way!

    And he is trying to show that he believes in God with his all the time pretext "God bless you"?  I doubt it and do not think that God will ok what he has done to us!

    My next step will be ***, where "cookies and drink" explanation will not work.

    Also, please note that this business already has a pattern: a numerous" job done wrong" activity: read a various comments from customers on line.

    Sincerely,

    ***** ******** 


    Sincerely,

    ***** ********


    Customer Review(s)

    The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

    Customer Reviews Summary

    2 Customer Reviews on Loyalty Chimney Services, LLC
    Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
    Fusion Chart
    Fusion Chart