BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

Doctor Soot Chimney Service

Phone: (203) 438-9237 Fax: (845) 297-5727 PO Box 1111, Ridgefield, CT 06877 http://www.doctorsoot.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Dr. Soot offers chimney/fireplace cleaning and repair, wood stove cleaning, gas and oil flues cleaned, chimney relining, masonry restoration, blockage removal, animal removal, real estate and property management evaluations and waterproofing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Doctor Soot Chimney Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Doctor Soot Chimney Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 06, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated: 01/01/1996 in NY
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matthew Doran, President Ms. Marianne Hurxthal, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matthew Doran, President
Business Category

Chimney Cleaning Chimney Builders & Repair Mason Contractors Waterproofing Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Matthew K. Doran, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 1111

    Ridgefield, CT 06877 (203) 438-9237

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I responded to the service due to a solicitation letter that offered $20.00 off normal cleaning (and my fireplace is small and was not very dirty) and 15% off any masonry work (overcharged at $125 for a minimal break between bricks). After calling the office for a price (the same office I called in response to the letter) NO DISCOUNT AS INDICATED ON THE LETTER WAS GIVEN. I insisted on a senior citizen discount at least since I am over 70 years old. However, I then wrote to the organization giving them the opportunity to correct their "mistake." No one ever responded and I just received my credit card bill and the entire cost is still on my bill with no credit from Dr. Soot. I have used this organization in the past, but I believe they might be under new ownership and the new people don't care about honoring their promises. Product_Or_Service: Chimney cleaning and repair

Desired Settlement: I would like my promised $20.00 off cleaning service and the 15% off the "masonry" work and now because of the effort to get what they promised, I also want my senior citizen discount!

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/21) */ I AM RESPONDING TO THE REFERENCED COMPLAINT. MS. ****** SET UP AN APPOINTMENT ON 5-23-13. WE DO NOT COMBINE DISCOUNTS. WHEN OUR TECHNICIAN WAS THERE HE TOLD MS. ****** THIS AND GAVE HER 10% SENIOR DICOUNT. I WOULD BE MORE THAN HAPPY TO REFUND THE EXTRA 5% ON THE MASONRY ONLY AS SHE ALREADY RECEIVED 10% OFF OF IT AND THE ADDITIONAL $1.10 FROM THE CLEANING AS SHE ALREADY RECEIVED $18.90 OFF WITH THE 10% GIVEN. THE REFUND TO HER CREDIT CARD WOULD BE $25.30. ALSO WE NEVER RECEIVED A PHONE CALL FROM HER OR A LETTER. IF WE HAD WE WOULD HAVE RESPONDED TO HER IMMEDIATELY. IF SHE DID CALL SHE DID NOT GIVE HER NAME AND AS HER LETTER STATES SHE ONLY ASKED FOR A PRICE. AND THAT PRICE WOULD BE THE NORMAL FEE. WE WOULD NOT HAVE GIVEN HER A PRICE FOR THE SEALING OF THE BACK WALL ON HER FIREPLACE OVER THE PHONE AS THE OFFICE CANNOT PRICE THAT TYPE OF WORK BECAUSE THE TECHNICIAN HAS TO SEE THE WORK NEEDED TO PRICE IT. SHE SIGNED OFF ON THE WORK THAT WAS DONE AND THE PRICE WHEN THE TECHNICIAN WAS THERE. SO WHEN IT CAME BACK TO THE OFFICE WE CHARGED WHAT SHE SIGNED FOR. I HAVE ALREADY CREDITED HER CARD FOR THE $25.30 NOW THAT I KNOW SHE HAD A PROBLEM. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) Please note: I do not like companies that are misleading about their offers nor do I take kindly to companies that tell whatever "truth" suits them. I attached the cover letter to the documentation I sent off to Dr. Soot although they claim they didn't receive a letter. Quite the contrary ... on May 26th I sent both a letter and the copies of the various materials including the letter they had originally sent to me. That letter went to the address on their letter to me and their invoice *** **** *********** ** XXXXX. Perhaps they never check their PO box because they are located in some other town. In addition, I will check with my credit card company to see if they have refunded me any money. My most recent bill shows no refund! Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/06/25) */ I do not understand what more Ms. ****** would want from us. I have refunded the additional for the 15% off masonry and the additional $1.10 for the $20.00 off cleaning. We DID NOT receive any letter or phone call from her. Had we received either it would have been addressed right away. As soon as I received this complaint it was taken care of. Before the complaint we knew nothing about it. We have picked up our mail on a weekly basis from the post office. We have no control if it got lost. As stated before we DO NOT COMBINE discounts. The senior citizen discount was not offered on the letter. That is giving when no other discount is available just as it is with any other business. As soon as we were aware of a problem it was corrected. We can only go by what is signed for on the invoice. This could have been resolved before the technician left her home. All she had to do before she signed that the invoice was correct was either bring it up to the technician that was there or call the office while he was still there and it would have been resolved before he left her home. Again the office only can go by what is signed for on the invoice. The refund was giving on 6/21/13 to her credit card. I did not send a copy of the refund to her until I was instructed to because this was a complaint and I wanted to follow proper procedures. But so she can see that it was done I am sending it out to her in tomorrows mail which is 6/26/13.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1