This business is not BBB accredited.

Chimney Master

Phone: (203) 866-4656 Fax: (203) 899-1626 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.chimneymasterct.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Chimney Master offers chimney cleaning services and masonry.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chimney Master include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chimney Master
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 21, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1998 Business started locally: 01/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Vincent Balducci, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vincent Balducci, Owner
Business Category

Chimney Cleaning Chimney Sweeper Dryer Vent Cleaning Chimney Builders & Repair Mason Contractors


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    .

    Norwalk, CT 06854

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired this company to clean our chimney as well as putting on a new chimney cap. They came Saturday afternoon and did a great job cleaning the chimney (very professional, cleaned up after themselves) and he brought us a new cap and placed it on our chimney. Sunday morning the chimney cap was off and I called Monday to ask him to come and put it back on again. I was told this would not be an issue and he would be there within the week. The week passed and still no chimney cap so I called the following week and got the same response-they'd be there by the end of the week. This has happened numerous times and there is always some excuse as to why they cannot come and put the cap back on. It has now been over two months and while I have left messages, I cannot get a phone call back. I acknowledge my chimney is quite tall but I'd rather hear someone tell me that their company is not capable of doing this instead of saying they will do it and then not show up. Now its winter and I understand that it is difficult with the snow and cold weather to do this but I just don't want to wait till spring and still get no response.

Desired Settlement: I'd like either a refund, which I was told was impossible since the cap was put on my chimney as was now used...although it only stayed on for a few hours. If this is truly the case and he cannot refund us, I'd like to know an exact date of when someone will be at my house to put the cap back on and actually show up.

Business Response: Attention: ******** #******* A rain cap was installed for this customer & due to severe wind & bad weather conditions, somehow the cap came loose & blew off. I made several appointments to have the cap reinstalled but the weather was not cooperating for us to do so. This chimney extends very high from the roof & can be a very dangerous site when wet & slippery. Cap will be reinstalled soon as the weather permits & able to safely reinstall. This customer is a top priority & on top of our list. As soon as snow clears the roofs, we will take care of this matter. We have every intention to do so. Thank you, ******* ******** DBA Chimney Master

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I am still slightly hesitant that this will get resolved in a timely manner since the company had numerous opportunities and never took them but hopefully they will be able to come and put on the chimney cap. 

Sincerely,

*** ******