BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers child care services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Silva's Youth of Today Learning Center LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Silva's Youth of Today Learning Center LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Silva's Youth of Today Learning Center LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 31, 2010 Business started: 11/01/1993 Business started locally: 11/01/1993 Business incorporated: 06/23/2000 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Health, Dept. of
410 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dph.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 509-8000
webmaster.dph@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Cheryl Silva, Assistant Director Mr. Manuel Silva, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cheryl Silva, Assistant Director
Business Category

Child Care Centers Schools - Academic - Pre & Kindergarten Children`s Play Programs Instruction Child Day Care Services (NAICS: 624410)


Additional Locations

  • 656 Silver Ln

    East Hartford, CT 06118 (860) 569-8300

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: August 2014 I called to see if they had a spot for my child. They stated yes but will be around sept.4 no later than sept.20. I told them make sure because 5 years ago they did the same thing and took my deposit and never called. In December I called and informed them I will make a complaint because they never called me back . Lady stated she called me back in October on which she said she might have dialed a wrong number. No letter or phone call was sent to my house. She then at that time said she will hold his spot when I get a job. I called her jan2015 informed her that I will be starting a job in about 2 weeks. She said she will call me back at then end of the day to make sure the spot is still available. Here it is almost 4 weeks later and still no phone call. They make you put down a $50non refundable deposit down in which I did. Now I can't get my money back and this is the second time they did this to me. I want my money back. I don't even want my kid going there anymore because they have proven to me it's all about money.

Desired Settlement: Asap

Business Response:

In August 2014, We received a call from *** ****** regarding enrolling her toddler child into our center. She stated to our enrollment coordinator, **** ******, that she had applied several years prior however never received a call back for her other child .  **** ******  apologized and stated although I cannot guarentee when a position would open, she will give her priority once an open occured.   *** ****** stated we anticipate a positon opening up in the latter part of September and will contact her as soon as there was an opening.  We received an application and required $50 non refundable application deposit on September 2, 2014. 

Unfortunately we do not have control of when an opening will occur.  In early October a position had opened and **** ****** called and left a message for *** ****** but had gotten no response. Posted on the front page of our application is  our non-refundable policy.  The policy is in place because there is a high demand for infant and toddler child care in East Hartford and we need to be sure that parents are serious about the position. 

*** ****** called **** ****** in December very upset because she stated she never received a return call.   **** ****** stated she called in October and left a message but never received a response.  ** ******* offered her a positon on that day but *** ****** declined because she was unemployed.   **** ****** stated to her once she found employment, contact her and she will get her child in immediately.

In January *** ****** received a call from *** ****** stating she had found a job and will be starting in a few weeks.  *** ****** stated she can get your child in, we just need a start date.   She has not heard from *** ****** to date.  We do our best to accomodated parents with placement of their child in our center. We understand parents have to work and need quality childcare.  We have a first come first serve policy  because of the demand for infant and toddler child care .  If a parent does not respond after contacted we assume they have placed their child somewhere else and move on to the next parent.

It is not our policy to return application deposits however in this case we will make an exception and return *** ******** $50 deposit via mail.  We are still willing to accomodate ** ****** with child care upon avaialbiltiy of a position.

 

 

  %%

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:in January I was told that she was going to call me back the same day to see if the spot was still available. I NEVER RECEIVED THAT PHONE CALL. I was also told in December that maybe she had a wrong number when she called in October. I left several numbers and I'm not sure why I didn't receive this phone call that they stated was sent on any of the numbers. In august you guys had the now enrolling sign up that's why I called you then at that time stated yes there is space but you just redone the toddler room and they have to be re licensed after that then he can start as early as sept 4 but as last as sept 20. So I totally disagree and to have the samething happen to me twice by the same company should be a wake up call. I specifically told them at the time I submitted the application "if you don't have space let me know now so that I won't waist my money" I don't have money to throw away to a company I am a single parent with 3 kids. So this company got $100 out of me within in 6 years. THats not right. Hey know that they are wrong. I can get an afivdavit from my cousin of the first convo we had because it was on my cousin phone I spoke to the lady not the office phone when she stated she had a space for my son

Sincerely,

******** ******

 
12/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 4 year old son is a student at Silva's. He occasionally breaks out into hives, but this is known and documented by his doctor. It happens every few months, and we do not know what triggers it, but suspect it may be related to when he is getting over a cold. He woke up one afternoon at school from his nap, and was found to have hives over his body. His teacher called concerned about it, and I explained to her what I already know about it. I assured her it was nothing to be concerned about. The next day, he continued to have the hives over his face and body, so I kept him home to let it calm down. We treat it ourselves with ******** at night and hydrocortisone cream when he complains of itching. On the third day, we brought him back to school, it had completely cleared up and I again explained to his second teacher that it was nothing to be concerned about. He woke up from his nap, and the hives flared up again. The teacher(s) consulted the school's nurse, who could not reach me (because I work during the day), but spoke to my husband (who also works during the day) and demanded that my son needs to go see his doctor to make sure that he is not "contagious". They also demanded we do not treat his symptoms with ******** or cream, let my child suffer through itchiness, so that the doctor could correctly diagnose my son. Despite the ridiculousness of the situation, I could not reach the school nurse, but we called our doctor's office, who agreed to fax over a letter stating that hives can be caused by unknown reasons and can take up to a month to resolve on their own, and that his hives are not contagious. My mother went to drop my son off at school on the fourth day, when the school refused to accept him until they had documentation on file. I told my mother to bring my son home, and I told the school a letter would be faxed to them. However, the head teacher left a message on my phone stating that a doctor's note would not suffice, that we need to take time and money out of our day to bring my son to the doctor about a known "condition" so that they could be assured it would not spread to other children. They also want to know what is causing the hives, which we are already aware is an unknown reason.

Desired Settlement: I am seriously contemplating pulling my son from the school because of the unprofessionalism of all the staff involved, the stress this has caused me over the last couple of days (I am 39 weeks pregnant), and the inconvenience this has caused my family (finding alternate daycare and making unnecessary doctor's appointments). Rather than speaking to me directly, the staff spoke with my husband and mother. 1. My mother does not speak English well and does not know about my son's health as much as I do. Additionally, it could be considered a violation of privacy to speak to someone other than the child's guardian about his health conditions. 2. My husband is a busy man who works at least 45 minutes away from the school. He is the one who has to take time from his day to bring my son to school. 3. I explained to the teacher that I am a pharmacy student who will be working on rotation until the end of my pregnancy. With all of this in mind, I felt like I got the run around and there was no definite explanation about the requirements of allowing my son to go to this school, which although we are still paying for, he cannot attend because of a school nurse's made-up conditions to allow him back into school. I am embarrassed by the situation, and as a future healthcare professional who is very well aware of how to take care of my son and what ailments he does and does not have, I am appalled that the staff would make me jump through hoops just so I can have daycare and a proper education provided for my son. I don't request anything, except that they come up with a better process for handling similar situations in the future.

Business Response:

Good Morning,

 

My husband sent you an email this morning explaining we did not receive the first notification and were out of town until this weekend.  My husband will reply today. 

 If there are any questions please feel free to contact him T ******************* or myself.

 

Thank you

 

****** ** *****