BBB Accredited Business since

Bath Fitter

Additional Locations

Phone: (860) 282-2230 Fax: (860) 282-2231 View Additional Phone Numbers 262 Ellington Rd, South Windsor, CT 06074 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Bath Fitter offers acrylic bathtub liners, acrylic shower bases and seamless bath wall systems.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bath Fitter meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bath Fitter include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bath Fitter
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 15, 1998 Business started: 04/15/1998 Business started locally: 04/15/1998 Business incorporated 01/01/2003 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey Schiavi, Manager Ms. Gail Weatherby, President Ms. Donna Buckley, Office Manager Mr. Jim Kononchuk, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey Schiavi, Manager
Principal: Ms. Gail Weatherby, President
Business Category

Bathroom Remodeling Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish Bath Liners Bathroom Accessories Baths - Equipment & Supplies Shower Doors & Enclosures Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Alternate Business Names
Bath Solutions of Central Connecticut, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 2 Boston Post Rd

    Old Saybrook, CT 06475 (860) 388-3616

  • 262 Ellington Rd

    South Windsor, CT 06074 (877) 355-8555 (860) 282-2230


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased our ********** home 3/6/15. It had been vacant for two years prior to our purchase. A bath fitter unit was installed on 9/2/14. Our first night there we noticed an active leak into the basement when showering. The plumber came out stating the fixtures were not properly sealed when the unit was installed. The plumber resealed, retested, and the leak was still present. They stated they would need access to the leak meaning Bath Fitter would need to come out and peel back part of the unit. I called Bath Fitter to inquire about the warranty which I was told was non transferrable to new owners despite the home being vacant from the time of installation to the time we occupied the home. I then asked to speak with the owner, ****. I let her know of the plumbers concerns with the lack of steps taken during install and I was immediately shut down by her saying "Well I guess you should get someone to fix that for you" Knowing that I needed to get the leak fixed I requested a cost from **** which she could not provide me with until she spoke with her technician. She called me back stating the cost would be $425. I requested at that time a breakdown of how the cost was determined and she stated she did not know, it is the technician that gave her that amount. Bath Fitter peeled back part of the unit and our plumber repaired the leak. Bath Fitter left after peeling back the unit to go to another job in ********* and returned later in the afternoon once they were finished with that job to reapply the shower wall. The plumber found that the leak was caused by over tightening of a compression fitting and at the time of the installation. Also no permit was taken out through the town when Bath Fitter had there plumber come out during the original install. Bath Fitter was at our home for a total of 2 hours 5 minutes which comes out to roughly $200 an hour. I was told they would not guarantee/warranty the work they did. The receipt given to me also did not provide a breakdown of how the cost was determined. It also stated the date of the estimate not the date the job was done. I reached out via email to the Operations Manager *** ********* stating my concerns and he did not acknowledge any of my concerns. He sent me a breakdown of the cost. I was charged $150 travel fee from ***** ******* to ********** and $125 return trip charge from ********* to ********** among other charges. This is very concerning as **** being the owner would have knowledge if the business actually had set travel fees which she should/could have disclosed to me at the time I requested the breakdown. It is also very concerning that no one would provide me with a breakdown until after the job was completed knowing I was hardpressed with an active leak and that it needed to be fixed. I strongly believe I was taken advantage of by ****. I feel the cost was made up on a whim once they realized I wouldnt give up on getting a breakdown of the $425 cost and after the inappropriate way **** spoke with me after I stated my concerns I do feel she embellished the cost excessively. I do not deny that I would have to pay something for the work to be done by Bath Fitter but to not give a consumer an itemized breakdown of work to be done being the owner of the company nonetheless is extremely unprofessional and questionable. Then to find out that the bulk of the cost is travel fees which should be a set standard for the company and yet the owner is unable to disclose that is also questionable.

Desired Settlement: I strongly feel that I am entitled to a partial refund of the $425 total cost of services. I do feel as though the travel fees should be refunded to me since they were not disclosed when I specifically requested a breakdown of charges. A owner of the company should be aware of travel fees set by their own company and do what is necessary to provide a consumer with itemized breakdown of services to be rendered when requested.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response from Bath Fitter. They did not discuss the issue at hand. A owner of a company, in this case ****,  who supplies a consumer with a price for work to be done can not simply state "I don't know" when asked for a breakdown. I was unable to get a breakdown from anyone until AFTER the work was completed. This should be furnished upon the consumer asking before work is started. Come to find out this company has travel charges to and from, which an OWNER of a company would be knowledgeable of. She clearly kept this information from me as she could not give me any insight what so ever of how the $425.00 charge came about. This is highly suspicious and unprofessional. She clearly took advantage of me knowing I was hard pressed to get this fixed. I do not dispute having to pay out of pocket but I absolutely do not agree to paying the travel fees to and from or the return trip fees as they were not disclosed to me by the OWNER when I requested. 

As far as the comment about using their plumber. They asked for me to pay their plumber $100 instead of the plumber suggested to us by ******** **** ****** who already knew the situation. So it clearly did NOT save me any money like they suggested in their response. 
To reiterate, I strongly believe I am entitled to ALL travel charges to be refunded to me. Travel charges for a company would be a set fee for all customers and **** would surely know this information as she is the owner of the franchise. She deliberately kept this information from me. Also upon her not furnishing a breakdown of the cost it was also not listed on the receipt upon completion of the job. No one would furnish this information to when I asked until AFTER the job was completed.  


***** *****

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because of the fabrication and inaccuracy from the company. To hear this company purposely falsify specifics is extremely concerning. At the time I was given the cost by **** I DID in fact request a breakdown of how the amount was determined. ****, the owner stated she did not know the breakdown. To say "she doesn't get involved" is completely absurd. Any owner of any company has knowledge of SET trip fees. If you give a consumer an amount to fix something you cannot simply say you do not know and go about your day. She is RESPONSIBLE for obtaining that information when it was asked from her which during that conversation was made extremely clear was expected. She did not follow through on that request. From the first time **** and I spoke (which I requested) in which I stated to her the plumbers findings and concerns with the Bath Fitter installation not at anytime did I state the work was "shotty" I stated the plumber was concerned with the LACK of appropriate steps taken for a proper installation. From that point forward she was extremely defensive and unprofessional in her tone stating "Well I guess you should get someone to fix that for you!" 

Furthermore, ***** did call asking if I already paid the $100 to *********** stating if i hadn't I could just pay their plumber the $100 fee instead which I did not feel comfortable with and denied. Again, to say she did not go over pricing is false as she was fishing for another $100.
And yes I DID in fact receive a receipt in which I needed to make my own notations because the hand written notes from the technician for the mornings work in which he wanted me to sign was suspicious. This receipt did not state a breakdown of charges either. To say "we did our best to help" is laughable. Yes I called numerous time and numerous times I was treated unprofessionally. I do not dispute that I would be responsible for paying to have Bath Fitter remove and reapply part of the unit but I am NOT responsible for set travel fees to and from as they were not disclosed when I specifically asked for a breakdown which again **** did not obtain as requested. I was also not responsible for chasing someone down when I had already informed **** a breakdown was needed and expected. To say it was an after thought on my part is yet another fabricated statement by the company.
The technician stated they use an outside plumber during installations. With respect to that no permit was taken out with the town and I have parts removed by our plumber as proof of improper parts used by Bath Fitters plumber causing the leak.
If a resolution is not met I WILL move forward with this in every avenue as my story is and will remain truthful and the same throughout unlike Bath Fitters responses. I will not back down and I will continue to invest my time until this is made right. I know for a fact that I was taken advantage of by **** and her company. At no time during any conversation with anyone involved at the franchise was it pleasant. There is a lack of communication and respect from this company entirely. 


***** *****

Business Response:

With repeated unsuccessful efforts to resolve and explain in detail the facts in this matter;  we have turned this over to our attorney.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I will continue to dispute Bath Fitters unprofessionalism and falsified responses. As stated repeatedly I do not dispute having to pay for the labor BUT I absolutely dispute the travel fees undisclosed to me when specifically asked. 


***** *****

3/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service