BBB Accredited Business since

Keating Bros. Motors Inc.

Phone: (203) 248-7300 Fax: (203) 288-1844 2607 Whitney Ave, Hamden, CT 06518 http://www.keatingbrosmotors.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Keating Brothers Motors, Inc. offers sale of used automobiles, repairs, service and detailing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Keating Bros. Motors Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Keating Bros. Motors Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Keating Bros. Motors Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1989 Business started: 07/25/1945 Business started locally: 07/25/1945 Business incorporated 01/05/1960 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle, State of CT Dept. of
60 State St, Wethersfield CT 06109
www.ct.gov/dmv
Phone Number: (860) 263-5055
mail@dmvct.org

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Keating Jr., General Manager Mr. William Keating Sr., President/Owner Mr. Jim Keating, Service Manager Ms. Marybeth Keating, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Marybeth Keating, General Manager
Principal: Mr. William Keating Jr., General Manager
Principal: Mr. William Keating Sr., President/Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Detailing Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Auto Repair - Maintenance Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards,
Cash
Check
Alternate Business Names
Keating Bros Motors
Products & Services

Family run and owned for over 67 years, with our customers satisfaction being our number one priority. We offer quality pre-owned vehicles at competitive prices. Our dealership stands behind what we sell.

Industry Tips
Car repair

Additional Locations

  • 2607 Whitney Ave

    Hamden, CT 06518 (203) 248-7300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle dropped off on 5/27/15 for replacement of both front wheel bearings, had parts in car and they were made aware of this. Also asked to check the seal to the A/C dryer which I had purchased (asked to only check seal, did NOT authorize purchase of new dryer) On 5/28/15 my fiancee calls the shop to inquire about the vehicle to which they replied they had to use a cutting torch to remove axle as it was seized to the wheel bearing (they never called before doing this and were not authorized to use a torch on our vehicle) and that they had ordered a new A/C dryer (also did not authorize) few more days pass and we were told that the A\C was fixed, then it wasnt fixed. Fiancee said we will just come and get the car and not to worry about the A/C or alignment, they refused saying that it would break the parts they installed (I am an auto tech so I know this to be false) Finally today I have had it and they said under law they cannot release and unsafe car (also false they can only advise the registered owner it is unsafe)

Desired Settlement: Just picked up car, called while I was writing this and said it was ready. The alignment is messed up, they put the wrong gear oil in it, front end making crazy noises. Charged us over 200 dollars for the axle which I could have gotten for less than 80 bucks... Stripped out the transmision fill plug and rather than replace it they just cut a notch in it. I really think I shouldnt be responsible for this extra work that wasnt authorized.

Business Response:

1.   All work was authorized by the person that was paying the bill not Mr.********

2.  All correct parts and lubricants were used and properly installed.

3. The A/C dryer was cracked it was not a seal in the compressor. We have the dryer that is cracked.

4. Transmission fill plug was stripped before we worked on vehicle. 

5.  Mr. ******** stated that he is an Auto tech he should work on his own vehicle in the shop he works.

6  .Mr. ********  should not post on an other business face book  when he was never a customer in that shop.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Girlfriends mother was nice enough to charge the bill to her CC, she is NOT paying the bill. She also is not the RO and therefore cannot authorize work to be done to the vehicle. 
I never stated I had a shop or I wouldn't have had to have a garage with a press do the wheel bearings. When vehicle was dropped off asked only to check if seal was problem for A/C, not to order parts for it. Impossible for fill plug to be stripped as i just did clutch less than 1 year prior and it was perfectly fine and noone has touched the vehicle since.

Sincerely,

******* ********

Consumer Response:

From: ****** ****** [mailto:*****************]
Sent: Wednesday, June 10, 2015 10:53 AM
To: ***************
Subject: complaint ********

 

To:  ******* *****, Manager, Marketplace Operations

From:  ****** ******

Re:  Complaint ********

 

Dear Ms. *****,

 

This complaint was registered unbeknownst to me.  The invoice listed me as the customer and that is because I had agreed to, and did, pay for the work. 

The car is owned by my daughter;  the complainant is her fiancé, who is very knowledgeable about automobiles.  My daughter and the complainant expected communication about the progress of the job to be with them.  Inadvertently, I became the locus of contact which I believe contributed significantly to the breakdown of trust between the complainant and the business.  Though my intention was to support a speedy and safe repair of the car, my stepping in disrupted the direct communication between the owner/drivers of the vehicle and the business and I apologize to all.

 

I have had only helpful experiences with ******* Brothers’ staff since around 1980.  I realize that there were complexities in this recent experience and have made attempts to speak with both parties.  I will write a more complete response after I have had the opportunity to talk with both Mr. ******* and Mr. ********. 

Sincerely,  ****** ******

 

 

Consumer Response:

From: **** ******** [mailto:***************]
Sent: Wednesday, June 10, 2015 1:12 PM
To: ***************
Subject: complaint ********

 

Dear Ms. *****,

 

Regardless of whether Ms. ****** wants us to pay her back or not (she should NOT be liable for these charges) Keating broke *********** state laws all throughout this transaction and should be held liable. If they are going to purposely be deceitful with someone that knows vehicles as well as I, I could only imagine what they do to individuals not knowing better.

 

************************************************* under Repair Authorization and Written Estimates, it clearly states for the shop to get written authorization that provides an estimate of maximum cost of parts and labor before performing any work which must be signed by the RO. If this was the case I would never have agreed to let them perform the work when it should have been between 1-2 hours labor. The receiver/dryer they took it upon themselves to order was also just changed 1 year prior to getting this work done and was under warranty. Also after a few days of having the vehicle my fiancée said to forget the alignment to which they responded they could not release the car without doing it which is the most absurd thing I have ever heard, not to mention the fact the alignment was not even done properly.  Also under “Unknown Problems” if something comes up where they need to do extra work to get the job done the shop is required by *********** state law to get prior authorization from the RO, which they did not contact Julia or Ms. ****** for authorization to torch an axle off the vehicle.

 

I would also like to know how I was not the customer when I personally dropped the vehicle off to Keating with the RO, as well as SPECIFICALLY told them what was to be done to the vehicle. If need be I will file a claim with the ** and have him subpoena telephone records and security footage to show that I in fact scheduled the appointment as well as delivered the vehicle. I am sure I don't need to stress that tampering/altering security footage is a felony offense punishable by law.

 

Regards,

******* ********