BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Connecticut

This Business is not BBB accredited

Auto Store II

Phone: (860) 344-9916 Fax: (860) 344-9959 580 Newfield St, Middletown, CT 06457 http://www.middletownautostorect.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers used automobile, truck and motorcycle sales. They also provide auto detailing, tune-up, brakes and diagnostic services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Auto Store II include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Auto Store II include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 19, 2010 Business started: 12/19/2008 Business started locally: 12/19/2008 Business incorporated: 12/19/2008 in CT
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle, State of CT Dept. of
60 State St, Wethersfield CT 06109
www.ct.gov/dmv
Phone Number: (860) 263-5055
mail@dmvct.org

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Nejdet Saydam, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nejdet Saydam, Member
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Motorcycles - Dealers Truck Dealers Auto Detailing Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Car Wash & Polish

Alternate Business Names
Crescent Star LLC
Industry Tips
Car repair

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    580 Newfield St

    Middletown, CT 06457 (860) 344-9916

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I purchased my 3 year/36K mile extended warranty for just under $2,000 I expected the Auto Store to pay the Warranty Company. When I called the Warranty company they told me that they don't have my paperwork and that the Auto Store never paid them. I call the auto store and it took about 2 weeks for someone to finally tell me to just come to the office and we will fill paperwork to cancel the warranty (this was what i was trying to do to begin with but there is nothing to cancel).... I bring my original Sales slip from the car and the warranty sales slip. They ask me if i want to cancel and I told them there is nothing to cancel because it was never submitted and i want my money back. They tell me i have to sign and cancellation slip so their office can "Officially" cancel the warranty. After about 30min of arguing with them that I didn't want to sign their paperwork I did. They told me that I will get the prorated about back because it has not been 3 years or 36K miles. That was about 4 months ago now and have not received a check. I got 2 calls back from the owner that said they were still looking into it. Now when i call for the last 3 weeks i get no calls back still. At this point i will not be happy with the Prorated amount since they never submitted my money to the warranty company. I believe i should be reimbursed the full warranty price I paid and didnt receive plus the taxes and interest i already paid on it through the bank. I have ALL original Paperwork for the car and the warranty.

Desired Settlement: I want the $1,813.00 owed to me plus the taxes and interest that i paid on it already.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/12/2013 I Purchased a **** ******** *** ***** 6 Speed With 68,000 MileS From.Auto Store 2 In Middletown Ct. I Was Told In Was In Excellent Condition And Given A 60 Day Warranty. Within 2 Weeks I Noticed The Clutch Needs Replacement, The Engine Burns Extememe AmountS, Of Oil, 4 Quarts In 2-3 Weeks And Also The Switch For The Passanger Seat Didnt Work. I Contacted Them And Drove Up There, They Replaced The Switch With A Silver One,but The Others Stock Switches Are Black. They Made Me Come Up A Week Later, And Put In The Black Swich But InstalleD it Backwards. I Went Up Again And The Mechanic Called.Out Of.work.So I Had To.TakE another DayOff Of Work Amd Returned And They Fixed Switch And Bled The Clutch. I Continuously Reminded Them And Complained About The Oil Burning And The Clutch. They Had Me Come Up Again And Supposedly.Compression Tested The Engine And Said It Past. Since They Compression Tested The Engine Which Involved Dissassembemling The Top Half Of Engine, It burns Double The AmounT Of Oil. Nowthey Want Me To Drop Car Of My Car For A Week To Test Is Again. They Will Not Provide Me With Rides Or A Rental. The Owner Refuses To Talk To Me Though Ive Trised Countless Times The Sales Associate Who.sold Me The Car Told Me Its Not His Issue And Not To Botter Him No More. I Have It In Text Message. I Have Already Invested Over $1500 Out Of.pocket.And Gotton No Where. Everytime Itravel Up Thereits Time Off Of Work.Plus Gasand Oil At $8 A Quart. I Cannot Afford ThIs. Im A Single Father With A House I.oay Fo Myself. Im Getting Behind On My Bills.Since I bought This CRom Them, With All The Time Off Of Work And Gas, Im Behind On All My Bills. This Is Not Right Or Fair. Now Im Told Drop Car Off There For Atleasta.Week Just To Test It,Not To Fix, Or Iy Wont Getfixed. I Cant Afford A Rental. I Bought It From A Dealership To Avoid These I ssues. Please Help. I Just Want The Car Fixed.To The Condition.It Was Said To Be In,Clutch In Good Shape And.not Burning Oil, Or For Them To BUy It.back. Product_Or_Service: i******* *** *****

Desired Settlement: Either They Buy The Car Back An They Auction It Or Whatever, Or They Fix The Clutch And Stop The Car From.Burning Oil. It Literally Burn 4 Quarts In 3 Weeks. I Paid ****** And It Only Has 76000Miles. Please Make This Right. Im A Single Father Who Can Only Afford My Bills Not The EXa Of All Of This B.s. Worst Thing Is Dealer Owner Refuses To Speak With Me, O.ly Lets Me Talk To ****, Service Desk, And The Gebtleman.Who.sold.Me Car Told.Me To Stop Bottering HIm Its Not Hie Izsue. This Is Soo wrong

Business Response: Mr. ****** did in fact purchase a vehicle from this Dealership on May 7, 2013 the vehicle was brought in for the initial diagnosis. On May 17 2013 vehicle was brought back to replace passenger seat switch. On May 24, 2013 vehicle was once again at our facility to reverse a seat control switch, perform Oil Change and have compression test performed on engine and found no problems. We believed at that time that the vehicle was performing within the guidelines of ********. ******** stated that the minimal oil consumption was normal with regular oil. Mr. ****** did contact us at the beginning of August 2013 to once again complain that the vehicle is consuming oil at a rate of 1 to 2 quarts per gas tank.  He demanded to have the vehicle fixed and a loaner vehicle. We told him we would call back once we could arrange for a loaner vehicle. Calls were place to him on August 8th we left a message, on August 9, we were told he was in ****** and later that day we tried calling again and his "mailbox" was full so we could not leave a message. We were able to finally contact Mr. ****** and his vehicle was brought back on August 15, 2013. We also provided Mr. ****** with a Loaner Vehicle with the understanding that said vehicle WAS NOT to leave the State of Connecticut. While his vehicle was in our possession we contacted a local ******** dealer once again to obtain any information that might be helpful.The conclusion was that the vehicle did appear to consumer poil at the rate of 1/4 quart per gas tank. We, at the time offered to Mr. ****** to replacement of an engine, which he refused. The cost to us for the replacement would have been $2,000.00. Mr. ****** then stated that he had the same exact vehicle at home that was totaled in an accident. He asked that we purchase HIS engine at the cost of $3500.00. We refused his offer stating that the cost was $1500.00 more then what it would cost us to have it replaced ourselves. We did offer Mr. ****** $2000.00 cash towards the repair of the vehicle and he once again refused. 

We have tried unsuccessfully to satisfy Mr. ******. Please note that our obligation to the vehicle ended on June 11, 2013 as that is when his 60 Day Warranty expired. We did not refuse to perform the engine replacement at no cost to him, nor did we refuse a Loaner Vehicle upon his request. The previous visits to the Dealership Mr. ****** demanded that he wait for the vehicle to be repaired and NEVER did he ask for a Loaner Vehicle prior to August 15, 2013.

Mr. ****** was not satisfied with out offer and took this matter to CT Dept of Motor Vehicles Case No. XXX-XXXX-XXXX. Dept of Motor Vehicles could not make a determination on the case as it was out of their jurisdiction. The described vehicle was not eligible for the Connecticut used Car Warranty. Also, the warranty that was offered was that of the dealership.

Auto Store II stands behind their agreements be it verbal or written to their Customers. We feel that we have tried to no avail wherein Mr. ****** is concerned. It is unfortunate that he did not want to accept our offer. We feel at this point in time that we do not and will not extend our offer as we made it in "good faith" and not under obligation.

Auto Store II ask that BBB reconsider and reinstate our status to be associated with your organization without penalties.

I thank you in advance for your time, understanding and consideration. Should you need additional information, please do not hesitate to contact the undersigned.

****** ******

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  It is untrue. The oil consumption is well weorse that what Infiniti says is acceptable. Also the vlutch was in horrinle condition which I found they powerbled it right before they sold to me. I've complained about it since the beginning.  I bought a car over blue book due to low milage. They want to put an engine in with 120, 000 miles making the value 4, 000 less then what I paid for blue book. I am trying to gey funds together for a lawyer, for the car doesn't even drive. I bought the car and within 4 months the clutch gave out. If you look through my paperwork you will see I've been teelimg them of the faulty or worn parts. The owner is a con artist. I would like to speak with somone in person to explain all the issues I've had. A lot of his information is untrue. As soon as I can afford a lawyer, next month, Ill prove he commited breach of contract on top of lieing to you and me on countless occasions. I am out of the syate on bussiness and will be back on 12/20/13 

Sincerely,

***** * ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1