BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Middletown Toyota, Inc. offers new and used Toyota's, body shop and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Klimas Enterprises Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Klimas Enterprises Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Klimas Enterprises Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1980 Business started: 07/01/1975 Business started locally: 07/01/1975 Business incorporated: 07/22/1975 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle, State of CT Dept. of
60 State St, Wethersfield CT 06109
www.ct.gov/dmv
Phone Number: (860) 263-5055
mail@dmvct.org

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph J. Klimas Jr., President Ms. Amy Dingle, Customer Relations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph J. Klimas Jr., President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Industry Tips
Car repair

Additional Locations

  • 634 Newfield St

    Middletown, CT 06457 (877) 347-7294 (860) 852-1111 (860) 852-1115 (860) 347-4889 (860) 347-7294

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (860) 347-4889(Phone)
  • (860) 852-1111(Phone)
  • (860) 852-1115(Phone)
  • (877) 347-7294(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wednesday 8/6 my fianc and I walked into ****** ** ********** to buy a ****** *******. A 36 month (lease) was negotiated for $377.00 a month resulting in a down payment of $1,000 which was withdrawn from my account the next day 8/7. After meeting with the finance person, ******, she informed us my credit was bad, and it would take time to get it approved and that, I would possibly need a co-signer, which I did not have. She also said we wouldnt hear from anyone till possibly Monday 8/ 11, if that. On 8/11, I wrote an email to ****** letting her know that we decided the car was not suitable for our needs, and the monthly payments were just too high for our family of 6. The SUV had no trunk space and needing a 3 row car for 4 kids, we couldnt afford to lose any space for bags, stroller, groceries etc I did not hear back from anyone until 8/13. *** *. the salesman, who was selling us the vehicle, called and said what did I do? You know my boss is going to yell at me now right? I said I was very sorry, it had nothing to do with him but the trunk space and payments just werent a good fit for our family. He said well, now my boss is going to want to talk to you and ask why youre not buying a car from me. I said that was fine, and gladly gave him permission to have him call me. I waited for his call and on 8/15 my fianc called and talked to *** * again. *** said I dont know why he hasnt called you, but he knows he has to. I then called and asked for the owner *** ******, I explained who I was and he said oh, well *** told you already your deposit is non-refundable. I said he never said anything to me, and asked him to re-consider the non-refundable deposit. I asked *** ****** if it was a state law that it had to be returned, he very rudely replied oh is it? Well then you go get the papers that say that and show me. I began to cry, explaining that this was a lot of money to a mother of 4, on a school teachers pay. I was sorry that we couldnt afford the vehicle, but we couldnt afford anything at the moment. He replied well we have plenty of other cars that you can buy from me. I explained again for the second time, it was a lot of money that we put down and asked for his reconsideration. He stated he would reconsider but would need to talk to *** and ******. He hung up. Expecting to hear back from him shortly, I did not. I drove to the dealership expecting a decision made and after waiting in the lobby for 30 minutes, I was greeted by a man (******) who was pointing his finger at me, telling me young lady I told you I was going to make a decision. I said please try to understand I have 4 kids, this may not be a lot of money to you but it is for 4 kids. He said Its a lot of money to a lot of people. Crying while standing there being yelled at by the owner of Toyota I couldnt help but think this was ridiculous and I would never want to give someone like this business. The last thing he said was I dont know when Ill make my decision; could be today, tomorrow, Monday. I walked away and spoke with *** *. He said he agreed with me completely and thought it was horrible how he just spoke to me, and did not agree with what his boss was doing- it was horrible for business and he didnt blame me that I would never want to come back there again.On Monday 8/ 18 at 12:30, I called and spoke with the owner *** ******. He answered the phone like this I told you young lady I havent made my decision yet. I said no, you told me Monday which is today that you would have made a decision. Could you possibly make your decision by the end of today then? he replied I dont know. It depends if Im busy or not. I said please try to understand he cut me off saying NO! I dont need to understand I dont want to understand and I dont have to understand. He then put me on speaker phone, I asked him to take me off because I couldnt understand what he was saying, and he hung up on me. I called back after a few minutes, saying I think we got disconnected. He said listen young lady, I havent made my decision and if you dont stop pestering me you know what Im going to do, and hung up before I could say another word. I then called Toyota Customer Care and reported this mans poor conduct explaining to them exactly what happened and how rudely I was treated. They filed a complaint against them and informed me if I did not hear back within 2 days I was to call customer care again, and new actions would take place.8/20 ****** ** ********** customer care called me back and said you are not getting back your deposit since you signed the contract, but we will offer you a 1,000 credit to our dealership. This man sent me an email confirming the credit, which expires in a year. The credit to Toyota is NOT what I was asking for. *** ****** could have been a good business man, and a kind hearted person and gave the deposit back after I explained to him my financial hardships, but he didnt. He chose to raise his voice, scold, and talk down to a women, a mother of 4. I am disgusted. I will not give this man my hard earned money for doing absolutely nothing. He does not deserve it, and did not earn it. Please help.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting my $1,000 deposit back. A $1,000 credit towards a vehicle being fixed is not acceptable to us, especially in the manner in which owner *** ****** conducted himself. $1,000 credit to ****** ** ********** will not pay for my child's braces.

Business Response:

On 8/6/14, ******** ********** came to ********** ****** to lease a new ****** ******** at that time the customer filled out a credit application and signed a purchase order for the ****** *******.

The customer's credit report came back to us with a low score.  We contacted the customer about  problem and informed her that she may need a cosigner for the loan.  At that time, we went further with the loan approval and got her approved on 8/12/14 through TFS for the lease on a 2014 ****** ******* that the customer requested. The customer contacted us after ********** ****** got her loan approved and stated that she feels that the ****** ******* doesn't have room for her family of 6, that she needed a car that has 3 rows and  more trunk space. The salesman then offered to put her in a car that is more suitable for her needs. The customer now states that the payments and the car isn't a fit for them and the family and wanted their non-refundable $1000.00 deposit back.

At this time, ********** ****** will extend to *** ********** the use the $1000.00 here at the dealership for a purchase of a new or used car or the customer can use it in the service , parts department and/or body shop.

 

 

8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I told them I did not want a black truck. I made this very clear. As far as I am concerned they told me there was no color I was intrested in on the east coast. Now they are claiming they did not say this. as far as I believe they did. Any way I started calling around and found grey trucks right at lynch and at hartford. I really want my 2 thousand dollars back. I believe somewhere they said something about having 72 hours to get your money back. which may be a problem since I did start dealing with them on thursday. I changed the deal and we did that on satuday but we never completed the financial deal. There were many other problems with that dealer. The first sales person steve lange was not working for me. So much so that I ended up in tears and had to request a different dealer. I felt like they were treating like a dumb women and really could care less about me. Product_Or_Service: truck Order_Number: XXXXXXX-X

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund return to me 2,000.00$

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/10) */ customer contracted to purchase 6 cyl 4x4 truck on 06/26/13 left deposit$2000. on 06/29/13 contracted for less expensive vehicle transfered deposit to new deal signed complete deal including NO REFUND OF DEPOSIT box . on 07/02/13 sent her 5 day letter letting her know vehicle is ready for delivery. she indacated she purchased a vechile somewhere else. our 5 day letter stated as part of terms of the contract she signed on 06/29/13 if vehicle was not picked up she would forfeit her deposit. she recieved the letter & did not pickup the vehicle, forfeiting her deposit. As a customer good will, we stated she could use the forfeited deposit money to urchase a new or used car within 6 months. On 07/10/13she called general sales manager (riz) requested to use the deposit money to purchase accessories from us . we told her yes. we have gone over the top in our efforts to extend good will even though we have a obligation to do so.

6/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refused to give back $200 deposit when they could not locate the vehicle that was contracted for. The manager then hung up on me, completely unprofessional. Product_Or_Service: toyota tacoma

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund $200

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/30) */ signed purchase contract dated on May 09, 2013 for a vehicle to be located this contract was for 120 days. the purchase contract very clearly states deposits are NOT REFUNDABLE and he should read both front and back of the contract. as we were locating his vehicle he called us and told us he purchased a vehicle somewhere else. we explained that he broke the contract and his deposit would not be refundable as per the contract he signed. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/05/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) I have NEVER heard of a NON-REFUNDABLE Deposit from a car dealership. Have worked with many dealerships and never has an amount as small as $200 for a deposit on an automobile not been returned when requested. This is very poor practices and it should be made MUCH MUCH MUCH clearer than the fine print on the back of the contract that states deposits are non-refundable even when the dealership can't located car requested. Poor Business Practices. Better Business, this Toyota Dealership is not. And it is very poor practices to say that a contract for a deposit should be viewed better.......guess the customer is not right at Middletown Toyota!

4/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband I and were recently in the market for a new Toyota Highlander and had obtained quotes from several dealerships before going to ********** Toyota. When we went to ********** Toyota we provided them with the quotes from other dealerships (that we had in writing) and were advised by them that they could not match the price. We were then given a "Best Price Guarantee" brochure that stated that if they could not meet or beat a price received by another dealership they would pay $1,000 if we brought in a "best deal on legal document to qualify for best price guarantee". We then spoke with the manager "***" who advised us that the price he gave us was the best price they could do. I asked when we were at the dealership how the best price guarantee would work if we brought in a legal document because a legal document would mean that we had entered into a contract with another dealership. I was advised by the sales associate that we were advised by the sales manager the best price they could offer so if we bought it else where they would have to honor the price guarantee with the $1,000. We then obtained a cheaper quote in writing for the same exact vehicle that ********** Toyota had priced out with an MSRP within a couple hundred dollars of their write up, which we were advised to do. We called and spoke with "***" again and advised him of this and asked if he could meet the price to which he again responded that he had provided us with the best they could offer. We subsequently went and purchased the vehicle from the other dealer and brought in our "legal document" that another dealership had beat thier price. We were then advised by "***" that he was willing to beat the contract price by $2000. I advised him that I had offered him on more than one occassion to match the price to which he declined and now that I had a contract he could beat the price?? "***" stated that they did not need to honor the $1,000 guarantee because they are now offering to beat the price.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like ****** Toyota to honor thier own guarantee!! This is VERY shady and based on the way we were explained it works they would NEVER have to pay out on the guarantee they advertise because they KNOW once you have a "LEGAL DOCUMENT" you have entered into a contract with someone else to obtain the vehicle. THIS IS FALSE ADVERTISING AND SHADY AT BEST!!

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/13) */ I am writing with reference to case # 84115465 Steven Phillips and his wife came in on Feb 20, 2013 looking to purchase a Toyota Highlander Limited Edition in Black which we did not have in stock. The customer stated that they can buy this car from *************** for $38,600. This price included factory installed remote starter, hood protector, rear factory DVD, body side molding, mud guards, exhaust tip and running boards. We told them to please bring us this offer on a legal document to qualify for the "Best Price Guarantee", which was disclosed by our sales person to the customer. That information is as follows: Best Price Guarantee: We will meet or beat your best deal or we will pay you $1000. (Please bring your best deal on a legal document to qualify for the Best Price Guarantee). When the customer returned they stated *************** was not able to honor that price but that ********** Toyota offered them $39,489 on a legal document. ********** Toyota offered to beat that price by $100.00. This was not to their satisfaction. The customer then became irate and left the dealership. In response to the customers statement that ********** Toyota offered to beat her purchase price from ********** Toyota by $2000.00 is simply false. With that being said, per the customers' request we will still honor our best price guarantee by beating the price offered by ********** Toyota by $100.00. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/03/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) While this response is very inaccurate, I do not care to belabor the specifics of the actual encounter. The fact remains, which is not addressed by ********** Toyota, that they falsely advertise thier price match guarantee. Point: ********** Toyota could/would not match or beat the price of other dealerships. If someone has to present a signed legal document, which is clearly stated in thier brochure, that is a contract so matching or beating the price at that point is a moot point. A signed legal document means that a contract has been entered into elsewhere. At that stage, meeting or beating the price is not an option which should then result in them honoring to pay $1000.00 for not meeting or beating the price. If a person has to obtain a contract proving the price they received elsewhere, they are obligated to that other dealership. By the respondant stating that they offered to beat the price at that point is counter-intuitive, ********** Toyota knows that an active contract exists. I am not sure why this concept is difficult to understand and why they defend that this is not deceptive or false advertising. I followed their brochure and they fail to honor what they say. They were provided a signed legal document that another dealership beat their price, they should honor they clause the advertise. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/03/25) */ AS PREVIOUS STATED WE OFFERED TO BETTER THEIR DEAL BY $100. IT SOUNDS LIKE ******* HAD LOCKED THEMSELVES INTO THE DEAL AT THE OTHER DEALERSHIP AND COULD NOT GET OUT OF THE DEAL. WE CAN NOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR THEM LOCKING THEMSELVES INTO A CONTRACT THAT DID NOT GIVE THEM AN OPPORTUNITY TO CHANGE THEIR MIND. AS PREVIOUS STATED WE HANDED THEM OUR BEST PRICE GUARANTEE BROCHURE BEFORE THEY LEFT OUR DEALERSHIP. WE STILL WILL HONOR OUR BETTERED DEAL!!!!!!!

1/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service