BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new/used car and truck sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hammonasset Ford, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hammonasset Ford, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hammonasset Ford, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 1982 Business started: 05/05/1982 Business started locally: 05/05/1982 Business incorporated: 03/24/1982 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle, State of CT Dept. of
60 State St, Wethersfield CT 06109
www.ct.gov/dmv
Phone Number: (860) 263-5055
mail@dmvct.org

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Dana Fordyce, Vice President Mr. Albert Mantilia, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Dana Fordyce, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Industry Tips
Car repair

Additional Locations

  • 191 Boston Post Rd

    Madison, CT 06443 (203) 245-8828

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my truck towed in through my AAA insurance on April 10th, 2014 to be serviced because my steering became unsafe. The steering wheel would intermittently pull left and right viciously at any speed and after taking a sharp turn. But after receiving my truck back for the first of THREE times on April 17th, 2014 from being supposedly fixed I almost crashed into a guardrail going 65mph on route nine coming home from school. After a near death experience, replacing many parts totaling up an outrages bill of $2,513.71 and using now two of my three free tows from my AAA insurance I am thoroughly disappointed with their customer service which of whom the leading technician called me a liar, stating that the vehicle is "safe" enough to be driven back to the shop which consequently could have taken my life. I am also disappointed that these professionals could not diagnose the problem correctly and the fact that I am without a vehicle for multiple weeks and having to pay a friend to borrow their car due to the fact that they will not give me a loaner car nor any of my family members. All in all I am very disappointed and I will never go back to Hammonassett Ford after this repair because it has been nothing but a hassle in their ability to repair a vehicle safely.

Desired Settlement: My truck was not fixed correctly the first time therefore I would like compensation for the money I had to pay to drive a loaned car. Along with a refund of the money that it would have cost me to tow the car from my AAA free tow, as I only have a limited amount of free tows each year. Also I would like my truck fixed at Hammonssett Fords expense because they diagnosed the problem wrong to begin with, and $2,513.71 should have been enough to correct the issue.

Business Response: To whom it may concern, I am responding to an open BBB case id# 1*******. ******* ***** grandson of our very good customer ****** ***** had his vehicle towed to our facility on 04/10/2014. We then proceeded to diagnosis his concern, he stated that when driving his vehicle it will pull hard left and right but worse after 35 mph and up. We road tested the vehicle and it did not act as the customer stated. However we did inspect the vehicle and found an excessive amount of play in the steering box and right front outer tie rod end. This vehicle has 137124 miles on it so this would not be uncommon. The customer authorized those repairs totaling $1730.28. We performed those repairs and road tested the vehicle and found the vehicle operating as designed. The customer then paid the bill and picked up the vehicle on April 17th 1 week later. The very next day I got a call from ******* and ****** very upset stating the vehicle did it again. I opened an additional repair order that day and advised to have the vehicle brought back. ******* had the vehicle towed back in as he felt it was unsafe to be driven. At this time the vehicle had not acted in the manner to which they described. The customer asked about a loaner vehicle due to his age he would not qualify, however I did offer one to either his father or grandfather and they could let him use their vehicle, that was not acceptable. We then proceeded to test drive the car several times. We were still unable to confirm the concern. I ended up driving it home myself and only after aggressive driving on both the highway and back roads did the truck act abnormally for me. The next morning my lead tech and I inspected the vehicle and found the right front axle u joint binding at times. I contacted the customer and advised that we will be replacing both left and right axle u joints. At this time customer was very happy that we were repairing his vehicle at no charge. I then road test the customer’s vehicle myself again and found it to be operating correctly. During the second repair we put 191 miles on the vehicle in order to confirm the customer concern. It was a concern that did not happened every time the vehicle was driven. After receiving the BBB complaint from my General Manager I then contacted the customer. He advised that he posted this claim before we repaired his vehicle the second time and it very satisfied with our service. He would like to remove this complaint but does not know how. If he could be contacted again he would like to close out this complaint due to the fact that he is satisfied with our handling of the situation. ******* ********r Service Manager Hammonasset Ford, Inc. ###-###-#### ###-###-#### Fax

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 1*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold me a used vehicle with a bad transmission. Refuses to replace transmission. A used 2003 **** Explorer was purchased. After a few weeks of driving, it was determined that the transmission is no longer good and needs a full replacement. The used car sales manager refuses to replace the transmission and only offered a small amount towards the repair, leaving a huge burden on me to pay for the rest of the cost.

Desired Settlement: I want the transmission fully replaced at no cost to me. It is not fair to me as the consumer to have to take the brunt of this situation.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/31) */ Mr. ***** purchased a 2003 Ford Explorer "As-Is" from our dealership. Mr. ***** signed acknowledging that the vehicle was "As is" in several spots thoughout the paperwork. He also declined to purchase an extended service contract. We always encourage our customers to purchase extended service contracts. Unexpected Service repair bills are never anything that anyone wants to deal with. This is why we specifically have customers who do not purchase extended service contracts sign that they "declined" one when offered. ******** declined one and signed his name acknowledging that he was declining an extended service contract. We performed a safety inspection on the vehicle prior to the sale. It confirms that the vehicle was safe for the road. Based on the miles, age and price of this vehicle it was sold " As is". This means that there is not warranty. There are several areas throughout the paperwork that acknowledge that he purchased the vehicle "As-"Is. That being said. My Used car manager ***** ******* offered him $770 of customer goodwill. Again this was solely for customer goodwill. Hammonasset Ford, Inc. has no obligation to assist in the cost of any repairs to this vehicle. After ***** made his offer he stated that it was still unacceptable. I am sorry that he is having problems with the vehicle but we are not responsible for any of this. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) I have made several attempts with **** ******* to resolve this matter. She is unwilling to change her view. I was willing to accept the $770. I will accept in the form of payment to me. She will not comply with that and is only offering the $770 to be used at her dealership. **** ******* is being very unreasonable with this whole situation. It is very obvious that Hammonasset Ford is not for the customer and only for themselves. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/06/05) */ Unfortunately it appears that Mr. ***** is regretting purchasing an "As is" vehicle. Again, he is well aware that he purchased the vehicle "As is" as indicated by his many signatures throughout his paperwork. He also declined an extended service plan as indicated by his signature. We have tried to offer him a significant amount of customer good will funds and he is still not satisfied. Hammonasset Ford strives to keep all customers happy. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. It is sad to see a customer who regrets their purchasing decision become upset with us over it. There really is nothing more that Hammonasset Ford, Inc. can do.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service