BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Connecticut

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Branhaven Chrysler Jeep Dodge offers new and used automobile sales, service, rentals and autobody work.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.



Additional Locations

  • 348 W Main St

    Branford, CT 06405 (203) 488-6351

  • PO Box 489

    Branford, CT 06405

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 483-1275(Phone)
  • (203) 483-6119(Phone)
  • (203) 488-6353(Phone)
  • (203) 488-9460(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

BBB's Business Review on this business is currently being updated. Therefore BBB cannot provide you with any information at this time.


Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 9, 2013 I stopped at BranHaven Jeep to inquire about a specific model car I was interested in: a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. One feature I was interested in on the car, a "hard-top", they did not have available in the color Jeep I wanted. When I stated I was going to visit a competitive dealer, Executive Jeep, who did have the additional feature in stock, an offer to me was made by the salesman, ****** ***********. That offer, which was that all I would have to do is order the hard top and they would put it on for me. I purchased the vehicle that day, under the terms and conditions one would be put on for me when ordered. I subsequently ordered the hard top on October 11, 2013. I paid in full the $2,400.00 for the additional hard top (have copy of signed and dated receipt) for item by sales manager. I was told the item would arrive within a week. After two weeks of them not returning my calls about the item not arriving, I finally was told by **** who works in service that the top would be in on Nov 11th. I was frustrated but patient in waiting. However, it now was also going to now cost an additional $800 to install. That cost was not disclosed to me at the time of purchase my Jeep. I contacted ******** Corp today (Nov 13th) over my dissatisfaction with the dealership. After talking to ******* I received a call back from the service manager **** who stated to me they dropped the ball and ****** should have filled them in on the hard top. He also stated ****** is no longer with them. ******** corporate did not remain on the line or follow through with me on the deceptive sales practice by the dealerships salesman. While **** did apologize, that does not negate the fact that a purchase agreement was made by their business establishment, whether the employee is still employed or not. At the time I purchased my car and placed the order for the hard-top, their business representative failed to disclose additional installation fees. At no time was an offer made to me to eliminate the $800 installation charge. I was originally told there would be none- they would just put it on when it arrived- which is why I decided to purchase the car from their business and not their competitor.It is now past a month since I paid for an item, and I was informed today by ****, would not be in until December. I also am now being charged an additional $800 for the installation which was not part of the original sales agreement on purchasing the car from their location; not a competitor. Employed presently or not, their organizations representative made a sales agreement with me. The only restitution **** made after admitting knowing they made a mistake, was an apology. An apology" does not help in the protection and value of the car I purchased. By this time of year, a hard-top was expected, promised, and should be on my vehicle However, the soft-top is now causing me to not gain full efficiency and use of my vehicle. Should foul weather occur between now, and when I was told it would be in stock to be installed, there could be potential damage to my current roof; I specifically ordered a hard-top as the car is NOT garaged and therefore exposed to the elements.I am expecting that the dealership will not only find a hard-top from another location but also install at no charge per the sales agreement made. Their excuse of the employee is no longer wit us is an unacceptable response Their lack of providing any accommodation to making up for that employees mistakes further demonstrates this is not a business that thinks at all about their customers concerns or needs. Any reputable business, would realize that their error needs to be rectified at their cost, not their convenience. I am the one who is being inconvenienced, losing value and efficiency on a new car I have had just over two months; a item I paid for in full over a month ago. Most of all, why would I trust anything anyone at the dealership BranHaven tells me if it has reached the point I had to contact corporate headquarters. I want the hard top I was promised within 7 days (over a month ago) and installed promptly, at no charge, as per original vehicle purchase agreement. I am prepared to take legal action should the business not rectify the situation is manner that is customer-friendly and consumer based, not convenient or excuse based.Thank You.

Desired Settlement: I would like this situation resolved amicably. However, based on what I have experienced, I am prepared to take legal action should the business not rectify the situation in a manner that is customer-friendly and costumer based, not convenience of excused based.

Business Response: I spoke with ******* and it has been resolved.  We should have his hardtop in by 11/23.  There will be no charge for the instalation. We apologize for the aggravation!!

****** ** ******** 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/2/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2008 ****** STI 7 weeks ago for 25K. Last week I got a friend that is a ***** Mechanic for 11 years to do a oil change because Branshaven is an hour and a half away from my house. I purchased a ****** OEM filter and full synthetic oil due to noticing my car had been burning a lot of oil. When he drained the oil the dealership put in he noticed it was extremely thick even for full synthetic which looked like Lucas Oil. As I was driving home from the oil change going no more than 60mph on low RPMs my car began to chock and would not accelerate and started knocking. The mechanic met me and stated that it sounded like a spun bearing. I then towed to my home. I contacted the dealership first thing in the morning. I asked for **** ***** which is the used vehichle manager that stated if I needed anything to contact him when I purchased the car. **** ***** was off so I spoke to **** ******* and after hearing me he stated"Not to be rude but that has noting to do with us. He then told me hed call me back. He called me back telling me he contacted the ***** Dealer (without my consent) and that there was no record of me there. He proceeded to call me a liar and that I lied to his face. I explained that Lemon law states that I have 60 days or 3000 miles which I was under both. I have records that the car had major damage to cylinder#2 and supposedly the short block was replaced May 2010. So this issue is recurring. He did not make any effort to help me over the phone. I then left work and went to the dealership. When he saw me he introduced me and stated and I quote Theres nothing I can do for you sorry. he then proceeded to interrupt and become aggressive and defensive. No where in the warranty does it state that I cant go elsewhere to get an oil change. ****** ********* the Dealer Principals office, I explained and ****** stated well I want to at least take a look at the car. They now have my car and I have not been contacted with any kind of update. When I call and ask for **** I get told that hes not in at the moment. I need to depend on public transportation to get to work and now I am running the risk of loosing my job.

Desired Settlement: I want a rental so I can get to work on time and not run the risk of loosing my job. I also want extended warranty on this car. I no longer trust Branhaven and never will recommend them to anyone. I have all calls and conversations of being mistreated recorded and plan on taking further action. Due to my young age Branhaven has made no effort to help me in any way. I have the sample of the motor oil that was put by them which will be sent out for diagnosis. I refuse to be ignored.

Business Response: Dear BBB and Mr. ***********,

    It is unfortunate that your vehicle had an issue with it after you took delivery.  We apololgize for any inconvenience it may have caused.  But in all honesty I have no idea why a complaint was filed in regards to this issue.  Mr. ************ called and informed my service manager that he had his vehicle serviced at ***** of ******** and now his vehicle is making a noise.  My service manager called the dealer to find out exactly what was done to the car.  They told him that the vehicle had never been serviced there.  When  he confronted Mr. ************ with this information he became very defensive.  After some time he admitted that a friend of his, who is a mechanic at *****, changed the oil.  It was done after hours and on the side. Mr. *****-was unable to provide us with  paperwork from purchasing the oil and filter as well. Mr. ************'s story had left a bad taste in my service managers mouth. After asking more questions, Mr. ************ told him that he put synthetic oil in it.  The manufacturer recommends 5-w30 oil which is not synthetic. 
     My service manager was apprehensive about servicing the vehicle and he came in to ask my advice.  Mr. ************  and his father arrived at my dealership at the very same moment.  I sat down with both of them and told them I was not happy that they did not tell us the truth about the servicing of the vehicle but that I wanted to take a look at the car anyway.  Branhaven had the car towed to our service department.  After doing some research we found that there was one month left of the manufacturers warranty.  We then towed the vehicle to Premier ****** in Branford where they diagnosed it and replaced the short block. There was no charge to Mr. ************ at all.  Branhaven took care of the towing bill too.  
     Mr *********** asked if we could give him a car to use while his car was in the shop.  It was explained to him that we have rentals but there would be a charge.  He declined that service and seemed to be happy with everything.  He was communicating with the ****** dealer as to the status of the car and picked it up from them.  No where had we failed Mr. ************.  
     I have been warned by Mr. ************ that he is going to sue me for lost time at work. Branhaven has suffered from his bad reviews online.  I honestly don't know what we did wrong and why he could'nt pick up the phone to have a conversation about it.  

Sincere regards,

****** Lavallee          

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because I was never informed that I could pay for a rental. In no way did I ever become aggressive and I do have the call recording to prove it. **** the parts manager was extremely aggressive and rude. I was never given a call after my car was towed, I called at least 4 times before realizing they were not gonna help me so I was told my car was towed and I got the location contact and directly contacted them. This Dealership has truly left a bad taste in my mouth and I want others  to be aware of their ways before getting involved with them. 

Sincerely,

****** ************

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my car from Branhaven, a 2010 Dodge Avenger, for about a year when there was an electrical fire in the dash board and it was completely totaled. First off, it took me 3-1/2 months to get a refund on my extended warranty I had purchased on it. I had to make many, many phone calls to follow up on it and being a single mother with 2 jobs, isn't exactly in my schedule to do. Also, I had some oil changes I had pre-paid for at the service dept. but was told I could not use them on any other car. I was told I would get a call back when I asked for an exception to be made in my case - no call back, called and asked again...no call back. Called back and got the OWNER on the phone - he acted all concerned and said he would call me back - AGAIN no call back and then would not take my calls. This had been the FOURTH car I had purchased there - and have always used the service dept. - so you would think customer loyalty would mean something....guess not. HORRIBLE experience. Product_Or_Service: Oil change Order_Number: unsure - destroyed i Account_Number: n/a

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the oil changes that I paid for on the defective car they sold me.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/15) */ Dear ***** and the BBB, I am terribly sorry for the level of service you recieved. I believed this situation to be resolved. Unfortunately I may have assumed incorrectly in this situation. I had delegated the action of returning your phone call to management. I apologize that I had not followed up with it myself. I cannot speak on behalf of the service contract company as to why it took so long to get a refund. I can tell you that the oil change or maintenance contract is only good for the vehicle it what purchased for. It coincides with the vin# of your car. The service contract company will not refund the unused oil changes. I can however honor those certificates for future services. Please let me know your thoughts, ****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2009 Dodge Avenger, when I bought the car and after all paper work was signed the sales manager told me the car had been in an accident. I had a problem with the door the next day there was a rod lose in the passenger rear door and they said they fixed it but there is still a noise, and while I was there they opened the trunk and fixed a leaking problem I had not mentioned anything about. A week ago I brought the car in for my brakes because they were squeaking a few day after the car was purchased. I got the car back and they are already squeaking and they are now worse. Last night ( 4-30-13) I opened my door and it was making a crunching noise and I noticed the door is not properly lined up and the paint is chipping away and the best they say they can do is fix it. I do not feel as if I should be paying for a headache. I only make about 30,000 a year and I'm paying 12,000 and that does not come easy for me. I told the salesman I did not want the car I want a new one and he is pretty much telling me they can only fix the problem and can not put me in a new vehicle. Product_Or_Service: 2009 Dodge Avenger

Desired Settlement: I would either like the car for free if that is even possible, a new car, or the problem car which I currently have for the price to be knocked down at least 5,000

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/07) */ All issues have been resolved with ******. If he has any concerns he can reach me at the store. ****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/24/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/24/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
4/26/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1