BBB Accredited Business since

Branhaven Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram

Phone: (203) 488-6351 Fax: (203) 481-0092 View Additional Phone Numbers 348 W Main St, Branford, CT 06405

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Branhaven Chrysler Jeep Dodge offers new and used automobile sales, service, rentals and autobody work.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Branhaven Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Branhaven Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1978 Business started: 12/01/1970 Business started locally: 12/01/1970 Business incorporated 12/02/1970 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle, State of CT Dept. of
60 State St, Wethersfield CT 06109
Phone Number: (860) 263-5055

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Robert Lavallee Jr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Lavallee Jr., President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Branhaven Motors, Inc.
Products & Services

Branhaven Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram is a retailer of new and used automobiles. Started in 1970 we have been family owned and continuously operated for over 41 years.

Industry Tips
Car repair

Additional Locations

  • 348 W Main St

    Branford, CT 06405 (203) 488-6351


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought vehicle in for recall, received vehicle back with both passenger and driver door damage,spoke to service manager (which admitted to recall work causing the damage )about getting doors replaced.He then informed me they would only bondo and paint both doors as it would be cheaper for them if they did that.Explained to him that the jeep doors if bonded and painted would only cause future problems and devalue the vehicle and requested the doors be replaced as they were in new condition with no issues when brought in for recall, at that point the manager became very rude and said he would discuss it with his boss.Received a call from the dealer owner who was also very rude and saying they will only repair them and its not there problem and to contact the corp office if I didn't like that answer.

Desired Settlement: I feel that the vehicle being a 2012 with 30,000 miles was in pristine condition when brought to dealer, and I should not have to settle for the cheaper resolution,(bondo and paint) that would only cause future issues and devalue the vehicle.They were responsible for obviously having untrained technicians work on the vehicle that caused severe damage to both doors and I shouldn't have to settle for their (quick and least expensive fix).I am asking for them to replace the doors to bring it back to the condition it was when originally brought in for the recall.

Business Response:

I believe that the complaint has been resolved and we have repaired the ******** car. I would like to add that in no way was I rude to the customer. I had told her that I was sorry for the damage and that I would repair it. I also told her that replacing the doors would be disproportionate to the damage. I told her I would guarantee the work for as long as she owned the car and at that point she called me a **** and proceeded to yell at me. There was no justification for the language and tone Mrs. ******* was using so I ended the call. I am very regretful that we damaged her car but I wanted to do the right thing and repair it for them. I guess Mrs. ******* just wanted someone to yell at that day.

****** ********


Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:Still did not receive my letter of guarantee letter for repair work.


******* *******

5/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My ignition on my ***** ******* was faulty. The key would not turn in the ignition. I was told by the service department it could not be repaired, but had to be replaced. I just found out the ignition was on a recall to be replaced anyway. So I filed a claim to ask for a refund, but Theresa at ***** stated that the recall wasn't being done for that reason, so even though they were supposed to replace my ignition for free, they would not refund my money. The CAIR# they provided me was ********.

Desired Settlement: I just want a refund for the cost of replacing the ignition, since it was on a recall and would have to have been replaced anyway. The Branhaven Service department never mentioned this to me.

Business Response:


     I am sorry for not getting back to you.  My wife and I just had our first baby and I had taken some time off. I did however just get off the phone with my parts and service rep from ********* The recall was not announced until September 2015 and you brought your vehicle in for service in February 2015. Your complaint of the ignition locking up and not being able to turn  is not the issue with the recall.  The recall was for the vehicle shutting off on its own. I believe you spoke to ******** already and they told you the same thing. I totally understand your frustration and I tried my best to get some money out of the rep. Unfortunately he could not because it would set a precedent for anyone else in your same situation.  

   As the dealer I would like to offer you a $200 credit towards our service or parts department. I know this is not commensurate to what you paid for the ignition but I would like to offer it to you as an act of good will.  I hope you can understand that my hands are tied with this matter.


sincere regards,


Robert L*******

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Despite several promises that a $500 deposit my wife made on a vehicle would be refunded, and despite every attempt on her part to inform the dealership as soon as possible that she would not be purchasing the vehicle on which she had placed a deposit, the dealership has not made said refund.***** ***** went to Branhaven Chrystler Jeep Dodge (Branhaven) on Saturday, May 24, around 2pm, and put down a $500 deposit on a 2014 Jeep Compass. When ***** signed the deposit form, the salesman, ****, told her that if she changed her mind, her money would be refunded. I was later informed that what she signed was a purchase order stating the $500 deposit was non-refundable. This, however, was not explained to my wife; in fact, she was told the opposite: Her money would be refunded if she chose not to purchase the vehicle. Later that day, ***** decided that it was not in her best interest to purchase the car (and instead buy elsewhere) and tried to inform the dealership right away. On Sunday, ***** went to Branhaven but the dealership was closed, as it was on Monday (Memorial Day.) She called Branhaven and left a message saying she would not be purchasing the car. On Tuesday, ***** went to Branhaven and personally informed **** that she no longer wanted to purchase the car. **** informed her that he had received her message and that he would take care of the refund. This, he said, would show up in her account in 3-5 days. On Sunday, **** called ***** and left the following voicemail: Hi *****, its **** **** over at Branhaven Chrystler Jeep DodgeIts been busy this past week; I will be able to refund your deposit tomorrow when the office is back open, so if you want, give me a call tomorrow to remind me. Ill be here from 9am to 6pm. Thanks. ***** went to Branhaven on Monday, where the owner said she would not be receiving a refund and told her to leave.He was visibly upset that she had bought a car elsewhere.I was also made aware that Branhaven made an inquiry on my credit without my authorization.

Desired Settlement: 1) Refund the $500 we were promised by Branhaven, and2) Remove the credit inquiry from the record, and desist from making further inquiries on my credit without my permission.3) Write a letter of apology for misleading my wife and yelling at her behind closed doors.4) Desist from making verbal promises of refunds to future customers if your intent is not to refund deposits.

Business Response: Website Complaint Response:

I have read Mr. ******' letter that he mailed me and I have replied via email. We are processing his refund today.
6/17/2014 2:53:31 PM

12/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 9, 2013 I stopped at BranHaven Jeep to inquire about a specific model car I was interested in: a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. One feature I was interested in on the car, a "hard-top", they did not have available in the color Jeep I wanted. When I stated I was going to visit a competitive dealer, Executive Jeep, who did have the additional feature in stock, an offer to me was made by the salesman, ****** ***********. That offer, which was that all I would have to do is order the hard top and they would put it on for me. I purchased the vehicle that day, under the terms and conditions one would be put on for me when ordered. I subsequently ordered the hard top on October 11, 2013. I paid in full the $2,400.00 for the additional hard top (have copy of signed and dated receipt) for item by sales manager. I was told the item would arrive within a week. After two weeks of them not returning my calls about the item not arriving, I finally was told by **** who works in service that the top would be in on Nov 11th. I was frustrated but patient in waiting. However, it now was also going to now cost an additional $800 to install. That cost was not disclosed to me at the time of purchase my Jeep. I contacted ******** Corp today (Nov 13th) over my dissatisfaction with the dealership. After talking to ******* I received a call back from the service manager **** who stated to me they dropped the ball and ****** should have filled them in on the hard top. He also stated ****** is no longer with them. ******** corporate did not remain on the line or follow through with me on the deceptive sales practice by the dealerships salesman. While **** did apologize, that does not negate the fact that a purchase agreement was made by their business establishment, whether the employee is still employed or not. At the time I purchased my car and placed the order for the hard-top, their business representative failed to disclose additional installation fees. At no time was an offer made to me to eliminate the $800 installation charge. I was originally told there would be none- they would just put it on when it arrived- which is why I decided to purchase the car from their business and not their competitor.It is now past a month since I paid for an item, and I was informed today by ****, would not be in until December. I also am now being charged an additional $800 for the installation which was not part of the original sales agreement on purchasing the car from their location; not a competitor. Employed presently or not, their organizations representative made a sales agreement with me. The only restitution **** made after admitting knowing they made a mistake, was an apology. An apology" does not help in the protection and value of the car I purchased. By this time of year, a hard-top was expected, promised, and should be on my vehicle However, the soft-top is now causing me to not gain full efficiency and use of my vehicle. Should foul weather occur between now, and when I was told it would be in stock to be installed, there could be potential damage to my current roof; I specifically ordered a hard-top as the car is NOT garaged and therefore exposed to the elements.I am expecting that the dealership will not only find a hard-top from another location but also install at no charge per the sales agreement made. Their excuse of the employee is no longer wit us is an unacceptable response Their lack of providing any accommodation to making up for that employees mistakes further demonstrates this is not a business that thinks at all about their customers concerns or needs. Any reputable business, would realize that their error needs to be rectified at their cost, not their convenience. I am the one who is being inconvenienced, losing value and efficiency on a new car I have had just over two months; a item I paid for in full over a month ago. Most of all, why would I trust anything anyone at the dealership BranHaven tells me if it has reached the point I had to contact corporate headquarters. I want the hard top I was promised within 7 days (over a month ago) and installed promptly, at no charge, as per original vehicle purchase agreement. I am prepared to take legal action should the business not rectify the situation is manner that is customer-friendly and consumer based, not convenient or excuse based.Thank You.

Desired Settlement: I would like this situation resolved amicably. However, based on what I have experienced, I am prepared to take legal action should the business not rectify the situation in a manner that is customer-friendly and costumer based, not convenience of excused based.

Business Response: I spoke with ******* and it has been resolved.  We should have his hardtop in by 11/23.  There will be no charge for the instalation. We apologize for the aggravation!!

****** ** ******** 

12/2/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2008 ****** STI 7 weeks ago for 25K. Last week I got a friend that is a ***** Mechanic for 11 years to do a oil change because Branshaven is an hour and a half away from my house. I purchased a ****** OEM filter and full synthetic oil due to noticing my car had been burning a lot of oil. When he drained the oil the dealership put in he noticed it was extremely thick even for full synthetic which looked like Lucas Oil. As I was driving home from the oil change going no more than 60mph on low RPMs my car began to chock and would not accelerate and started knocking. The mechanic met me and stated that it sounded like a spun bearing. I then towed to my home. I contacted the dealership first thing in the morning. I asked for **** ***** which is the used vehichle manager that stated if I needed anything to contact him when I purchased the car. **** ***** was off so I spoke to **** ******* and after hearing me he stated"Not to be rude but that has noting to do with us. He then told me hed call me back. He called me back telling me he contacted the ***** Dealer (without my consent) and that there was no record of me there. He proceeded to call me a liar and that I lied to his face. I explained that Lemon law states that I have 60 days or 3000 miles which I was under both. I have records that the car had major damage to cylinder#2 and supposedly the short block was replaced May 2010. So this issue is recurring. He did not make any effort to help me over the phone. I then left work and went to the dealership. When he saw me he introduced me and stated and I quote Theres nothing I can do for you sorry. he then proceeded to interrupt and become aggressive and defensive. No where in the warranty does it state that I cant go elsewhere to get an oil change. ****** ********* the Dealer Principals office, I explained and ****** stated well I want to at least take a look at the car. They now have my car and I have not been contacted with any kind of update. When I call and ask for **** I get told that hes not in at the moment. I need to depend on public transportation to get to work and now I am running the risk of loosing my job.

Desired Settlement: I want a rental so I can get to work on time and not run the risk of loosing my job. I also want extended warranty on this car. I no longer trust Branhaven and never will recommend them to anyone. I have all calls and conversations of being mistreated recorded and plan on taking further action. Due to my young age Branhaven has made no effort to help me in any way. I have the sample of the motor oil that was put by them which will be sent out for diagnosis. I refuse to be ignored.

Business Response: Dear BBB and Mr. ***********,

    It is unfortunate that your vehicle had an issue with it after you took delivery.  We apololgize for any inconvenience it may have caused.  But in all honesty I have no idea why a complaint was filed in regards to this issue.  Mr. ************ called and informed my service manager that he had his vehicle serviced at ***** of ******** and now his vehicle is making a noise.  My service manager called the dealer to find out exactly what was done to the car.  They told him that the vehicle had never been serviced there.  When  he confronted Mr. ************ with this information he became very defensive.  After some time he admitted that a friend of his, who is a mechanic at *****, changed the oil.  It was done after hours and on the side. Mr. *****-was unable to provide us with  paperwork from purchasing the oil and filter as well. Mr. ************'s story had left a bad taste in my service managers mouth. After asking more questions, Mr. ************ told him that he put synthetic oil in it.  The manufacturer recommends 5-w30 oil which is not synthetic. 
     My service manager was apprehensive about servicing the vehicle and he came in to ask my advice.  Mr. ************  and his father arrived at my dealership at the very same moment.  I sat down with both of them and told them I was not happy that they did not tell us the truth about the servicing of the vehicle but that I wanted to take a look at the car anyway.  Branhaven had the car towed to our service department.  After doing some research we found that there was one month left of the manufacturers warranty.  We then towed the vehicle to Premier ****** in Branford where they diagnosed it and replaced the short block. There was no charge to Mr. ************ at all.  Branhaven took care of the towing bill too.  
     Mr *********** asked if we could give him a car to use while his car was in the shop.  It was explained to him that we have rentals but there would be a charge.  He declined that service and seemed to be happy with everything.  He was communicating with the ****** dealer as to the status of the car and picked it up from them.  No where had we failed Mr. ************.  
     I have been warned by Mr. ************ that he is going to sue me for lost time at work. Branhaven has suffered from his bad reviews online.  I honestly don't know what we did wrong and why he could'nt pick up the phone to have a conversation about it.  

Sincere regards,

****** Lavallee          

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because I was never informed that I could pay for a rental. In no way did I ever become aggressive and I do have the call recording to prove it. **** the parts manager was extremely aggressive and rude. I was never given a call after my car was towed, I called at least 4 times before realizing they were not gonna help me so I was told my car was towed and I got the location contact and directly contacted them. This Dealership has truly left a bad taste in my mouth and I want others  to be aware of their ways before getting involved with them. 


****** ************

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Branhaven Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)