BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used automobile sales, service, parts, body shop and rentals.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A-1 Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A-1 Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A-1 Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1981 Business started: 01/01/1951 Business started locally: 01/01/1951
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle, State of CT Dept. of
60 State St, Wethersfield CT 06109
www.ct.gov/dmv
Phone Number: (860) 263-5055
mail@dmvct.org

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Dominic J. Galardi, President/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dominic J. Galardi, President/Treasurer
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Renting & Leasing New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Additional Locations

  • 50 Amity Rd

    New Haven, CT 06515 (800) 668-4006 (203) 389-1521

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 387-6691(Phone)
  • (203) 389-1531(Phone)
  • (203) 393-9416(Phone)
  • (800) 218-6968(Phone)
  • (800) 668-4006(Phone)
  • (203) 389-7155 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Some time in April I received a letter in the mail from the Toyota Corp regarding the recall of Toyota ******* ********* models for excessive rusting of the frame.So on May 9th I took my **** ****** ******* to A1 Toyota in New Haven to have it checked out.I was given a loaner Toyota *** * as a temporary replacement .Later that day I received a call from a manager A1 Toyota stating that my frame was severely rusted and a new frame was recommend . I was told it would be about 1 week.....After 3 weeks went by with out hearing from anyone at A1 Toyota I decided to pay them a visit.When I got there I was surprise to see my car totally ripped apart and all the parts sitting right beside it totally exposed to all the elements.through all the rain Connecticut has been having,the parts from my car has been sitting there exposed.... I took pictures and saved them because I know this cannot be good. When I asked the manager about my car parts being exposed to the rain he said that will not be a problem......Then he proceeded to give me a list of $1100 in repairs he claims they found while taking my car apart.New CV boots,new water pump,new timing belt,oil change etc..... My car was totally fine when I dropped it off at A1 Toyota ......Now here we are on June 24th 2014 and still no updates from A1 Toyota regarding my car....They seem more interested in getting me to pay for the supposed repairs the want me to get.

Desired Settlement: I would like updates on what's going on with my car and I would like some kind of warranty .....None of the repairs they suggested was never and issue .So how do I know they didn't cause them....

Business Response: Website Complaint Response:

CUSTOMERS VEHICLE WAS STAGED OUTSIDE WHICH IS STANDARD PROCEDURE .BODY PANELS AND FRAME COMPONENTS WERE OUTSIDE IN LOT UNTIL NEW FRAME ARRIVED.ALL OTHER COMPONENTS WERE STORED INSIDE FACILITY.SERVICE MANAGER ASSURED CUSTOMER NO DAMAGE WOULD COME TO ANY COMPONENTS OUT IN THE ELEMENTS.SERVICE MANAGER INFORMED CUSTOMER OF RECOMMENDED REPAIRS THAT WERE FOUND UPON INSPECTION OF VEHICLE.DEALER POLICY IS TO INSPECT VEHICLES FOR SAFETY RELATED AND MAINTENANCE ITEMS. CUSTOMER DECLINED ANY ADDITIONAL REPAIRS. VEHICLE WAS COMPLETED AND RETURNED TO CUSTOMER 06/26/14.CUSTOMER PROVIDED ALTERNATE TRANSPORTATION FOR DURATION OF REPAIR.RENTAL VEHICLE AND FRAME REPLACEMENT WERE PERFORMED UNDER MANUFACTURERS WARRANTY.CUSTOMER INCURRED NO OUT OF POCKET EXPENSES. DEALER UNAWARE OF CUSTOMERS DISSATISFATION. DEALER DID REPAIRS UNDER MANUFACTURERS GUIDELINES BY A CERTIFIED TECHNICIAN.THESE REPAIRS ARE COVERED BY A ONE YEAR WARRANTY THAT COVERS WORKMANSHIP AND PARTS DEFECTS.CUSTOMER MAY CONTACT SERVICE MANAGER WITH ANY QUESTIONS AT PHONE NUMBER ABOVE.
7/25/2014 3:43:38 PM

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WE TRADED IN A NISSAN 07 VERSA FOR A TOYOTA '13 PRIUS PLUG-IN. THE NISSAN'S PAY-OFF WAS $15,000. THE TOYOTA HAD A REBATE OF $7,300. THEY WERE SUPPOSED TO GIVE US $6,000 FOR THE VERSA. THE STORY IS TOYOTA A-1 ROLLED $9,000 MORE INTO OUR LOAN,THEREBY MAKING OUR PRIUS $575/MO. FOR 3 YRS. AND NOT SHOWING THE $6,000 FOR THE VERSA. WE DID NOT KNOW OF A $600 CARE PKG BEING ADDED TO THE LOAN. $300 WAS ALSO ADDED FOR THE VIN #'S TO WHICH WE WERE NOT CONSULTED. WE DON'T KNOW HOW THIS LOAN WAS APPROVED FOR 2 PEOPLE OF FIXED INCOMES. NOW WE CAN'T PAY THIS HIGH PAYMENT, AND TOYOTA A-1 NOR TOYOTA FINANCIAL WANT TO HELP US IN ANY WAY BY LOWERING THE PAYMENT OR TRADING IN FOR ANOTHER CAR. IF WE TRADE IT IN, THEY SAY THERE WILL BE $12,000 OF NEGATIVE EQUITY.

Desired Settlement: WE WOULD LIKE TOYOTA TO TAKE THIS CAR BACK AND GIVEUS A LESSER MODEL.

Business Response: Website Complaint Response:

Mr. and Mrs. ********* were very unhappy with their 2007 Nissan Versa they had purchased elsewhere. They came to our dealership and asked us if we could help them get out of their Nissan and into another vehicle. Mr. and Mrs. ********* were previous customers and had leased a vehicle from A1 Toyota in 2011. The *********'s understood they owed a lot more ($15300) on the Nissan than it was valued at ($6000). They also did not have any money to put down on another vehicle. The 2013 Toyota Prius PlugIn was offering a lease special rebate of $7300. The $7300 would help defray most of the negative equity in the *********'s trade. The money factor on the lease was also very low (0.0011). Mr. and Mrs. ********* chose to add "Excess Wear and Tear Coverage" for their lease which would protect them against up to $5000 worth of damage or excess wear and tear on their leased vehicle. That coverage is from Toyota and cost $595. They also opted for the optional VinMark, which they had on their previous lease, for $299. They spent a considerable amount of time with the finance manager and clearly understood that the monthly payment was $576 as well as the rest of the terms of their agreement. I personally did an exit interview with them before they left the dealership and they were completely satisfied with their new vehicle and the experience they had here at A1 Toyota. It seems that Mr. and Mrs. ********* became disenchanted months after they leased their vehicle through Toyota Financial Services. A1 Toyota is more than willing to help the *********'s in any way we can, however, what they are asking for; taking the car back and giving them a lesser model, is not possible without paying off the Toyota Financial Services Lease Contract which would require a considerable down payment from the *********'s which they have stated they don't have.

Sent on: 2/6/2014 9:41:54 AM

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  Toyota is lying.  We did not ask for a VinMark nor for extra wear and tear.  In fact, they wanted us to purchase molding.  We did not know about the

wear and tear until a month later when we reread the lease agreement.  This is all in the past now; we voluntarily had the Prius repossessed. 


Sincerely,

****** *********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service