BBB Accredited Business since

A-1 Toyota

Phone: (203) 389-1521 Fax: (203) 389-8128 View Additional Phone Numbers 50 Amity Rd, New Haven, CT 06515 http://www.A1Toyota.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used automobile sales, service, parts, body shop and rentals.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A-1 Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for A-1 Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A-1 Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1981 Business started: 01/01/1951 Business started locally: 01/01/1951
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle, State of CT Dept. of
60 State St, Wethersfield CT 06109
http://www.ct.gov/dmv
Phone Number: (860) 263-5055
mail@dmvct.org

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Anthony Galardi, President/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Galardi, President/Treasurer
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Renting & Leasing New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Additional Locations

  • 50 Amity Rd

    New Haven, CT 06515 (800) 668-4006 (203) 389-1521

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/24/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was trying to buy a vehicle from a1 Toyota. Before I approach them I told my credit was not good. They told me it doesn't matter. Finally they gave a car before I got approved and let me kept the car for a month with the dealer plate. Everyday I kept called them and get my permanent number plate. Each and every day they kept lying me they trying to get the approval. Almost a month they talk to to all the bank in nation wide and now they've been tell me I am not approved. They did such a a drama and called my wife to bring the car to change the number plate. But they didn't. They asked for the key to check the mileage. After they got the key they said to good bye and left my wife and my kid in the cold weather. I don't have a car to go to work. I am facing lot of inconvenience. They closed all the widow to get approve a another vehicle because they screwed up my credits. As a father of four kids I am the only person work for my family. Please I need a justice.

Business Response: From: A1 Toyota
Regarding: ******** * *************** * ********
 
    *** ******** came into A1 Toyota and asked to be helped with obtaining a brand new vehicle.
    He had a concern regarding his credit but required us to provide him with transportation as soon as possible and if we could not fulfill his vehicle requirement right away then he would leave the dealership and give his business some where else.
 
    We collected *** ********’s deposit and down payment and provided him with a vehicle while we worked on securing financing according to his financial requirements
   Due to some inconsistencies and inaccurate information provided by *** ******** the banks declined financing and required further information and documents to investigate and consider providing financing.
 *** ******** was informed many times that we are the dealership that sells the vehicles and the financing portion is provided by the bank, the lender.
  Obtaining proper documents from *** ******** took some time and delayed the decision from the banks.
 Meanwhile we let *** ******** use our vehicle as he had his down payment with us and we were working with the lenders on his behalf.
 After all information provided by *** ******** which did not match some of the initial information he had provided the lending institutes declined the approval based on the terms *** ******** had requested.
   *** ******** was informed of this and was presented all credit score disclosures and bank decisions and thoroughly explained the situation and was also presented with options which he declined.
  *** ******** was given his entire deposit/down payment back and his trade and was apologized by the General Sales Manager for not being able to obtain a loan in the terms *** ******** would agree to.  
 Through out the entire process ** * *** ******** were treated with the highest respect and professionalism and were not charged a single penny to use our vehicle while we tried to obtain a loan for them.  
  All deposits were returned and *** ******** left the dealership amicably.
 
 
Regards,
 
John D****** A1 Toyota General Sales Manager  
A1TOYOTA.COM / A1SCION.COM
             ###-###-####


Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:first of all they are lying about the complaint . I never asked for the brand new vehicle by knowing my credit. They trying to creating some stories. Why we can't get a proper justice. Because what lack of English. I spend lots of time and got some days off without pay. I want my compensation as well as these dealers stop giving fake promises to the clients. I need justice or else I will find a lawyer. 

Sincerely,

******** ***************

10/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Some time in April I received a letter in the mail from the Toyota Corp regarding the recall of Toyota ******* ********* models for excessive rusting of the frame.So on May 9th I took my **** ****** ******* to A1 Toyota in New Haven to have it checked out.I was given a loaner Toyota *** * as a temporary replacement .Later that day I received a call from a manager A1 Toyota stating that my frame was severely rusted and a new frame was recommend . I was told it would be about 1 week.....After 3 weeks went by with out hearing from anyone at A1 Toyota I decided to pay them a visit.When I got there I was surprise to see my car totally ripped apart and all the parts sitting right beside it totally exposed to all the elements.through all the rain Connecticut has been having,the parts from my car has been sitting there exposed.... I took pictures and saved them because I know this cannot be good. When I asked the manager about my car parts being exposed to the rain he said that will not be a problem......Then he proceeded to give me a list of $1100 in repairs he claims they found while taking my car apart.New CV boots,new water pump,new timing belt,oil change etc..... My car was totally fine when I dropped it off at A1 Toyota ......Now here we are on June 24th 2014 and still no updates from A1 Toyota regarding my car....They seem more interested in getting me to pay for the supposed repairs the want me to get.

Desired Settlement: I would like updates on what's going on with my car and I would like some kind of warranty .....None of the repairs they suggested was never and issue .So how do I know they didn't cause them....

Business Response: Website Complaint Response:

CUSTOMERS VEHICLE WAS STAGED OUTSIDE WHICH IS STANDARD PROCEDURE .BODY PANELS AND FRAME COMPONENTS WERE OUTSIDE IN LOT UNTIL NEW FRAME ARRIVED.ALL OTHER COMPONENTS WERE STORED INSIDE FACILITY.SERVICE MANAGER ASSURED CUSTOMER NO DAMAGE WOULD COME TO ANY COMPONENTS OUT IN THE ELEMENTS.SERVICE MANAGER INFORMED CUSTOMER OF RECOMMENDED REPAIRS THAT WERE FOUND UPON INSPECTION OF VEHICLE.DEALER POLICY IS TO INSPECT VEHICLES FOR SAFETY RELATED AND MAINTENANCE ITEMS. CUSTOMER DECLINED ANY ADDITIONAL REPAIRS. VEHICLE WAS COMPLETED AND RETURNED TO CUSTOMER 06/26/14.CUSTOMER PROVIDED ALTERNATE TRANSPORTATION FOR DURATION OF REPAIR.RENTAL VEHICLE AND FRAME REPLACEMENT WERE PERFORMED UNDER MANUFACTURERS WARRANTY.CUSTOMER INCURRED NO OUT OF POCKET EXPENSES. DEALER UNAWARE OF CUSTOMERS DISSATISFATION. DEALER DID REPAIRS UNDER MANUFACTURERS GUIDELINES BY A CERTIFIED TECHNICIAN.THESE REPAIRS ARE COVERED BY A ONE YEAR WARRANTY THAT COVERS WORKMANSHIP AND PARTS DEFECTS.CUSTOMER MAY CONTACT SERVICE MANAGER WITH ANY QUESTIONS AT PHONE NUMBER ABOVE.
7/25/2014 3:43:38 PM

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ****

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WE TRADED IN A NISSAN 07 VERSA FOR A TOYOTA '13 PRIUS PLUG-IN. THE NISSAN'S PAY-OFF WAS $15,000. THE TOYOTA HAD A REBATE OF $7,300. THEY WERE SUPPOSED TO GIVE US $6,000 FOR THE VERSA. THE STORY IS TOYOTA A-1 ROLLED $9,000 MORE INTO OUR LOAN,THEREBY MAKING OUR PRIUS $575/MO. FOR 3 YRS. AND NOT SHOWING THE $6,000 FOR THE VERSA. WE DID NOT KNOW OF A $600 CARE PKG BEING ADDED TO THE LOAN. $300 WAS ALSO ADDED FOR THE VIN #'S TO WHICH WE WERE NOT CONSULTED. WE DON'T KNOW HOW THIS LOAN WAS APPROVED FOR 2 PEOPLE OF FIXED INCOMES. NOW WE CAN'T PAY THIS HIGH PAYMENT, AND TOYOTA A-1 NOR TOYOTA FINANCIAL WANT TO HELP US IN ANY WAY BY LOWERING THE PAYMENT OR TRADING IN FOR ANOTHER CAR. IF WE TRADE IT IN, THEY SAY THERE WILL BE $12,000 OF NEGATIVE EQUITY.

Desired Settlement: WE WOULD LIKE TOYOTA TO TAKE THIS CAR BACK AND GIVEUS A LESSER MODEL.

Business Response: Website Complaint Response:

Mr. and Mrs. ********* were very unhappy with their 2007 Nissan Versa they had purchased elsewhere. They came to our dealership and asked us if we could help them get out of their Nissan and into another vehicle. Mr. and Mrs. ********* were previous customers and had leased a vehicle from A1 Toyota in 2011. The *********'s understood they owed a lot more ($15300) on the Nissan than it was valued at ($6000). They also did not have any money to put down on another vehicle. The 2013 Toyota Prius PlugIn was offering a lease special rebate of $7300. The $7300 would help defray most of the negative equity in the *********'s trade. The money factor on the lease was also very low (0.0011). Mr. and Mrs. ********* chose to add "Excess Wear and Tear Coverage" for their lease which would protect them against up to $5000 worth of damage or excess wear and tear on their leased vehicle. That coverage is from Toyota and cost $595. They also opted for the optional VinMark, which they had on their previous lease, for $299. They spent a considerable amount of time with the finance manager and clearly understood that the monthly payment was $576 as well as the rest of the terms of their agreement. I personally did an exit interview with them before they left the dealership and they were completely satisfied with their new vehicle and the experience they had here at A1 Toyota. It seems that Mr. and Mrs. ********* became disenchanted months after they leased their vehicle through Toyota Financial Services. A1 Toyota is more than willing to help the *********'s in any way we can, however, what they are asking for; taking the car back and giving them a lesser model, is not possible without paying off the Toyota Financial Services Lease Contract which would require a considerable down payment from the *********'s which they have stated they don't have.

Sent on: 2/6/2014 9:41:54 AM

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  Toyota is lying.  We did not ask for a VinMark nor for extra wear and tear.  In fact, they wanted us to purchase molding.  We did not know about the

wear and tear until a month later when we reread the lease agreement.  This is all in the past now; we voluntarily had the Prius repossessed. 


Sincerely,

****** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on A-1 Toyota
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)