BBB Accredited Business since

TJ's Auto Body LLC

Phone: (203) 774-0336 Fax: (203) 774-0365 508 N Colony Rd, Wallingford, CT 06492 http://tjsautobodyllc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Tj's Auto Body offers auto body repair, painting and some mechanical services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TJ's Auto Body LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TJ's Auto Body LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on TJ's Auto Body LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 02, 2009 Business started: 08/01/2001 Business started locally: 08/01/2001 Business incorporated 07/11/2008 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle, State of CT Dept. of
60 State St, Wethersfield CT 06109
www.ct.gov/dmv
Phone Number: (860) 263-5055
mail@dmvct.org

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Stowik Sr., Owner/Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Stowik Sr., Owner/Member
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Detailing Automotive Body, Paint, and Interior Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811121)

Service Area
All of Ct

Additional Locations

  • 508 N Colony Rd

    Wallingford, CT 06492 (203) 774-0336

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was in an auto accident in mid-late March with my 2008 Scion TC. When I was driving home a deer ran out in front of my car and actually jumped on the hood of my car. I quickly called my insurance company to start a claim and they recommended TJ's Autobody in Wallingford, CT. My car was towed to the shop the following day, when I went to go talk to the staff and sign some paperwork I explained to them that I would be leaving for vacation on March 31, 2014 and would be back on April 11, 2014 but they could reach me on my cell at anytime with questions or concerns. They never called me, my husband ended up calling them to find out my car was ready for pick up. When I went to pick my car up on Monday April 14 it was unreal. My car was awful, streaks and drips in the paint, the hood, front bumper & side corner panels were crooked etc. let's just say my husband and I were furious. I called my insurance company right away and by coincidence the adjuster was already sitting in TJ's parking lot. The owner and adjuster started to go over my car with me a assured me that this wood be fixed and they were very sorry. The shop said the car would be ready on Wed. April 16th. Over my better judgement I felt like I had to leave my car there to be fixed again. Wednesday comes and no phone call, I work late so by the time I called themed they were closed, I left a voicemail. Thursday comes and no call back from them so I called them again, the girl said my car was ready. They had me pick my car up after hours and no one went over the car repairs with me or even give me an invoice for all the work and repairs (isn't that illegal). As soon as I got home my husband and I went over the car and felt disgusted and taken advantage of. The quality of work was awful, they never cleaned the car, my passenger side window did not work, radiator fluid was leaking, the front headlights, bumper, hood & side corner panels looked liked they didn't belong on the car. When I drove there was a constant squeaking noise. Cont. below

Desired Settlement: The next day I took my car to a more reputable shop and they were horrified of what TJ's did to my car. I shouldn't have to deal with this, I am now fighting with my insurance co. to have them cover repairs at a different auto body. They depreciated the value of my car! This should be illegal and I hope no one ever has to go through this. All I want is for my car to be fixed and look like it was before the accident, what do I pay insurance for if they don't back me up.

Business Response: There were some small issues with the car that I agreed to fix.The customers car has beenrepaired before and is complaining of some things that have nothing to do with accident.Husband was not able to talk to me to go over issues and never stated what was wrong.There insurance policy did not have OEM policy so I used aftermarket parts and did not look like these people are saying.It looked good.I usually mailout receipts for work done which I will do.i like to get full payment first.Another thing is I would be more than happy to put OEM parts on vehicle and address concerns buthusband did not want to talk.Acted like a baby.They are also talking about color match on things we didn't touch.I didn't charge them there whole deductible and explained everything to the owner and she seemed fine with everything.