BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

G & J Auto Body, Inc.

Phone: (203) 265-7066 Fax: (203) 269-8579 View Additional Phone Numbers 17 Pent Hwy, Wallingford, CT 06492

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

G & J Auto Body, Inc. offers automotive collision repair services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that G & J Auto Body, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for G & J Auto Body, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on G & J Auto Body, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 26, 2004 Business started: 02/24/1982 Business started locally: 02/24/1982 Business incorporated: 02/24/1982 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle, State of CT Dept. of
60 State St, Wethersfield CT 06109
www.ct.gov/dmv
Phone Number: (860) 263-5055
mail@dmvct.org

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Cheryl Lynn Haury, President Mr. Richard Trombley, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cheryl Lynn Haury, President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Automotive Body, Paint, and Interior Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811121)


Additional Locations

  • 17 Pent Hwy

    Wallingford, CT 06492 (203) 265-7066 (800) 201-7066

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 201-7066(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is regarding my 2008 Honda Accord. I had it towed to G&J as was recommended by people who knew ***** ******* and had good experiences with him before. I met with the owner ******, apparently ***** no longer is there. I had a 1,000 deductible and my car needed body work, new airbags, 2 new tires, lots of damage had been done. I was never clear on what exactly he was repairing and what I needed.About 5 months later my wheels started locking up and it was dangerous to drive. One of the replacements was so low already I had to keep adding air. I figured they needed rotating balance no big deal. My battery died not even a month afte the repair. The side of my car that was struck was where the battery was. I thought he would replace it as he had said he would and did in the invoice. The tires were continuing to act up and then my brakes as well. He said he did my rear brakes and even made a point to say someone put the wrong pads in before. My keyless entry system and auto theft were not working. I believe my power disc brakes he checked the statement is unclear. He really did not explain all this to me, being my car is a 2008 it looks like I paid for a lot of paint and materials unclear and overpriced. Normally would have returned my car to him however I received a call from my insurance company stating I needed to find out if the airbags were indeed brand new otherwise it is against the law. At this point my wifes car was there to have the brakes done and he didn't review the repairs, labor or estimate with me. I started to feel uncomfortable because he promised to call to let me know what he would be doing. Instead I get a call saying her car is done. He was very curt on the phone and wouldn't let me ask about my car. I took it to a Honda Expert who told me the tires were the wrong ones, they wore out rapidly and were dangerous. The brakes were not done correctly and he has to check in to the rest. I paid G& J $1,000 and now my car needs another $900.00 in repairs Order_Number: XX-XXXXXXX-XX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund There is a large sum of work unfinished. Car came with left side airbag-no replaceleft power heated exterior mirror-not donebattery-not donepower lock left door not donewrong wheels for this model accordanti lock brake system?auxilary inputauto headlights does not saykeyless entry system not done on leftvariable assisted steering-not checked?no left side airbag in door$500.00 to paint a quarter panel? I want what is fair. Labor undone, labor unnecessary-repaid

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/08) */ IN RESPONSE TO CONSUMER COMPLAINT, ALL OF THESE COMPLAINTS CANNOT BE FULLY RESOLVED UNLESS THE CUSTOMER BRINGS THE CAR BACK TO US AS SOON AS THESE PROBLEMS ARISE. THE ONLY TIME THE CUSTOMER CONTACTED US OR BROUGHT A PROBLEM TO OUR ATTENTION WAS FIVE MONTHS AFTER THE CUSTOMER PICKED UP HIS CAR. HE HAD BROUGHT THE CAR BACK TO US STATING HE WAS HAVING A PROBLEM WITH HIS BRAKES. HE WAS THEN TOLD AGAIN (THE SAME THING HE WAS TOLD WHEN HE PICKED UP HIS CAR) THAT IF IT WAS ACCIDENT RELATED IT WOULD BE COVERED. HIS BRAKES WERE NOT ACCIDENT RELATED, THEY WERE DUE TO THE PREVIOUS WORK HE HAD DONE. HE WAS ASKED IF HE HAD BROUGHT HIS CAR BACK TO THE PEOPLE WHO ORIGINALLY 'FIXED' HIS BRAKES TO SEE IF THEY WOULD WARRANTY THEIR MISTAKE OF PUTTING ON THE WRONG ROTORS, OTHERWISE WE WOULD HAVE TO CHARGE HIM TO DO THE WORK. HE LEFT THE CAR TO HAVE THE BRAKES AND ROTORS FIXED, THEN CAME BACK TEN MINUTES LATER TO PICK UP HIS CAR AND SAID HE WOULD HAVE A FRIEND DO THE WORK. WE DIDN'T GET A CHANCE TO LOOK AT THE CAR OR TEST DRIVE IT. "ABOUT 5 MONTHS LATER MY WHEEL STARTED LOCKING UP AND IT WAS DANGEROUS TO DRIVE". IF THE WHEELS LOCKING UP IS DUE TO HIS BRAKES, THEN IT IS SOMETHING HE HAS TO TAKE UP WITH THE PEOPLE WHO DID HIS BRAKES PRIOR TO US, OTHERWISE HE SHOULD HAVE LEFT THE CAR WITH US THAT DAY HE BROUGHT IT BACK. "HE SAID HE DID MY REAR BRAKES AND EVEN MADE A POINT TO SAY SOMEONE PUT THE WRONG PADS IN BEFORE". WHEN THE CAR ARRIVED AT OUR SHOP THE CUSTOMER STATED THAT THE CAR WOULD NOT STOP, SO WE CHECKED THE BRAKES AND FOUND THAT THE REPAIR FACILITY BEFORE US HAD PUT THE WRONG BRAKE ROTORS ON THE FRONT OF THE CAR. THEY WERE TOO SMALL IN CIRCUMFERENCE SO WHEN THE PADS WORE OUT THEY HIT EACH OTHER ON THE TOP AND DIDN'T TOUCH THE ROTOR. WE USED NAPA BRAKE PADS TO REPLACE HIS FRONT BRAKES SO WE COULD TEST DRIVE THE CAR, AT NO CHARGE TO THE CUSTOMER; SINCE HIS BRAKES WERE NOT ACCIDENT RELATED. "THE BRAKES WERE NOT DONE CORRECTLY AND HE HAS TO CHECK IN TO THE REST". I'M NOT SURE HOW THE BRAKES WERE DONE INCORRECTLY BY US OR WHY HE THINKS THIS, SINCE WE'RE NOT THE ONES WHO PUT THE WRONG ROTORS ON. HE NEVER PRODUCED AN INVOICE WHERE HE HAD THE BRAKES REDONE OR DONE 'CORRECTLY'. AS FAR AS WHAT ELSE WE'RE SUPPOSED TO 'LOOK INTO', I DO NOT KNOW. CUSTOMER STATED "I HAD A 1,000 DEDUCTABLE AND MY CAR NEEDED BODY WORK, NEW AIRBAGS, 2 NEW TIRES, LOTS OF DAMAGES HAD BEEN DONE. I WAS NEVER CLEAR ON WHAT EXACTLY HE WAS REPAIRING AND WHAT I NEEDED". IF HE HAD READ THE INSURANCE ESTIMATE HE WOULD KNOW WHAT WE DID TO THE CAR, HE CAN ALSO CONTACT THE INSURANCE COMPANY TO GET ANOTHER COPY OF THE ESTIMATE. PROGRESSIVE PAID FOR US TO REPLACE THE DRIVERS AIR BAG IN THE STEERING WHEEL, AN AIR BAG WIRING HARNESS ASSEMBLY, AN AIR BAG CONTROL UNIT, AND LEFT AND RIGHT FRONT AIR BAG SENSORS. THEY ALSO PAID TO REPLACE ONE WHEEL TO THE LEFT FRONT (AKA RIM), AND ONE TIRE TO THE LEFT FRONT. THE QUESTION REMAINS AS TO WHICH TIRE THE CUSTOMER HAD TO KEEP FILLING UP WITH AIR AND WHETHER OR NOT IT WAS THE ONE WE HAD REPLACED. "I FIGURED THEY NEEDED ROTATING BALANCE NO BIG DEAL". IF HE FIGURED THAT'S WHAT THEY NEEDED, DID HE BRING THE CAR TO HAVE THAT DONE OR IGNORE IT? WHEN THE CAR WAS HERE WE HAD BROUGHT IT TO TOWN FAIR TIRE FOR THE NEW TIRE AND AN ALIGNMENT. THE VEHICLE LINED UP WITHOUT A PROBLEM. IF HIS HONDA EXPERT TOLD HIM THE TIRES WERE THE WRONG ONES THEN WHY WEREN'T WE TOLD OF THIS SO WE COULD HAVE TAKEN CARE OF THE SITUATION OR DONE SOMETHING TO HELP? THE ONE TIRE THAT WAS PUT ON MATCHED THE REST OF THE TIRES ON THE CAR, SO WHY HIS EXPERT TOLD HIM IT WAS WRONG WE DO NOT KNOW. WHY HE WAS TOLD THAT A TIRE WAS DANGEROUS IS ALSO CONCERNING AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN BROUGHT TO OUR ATTENTION. "MY BATTERY DIED NOT EVEN A MONTH AFTER THE REPAIR". HIS BATTERY WAS NOT REPLACED BECAUSE IT DID NOT SHOW DAMAGE AND THERFOR PROGRESSIVE WOULD NOT PAY FOR IT. THERE IS NO INVOICE STATING THAT WE REPLACED THE BATTERY, WE DID HOWEVER REPLACE THE BATTERY BOX WHERE THE BATTERY SITS. HIS CAR IS A 2008, IT IS POSSIBLE THAT THE LIFE OF THE BATTERY WAS USED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED DUE TO TIME, AGE, AND USE. "HE REALLY DID NOT EXPLAIN ALL THIS TO ME, BEING MY CAR IS A 2008 IT LOOKS LIKE I PAID FOR A LOT OF PAINT AND MATERIALS UNCLEAR AND OVERPRICED". THE PRICE IS WHAT PROGRESSIVE GAVE US TO REPAIR HIS CAR. IT LOOKS LIKE A LOT OF PAINT AND MATERIALS BECAUSE A LOT GOES INTO THE PAINTING AND THE MATERIALS NECESSARY TO REPAIR AND PAINT A CAR. PAINT AND MATERIALS ARE CALCULATED BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY. THE CAR HAS A BASE COAT, CLEAR COAT, AND COLOR COAT ON IT. WE PAINTED FRONT BUMPER, LEFT FRONT DOOR, LEFT REAR DOOR, LEFT DOOR OPENING PANEL, LEFT FENDER, LEFT RADIATOR SUPPORT BRACE, LEFT LOWER APRON, LEFT UPPER APRON, AND THE LEFT SIDEMEMBER EXTENSION. WE BLENDED HIS HOOD, LEFT QUARTER PANEL, AND THE FUEL DOOR. "NORMALLY WOULD HAVE RETURNED MY CAR TO HIM HOWEVER I RECEIVED A CALL FROM MY INSURANCE COMPANY STATING I NEEDED TO FIND OUT IF THE AIRBAGS WERE INDEED BRAND NEW OTHERWISE IT IS AGAINST THE LAW". WHY THE INSURANCE COMPANY WAS SO CONCERNED IF THE AIRBAGS WERE NEW OR NOT WE DO NOT KNOW. BUT IF IT WAS SUCH AN ISSUE, WHY DIDN'T THE INSURANCE COMPANY CALL US? THE CUSTOMER RECEIVED BRAND NEW AIR BAGS FROM THE DEALER (SCHALLER HONDA) AND IF HE WANTED TO KNOW THAT HE COULD HAVE ASKED, OTHERWISE THE INSURANCE COMPANY COULD HAVE CALLED AND ASKED CONSIDERING IT'S A BIG ISSUE. HE PAID A $1000.00 DEDUCTABLE FOR AN INSURANCE JOB, AS THE DEDUCTABLE IS INCLUDED IN THE PRICE OF THE REPAIRS. WE WOULD ALSO LIKE TO SEE THE ESTIMATE FOR REPAIRS THAT COST $900.00 AND IF THAT ESTIMATE DOES IN FACT INCLUDE REPAIRS THAT WE HAVE ALREADY DONE. A 2008 ACCORD DOES NOT COME EQUIPPED FROM THE FACTORY, WITH A LEFT SIDE AIRBAG IN THE DOOR. IF THE CAR REQUIRED ONE, THE AIRBAG LIGHT WOULD SHOW UP ON THE DASH. IF THE LIGHT WAS ON, WE WOULD NOT HAVE ALLOWED THE CAR TO LEAVE. THE DRIVERS MIRROR WAS REMOVED AND INSTALLED NO REPAIRS WERE DONE TO IT BECAUSE PROGRESSIVE DID NOT SEE ANY DAMAGES ON IT THAT NEEDED REPAIRS. WHAT THE CUSTOMER THINKS SHOULD HAVE BEEN DONE TO IT, WE DO NOT KNOW. THE BATTERY WAS ALSO NOT PAID TO BE REPLACED FOR THE SAME REASON. WE REPAIRED THE LEFT FRONT DOOR SO WHY THE POWER LOCKS DON'T WORK, WE WOULDN'T KNOW UNLESS WE SAW IT. THE WHEEL WAS AN AFTERMARKET BUT STILL MADE FOR A 2008 ACCORD. THE 'ANTI-LOCK BRAKE SYSTEM' WAS MENTIONED BUT NO QUESTION OR CONCERN SPECIFIED. THIS 1995 HONDA ACCORD HAD PREVIOUS REPAIRS ON THE RIGHT FRONT. WHEN THE CUSTOMER WAS HERE AND ASKED ME TO LOOK AT IT WITH HIM, I SHOWED HIM WHERE THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL WAS PUSHED BACK THREE QUARTERS OF AN INCH. WE PULLED THE SUB FRAME AHEAD TO GET HIS CORRECT WHEEL ALIGNMENT AND REPLACE HIS MASTER CYLINDER AT WHICH TIME I INFORMED HIM THE ABS PUMP SENSOR WAS BAD AND TO REPLACE IT WAS COSTLY, AS HE DECLINED THE REPAIR. AFTER HIS CAR WAS FINISHED ON 7/25/12, IT WASN'T PICKED UP UNTIL 11/13/12. DMV REQUIRES WE START STORAGE CHARGES FIVE DAYS AFTER A CUSTOMER IS NOTIFIED OF COMPLETION. WE DID NOT CHARGE MR. ***** THE 16 WEEKS OF STORAGE FROM THE TIME HIS CAR WAS DONE TO THE TIME HE PICKED IT UP. WHEN THE CAR WAS PICKED UP THE REPAIRS WERE REVIEWED WITH HIM AND IF HE DIDN'T UNDERSTAND WHAT WAS DONE, HE SHOULD HAVE ASKED. IF HE FELT THAT ****** WAS **** ON THE PHONE IT IS POSSIBLE THAT ****** WAS BUSY WITH ANOTHER CUSTOMER OR AN EMPLOYEE AND WAS IN NO WAY DIRECTED TOWARDS MR. *****. IF MR. ***** FELT IT WAS DIRECTED TOWARDS HIM, WHY DIDN'T HE SAY SOMETHING WHEN HE PICKED UP THE CAR? WHENVER A CUSTOMER PICKS UP THEIR CAR WE LIKE TO REMIND THEM THAT IF THEY HAVE ANY QUESTIONS, PROBLEMS, OR CONCERNS TO PLEASE GIVE US A CALL. THIS CUSTOMER HAS ONLY CONTACTED US ONCE SINCE HIS CAR WAS FINISHED AND THAT WAS FOR HIS BRAKES WHICH HE WAS TOLD WAS NOT RELATED AND WHAT HE SHOULD DO. AS FOR ALL OF THESE OTHER COMPLAINTS, THIS IS THE FIRST TIME WE'RE HEARING OF THEM. WE HAVE BEEN IN BUSINESS FOR OVER 30 YEARS AND HAVE NEVER HAD A LEGITIMATE COMPLAINT THAT WE HAVE NOT TAKEN CARE OF. NOT ONLY HAS THE CUSTOMER NOT CONTACTED US ABOUT HIS CONCERNS (OTHER THAN THE BRAKES), BUT NEITHER HAS THE INSURANCE COMPANY. IT IS NOT FAIR THAT THE CUSTOMER MADE THIS COMPLAINT WITHOUT GIVING US THE CHANCE, OR OPPORTUNITY TO ADDRESS, RESOLVE, OR CORRECT HIS PROBLEMS AND CONCERNS. AS FOR HIS DESIRED SETTLEMENT, THERE WILL BE NO REFUND. THERE IS NO "LARGE SUM OF WORK UNFINISHED". EVERYTHING PROGRESSIVE HAD PAID US TO DO, WE DID. EVERYTHING THE CUSTOMER PAID US TO DO, WE DID. HE FEELS THAT "HE DIDN'T REVIEW THE REPAIRS, LABOR, OR ESTIMATE WITH HIM" YET HE WAS GIVEN AN ESTIMATE OVER THE PHONE, AGREED TO IT AND PAID FOR THE REPAIRS TO BE DONE THESE FOLLOWING QUOTES ARE NOT CLEAR TOWARDS WHICH CAR, OR SPECIFIC TO WHAT THE CONCERN IS. "AUXILARY INPUT AUTO HEADLIGHTS DO NOT SAY" "KEYLESS ENTRY SYSTEM NOT DONE ON LEFT Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/04/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) As you can see this is an aggressive response. It is written in all caps and it is unclear. First they not only confuse the 2008 Accord with the 1995 Accord but they make false claims regarding the one in two and two in one. There was a prompt response in regards to the 1995 Accord. There is never an excuse to be rude or short curt or mean to a customer. He intimidated my wife and did not ALLOW her to ask questions regarding HER 1995 Accord. I did have questions the day I picked it up and he was not there to test drive it with me or discuss face to face the work done. I did not approve your false statement saying I approved it over the phone. I am writing in regards to the 2008 Accord which is mine. I did agree over the phone as it was an insurance claim and I had no idea that the mechanic would not assess the damage himself and be able to adjust where necessary. The Progressive/Amica estimate was not a legal work order. It was the insurance estimate and assessment. Were the insurance adjustors mechanics? If so, we should have gone to Progressives trusted body shops but ****** said I would get ripped off. Now, was the work done complete? No I had problems. I did call and was told my battery had nothing wrong with it but it states on the Insurance Invoice G & J was paid out to test repair battery. The paperwork is very extensive and confusing. I have nothing from G & J stating exactly what they did on THEIR invoice. It would be helpful for them to do so but they did not do it on my wife's 95 Accord. Personally, I know I tried to resolve it. I know I contacted him within a reasonable amount of time regarding both cars and I know that just because my insurance paid for my repairs does not mean I should just tolerate my car not being repaired up to code, the way it was before and having problems with the my entry system, tires and then received a call about the airbags. This is an aggressive response that makes no sense. It is inaccurate, it contains two cars, they made mistakes on both but the 1995 Accord I feel should not be brought into it. If G&J wants to come at me about both cars after making 2,300 off of us when the cars were not safe and needed more work done AND the work done was NOT COMPLETE. It is fraud. Period. I see you aren't cooperative whatsoever on the phone, worse in person (my wife and I are customers all clients should be able to ask questions) ****** did not treat us well in person and by taking the keys for a second opinion that was the way we were telling you (since ****** did not permit questions) we were not satisfied. Once another mechanic got in, he is an expert on Accords and other models we found out more from him about what was done, what was wrong and what was right. We had to pay out money for repairs after paying G&J 2,300 an additional $1,600. G&J did not get an authorization on the 1995. There was work done I never even discussed with ****** at the shop or on the phone. AS far as this is concerned it was not made clear on either cars what exactly he was repairing and the above response is excessive, aggressive, confusing and clearly disrespectful towards my legitimate concerns. This is why I chose to go through the BBB as I felt your shop was dishonest and lacked regard and concern for the clients needs. No one reminded me to ask questions or was compliant. This to me is an argument on their behalf so this is not the platform to continue my dispute. As a project manager and engineer I have a great amount of services to provide my clients and it starts with trust, respect, honesty and loyalty. We were looking for a auto shop we could work with for a lifetime. Obviously, G & J have a different approach. I like to handle my business as stress free as possible. I don't just do whatever I think my client needs or wants and then charge them for it and expect them to pay and be satisfied. I make my clients aware of what I am doing, how, when, where and whom else will be helping me if necessary. I don't do defective work, work unnecessarily and then BLAME my customer. It just does not happen. G&J seems comfortable with their decision does not care to resolve this. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/05/02) */ THE NORMAL PROCEDURE FOR ANY CUSTOMER WITH A PROBLEM OR CONCERN IS TO CALL US SO THEY CAN BRING THE CAR BACK TO US. WE WOULD LIKE TO LOOK AT ANY VEHICLE WE'VE WORKED ON AND ADDRESS ANY PROBLEMS SO THEY CAN BE TAKEN CARE OF IMMEDIATLEY. WE WOULD LIKE TO BE INFORMED IF A PROBLEM IS OR ISN'T ACCIDENT RELATED, IF IT IS OUR WORKMANSHIP, OR IF A PART FAILS. IF THE ONE TIRE WE REPLACED IS DEFECTIVE WE WOULD LIKE TO KNOW SO WE MAY CONTACT THE MANUFACTURER. AT ANY TIME PLEASE CONTACT ME AND MAKE AN APPOINTMENT CONVENIENT TO YOUR SCHEDULE TO BRING THE 2008 ACCORD DOWN SO WE MAY STILL ADDRESS THESE ISSUES. IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO CALL ME PERSONALLY, ****** ***** PRESIDENT OF G & J AUTO BODY INC., PLEASE FEEL FREE TO DO SO AT XXX-XXX-XXXX. IF HAVING MY EMPLOYEE ****** IN YOUR PRESENCE MAKES YOU UNCOMFORTABLE I CAN ASSURE YOU HE WILL NOT BE PRESENT. WE CANNOT ADDRESS THESE PROBLEMS WITHOUT THE CAR BEING HERE. WE HAVE A COPY OF THE INSURANCE APPRAISAL FROM PROGRESSIVE AND ARE MORE THAN HAPPY TO GO LINE BY LINE AND EXPLAIN WHAT AND HOW EVERYTHING WAS DONE IF THAT IS WHAT YOU WOULD LIKE. THE ONLY TIME YOU BROUGHT ANYTHING TO OUR ATTENTION WAS YOUR NON-ACCIDENT RELATED BRAKE PROBLEM. FROM READING YOUR RESPONSES, I BELIEVE YOU ARE MISREADING OR MISUNDERSTANDING THE INSURANCE APPRAISAL. WHEN YOUR CAR WAS IN THE PROCESS OF REPAIRS THE INSURANCE COMPANY WAS CALLED TO COME BACK FOR ADDITIONAL DAMAGES AND PROGRESSIVES LICENSED ADJUSTER APPROVED THE ADDITIONAL ACCIDENT RELATED REPAIRS. TO MAKE YOU AWARE, EVERY PROGRESSIVE POLICY HOLDER RECEIVED A FORM LETTER ABOUT USED AIRBAGS BEING ILLEGAL; IT WAS NOTHING DIRECTED TOWARD US. PLEASE KEEP IN MIND THAT VEHICLES HAVE WEARABLE ITEMS AND THAT TIRES LOOSE AIR OVER TIME OR IF YOU RUN SOMETHING OVER IN THE ROAD, AND BATTERIES HAVE LIFE EXPECTANCIES. THESE ARE NORMAL VEHICLE MAINTENANCE REQUIREMENTS. I APOLOGIZE IF YOU ARE OFFENDED BY CAPITOLS, IT IS IN NO WAY INTENDED TO BE AGGRESSIVE IT IS JUST HOW I TYPE BECAUSE IT'S EASIER FOR ME TO READ. Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/05/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will leave the caps off, to save them for expressive description. I appreciate your offer to meet with me and review everything line by line, which I will take you up on. I will also bring with me the repairs I had done elsewhere due to further issue's with the car that should have been corrected when the car was in your possession. In regards to the battery, on the list I believe it says the battery was tested and deemed ok, well I had it tested in March of 2012 and it was recommended to be replaced due to lack of cold crank amps, and this was BEFORE the accident! I do not believe someone tested the battery, and if they did, why did they not call me and make me aware of this, so we can address it. After ****** told me that I should bring my car to him and not a progressive authorized repair shop because they would use cheap aftermarket parts. It sounded like he was looking out for my best interests and I was looking for a place I could trust, but with this battery issue along with the fact when I did pick up the car I asked about the airbag and proof it was a genuine/brand new airbag, to which the lady at the front desk could not provide me proof about the airbag, plus the other items below, it leads me to believe my car was not properly repaired and corners were cut. Correct me if I am wrong, but this could be interpreted as insurance fraud? Secondly the car's computer system was never synced up with the computer, which caused the cars VSA (vehicle sensory assistance) to not function properly and led to the car not functioning properly and EXTREMELY dangerous when driving in wet conditions. This fact alone leaves me with a foul taste in my mouth and concludes my original thought that G&J is about quantity, not quality. I do not understand how anyone can operate a repair shop and does not know about computer systems in cars these days? I am not sure what kind of employees you have on staff there, but if ****** is any indication, then I can promise you I will never ever recommend G&J to my friends, family and/or business associates. ****** had led me to believe I was in good ands with his shop, he was a supposed friend of my deceased father-in-law, who ****** took the time to tell me about his memories of at one point, meanwhile he's fully taking advantage of me and especially when I decided to bring my wife's car in for some repairs (which is whole other tale of less than acceptable work and business practice), but this complaint is about my car and the problems that were left for me to find out about on my own after the car had been picked up. Finally I recently had a blow-out on the highway and the front left tire that you were responsible for replacing blew out and threw me into the guard rail and now the entire driver's side of the car is damaged along with the wheels on that side of the car. If you want to prove to me that G&J is a responsible and respectable company, then I think towing my car to your shop to review everything that your shop performed on my car as well as repairing the damaged body of the car and reimbusing me for the cost of syncing the car's computer would leave me a satisfied customer. I would hope that as president of a business, you probably do not appreciate this whole BBB complaint experience and pride yourself on having satisfied customers, as I definitely am not satisfied, I am still upset over the service I received on this car AND on car #2 which we will speak more about in person. You can expect my call this week. Sincerely, ****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.