BBB Accredited Business since

Morans TV Appliance

Phone: (203) 237-4800 664 W Main St, Meriden, CT 06451 http://www.moranstvappliance.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers televisions and appliances, sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Morans TV Appliance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Morans TV Appliance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Morans TV Appliance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 16, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1960 Business started locally: 01/01/1960
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jim Moran Jr., Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Moran Jr., Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies Television & Radio - Dealers Household Appliance Stores (NAICS: 443141)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Su: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Moran's TV, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 664 W Main St

    Meriden, CT 06451 (203) 237-4800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bad customer service and improper billing practices. We puchased a bosch washer from morans back a few years we have always had it serviced from morans never had a problem. about a month ago our washer broke and we called to have it fixed the guy came out said he had to order parts and left we waited almost a month for the guy to let us know what was going on. We kept calling and no one would return our calls. a couple times we got ahold of someone they just told us the part wasnt in and gave us a date but then on that date we found ourself still with a broken washer. finally he came out to fix it was in our basment for a couple hours after we didnt hear from him we went downstairs to check and he was gone and our washer was taken apart. We called morans and nobody knew anything about what was going on they had to contact the service guy and we never heard back till two days later. we had to keep calling. Originally the door was broken on the washer and that was the part we were waiting for, We added a gasket afterwards because ours had a tear in it. So when we finally talked to the guy he told us that the washer is really broken and he had to order more parts and since he already ordered them we have to pay for them. He never told us about any additional charges other than the two i mentioned above until after he supposedly already ordered the parts. he never told us the additional parts he had to order nor did he give us a date as to when he would finally be fixing the washer. We have been washing clothes at a laundry mat for over a month now $35 each time adds up. So not only is their communication horrible but they are adding things to our bill that we never aggreed to in the original estimate and when we questioned them they said it was too late. This isnt the way to run a buisness. I have been hearing alot of complaints about mornans and figured this might be the route to go.

Desired Settlement: We want the washer fixed in a timely manner and better communication. Also no other parts should have been ordered without our knowledge and approval first.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-5, 9, 2013/07/20) */ Ok so they brought our washing machine back 3 days ago said it was supposedly fixed and were returning it as is it was used once today and its broken again, tried calling but they are closed. This is ridiculous . Now after 3 months without a washer now I have to go buy a new one cause this company screwed it all up. Never again will I do business with Morans and I will make sure no one I know goes there again, Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/07/28) */ In response to Ms ****** complant I think its her mother I should be responding to because she knows the abuse this washer goes threw,we went back in our parts order's and we never had a bosch washer have all these promblems, The pump was jamed which wasn't the frist time motor control board was bad part#XXXXXX, the door latch mech was cracked part# XXXXXX and they wanted the door boot replaced because they ripped it part#XXXXXX.I do relize there are many people in the house but they should take care of things a little better It would of been very easy to say it's to far gone like most service companys would do but I know the machine and sold hundreds of them and Iam sure they wanted it fixed.It did well until recently because its close to 6 years old.It was a tough job and they can look up the part number's to see how much we have into the repair,I do know the mother helps pay the bill and if she stops in I will give her the parts and we will come to a price,she will have to speak to me not one of my employes like she did before. *** ***** Jr Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2013/07/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) After they returned the washer it broke again as I stated before. We went through a different company this time and when they took the washer apart they said they can tell the previous technicians that worked on it didn't know what they were doing. The gasket was installed wrong and the ring that holds it there was all bent. He also said there should be no reason why someone would take the washer if it can't be fixed where it sits it can't be fixed. The main complaint here is that it took almost 3 months to fix a washer that came back as is and broke the first time it was used and leaked all over the basement.

4/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we purchased a freezer from morans had less than a year stopped working called them they sent a man over he jiggled the wires it worked and he said if it stopped again to call them we bought food for it and after a couple of weeks it stopped again called them and they said they would contact manufacturer to set up service call for a new part waited and called and waited and called and now a couple of months later nothing from them will never buy from them again will never recommend them to anyone and the funny part is we can see their building from our window we are not out of their way we are right across the street shame on them

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement if they can't get us a repair on the one we have just give us a new one or just give us our money back and we will go somewhere else

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-5, 10, 2013/04/03) */ morans graciously brought us a new freezer and took away the no good one thank you tom and carol ross

1/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/9/2012 Delivery Issues