BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Hallock's offers major home appliances and HD TV.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hallock's meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hallock's include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hallock's
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1960 Business started: 01/01/1924 Business started locally: 01/01/1924 Business incorporated: 06/14/1940 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jack Fast, President Mr. Mel Mezoff, Vice President Mr. Mark Pino, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Fast, President
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Household Appliance Stores (NAICS: 443141)

Alternate Business Names
H.P. Hallock Company, The

Additional Locations

  • 1 Main St

    West Haven, CT 06516 (203) 931-4700

  • 885 W Main St

    Branford, CT 06405 (203) 488-2527

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a new whirlpool washer. Delivery came and item was not in box and came with no manual. Delivery Company reporterd they did not receive item in box either. Likely sold a floor model when I bought brand new in box. Bait and switch.

Desired Settlement: Full refund requested Immediatley.

Business Response:

A Master Card credit in the amount of $749.77 was processed today at 1:50PM

A copy of the credit being mailed to the customer

3/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint actually includes customer service, service, ans sales issues. I purchased a "scratch and dent" refrigerator before thanksgiving for an extra fridge/freezer in basement which is very common. The sales girl knew that was the purpose of our purchase.The unit was delivered in October but I did not put food in it until thanksgiving week after a huge trip to ******. When I went to the basement 2 days before thanksgiving to look at the turkeys I saw the doors wide open and liquid all over the floor from food defrosted in the freezer. The delivery men did not level the unit so that the doors would stay securely shut. The service men came to see the unit and told me the refrigerator is not even working and they advised me to show up at the store with my receipts to show them how much money I just lost.The "managers" who jerked me around denied anything was wrong and told me iI should call manufacturers for repairs. Repairs instantly said I should have a contraption on the unit if the basement is below 50's. it is not and I was then given several different temperatures the unit had to be at. No one wanted to take care of the problem or do anything to rectify it. They finally said they were delivering a new unit with the "contraption" at no additional charge. They called back immediately and said we are not delivering a unit but will pick up the damaged unit and refund my money. I lost hundreds of dollars in food and this was a day before I was having family from all over the country over for thanksgiving. The store did not want to reimburse me for losses. I spoke to many ppl and they finally offered me a $50 gift card to their store!!!! They do not know how to operate a business and have zero customer service skills!!!! I will never go there and will advise everyone I know to not give them any business.

Desired Settlement: $300 for lost food due to their products or installers.

Business Response: We're sending Ms. ****** a check for $300 to cover food loss.  We're very sorry for her experience, and that the refrigerator did not work in her basement.   The refrigerator worked properly, and tested 100% when it came back to the store.  A refrigerator will not work in an unheated basement or garage if it gets too cold.  The contraption mentioned is a factory heater kit accessory that the factory recommends for some unheated spaces, however if it's too cold  no refrigerator will work.  Our delivery people are professionals, and they follow a protocol when they deliver a refrigerator.  Refrigerator doors will not open even if a refrigerator is not leveled properly.  If a refrigerator is jammed with food and not loaded correctly  it's possible that  heavy items  piled up may move and push open the doors. It's also possible the doors were not closed.  We try to give good service and we're sorry this happened.  Sincerely,  **** **** -  Hallock's

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******

12/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had noting but troubles with Hallocks of New Haven since the first day. We gave the sales person all the dimentions for the door ways and picked out a Fridge that he suggested would fit. Upon delivery, the delivery people tell me they cannot get the fridge up based on their measurements, which were the same as my own. We have to pick out a new fridge. We pick out a new fridge which costs more, paid the difference and had it delivered. I hook up the water line, and theres water all over my kitchen. ** comes out and claims that the fridge was red flagged by them to be fixed or destroyed in may of 2013. Here it is Nov-Dec and they sell me the fridge without fixing it. They set up another appointment for ** to replace the door that was faulty. They were supposed to come today 12-13-13 to fix it. We get an email from ** informing us that they will not be coming out. Hallocks would like us to come and pick out yet another fridge and go through the whole process again. All I want is the this one fixed or replaced with the same one. Why should I have to go through the setup process and and waiting period all over again and possibly have to pay more because chances are they will not have something we like for the same price and they get to make more money from me while I have to suffer.

Desired Settlement: I would like Hallocks to fix this fridge or replace it with the same exact model. If I have to pick out another fridge I refuse to pay anymore money to them after everything we have been put through. They broke the law sold us a product that was supposed to be fixed or destroyed per **** REDFLAG policy. Fix it or replace it with the same model. Their gross neglect should not be my problem.

Business Response:

**** **** has had communication with the customer and offered the following to resolve the issue:

 

A. He offered to pick up the unit and issue a full refund.

B. He offered to replace the unit with one of comparable quality from our boxed inventory at no additional cost.

C. Customer called back and asked if they might select a different brand and (OK with us) they are researching what unit will meet their needs.

 

Hallock's was not aware the unit sent to us by ** was a red-flagged piece, this unit was shipped to us by ** in error on a scratch and dent load. 

 

 

 

 

6/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased GE window ac (12,000 btu) 08/12/2012, used for approximately 2 months, put back in window 5/13, not working. Hallocks will not exchange. On August 12, 2012, we purchased a GE 12,000 btu window ac unit. We used it for approximately two months, took it out of the window and stored it inside our house for the winter. The end of May, 2013, we reinstalled it, turned it on and the fan works, but not the compressor. We tried it again during the high temperatures of 95 and it still did not work. Therefore, we took it out of the window, again in 95 degree weather and took it to Hallocks, thinking there would be absolutely no problems for an exchange. It looks perfectly new and we had all the parts, manuals and receipt. Again, we are talking realistically it working for two months. At Hallocks many phone calls were made to the General Manager, Mark in West Haven, and he stated we needed to bring it home, call GE and wait for them to come out and assess it in 95 degree weather. We wanted and deserved an exchange, we also would have even paid any difference. Mark would not budge. We left the ac at Hallocks, went out to another store and purchased another one. We paid $286.08 including tax.

Desired Settlement: Since we went out and bought another unit, We would like a refund.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/05) */ Please provide a copy of your Hallock's bill of sale showing the XXXXXBTU unit purchased. Our records indicate you bought a GE 8000 BTU window unit on 8/12/2012 model AEM08LQ, serial DZXXXXXX The unit you returned is in fact a GE XXXXX BTU model AEW12AQ serial AZXXXXXX, which our records show we never received or sold that model/serial. GE tells me it was sold at Walmart. By the way, we plugged it in to test it and the compressor kicked right on and it is cooling fine. I checked with Bill in our Branford store who you spoke with when returning the unit and he never received the book or other parts, only the A/C. Unit is here in West Haven, you may pick up here or we will bring it back to Branford for you to pick up there. Please advise.. **** **** XXX-XXX-XXXX

6/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service