BBB Accredited Business since

Art's Television & Appliance

Phone: (203) 288-2943 Fax: (203) 288-8308 View Additional Phone Numbers 92 State St, North Haven, CT 06473 http://www.artstvonline.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Art's Television & Appliance offers televisions and appliances, sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Art's Television & Appliance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Art's Television & Appliance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Art's Television & Appliance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1981 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business started locally: 01/01/1981
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Andy Ciaccio, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andy Ciaccio, President
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies Television & Radio - Dealers Household Appliance Stores (NAICS: 443141)


Additional Locations

  • 92 State St

    North Haven, CT 06473 (203) 288-2943 (860) 426-9033

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ********* dishwasher at Art's 15 months ago and started having problems at 11 months. I have had 8 service calls since August 26, 2013. I have called Art's regarding the installation (done by Art's), which one repair person said was faulty. Art's would not help in any way, either by sending a competent installer to check the problem or intervening with ********* to help get this lemon of a machine out of my home. I have been without a dishwasher for months and I am now having the 3rd motor installed along with almost all of the major parts, which have been replaced. When I call Art's the manager is rude and unhelpful. I purchased an appliance from a local "homegrown" business because I felt the need to support my community businesses. I won't be doing that again. I'll be going to ** *******'s where the service is much better. I wish that I could just get a functioning dishwasher!

Desired Settlement: Just refund 3/4 of the money I have spent on the dishwasher originally (not the service contract cost) and let me go buy a functioning dishwasher.

Business Response:

I WOULD LIKE TO START WITH THE PRICE IT WAS 469.00 NOT 600.00

THE INSTALLER DOES MOST OF OUR WORK HE IS VERY GOOD AT WHAT HE DOES

AND IF THE DISHWASHER WAS NOT INSTALLED  THE RIGHT WAY THE SERVICE PEOPLE WOULD HAVE WORKED

ON THE UNIT UNTIL IS WAS DONE RIGHT

THE DISHWASHER HAS A 48M EXT SERVICE ON IT

MRS **** HAS CALLED AND BEEN HELP ALONG THE WAY WITH WHAT NEEDS TO BE DONE TO GET THIS FIXED

OR REPLACED

THIS UNIT DOES HAVE REPLACMENT COVERAGE ON IT

WE HAVE BEEN VERY HELPFUL EVERYTIME SHE HAS CALLED

THE SERVICE PHONE IS ###-###-####

IF THE SERVIE COMPANY DOES NOT FIX WHAT IS WRONG

THEY WILL REPLACE IT AND IF FOR ANY REASON THEY DO NOT

TAKE CARE OF MRS ****  ARTS WILL

ANY QUESTIONS PLEASE CALL ME

THANK YOU

**** ******* 

PRESIDENT

ART'S

 ###-###-####

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ****

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

From: ****** ****
Sent: Thursday, February 06, 2014 4:24 PM
To: *********************
Subject: Re: You have a New Message from BBB Serving Connecticut Regarding Complaint #*******

 
Unfortunately, I missed this email during the Christmas season.  I would like to respond.  If Art's had been helpful, I would not have had 8 repair calls.  At the #8 repair visit and after numerous calls to Art's, who would not call anyone on my behalf, I finally persuaded ********* to refund my money.  When the machine was removed by the ********* representative, he noted that it had been installed improperly. Since I was involved with their safety unit (the machine had a burning smell each time before it stopped working), I notified them after the removal regarding why the machine was so dysfunctional.  In addition, the first repair person in August suggested that the machine had been improperly installed, but he refused to check that out as "it wasn't his job."  I called Art's right after that with this information and they refused to pay to have a look at the faulty installation. On December 20, when you sent this email, I did not have the complete information. My original machine was removed in mid-January and I just got a new dishwasher last week.  I do not think Art's was very customer friendly and they certainly did not go out of their way to help.  I went to Lowe's for the new dishwasher and for $100 more than what I paid at Art's, I got a really exceptional model with a 5 year extended warrantee and with excellent installation..  When small local businesses wonder why they lose business to the big box stores, I can tell you.  The big boxes offer a lot more protection for the consumer.  ****** ****