BBB Accredited Business since

Aitoro Appliance & Electronics

Phone: (203) 847-2471 401 Westport Ave, Norwalk, CT 06851 http://www.aitoro.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Aitoro Appliance & Electronics offers the retail sale of home appliances and electronics.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aitoro Appliance & Electronics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aitoro Appliance & Electronics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aitoro Appliance & Electronics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 05, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1948 Business started locally: 01/01/1948 Business incorporated 09/08/1978 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Aitoro, President Mr. Eric Aitoro, Operations Manager Mr. Phil Mahoney, Director of Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Aitoro, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Eric Aitoro, Operations Manager
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Appliances - Small - Dealers Household Appliance Stores (NAICS: 443141)

Alternate Business Names
Aitoro Appliance Co.

Additional Locations

  • 401 Westport Ave

    Norwalk, CT 06851 (203) 847-2471

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After several trips to their store, we bought a dishwasher on 10/29/15 costing $1111.35. In the first couple of weeks of use, we consistently had problems with it not thoroughly cleaning dishes. We read the manual and asked for their advice to be sure we were using the unit correctly. They sent out a service person to view the unit but we continued to have problems. I contacted the store again on Saturday 11/21/15 and said we were not satisfied with the unit and wanted it replaced. The person who answered the phone - who identified herself as Patty, was rude, condescending and not helpful. She implied that they didn't have to do anything and insinuated we didn't spend enough to get a good dishwasher and that we needed to "upgrade." She also demanded that we had to come into the store and said that you end up buying a bad unit when you buy over the phone! Later, when I asked to speak with a store manager, she claimed that there wasn't one. I had also originally asked to speak with a sales manager and she said that there wasn't one. She refused to allow me to speak with anyone else and then told me that she was the customer service manager and that I had to deal only with her! During the call, she interrupted me a half dozen times and kept trying to rush me off the phone before solving the problem. Tom M****, the salesperson, who sold us the original unit called back and said they would take the unit back but didn't know how they would handle installation costs which were $150 (the guys were here for all of 30 minutes). He later said they would charge us another $100 to bring out a replacement unit. This extra charge is unacceptable to get a properly working dishwasher. I have since tried to leave messages for the store owners and operations manager, Eric A*****. Patty keeps intercepting my calls and saying that Eric is busy. We have lived here for 20 years and bought about $20,000 worth of appliances from Aitoro's over the years including a SubZero refrigerator recently.

Desired Settlement: An apology from store owners for rude treatment and refund of extra $100 charge.

Business Response: We will refund the install cost of $100.

Thank you,
Eric A*****

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me for the first problem.

However, since I filed the original complaint, we had a new problem. When the replacement dishwasher was installed last Wednesday, it began leaking and made a huge mess in our kitchen.

An Aitoro/Macri service rep was here this morning (Monday 11/30/15) and discovered that a valve was not in the correct fully opened position under the sink and that is why there was a leak over the past five days. He said that the installers had done that and should have not done that.

I still have not heard from Eric A***** who I left numerous messages for to call me one week ago. I would like him to call me at ###-###-####. 

Sincerely,

**** *****

3/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ********** **** ** *** ******************** that was supposedly "garage ready" from a salesman* *** *******, on 12/6/14. I went in to the showroom to look at new refrigerators for my garage and a new dishwasher. *** ******* showed me several models, answered my questions, processed my purchase and arranged for delivery to my house on 12/12/14. The experience in the store was a positive one. While I was looking, I explained to him that I had a fridge in my garage already but that it was "trashed", about 10 years old, and the contents freeze in the winter. He told me that I needed a "garage refrigerator". The fridge was delivered and set up in my garage in the spot occupied by my older refrigerator which the aitoro delivery guys hauled away. The refrigerator worked for maybe a week, stopped working and hasn't worked since. It is not cold inside the fridge or freezer and I do hot hear it running. I lost a freezer full of food costing about $150-$200 as well as food in the fridge. Before calling the Aitoro service dept, I had an electrician install a dedicated plug just for the refrigerator in the garage as I had previously had the fridge plugged into a surge protector. Still didn't fix the problem, so I called Aitoro service and they sent a guy out the last week of Jan to take a look. He walked right in and told me that the refrigerator wasn't working because I needed a special "garage kit" installed so it would work in cold temps. The kit installed was around $300. I told him I wasn't spending another penny on the refrigerator and that the salesman never mentioned that I needed the kit. The service guy called *** ******* while he was at my house and Ken was nasty to him and incredibly nasty to me. *** ******* told me that I told him that the refrigerator would go in the basement. I already have a refrigerator in my basement and don't need a 2nd one down there. Then he told me I never told him the garage wasn't heated. He never asked if the garage was heated but I did tell him that the contents of the old fridge freeze in the winter. I also didn't know people actually heat their garages. When I asked to speak to his manager, he told me there was no one there that was a manager. The service man started giving me names of employees to ask for - **** ******* **** ******* **** When I asked for ****, he said he was busy. When I asked for ****, he said he was out for a few days and he didn't know when he would return. He was rude, nasty, had a bad attitude, and offered no suggestions to help. The next day, **** Aitoro called me and I told him the entire story. **** offered to install the garage kit, but I told him I was so aggravated by the salesman that I didn't want anything else rom Aitoro - I just wanted the refrigerator returned and my money back. He said he couldn't take it back because it had had food in it. Over the next week, I made 2 or 3 calls to **** Aitoro and left messages on his voice mail, called a customer service rep who referred me to "*****" who I then called 2 or 3 times and left messages. Neither has ever called me back. I have searched the internet both under consumer protection and other appliance retailers and have found nothing that states a refrigerator cannot be returned if it has had food in it. I believe they are making that up to avoid a return because who buys a new refrigerator and has it set up but doesn't put food in it? No one. That basically means a refrigerator can never be returned. **** ***** accepts returns on refrigerators up to 90 days with a full refund - no mention of whether or not it has had food in it.

Desired Settlement: I want Aitoro to come pick up the refrigerator and refund my credit card. If I can't return a refrigerator because "it has had food in it", then I want them to show me where in their store policies it says that because I haven't been able to find it. I spent money on an electrician to install a dedicated plug and I lost a freezer full of food. I do not want the garage kit - even if it is free. Their customer service, including their customer service representatives and **** Aitoro (owner?) is the worst I have ever encountered. I have called multiple times, left many messages, voiced my concerns and received no response. I would like to know where to report *** ******* as well because I have never been treated with such disrespect as a consumer ever. He is a pathetic human being.

Business Response:

Dear **** ****** 

You purchased your refrigerator on 12/13/14 from Aitoro Appliance. I apologize for any misunderstanding we may have had. Your refrigerator needs to have a garage kit installed in order for it to run properly in your garage. We will be happy to install this for you at no charge. The unit cannot be returned as it is over 30 days old and has been plugged in.

 

Thank you,

***** ********

Customer Service.

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have made three payments via my **** Account to AITORO. These payments came after I made a payment by check in the amount of $95.72 for a repairman's visit. The problem was with my dishwasher, and a part was replaced so that on June 23 I paid $138.20 for a part that did not solve the problem. On August 4, I paid for another repair visit for the same problem in the amount of $95.72 through my **** Account. Again, I was advised that a different part had to be replaced at a cost of $138.20 and that was paid via my **** account. Still, the dishwasher did not work. The repairman who last arrived, informed me that the problem was not with the parts that had been replaced, but with a gasket problem that cannot be repaired. A new dishwasher is required. The owner refuses to make me whole by applying the total cost of repairs to the purchase of a new dishwasher. I wish to have AITORO reimburse me for all my previous expenditures so that I may go elsewhere to replace my dishwasher.

Desired Settlement: Refund in the amount of $467.84.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern, 

 We were called to service the ******** dishwasher on 6/13/14 for not starting. The tech told the customer the latch was broken and the inner door was bent, and recommended the unit should be replaced. The customer wanted to repair the unit so the latch was ordered. The unit could not be tested any further because the broken latch prevented it from functioning. When the latch came in we went back to install it and got the unit functioning. The first service call was for $95.72, the 2nd call was for $138.20. This was continued time/labor, part and tax. On 8/1/14 the ******** called back and said the latch broke again.  We went out to check unit and found latch was broken again. The ******** were charged a service call again $95.72 and reordered the latch. When it came in we went back to install the part and charged the customer for the part ($59.95), and continued time/labor and tax. The part should have not been recharged because of a 90 day part warranty; we will refund ($59.95). The ******** called back a couple weeks later saying unit was dead again. We when out and told the customer the reason the unit was dead was because water was leaking thru the bent door causing the board to short out. The service tech recommended again the unit should be replaced or they would need additional parts to repair. The parts would be inner door (bent), control board, and control panel. The ******** wanted a refund for all service done on the unit. Since all service performed was done correctly, and at the ******** request, we believe a mutually fair solution is to refund the cost of the part plus tax $59.95 plus tax $63.76 and a $200 gift card to Aitoro to purchase a new unit.


Thank you,

**** ******

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

******* ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Aitoro Appliance & Electronics
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)