BBB Accredited Business since

American Dry Basement Systems

Phone: (203) 775-7900 Fax: (203) 730-2300 View Additional Phone Numbers 28 Del Mar Dr, Brookfield, CT 06804 http://www.americandryct.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

A.D.B.S., Inc. dba American Dry Basement Systems services include basement waterproofing, emergency & flood damage clean up services, as well as basement remodeling services. They also offer crawl space solutions, foundation & crack repairs, sump pump & battery backup services. In addition, this company can also provide mold remediation & botanical sanitizing and disinfecting.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Dry Basement Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for American Dry Basement Systems include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Dry Basement Systems
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 06, 1997 Business started: 08/01/1997 Business incorporated 08/20/2001 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Peter O'Shea, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter O'Shea, President
Business Category

Waterproofing Contractors Basement Waterproofing Concrete Curing & Treating Materials Foundation Inspection Foundation Repair & House Leveling Other Building Finishing Contractors (NAICS: 238390)

Alternate Business Names
A.D.B.S., Inc.
Business Management

Peter O'Shea, the owner of this company is also the owner of Mold Pro, Inc.

BBB maintains a separate report on Mold Pro, Inc. The report may be accessed online at www.bbb.org, or may be obtained by phone at 203-269-2700 extension 2.


Additional Locations

  • 28 Del Mar Dr

    Brookfield, CT 06804 (888) 748-2002 (203) 730-2200 (203) 775-7900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I give American dry Basement an "F" for failure in all aspects of service!!! (especially customer service) Just over a year after they installed 2 sump pumps in my fathers basement for over $12,000.00us. one of the pumps shorted out and filled his home with an almost toxic smell. The fire department was called and it was determined at that time that the smell was originating from the sump pump. I contacted American Dry Basement to obtain warranty information on the pump on behalf of my father and after no less than 8 calls have been put on hold every time for so long that I had to hang up and call back. Over the course of a week I have not received any calls from them.

Desired Settlement: The pump is well within the warranty and I would like them to replace it or at least purchase the pump so that I can install it. Note: I will install the pump myself but for future warranty purposes I would prefer the work be done by them.

Business Response:   In response to complaint #********* we have communicated with our customer and have apologized for the delay. We were able to make an appointment with him to replace his sump pump. So in short, I'd say it's resolved. Thank you.

Regards,
Kerry A*******
Service Department
ADBS

7/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: company was paid to install water system(basement is taking on water) they install system but I still get water in basement!!!

Desired Settlement: to replace damaged carpet,finish job per contract, pay for lost wages(had to leave work; but job was still not completed

Business Response:

    In response to complaint ********** the customer had water in his basement, we sent a service crew as soon as we could to resolve the issue. I have not heard from *** ** **** ****** ever since.

Thank you,

Kerry A*******

3/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company first failed to timely send the contractor to reattach the heating panel after its work for many months; then later after it authorized me to do it on my own with quoted price, it failed to reimburse me as it promised. I've submitted the contractor's invoice to it in October 2015, and it promised to send the reimbursement check right away. When it failed to do so, I called and emailed with the inquiry. They responded with the reasons for delaying sending the check and promised to send it soon. When that did not happen and I made inquiry again, they apologized sincerely and again promised to send the check soon. That did not happen again. Now when I called and emailed inquiry about it, they give no response - emails are not responded and no one takes responsibility on phone. The ones in charge are always not there to answer the phone and the messages left are not returned. .

Desired Settlement: send the promised reimbursement check right away.

Business Response: *** **** has since been reimbursed. The person responsible for her complaints has been terminated due to this and many other neglectful situations on his behalf. *** **** has cashed her reimbursement check and an apology message for the inconvenience was left on her voicemail when reimbursement check was sent out.

4/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had work done on a crack in my basement. they filled it with epoxy. it has a lifetime guarantee. it has been less than a month and the crack is leaking. I have been trying to get them to fix the problem but they refuse to call me back. I have called 8 times and got the same answer and that was they'd call me back. I called and left a message once and they immediately called me back when they thought I was inquiring about using their service and when I told them my issue they said they'll call me back.

Desired Settlement: I want a call and I want the crack fixed or my money back so i can have someone do it correctly

Business Response: We have reached out to Mr ****** immediately following initial complaint . We are scheduled to arrive ate his home on Friday April 3rd 2015 to assess and remedy the problem.

3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had American Dry Basement waterproof our basement in July 2013. While working on our basement, they damaged a water pipe. Our basement was waterproofed, but now had a leaking pipe. This pretty much defeated the purpose of having the basement waterproofed. The company agreed to fix it. They had their own plumber come out multiple times, but it was never fixed. My husband works from home in the basement. We were going on our second winter with a leaking pipe in the basement. Their plumber was busy and could not schedule a time to fix our pipe before it became cold, so American Dry Basement agreed to pay for another plumber to fix it. We paid for the work to be done on December 2, 2014. I faxed over the information with the agreed amount I paid, but have not been reimbursed and I am finding it very hard to get a call back.

Desired Settlement: I expect them to pay the amount I paid the plumber to fix the leaking pipe..

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *****

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold me a defective unit. Did not show up for 2 scheduled service calls. Screwed me on my credit card. Unable to draw from it even though I make payments every month and am current.

Desired Settlement: Want a full refund of $1900.00 for the defective unit credited to my account.

Business Response:  We became aware of Ms. *****'s complaint after a message was left on the company phone screaming and swearing.  We have since contacted Ms. ***** to address her concerns.  The dehumidifier in question was installed in November 2011.  We explained that the manufacturer has a 5 year warranty on the unit.  She said she still had the paperwork for the warranty and was not going to file it and if we wanted to file it we could.  In September 2013 we had scheduled  a service call to  Ms. *****'s residence to check the unit.  When we schedule any appointment we confirm the day before to be sure the customer will be available.  If we cannot confirm we do not send our crew.  We could not reach Ms. ***** to confirm.  Messages were left telling her we would not be coming if she did not confirm the appointment.  She did not call back.  We rescheduled her appointment, however, our truck broke down while en-route so we did not make it to this appointment.  We did contact Ms. ***** to explain what happened but were not able to reach her after that to reschedule.    We have since contacted her and our Operations Manager has reached an agreement with her.  Even though it has been two years since we sold this unit, we are going to her residence this weekend to pick up the ***** ** and give her a refund of $1,400.
As far as the credit card she is complaining about, this job was financed through ***** ***** Home Improvement.  The card she has is not a credit card to be used as a **** or **, it is only issued for home improvement.  This was explained to her at the time of the sale.  As of July 2013, ***** ***** has stopped offering  this type of financing.  If she has more home improvements she would like done, she can contact ***** ***** to see if they will extend her the credit.
We have always responded to Ms. ***** and tried to work with her.  She has stated she is satisfied with our solution

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Dry Basement Systems
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)