BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

A.D.B.S., Inc. dba American Dry Basement Systems services include basement waterproofing, emergency & flood damage clean up services, as well as basement remodeling services. They also offer crawl space solutions, foundation & crack repairs, sump pump & battery backup services. In addition, this company can also provide mold remediation & botanical sanitizing and disinfecting.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Dry Basement Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Dry Basement Systems include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Dry Basement Systems
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 06, 1997 Business started: 08/01/1997 Business incorporated: 08/20/2001 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Peter O'Shea, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter O'Shea, President
Business Category

Waterproofing Contractors Basement Waterproofing Concrete Curing & Treating Materials Foundation Inspection Foundation Repair & House Leveling Other Building Finishing Contractors (NAICS: 238390)

Alternate Business Names
A.D.B.S., Inc.
Business Management

Peter O'Shea, the owner of this company is also the owner of Mold Pro, Inc.

BBB maintains a separate report on Mold Pro, Inc. The report may be accessed online at www.bbb.org, or may be obtained by phone at 203-269-2700 extension 2.


Additional Locations

  • 28 Del Mar Dr

    Brookfield, CT 06804 (888) 748-2002 (203) 730-2200 (203) 775-7900

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 730-2200(Phone)
  • (888) 748-2002(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had American Dry Basement waterproof our basement in July 2013. While working on our basement, they damaged a water pipe. Our basement was waterproofed, but now had a leaking pipe. This pretty much defeated the purpose of having the basement waterproofed. The company agreed to fix it. They had their own plumber come out multiple times, but it was never fixed. My husband works from home in the basement. We were going on our second winter with a leaking pipe in the basement. Their plumber was busy and could not schedule a time to fix our pipe before it became cold, so American Dry Basement agreed to pay for another plumber to fix it. We paid for the work to be done on December 2, 2014. I faxed over the information with the agreed amount I paid, but have not been reimbursed and I am finding it very hard to get a call back.

Desired Settlement: I expect them to pay the amount I paid the plumber to fix the leaking pipe..

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *****

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold me a defective unit. Did not show up for 2 scheduled service calls. Screwed me on my credit card. Unable to draw from it even though I make payments every month and am current.

Desired Settlement: Want a full refund of $1900.00 for the defective unit credited to my account.

Business Response:  We became aware of Ms. *****'s complaint after a message was left on the company phone screaming and swearing.  We have since contacted Ms. ***** to address her concerns.  The dehumidifier in question was installed in November 2011.  We explained that the manufacturer has a 5 year warranty on the unit.  She said she still had the paperwork for the warranty and was not going to file it and if we wanted to file it we could.  In September 2013 we had scheduled  a service call to  Ms. *****'s residence to check the unit.  When we schedule any appointment we confirm the day before to be sure the customer will be available.  If we cannot confirm we do not send our crew.  We could not reach Ms. ***** to confirm.  Messages were left telling her we would not be coming if she did not confirm the appointment.  She did not call back.  We rescheduled her appointment, however, our truck broke down while en-route so we did not make it to this appointment.  We did contact Ms. ***** to explain what happened but were not able to reach her after that to reschedule.    We have since contacted her and our Operations Manager has reached an agreement with her.  Even though it has been two years since we sold this unit, we are going to her residence this weekend to pick up the ***** ** and give her a refund of $1,400.
As far as the credit card she is complaining about, this job was financed through ***** ***** Home Improvement.  The card she has is not a credit card to be used as a **** or **, it is only issued for home improvement.  This was explained to her at the time of the sale.  As of July 2013, ***** ***** has stopped offering  this type of financing.  If she has more home improvements she would like done, she can contact ***** ***** to see if they will extend her the credit.
We have always responded to Ms. ***** and tried to work with her.  She has stated she is satisfied with our solution

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******** *****

8/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before signing the contract for this work, I was told by the salesman (****** ********* that no money would have to be paid for eighteen months, at an interest free rate. Because we are in the process of repairing our home after being flooded by Hurricane Sandy October 2012, we could not afford a monthly payment plan. I was assured, and signed the financing contract, stating that NO payment would be due for eighteen months.I recently received a bill from ***** ***** (the financing entity), that this was not so, that I had an eighteen month interest free payment schedule. When I explained that that was not what I was told, or signed, I was told the company had to fax corroborating paperwork. I contacted the salesman who I worked with, he confirmed no payment had to be made and that this had never happened before. He was supposed to contact me with more information on this matter, but to date I have heard nothing.My wife and I cannot afford to make these payments, in fact, I told the salesman anything that included a monthly payment plan, we could not afford and would not be able to afford.We intend on paying for this work, we just cannot do it now or in monthly installments. The money is just not there. Product_Or_Service: waterproofed basement Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: We have to be able to repay this financing within the next eighteen months without scheduled payments. The money is just not available any other way.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/05/30) */ We have been in contact with Mr.***** and are in the process of correcting his financing agreement. We sincerely apologize to him an believe we have settled this to everyone's satisfaction. Consumer Response /* (2110, 12, 2013/06/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the partial settlement response from the business.) Although it will put us in a tight financial fix, we are willing to pay 3% a month (not interest, but principle), until we have the total paid off within 18 months. However, until we have a contract in writing, this is only an offer and NOT a settlement. Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2013/07/02) */ After an initial offer from the company, I have received no paperwork or phone calls. As of today, I wish to re-open the case, as it is not settled. Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2013/08/06) */ We have been working with Mr. ***** and *********** Financing. We have submitted a new charge slip to ************** they have requested to correct the financing plan for Mr. *****. We are giving the *****'s a refund to cover the cost of his inconvenience. We have apologized for this error and have always been trying to do whatever we can to make Mr. ***** happy and content. Consumer Response /* (4200, 25, 2013/08/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have verbally accepted this proposal with the company, however until I receive signed documents regarding the bank terms, and the company terms of the refund, I cannot accept any proposal by the company.

11/12/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/13/2012 Delivery Issues