BBB Accredited Business since

Veterans Advantage, Inc.

Phone: (203) 422-2526 View Additional Phone Numbers 81 Holly Hill Ln, Greenwich, CT 06830 http://www.veteransadvantage.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Veterans Advantage's mission is greater recognition, respect and rewards for those who serve the country in the U.S.Armed Forces during any period of service, and in any branch of service. Members include those who have served in Army, Navy, Marines, Air Force, Coast Guard, National Guard, Reserve, and State Defense Forces, and their families.Family members may enroll for Veterans Advantage benefits if they are the spouse, father mother, brother, sister, son or daughter of the Service member, whether living or the deceased. The company has established new benefits from Fortune 500 corporations and travel and retail industry leaders as a thank you for service to the country. Veterans Advantage partners agree to market and verify eligibility for these new savings offers with the Vet Rewards Card.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Veterans Advantage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Veterans Advantage, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 21

Additional Complaint Information

BBB, in its three year reporting period, has received consumer complaints concerning full membership charges being applied to consumers' credit cards prior to the end of the thirty (30) day "free" trial period.

Veterans Advantage responded to complaints by stating that consumers who select to have the $4.95 processing fee waived bypass the thirty (30) day trial period. By doing so, those consumers enroll directly into the membership club, thereby creating an immediate full membership charge to their credit cards.

Veterans Advantage resolved complaints brought to its attention by BBB by providing refunds.

On March 31, 2008, Veterans Advantage representatives met with BBB staff to discuss the company's programs, as well as advertising modifications the company is making to address underlying causes of consumer complaints filed with BBB.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Veterans Advantage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 10, 2001 Business started: 03/10/2000 Business started locally: 03/10/2000 Business incorporated 03/10/2000 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. H. Scott Higgins, CEO Mr. Roy Asfar, VP, Marketing Ms. Rebecca Martin, Administrative Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. H. Scott Higgins, CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Rebecca Martin, Administrative Manager
Business Category

Veterans & Military Organizations Civic and Social Organizations (NAICS: 813410)

Alternate Business Names
Veterans Advantage, PBC

Additional Locations

  • 81 Holly Hill Ln

    Greenwich, CT 06830 (866) 838-2774 (203) 422-2526 (203) 422-2526 (866) 838-7392

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I emailed Veterans Advantage on 04/03/16 and called on 04/05/16. I asked for a cancellation and refund of the fraudulent charges of $14.85 (03/04/2016) and $119.89 (04/03/2016). I was not notified in advance of these excessive charges and they were in no way authorized. The email response was a form email that was unhelpful and didn't address my concern. I called and was told that I must fill out a refund form, which they mailed out. The form does not address my concern as I am required to mail back the so-called "membership cards", which I have already destroyed. I did not authorize the charge and shouldn't have to jump through these hoops, which are clearly designed to deter individuals receiving refunds. My member ID is: **********

Desired Settlement: I request a full refund of the two unauthorized charges: $14.85 and $119.89.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing *** ********* concerns to our attention.  It is our goal at Veterans Advantage to always provide exemplary service for our members. We regret that this was not *** ********* experience.

Our records indicate that on 04/02/15, *** ******* joined our program by enrolling through our website at www.veteransadvantage.com. He joined with a special promotion offering 2 family cards free with each enrollment.  He registered for himself and for ******** ******* *** ***** *******. At that time, he actively enrolled into a continuous subscription service for his member plan. On 3/3/16 he was charged a processing fee of $14.85 for the three renewal packets ($4.95 x 3) mailed on 3/10/16. His account was then renewed on 04/02/16 with the auto-renewal order active for his account.  These charges were in no way excessive, nor fraudulent.

Veterans Advantage informs members of the terms & conditions of the program’s subscription auto-renewal several times and in several places:

1.          Plan selection and enrollment 

2.            Digital VetRewards Card with member information, issued online immediately upon completion of enrollment

2.          Veterans Advantage Terms of Service on our member Website

4.          Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ’s) online 

5.          Private YOUR ACCOUNT online pages for each member. 

While our auto-renew service is provided as a member convenience, a member may choose to opt-out of continuous service at any time in their own YOUR ACCOUNT area online.  A member may also call us Toll Free at **************** ********** to opt out of auto-renew or cancel. Our contact information is prominently displayed on our homepage at www.VeteransAdvantage.com, in our printed Member Benefits Directory, on the back of our VetRewards Card Member ID, and at the top of our Member Welcome Letter sent with the VetRewards Card in our member package by USPS to each member.

On 04/04/16, *** ********* called our Call Center, spoke with a customer service agent and cancelled his account.  His account was cancelled against all future charges and his credit card information was removed from our system.  He was asked to complete his cancellation in writing, formally waiving the $55,000 of insurance coverage provided with his member plan.

After reviewing his complaint, we have issued a credit of the $14.85 and $119.89 charges.  We consider this matter to be fully resolved. He will receive no further communications or services from Veterans Advantage.

In addition, this letter serves as notification that *** *******’s Veterans Advantage insurance benefits coverage is cancelled. He will no longer be eligible for medical claims, or claims for loss of life, against the $55,000 of member insurance, provided at no additional cost, for our active members with OurCAREPackage coverage.

Please let me know, if you should need any additional information. 

Respectfully yours,

Rebecca M*****

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******

3/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tried to cancel my membership. Followed directions per website an got nothing but 45 minutes of advertising no human. Tried second number on website it just rang until it timed out. Want my membership cancelled and my credit car deleted from their records.

Desired Settlement: Deletion of credit card information an cancellation of membership

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing *** ************* concerns to our attention.  It is our goal to provide exemplary service to our members, we regret that this was not the case for Mr. Resanowitch.

Our records indicate that a trial membership was started for *** *********** on 8/4/15, through our partner *************.  Veterans Advantage and ************* partner to honor those enrolled in Veterans Advantage with up to 30% savings every day exclusively for U.S. active duty or retired military, National Guard or reservists and veterans.

As a trial member, one can cancel at any time within the 30 day trial period and not be billed further.  *** *********** never cancelled his trial membership.  Subsequently, on 9/3/15 he was billed the annual member plan fee of $59.95.   Veterans Advantage Customer Service is available by phone at ###-###-####, Mon-Fri 9 am - 9 pm ET and Saturday 10 am - 3 pm ET.  Wait time to reach an operator is under two minutes on average.  There is no advertising used during hold time.

Once the full member plan has been extended, Veterans Advantage does not refund any unused months on current plans that have been canceled. This is clearly stated in the Terms of Service area of our website: http://www.veteransadvantage.com/va/content/terms-service.

No refund is due *** ***********.  His account as been cancelled and his credit card information deleted from our records as he requested.  We consider this matter resolved.

3/16/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a member of Veteran's Advantage for quite some time, but have found their services not useful in the last year or two and had decided to cancel my membership. For some reason, the membership was auto-renewed and billed on 3-3-2016. The website states that there is a way to opt out of auto-renewal on the Member Account page. However, I have not been able to find any such thing. Veteran's Advantage can easily verify that I've not used a single benefit of their since the auto-renewal. In fact, it's been much longer since I used any benefit. I would like the auto-renewal fee to be refunded and the membership canceled. No hard feelings -- I just don't have any need for this service and don't appreciate the auto-billing.

Desired Settlement: I would like the auto-renewal fee to be refunded and the membership canceled. No hard feelings -- I just don't have any need for this service and don't appreciate the auto-billing.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing *** ******** concerns to our attention.  It is our goal at Veterans Advantage to provide exemplary service for our members. Our records indicate that *** ****** has been a member of Veterans Advantage since 2008 and has been actively enrolled in a continuous subscription service for his member plan since that time. 

Veterans Advantage informs members of the terms & conditions of the program’s subscription auto-renewal several times and in several places:

1.          Plan selection and enrollment 

2.           Digital VetRewards Card with member information, issued online immediately upon completion of enrollment

3.          Veterans Advantage Terms of Service on our member Website

4.          Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ’s) online 

5.          Private YOUR ACCOUNT online pages for each member. 

While our auto-renew service is provided as a member convenience, a member may choose to opt-out of continuous service at any time in their own YOUR ACCOUNT area online.  A member may also call us Toll Free at **************** ********** to opt out of auto-renew or cancel. Our contact information is prominently displayed on our Homepage at www.VeteransAdvantage.com, in our printed Member Benefits Directory, on the back of our VetRewards Card Member ID, and at the top of our Member Welcome Letter sent with the VetRewards Card in our member package by **** to each member.

According to our records, *** ****** never requested cancellation or discontinuation of the continuous subscription service, in which he was enrolled, until after his recent renewal charge of $59.95 on 3/3/16.  Our customer service call center spoke with *** ****** on 3/8/16. He was asked to complete a cancellation form and return his VetRewards Card before a refund could be processed.  This form was mailed to the address on file on 3/10/16.  We have not heard from *** ****** again until this complaint.

We have issued a credit of $59.95 back to *** ******’s ******** ******* account as he requested.  His member account has been cancelled. In addition, this letter serves as notification that *** ******** Veterans Advantage insurance benefits coverage is also cancelled. He will no longer be eligible for medical claims, or claims for loss of life, against the $55,000 of member insurance, provided at no additional cost, for our active members with OurCAREPackage coverage.

We consider this matter to be fully resolved. Please let me know if you should need any additional information. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* 


While the resolution (refund) is acceptable, I woukd wouldlike to clear up a number of problems with the organization's response to you. 

First, I can find no way to opt out of the organization's auto-renew systen online. Their PR people may bekieve it exists, but it is nowhere to be found. So they need to stop misleading about that. 

Second, this setup appears to be designed to funnel calls to agents who will then attempt to talk people out of requesting a refund, which is annoying. I did go through this process, and was promised they would send a form for me to request a refund (why? if it can be done after a BBB complaint, why not via phone request?). I strongly suspected I was being misled on this phone call, hence my third complaint. 

Third - Of course, the promised refund form never came in the mail, and I strongly suspect it was never sent. Most people probably forget about these things, and that benefits those who engage in this sort of bad business behavior. 

I do accept the refund and appreciate the BBB's help in obtaining it. However, I would appreciate if this update could be appended to the record of this case. Thanks! 

Sincerely,

***** ******

3/4/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased membership in order to obtain 15% discount on ******* phone account. Applied multiple times, visited local store three times and each time after the fact, was told my "account did not qualify". These "qualifications" were not spelled out in the initial contact with Veterans Advantage. Also tried to use the card at *** for discounts and *** had never heard of VA and would not honor discounts as shown in brochure from VA. Contacted VA and asked for a refund and they delayed responding for two weeks. In the "refund application" which asked for the same information they already have in my file (name, address, city, state, zip and account number) they casually mentioned in the body of their letter "please note, that past fees are typically non-refundable". It's obvious their mission is only to get vets money, and not provide the services they pretend to offer.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of the $309.82 they billed my card for.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing *** ********** concerns to our attention.  Our records indicate the on July 17, 2015 *** ******** joined the Veterans Advantage program for himself and **** *********  He joined through our partner ******* Wireless and optimized his savings by joining for the five year plan, the most cost effective plan offered by Veterans Advantage.  He was billed $309.82 to his credit card for five year plans for two people.

*** ******** did apply for the Veterans Advantage 15% discount with ******* Wireless. The discount could not be applied because his service plan was not eligible.  Veterans Advantage is very clear about the requirements as seen at: ********************************************************************************************

“Members presenting their VetRewards cards may receive a 15% discount on the monthly access fees on new and existing service on eligible plans with a monthly access fee of $34.99 or higher (on Share Everything plans, discounts apply to Account Access $34.99 or higher) and eligible data features with a monthly access fee $24.99 or higher when added to such plans; qualifying accessories are also eligible for a 25% discount.

Please note: Some plans and features, such as Unlimited data plans, Family Share secondary lines, and Share Everything Line Access are not eligible for discount. Only an active Veterans Advantage VetRewards Card will be recognized for discount. Discounts not available at agent locations.”

Unfortunately, the plan the *** ******** is subscribed to with ******* Wireless does not meet eligibility requirements.

Veterans Advantage offers many discounts for our members.  These discounts are redeemed in different ways:  some provide a flash & save benefit with the VetRewards Card, some provide discount codes, some discounts are provided by secure URL access, and some partners provide coupons for in-store use.  ***/Pharmacy requires a printed coupon for in-store discounts.  ***/Pharmacy does not accept the VetRewards Card in its stores.  Thus presenting the VetRewards Card to a cashier at *** will not result in a discount.  Veterans Advantage provides detailed instructions on benefit redemption in the Members Only area of our website:  www.veteransadvantage.com/membersonly

We regret that *** ******** had difficulty obtaining his discounts and understand his frustration.  We have canceled his membership and mailed a refund check in the amount of $309.82 to his address on file.

In addition, this letter serves as notification that *** ********** Veterans Advantage insurance benefits coverage is cancelled. He will no longer be eligible for medical claims, or claims for loss of life, against the $55,000 of member insurance, provided at no additional cost, for our active members with OurCAREPackage coverage.

Please let me know if you should need any additional information.


2/24/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Veteran's Advantage billed my credit card $9.90 for renewal material without contacting me first. The girl at the customer support number said it was their policy to send out a new pamphlet and membership card 1 month before the renewal date. seemed very reluctant to try and get the billing reversed. I then cancelled my membership renewal at that time.

Desired Settlement: 1. Credit my account and 2. send a notice of pending charges before actually making the charge to all subscribers..

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing *** *********** concerns to our attention.  It is our goal at Veterans Advantage to provide exemplary service for our members. We regret that this was not *** *********** experience.

Our records indicate that on 03/03/15, *** ********* joined our program by enrolling on our website, veteransadvantge.com for himself and ****** ********** At that time, he actively enrolled in a continuous subscription service for his member plan. Thirty days prior to his expiration date with the auto-renewal order active for his account, a $9.90 processing fee for two renewal packages was charged.  This ensures that there is no interruption in coverage for our members and that new VetRewards cards are received prior to the expiration of the existing term.

Veterans Advantage informs members of the terms & conditions of the program’s subscription auto-renewal several times and in several places:

1.          Plan selection and enrollment 

2.          Digital VetRewards Card with member information, issued online immediately upon completion of enrollment

2.          Veterans Advantage Terms of Service on our member Website

4.          Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ’s) online 

5.          Private YOUR ACCOUNT online pages for each member. 

While our auto-renew service is provided as a member convenience, a member may choose to opt-out of continuous service at any time in their own YOUR ACCOUNT area online.  A member may also call us Toll Free at 1-866-VET-ASSIST (838-2774) to opt out of auto-renew or cancel. Our contact information is prominently displayed on our Homepage at ************************** in our printed Member Benefits Directory, on the back of our VetRewards Card Member ID, and at the top of our Member Welcome Letter sent with the VetRewards Card in our member package by USPS to each member.

According to our records, on 02/02/2016, a renewal order processing fee of $9.90 was billed to *** *********** member account.  On 02/02/16, *** *********** called our customer service call center to request cancellation.  On 02/03/16 a refund of $9.90 was issued back to the original form of payment. His member account has now been closed.  We consider this matter to be fully resolved. He will receive no further communications or services from Veterans Advantage.

In addition, this letter serves as notification that *** *********** Veterans Advantage insurance benefits coverage is cancelled. He will no longer be eligible for medical claims, or claims for loss of life, against the $55,000 of member insurance, provided at no additional cost, for our active members with OurCAREPackage coverage.

Please let me know if you should need any additional information. 

1/6/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Veterans Advantage offers a 30 trial, which I signed up for. I had every intention to cancel my 30 day trial. Located on their website is a section which states "manage your billing and auto renew options". When going into this section, there are no options to manage the auto renew, and there is no way to cancel the membership. Veterans Advantage does not allow members to cancel their accounts online, instead forcing them to call in. I did not have any time to call that day, so I opted to call at a later date. Admittedly, I forgot to call within the 30 days. Instead I called on the 31st day, realizing my mistake. It was too late and I was billed for the full year. My mistake, and I hoped I would find a use for my membership. Unfortunately I did not - as Veterans Advantage does not offer any real discount on any services - every hotel / travel website I used, many, many times, the discount was exactly the same (or worse) that any person could have found online, or gotten for free, or simply paid less without the discount. Choosing to be proactive and not get billed for an additional year, I called Veterans Advantage on 12/11/2015 to cancel my membership before it renewed a second time. After a nearly 10 minute hold time, I was able to cancel my membership. This evening I noticed a $4.95 charge on my debit card from Veterans Advantage. Reading through their terms and conditions, I noted that the $4.95 service charge relates to trial members who cancel - since my membership was a full membership (1 full year paid for), there is absolutely no reason why I was charged. Additionally, the woman I spoke with on the phone did not bother to inform me that my card would be charged. On top of this, the Veterans Advantage website does not allow me to remove my card information, so they have the ability to charge me any time they choose - just as they don't allow customers to change their membership options online.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the money charged to me to cancel my account - $4.95.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing *** ********* concerns to our attention.  It is our goal at Veterans Advantage to always provide exemplary service for our members. We regret that this was not *** ********* experience.

Our records indicate that on 01/08/15, *** ******* joined our program by enrolling through our website at *************************. At that time, he actively enrolled into a continuous subscription service for his member plan. He enjoyed one full year of Veterans Advantage before he was renewed on 12/09/15 with the auto-renewal order active for his account.

Veterans Advantage informs members of the terms & conditions of the program’s subscription auto-renewal several times and in several places:

1.          Plan selection and enrollment 

2.            Digital VetRewards Card with member information, issued online immediately upon completion of enrollment

2.          Veterans Advantage Terms of Service on our member Website

4.          Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ’s) online 

5.          Private YOUR ACCOUNT online pages for each member. 

While our auto-renew service is provided as a member convenience, a member may choose to opt-out of continuous service at any time in their own YOUR ACCOUNT area online.  A member may also call us Toll Free ** **************** ********** ** opt out of auto-renew or cancel. Our contact information is prominently displayed on our Homepage at *************************, in our printed Member Benefits Directory, on the back of our VetRewards Card Member ID, and at the top of our Member Welcome Letter sent with the VetRewards Card in our member package by USPS to each member.

According to our records, on 12/09/15, a renewal order processing fee of $4.95 was billed to *** ********* member account.  On 12/11/15, *** ********* called our Call Center, spoke with a customer service agent and cancelled his account.  His account was cancelled against all future charges and his credit card information was removed from our system.

After reviewing his complaint, we have issued a credit of the $4.95 charged to *** ******* on 12.09/15.  We consider this matter to be fully resolved. He will receive no further communications or services from Veterans Advantage.

In addition, this letter serves as notification that *** ********* Veterans Advantage insurance benefits coverage is cancelled. He will no longer be eligible for medical claims, or claims for loss of life, against the $55,000 of member insurance, provided at no additional cost, for our active members with OurCAREPackage coverage.

Please let me know, if you should need any additional information. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

Veterans Advantage has refunded the amount I requested - however I respectfully request that they do a better job at notifying members in the future of their renewal. To start, members do not have any option when signing up other than "Auto Renewal", and there is no way to disable "Auto Renewal" on the website. Second, Veterans Advantage did not send out any reminder notices about auto renewal. It is my mistake, as I thought I cancelled my account prior to a second renewal, and until reading this statement I was unaware that I missed the deadline. I ask that Veterans Advantage does a better job in the future for its current members.

However, Veterans Advantage has resolved my complaint to my satisfaction and I accept their response.

Sincerely,

******** *******

1/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Without authorization credit card filing 11/28/2015. $59.95. No service or product given. MasterCard notified

Desired Settlement: Cease and desist charge and contact. Scam

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing Mr. J********** concerns to our attention.  It is our goal at Veterans Advantage to always provide exemplary service for our members. We regret that this was not Mr. J********** experience.

Our records indicate that on 11/26/14, Mr. ********* joined our program by enrolling on *******, the web site of our benefit partner ****Pharmacy. At that time, he actively enrolled into a continuous subscription service for his member plan. He enjoyed one full year of Veterans Advantage before he was renewed on 11/27/15 with the auto-renewal order active for his account.

Veterans Advantage informs members of the terms & conditions of the program’s subscription auto-renewal several times and in several places:

1.          Plan selection and enrollment 

2.            Digital ********** Card with member information, issued online immediately upon completion of enrollment

2.          Veterans Advantage Terms of Service on our member Website

4.          Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ’s) online 

5.          Private YOUR ACCOUNT online pages for each member. 

While our auto-renew service is provided as a member convenience, a member may choose to opt-out of continuous service at any time in their own YOUR ACCOUNT area online.  A member may also call us Toll Free at **************** *********) to opt out of auto-renew or cancel. Our contact information is prominently displayed on our Homepage at ************************** in our printed Member Benefits Directory, on the back of our ********** Card Member ID, and at the top of our Member Welcome Letter sent with the ********** Card in our member package by USPS to each member.

According to our records, on 10/13/15, a renewal order processing fee of $4.95 was billed to Mr. J********** member account.  On 10/21/15, Mr. *********** renewal member packet with his new Member Benefits Directory and his new, updated ********** Card Member ID were all mailed to him by First Class Mail .  One month later, on 11/27/15, Mr* ********* was billed his annual renewal fee of $59.95. All fees billed were charged to his his credit card on file in his member account with Veterans Advantage. Mr. ********* made no attempt to contact Veterans Advantage online or by toll free phone to discontinue his auto-renewal service or cancel his member account at any time before, during, or after his renewal processing and billing or receipt of his renewed member materials.

While we have no record of a cancel request from Mr. ********* prior to his complaint to the BBB, we have cancelled his member plan based on your forwarded information.  We have issued a refund back to his credit card on file of the $59.95 member plan renewal fee and his member account has now been closed.  We consider this matter to be fully resolved. He will receive no further communications or services from Veterans Advantage.

In addition, this letter serves as notification that Mr. *********** Veterans Advantage insurance benefits coverage is cancelled. He will no longer be eligible for medical claims, or claims for loss of life, against the $55,000 of member insurance, provided at no additional cost, for our active members with OurCAREPackage coverage.

We are sorry to see Mr. ********* go. We wish him well and thank him for his service in World War II. 

Please let me know, if you should need any additional information. 

Respectfully yours,

Rebecca M*****

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *********

12/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First off, I would like to say, it is non american to make a veteran pay to get discounts from companies. The companies should be ashamed and the profiteering company should be embarrassed. I bought the Veterans Advantage just to try it out. I take many ********* bus trips and wanted to use it for that. I would save 19 dollars a ticket per there website. I then attempted to buy the ticket online. It took my VeteransAdvantage travel id but was no lower. I called Veterans advantage, they said to call ********* and so I did, not the price was 12 dollars higher than the web with my discount. The ********* clerk told me I would have to go to the office to get the discount. Well I could not do it when I was ready to travel because I would not get the advanced purchase price. So I would have to drive up there and back to get the ticket. That is 20 dollars in gas. Veterans advantage said that should not have happened, that they had a contract with greyhound, so I tried again. Two hours later I was fed up. I asked for a refund, since there site was deceptive in trade practices by lying to me. She took my information, then said oh you got the trial, so we will not refund you. So I buy something from there company because they tell me something that is not true then they do not give me my money back.

Desired Settlement: I just want my five dollars back. That is all.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing Mr. ******’s concerns to our attention.  It is our goal at Veterans Advantage to provide exceptional customer service for our members and we regret that this was not Mr. ******’s experience.

Our records indicate that Mr. ****** joined Veterans Advantage as a 30-day trial member on November 21, 2105.  ********* Lines, our nation’s leader in intercity bus transportation, is proud to honor America’s Veterans and their families with a special 20% OFF walkup fare.  To receive this discount one must present a VetRewards Card ID at the ********* terminal to obtain the discount. The Veterans Advantage discount does not apply to the online reservation or advanced sales that Mr. ****** made.  We take great care to follow best practices throughout our operations and make every effort to fully explain each benefit on our website and in all promotional materials.

We have highlighted below key differences between standard ********* Web fares and ********* Veterans Advantage Walk-up fares. We inform members that they may wish to select the lower price provided through a Web fare, but there may be penalties for exchanges and there are no refunds.

********* Veterans Advantage “Walk up” Fares
Unrestricted fare: exchangeable, refundable, no fee penalties
Available on all routes
Guaranteed 20% Off
Veterans Day and every day
No advance purchase necessary-just show your VetRewards Card and save
Veterans Advantage Enhanced Member Support
Veterans Advantage $50,000 of Global MEDEVAC insurance coverage

********* Standard “Web” Fares
Fully restricted fares: non-exchangeable, non-refundable
Limited to certain routes
Discount varies
Not everyday
Advance purchase required

We are sorry that Mr. ****** was unable to make use of the ********* discount provided through the Veterans Advantage program. Our CEO personally placed a phone call to Mr. ****** today to discuss this matter, but he hung up on him. We have refunded the $4.95 processing fee as requested and have cancelled Mr. ******’s account with Veterans Advantage.

We consider this matter to be fully resolved.  Please let me know if any additional information is required.

Consumer Response:  That is funny because the customer service person I talked to on the telephone, told me that they do accept internet reservations and also telephone reservations. She also went on to tell me that the company had been having problems with greyhound.

Why would i want to spend 20 in gas to save 19 dollars on a ticket.

Again, Veterans Advantage is a scam, just by requiring a Vet or Student to pay a monthly fee for a discount is barbaric and falls below being an American patriot. I will not visit any business that uses them. When all I have to do is show my V.A. Id at most places
to get my disount.
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

***** ******

11/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to make sure there was no auto renewal for membership after receiving a new card in the mail. I made the call on 10/27/2015 and sure enough there was an auto renewal so I cancelled it. I later saw a charge of $4.95 on my debit card from Veterans Advantage. I called and spoke to Denise and was told it was a nonrefundable handling charge because they had sent out the new card. I asked for a manager after getting no help and was put on terminal hold. Mine is not the only complaint as seen on the internet.

Desired Settlement: To have someone check into this organization for defrauding and scamming veterans with hidden fees and very fine if any small print about renewals as well as making sure all veterans who were scammed get a refund.

Business Response: Thank you for brining Mr. ********'s concerns to our attention.  It is our goal at Veterans Advantage to provide all our members with exemplary service.  I regret that Mr. ******** has not had this experience.  Our records indicate that Mr. ******** enrolled in continuous service with his origninal application for membership.  We inform our members in several places about the Continuous Subscription service including:  with the digital VetRewards Card provided upon enrollment, in the Member Benefits Directory mailed to the member with the permanent VetRewards Card and in the Terms and Conditions link available on our homepage at www.*****************.com.  We provide a continuous subscription model because we offer over $50,000 of group insurance to our current members.  We don't want members to find themselves with lapsed insurance coverage when they most need it.  However, one can be removed from continuous service at any time.  Our records show no such request from Mr. ********.  


We udnerstand Mr. ********'s frustration and the $4.95 processing fee charged has been refunded in full.  We consider this matter closed to the full satisfaction of Mr. ********.  Please let me know if you require additional information.  Thank you for your help in resolving this matter.

Business Response: Thank you for brining Mr. ********'s concerns to our attention.  It is our goal at Veterans Advantage to provide all our members with exemplary service.  I regret that Mr. ******** has not had this experience.  Our records indicate that Mr. ******** enrolled in continuous service with his origninal application for membership.  We inform our members in several places about the Continuous Subscription service including:  with the digital VetRewards Card provided upon enrollment, in the Member Benefits Directory mailed to the member with the permanent VetRewards Card and in the Terms and Conditions link available on our homepage at www.veteransadvantage.com.  We provide a continuous subscription model because we offer over $50,000 of group insurance to our current members.  We don't want members to find themselves with lapsed insurance coverage when they most need it.  However, one can be removed from continuous service at any time.  Our records show no such request from Mr. ********.  


We udnerstand Mr. ********'s frustration and the $4.95 processing fee charged has been refunded in full.  We consider this matter closed to the full satisfaction of Mr. ********.  Please let me know if you require additional information.  Thank you for your help in resolving this matter.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. This scam of charging a fee for cancellation should also be addressed. There are countless veterans that are being charged.

Sincerely,

******* ********

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. This scam of charging a fee for cancellation should also be addressed. There are countless veterans that are being charged.

Sincerely,

******* ********

11/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In their website it states: "Veterans Advantage has been created to deliver greater respect, recognition and rewards for all who have served in the U.S. Military, including Veterans, Active Duty Military, National Guard and Reserves, and their family members." Upon enrolling you are led to believe that there are all kinds of benefit discount(s) offered by many business and it is not explained fully until after enrollment. It is after you enrolled that you are able to read the fine print in the discount offer(s) by the different busines(s). Example to get a discount at *****, you must spend $300. ***** you must spend $75. ****** only online, but you must spend $100. This was not clearly stated prior to enrollment. I printed a 20 percent coupon for ****** ***** and once at the store on Veterans Day was told that practically the whole store is not 20 percent off. It happened at the ******* store in ********** and I dealt with the manager of the store on Veteran's Day. I felt insulted, disrespected and rip off and to make matters worse it happened on Veteran's Day. I asked the store manager if there was anything he could do, but was told that there was nothing he could do. Where is the respect, recognition and reward that the company claims with the above statement. **** ***** and ***** offer 10 percent discount on anything on the store. All I have to do is show my ** Id card and get a 10 percent discount at the register. This program is no gimmicks, no membership. It shows respect, gratitude and rewards for serving this country. Members advantage leaves much to be desired. Instead, once I notified a Supervisor/Manager named Kisha on 11/16/2015 was told that I would have to pay a processing fee. If this is not another slap on the face, I do not know what is. Is this respect, recognition and rewards? It certainly contradicts your statement above. It means false advertisement. I have filed a dispute with my credit card. I also requested to have someone in upper management contact me. I expect the full amount back with no fee of any kind. I will not give you part of my limited income without any benefit since I am also a fully disable veteran.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of $ 99.82

4/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cancelled membership due to unable to use as advertised. Membership claims to be able to receive discount at **** ******* ****** ********....was not able to. As well as claims have Global Health Insurance....Not able to use. Said company did not honor may cancellation of membership which was 6 months prior to renewal. Said company then billed credit card for renewal AFTER cancellation at time of renewal. Said company was contacted to cancel and refund dues as promised. Said company still has not done either as promised, as well as product is not as promised either.

Desired Settlement: Cancel membership as requested twice and refund of membership dues. Product does not work as advertised.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing Mr. ********* concerns to our attention.  We have contacted Mr. ******* directly to address his claims that the Veterans Advantage benefits are not available as advertised.  After speaking with him, he understands that he did follow the correct procedures to obtain his discounts.

Veterans Advantage provides a variety of discounts that is accessed through different channels.  For example:  the 20% discount offer with ************ is accessed through a printed coupon, the 5% discount on flights with ******* Airlines is available by phone with the Veterans Advantage member ID number and the discount provided on ******** ******** service is provided online only with a promotion code.  Veterans Advantage members can access the Members Only area of our website at ************************************* to securely access all codes necessary to obtain discounts with detailed instruction on how to access them.

Mr. ******* was not aware of this resource and also misunderstood the coverage provided under the Group Insurance Plan included with the Veterans Advantage member plan. Mr. ******* also reported an issue with our partner, **** ******. He should have been able to obtain a 20% discount at the ********* Mall location in ******* **.  We have reported this issue to **** ****** and they have told us that they have corrected the situation.

We offered Mr. ******* a complimentary one-year membership for himself and his family.  He declined this offer.  A refund of $19.80 has been issued, as Mr. ******* requested. We consider this matter to be fully resolved.

3/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I joined veterans advantage in 2012, since then I have not been able to utilize any of their purported benefits. I asked for a refund and after four months and contacting BBB I received a check with an incorrect name on it that I won't even attempt to cash as my bank questions me about checks that do have my correct name on them.I changed my mind and decided to keep the membership as I plan to travel. I have been trying to obtain the documents necessary to prove coverage if a medical emergency were to occur, however the company that is supposed to provide coverage "Chartis" is no longer underwritten by "National Union Fire Insurance Company of **********, ******* and employees also deny a business association with veterans advantage. The "policy #'s" are not in the database of the two aforementioned underwriting companies.

Desired Settlement: I want the proper documents that prove coverage with my name on them.

Business Response:

Re:  **** ***** – Complaint ID # ********

 Thank you for providing additional information regarding *** **** ******* filing.  We are pleased that she has chosen to remain a member of Veterans Advantage.  We understand she is seeking additional confirmation of the Veterans Advantage Group Insurance coverage.

Veterans Advantage offers a Prepaid Benefits Plan that includes up to $50,000 of ****** ***** ****** ********* ******* ********** ********* Insurance coverage, anytime a member travels more than 100 miles from home, up to $5,000 Accident (“A&D”) Group Insurance Policy (policy # **********) coverage (accidents are the 5th leading cause of death) with no age limits or health exam required and up to $50,000 coverage for Repatriation of Remains. This group insurance policy is held in the Veterans Advantage name.  The policy cannot be altered to reflect an individual member’s name.

Our records indicate that Ms. ***** spoke with our call center representative, ****, and received information detailing coverage under this policy along with the Travel Guard customer service number (**************) to call with any further questions.  We believe Ms. ***** may have mistakenly contacted the underwriter of the policy – ******** ***** **** ********* ******* of **********, **, a subsidiary of *** – seeking information. This is not the correct party to contact regarding customer service or coverage information. This may explain why the business association with Veterans Advantage could not be confirmed.

We have emailed Ms. ***** outlining the policy coverage and offering additional assistance should she have questions or concerns. We consider this matter to be fully resolved.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

As of now, I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. If there are any more problems with this business, let it be known that I will contact you in the future.  Thank you for your assistance.

Sincerely,

** *****

3/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company billed me charges without warning or explanation. After I was charged $4.95, I looked into it further. The company claims to offer an auto-bill service as a "convenience." However, there is no way to opt-out of out it without calling them during their business hours. This is an unethical and dishonest business practice. It is more inconvenient to try to opt-out. The business relies on customers who will simply not opt-out because of the steps involved.

Desired Settlement: An apology, a refund, and a change in their policy. Provide an opt-out feature on their website. DO NOT enroll customers automatically in the auto-bill feature without their consent.

Business Response:

Re:  ****** ****** – Complaint ID # ********

 

We have just received your correspondence regarding *** ****** ******.  Thank you for bringing his concerns to our attention. 

 

The charges made to*** ****** account were not unexplained nor were they unauthorized. They in no way represent an “unethical and dishonest business practice.” 

 

Our records indicate that *** ****** joined our program on 03-26-2014 with a special 20% off offer through*************************.  At this time his account was included in a continuous service program which he expressly agreed to upon enrollment. We inform members of our renewal policy several times and in several places:

 

1.            The Temporary Member Card issued immediately upon completion of enrollment

2.            The Program’s Terms of Service, which appear on our member Website

3.            In the Welcome Letter sent by **** to each member

4.            In the printed Benefits Directory sent to each new member

 

A member may also choose to opt-out of continuous service at any time.  We have no record of a request from *** ****** to do so.  On 02-24-2015 a $4.95 charge was made to cover processing for his renewal member packet.  An updated VetRewards Card and membership materials were mailed on 03-05-2015.   Due to the $50,000 M****** coverage and $5,000 ** * * insurance policies which are in place for each of our members, we ask that cancellation and refund requests be made over a recorded phone line to our Customer Service Call Center and then in writing via a cancellation form that includes a forfeiture of coverage.  Our Call Center representatives are available to help during our extended business hours of Monday-Friday, 9am-9pm ET, and also Saturdays 11am-4pm ET.  We believe these hours are more than adequate to accommodate the working schedules of our members.

 

We have issued a refund to*** ****** for the charge of $4.95, cancelled his account, and removed him from coverage under our group insurance policy. We consider this matter to be fully resolved.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,
****** ******

9/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Veterans Advantage card does nothing more than what the ******** ** card does . And for a lot less price. the price for this card for me was $199.95 it's value for the service it renders is not worth the price as advertised $4.95 Much less then the overblown price of $199.95. This is a Blatant scam.

Desired Settlement: return the $199.95 to my account and destroy my contract I want nothing to do with this scam ,that takes advantage of our Veterans.

Business Response:

Re:  ******* *** **** ************

To whom it may concern:

We have received your correspondence regarding *** ****. Thank you for bringing his concerns to our attention.  It is our goal at Veterans Advantage to provide exemplary service to our members.  Our records indicate that on 7-1-14, *** **** enrolled in a 30-day trial membership through our partner ****** website at ************. (Veterans Advantage provides up to 30% off the purchase of **** laptops and desktop computers.)  *** **** enrolled in the 5-year membership plan. The five year plan is our most cost effective plan -- with a five year trial membership, the 5-year fees are payable in full on day 31 if a member does not cancel before.

*** **** immediately received an email confirmation activating his memberships and allowing full access to all benefits of the program online through our Members Only area. His membership materials were sent on 07-11-2014. After 30 days, on 08-01-2014, during which *** **** never cancelled or opted out of his membership, Veterans Advantage charged the $199.95 five year membership fee.

As it is clear that *** **** does not wish to continue his membership with Veterans Advantage, a refund of $199.95 has been issued to his credit card.  We would ask that he return his VetRewards Card and membership materials to complete the cancellation process.  These can be sent to Veterans Advantage, ** ***** **** ***** ********** **  *****.

We believe that *** ****’s concerns have been addressed in a timely and professional manner and that this matter has been fully resolved.  Thank you for your assistance in resolving this issue.

7/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Veteran's Advantage "DISCOUNT" for ********** INCREASES the cost of **********'s services. The increase is almost double. $170 weekly rate increases to $300+. Using VA's discount code's ******* or ******* on **********.com. I called an ********** agent and the discounts resulted in the same thing: increased cost of service.

Desired Settlement: Veteran's Advantage needs to fix this with ********** IMMEDIATELY. They could be costing veteran's more money.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing *** ******** concerns to our attention.  It is our goal at Veterans Advantage to provide excellent customer service to our members.  The Veterans Advantage member plan includes expedited VIP customer service for Veterans Advantage members with all of our partner companies. Veterans Advantage will troubleshoot any issue on behalf of our members to ensure their benefit is received.

The ********** discount provided for our members is two-fold:

1.        The first discount code ******* references a corporate discount and provides a discounted rate card off general rental rates.  Our members report significant discounts when using this code.

2.       Our second code:  ******* – offers a 5% discount off the lowest rental fare.  ********** franchisees will occasionally offer rental specials at their location that would “beat” the corporate rate card price.  Our second code was added to offer best available pricing scenarios for Veterans Advantage members guaranteeing a minimum 5% discount.

From the information provided by *** ******, it seems his reservation fell under the franchisee special offers.  When he applied the rate card rate (NA24VA1), it resulted in a higher fare.  When we researched rentals in his zip code, we found discounts on all vehicle types using our secondary code:  *******. (See attached.)

We apologize for any confusion caused by the two different discount codes.  The intent is to provide both codes, so that our members can compare the two to optimize savings.  We would encourage *** ****** to reach out to us directly in the future for assistance with benefit usage. Our phone team can be reached at ###-###-#### and is available Monday-Friday, 9am-9pm ET, and also Saturdays 11am-4pm ET.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  If Veteran's Advantage wants to display both codes as "discounts", then they need to inform the customer of the difference.  They advertised BOTH codes as "discounts" even though they admit that the first discount code ******* sometimes does not give a discount and actually charges the veteran more than the normal rate.  They can easily explain this on their website when offering them to veterans.  They should display ******* as a guaranteed 5% discount and the ******* as a general rate code instead of a discount code.  Anything else is misleading and simply giving an explanation on why this happens is not enough.

Sincerely,

**** ******

6/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: OFFERING THE LOWEST COMPANION TRAVEL Fly for less this summer, get exclusive airline tickets, plus a gift certificate for two tickets, with one low price. My husband (26 yrs retired veteran) and I was enthused that (company name) had a promotion advertising once you became a member, you would receive a travel voucher offering two tickets for one low price. After calling the 24 hr. reservation number I was quoted a price for two tickets over $1000 with taxes. I did some research and found 2 lower priced tickets with taxes for under $800.00. We found this promotion to be more of a marketing tool for their companies than offering consumers the lowest companion tickets as stated. I have contacted both companies however to no avail, or solution. Enclosed is a copy of the travel voucher, that I cannot use, it is out of my budget range.

Desired Settlement: I know their is significant lower discounted tickets available especially at large group rates. Please lets be fair in our advertising, and remember ethics, and ask our selves: DO we really VALUE our customers, and their trust and confidence? Their has to be lower discounted prices available, then what they offered. If not, the travel prices I found would save the company some money, and keep us happy as well. Please lets be fair! Please offer us 2 economical, lower airline tickets.

Business Response:

Thank you for your recent notification of Mrs. Booker’s complaint.  We have been in touch with Mrs. Booker on multiple occasions.  As has been explained to her, we advertise the Companion Certificate as “Two Tickets…One Low Price.” Generally, our members report significant savings when booking travel through this special offer.

We fully researched Mrs. Booker’s claims and we were informed by our partner that Mrs. Booker was offered flights that were available in inventory, but she declined. The total cost she was quoted was $802.00, not over $1000.00. The price she found online was just under $800.00, but that was the cost for 1 ticket. Doing a true comparison, Mrs. Booker would have to book 2 tickets at $800 and her actual cost would be $1600.00. There is a significant savings when flights are booked with our partner.

The desired settlement that Mrs. Booker seeks is “2 economical, lower airline tickets.”  This has already been offered to her by our partner.  We recognize the savings as substantial and the offer of “two tickets…one low price” is accurate.  The voucher that Mrs. Booker has is valid for travel through 6/15/15, we encourage her to use it.

Business Response:

We are sorry that Mrs. Booker cannot make use of the Discounted Companion Air Fare Certificate provided to her.  To cancel her membership and obtain a refund for the membership fees paid we request that she return the membership materials: VetRewards Card, Member Benefits Directory, and the Discounted Companion Air Certificate number: **************.  They can be sent to:  Veterans Advantage Membership Service, P. O. Box 4143, Greenwich, CT  06830.  Once received, a refund will be issued.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10073989

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

Cheryl Booker

 
I wll try to use the voucher one more time, before giving  it back. I know Veteran Advantage really strive to advertise according to their word. I will give them a call. 
 
 

6/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I agreed to this service for 1 Year, I called to un-subscibe on december 28,2012 and requested no renewal, I was informed that a few days earlier I was being charged for the upcoming year.My member ID# is LYNXXXXXXXXI asked that I not be charged for this year and was told it was too late and nothing could be done.IU just recently became aware that I had recourse to file a complaint otherwise I would have done it immediately. Product_Or_Service: Vet rewards card Account_Number: LYNXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund for this years dues, I have never used or benefited from this service and I worried they will continue to charge me annually.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/27) */ Thank you for bringing Mr. *****'s concerns to our attention. We have reviewed Mr. *****'s record and found that when he joined Veterans Advantage on December 29, 2011 his account was entered into our automatic renewal program. He joined for himself and also for Ms. **** Downs. Veterans Advantage is a benefit program for veterans and their families that partners with companies that wish to acknowledge those who have served with special offers and discounts on their goods and service. As a convenience to our members, Veterans Advantage is a continuous service program. We inform members of our renewal policy several times and in several places: 1. The Temporary Member Card issued immediately upon completion of enrollment 2. The Program's Terms of Service, which appear on our member Website 3. In the Welcome Letter sent by USPS to each member 4. In the printed Benefits Directory sent to each new member with the membership kit A member may also choose to opt-out of continuous service at any time. We have no record of a request from Mr. ***** to opt out of this program. This is why his membership account had been renewed. Renewal kits for Mr. ***** and Ms. Downs were mailed on 12/18/12 and the renewal fee was charged on 12/29/12. Our recording of the conversation indicates that Mr. ***** contacted Veterans Advantage on 1/2/13 (not 12/28/12). As was explained to him by our representative, Jason Ball, refunds cannot be processed for the time the membership is active. At this time Mr. *****'s account was removed from continuous service so that no further charges would be processed. The accounts for Mr. ***** and Ms. Downs remain current and active. Both of them have had full use of the card, partner discounts and benefits package associated with membership. Both accounts will remain current through 12-29-13. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHEN I WAS CHARGED ON 12/29/12 A SATURDAY, AND I CALLED ON THE 2ND BUSINESS DAY 1/2 2013, THEY COULD NOT REVERSE THE CHARGE FOR THIS YEAR. THEY ADMIT I PROTESTED THE CHARGE. THEY CAN CHARGE ME FOR THE USE OF THE CARD FOR 3 DAYS AND REFUND ME THE REST. I DO NOT ACCEPT THEIR LOGIC. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/07/08) */ We are sorry to hear that Mr. ***** does not want to continue with the Veterans Advantage program and have requested a refund in the amount of $89.92 on his behalf. A refund check will mail to his adress on file in the next 2 weeks. Thank you for your assistance in resolving this matter.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Veterans Advantage, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)