BBB Accredited Business since

The Specialist Cleaning Service

Phone: (203) 981-8199 View Additional Phone Numbers 14 Howard Ave #1, Norwalk, CT 06855 http://www.thespecialistct.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Specialist Cleaning Service offers eco friendly pet safe solvents for carpet cleaning, floor striping / waxing, window cleaning, upholstery cleaning, power washing, yard clean ups, junk removal, hardwood floor polishing, office / janitorial cleaning, grill cleaning, pre/post construction clean ups. Their specialty is in water boat carpet and upholstery cleaning.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Specialist Cleaning Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Specialist Cleaning Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Specialist Cleaning Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 10, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1975 Business started locally: 01/01/1975
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Michael Marsico, Owner Mr. Frank Marsico
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Marsico, Owner
Business Category

Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning Deck Cleaning & Sealing Solvents Carpet & Rug Cleaners Floor Waxing, Polishing & Cleaning Janitor Service Window Cleaning Junk Removal Post-Construction Clean Up Tile & Grout Cleaning Carpet and Upholstery Cleaning Services (NAICS: 561740)


Additional Locations

  • 14 Howard Ave #1

    Norwalk, CT 06855 (203) 981-8199

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failed to honor Groupon certificate for rug cleaning 2 rooms and a hallway. After re-scheduling 2x before, each time they cancelled and didn't show up This company and the owners are un-professional and put me through a lot of work having to move furniture and last minute their cancelling. When they finally showed up, they said they did my husband's office rugs a year ago and he was not happy with them, so he refused to do the job that I had paid to have done. This was a different area and I had additional work for them, and the said call Groupon for a refund, they are not honoring the voucher.

Desired Settlement: I want others to be warned about the inconvenience, and poor service of this company.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/29) */ We apologized to the client for the cancelations, and I would like to address these issues first. The first time we had to cancel was due to the passing of a family member in Virginia, I would hope anyone would understand that family is important and that we had to cancel to attend the funeral. We did explain the reason why we had to cancel the job. The second time we had to cancel was due to vehicle issues. We called to let her know we were having issues, we were going to offer a later appointment in the day but when I called she did not answer and did not have voicemail service for so we could leave a message. She then called back later in the day, and by that time we had already scheduled other jobs in other areas. The client explained to us she was outside and did not hear her phone ring. We did refuse service and explained that Groupon, which who she had bought the coupon from would give her a refund or credit. we did clean carpets in her husbands home office 2 years ago, which is at the same address as her home, they DID NOT pay us for invalid reasons. Our company protocol is to walk each job after we are done so we can address any issues and assure customer satisfaction. When we walked the job with her husband he said he liked the job. As we were writing out the receipt he became hostel with us and said his wife would not like the job and that he would not pay, we thought this to be odd as he said he liked the job we completed, he argued with us for several minutes. We knew we would not get paid, and threat was made he would cancel the check anyways. ***** the co-owner declined the job for the reason of non-payment for prior services.

9/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service