BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

City Automatic Transmission Service

Phone: (203) 756-1124 Fax: (203) 756-0832 View Additional Phone Numbers 140 Industry Lane, Waterbury, CT 06704 http://www.citytransmissionct.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

City Automatic Transmission Service offers service of automatic and standard transmissions, foreign and domestic.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that City Automatic Transmission Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for City Automatic Transmission Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 04, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1963 Business started locally: 01/01/1963
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle, State of CT Dept. of
60 State St, Wethersfield CT 06109
www.ct.gov/dmv
Phone Number: (860) 263-5055
mail@dmvct.org

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Bazzano Sr., Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Bazzano Sr., Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Radiators - Automotive Automotive Transmission Repair (NAICS: 811113)


Additional Locations

  • 140 Industry Lane

    Waterbury, CT 06704 (203) 756-1124 (203) 757-6656

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 757-6656(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business had my car for almost a month to fix a transmission problem. A job that should have only took them a week at the most to complete. Once my car was finally ready , when I went to pick up my car from them, my car had significant damage to the back bumper and the driver side rear. Damages that were not there when they picked up my vehicle. I spoke with 2 people named **** and ***** (***** is the daughter of the owner of the shop) whom both denied to reimburse or fix my vehicle in any way even though I have a receipt that indicated that my car did not have any of these damages prior to them receiving it. The next day I went back to the business to request to see cameras. I also requested to get their insures information, owners information and to see their protocol and procedures book,they denied me all that information that I had requested and completely refused to help me in any way, shape or form.

Desired Settlement: I desire that they either fix and/or pay for all the body damages that they caused to my vehicle while in their possession.

Business Response:

CITY AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

*** ******** **** ********** *** ***** ************ *** ************

 

 

March 27, 2014

 

To Whom It May Concern:

City Automatic Transmission is an independently owned and operated business started in 1963. For the past thirteen years in a row the ********* ******** has recognized us as the “Best Transmission Shop”. This is due to our prompt and cost effective work ethics. Finally, an important indicator of any business’ character is its standing with the Better Business Bureau. We have earned an A+ Rating and are proud to have been in such good standing for many years.

******** ***** called to have her 2011 ****** Altima towed in on Monday, February 17, 2014 after a pretty significant amount of snow had fallen. Evidently she got stuck in the snow and the car no longer moved. ******** told me that she had an extended warranty and I let her know that I would work with them. Once her car got here we logged it in and part of that process is checking around the car for preexisting damage and noting it on her repair order. We noted the driver side rear quarter in the rear was damaged, the roof had dents in it and the windshield was cracked all the way across.

I spoke with ******** and told her we could see a hole in the transmission case indicating an internal gear had let go which is consistent with spinning the wheels in forward and reverse when you are stuck in the snow. I also asked her to come down and sign the repair order or for her CDL# to authorize tear down. When she came down I let her know that when working with an extended warranty company the repair turnaround time is longer than if she paid for the repair out of pocket because they have certain guidelines they want followed.  Depending on the repairs sometimes they send an adjuster out to inspect the vehicle and that I have no control over the time table. In ********'s case the warranty company decided to supply a used transmission which was shipped in from one of their own vendors. Consequently I could not install it until it got here, feeling bad for her I waived her deductible so she could use it towards a rent a car because only 3 days was being reimbursed by the insurance company. 

******** came to pick up her car the day after the repairs were completed. I went over her repair order with her, and as previously stated the info was on the repair order.  ******** came back in shortly after and said there was damage on her car. The damage she pointed out to me was part of the driver side rear quarter. I looked at the repair order and part of the information on it was entered by **** so I told her I needed to talk to him about it, he was due into work in about an hour. ******** took her keys and left her car but called later in the afternoon and spoke with ****. **** confirmed that the damage was there as stated on the repair order when her car was towed in.

When she came back the next day with her uncle we spoke again, I reiterated the damage was on the vehicle when it came to our shop. Her uncle asked to see her tow bill and I gave him a copy. ******** asked to see our “protocol and procedures book” and to see our cameras, and I told her we are a small personalized business employing 6 people and we communicate with each other constantly throughout the course of the day.  We also do not have cameras; however we do have several signs posted throughout our office area stating that we are not responsible for theft or damage which have posted there for years.

During our conversation ******** asked what she should do and we suggested she call her insurance company because we believe the damage was already there when it came to our shop. At no time did we refuse to help her or deny her any information.

When I was asked about my insurance information I did tell her to have her insurer contact me and I would give them whatever info they needed however I do not believe the damage was done here it was on the car when it was off loaded here.

Enclosed is a copy of ******** *****’s repair order and tow bill.

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
 
First, yes I did have preexisting damages to my vehicle which was the "crack across window shield and roof dented". However,  the damage stated on my repair order sheet" driver side rear quarter dented" was clearly later added on by someone . You can see on the sheet that someone tried to squeeze in that damage on the repair order sheet in between the lines and it was also written in a completely different hand writing. Which indicates that someone damaged my car and later tried to cover it up by simply adding it onto my repair order sheet as if it was preexisting damage.
Secondly, there is also significant damage to my bumper , where a huge piece of my bumper is completely missing and cracked. (I have pictures of this damage which I took before I removed my car off their lot with a witness) No where on my repair order sheet does it state that I had any preexisting damages to my bumper what so ever.
Third, as City Automatic Transmission previously staeted ealier , I called them and spoke with a guy named **** and I explianed to him that my car was no longer moving. I gave him my information and he directed me to leave my keys and warranty inside the car.  He then made the arrangements for my car to be picked up from my home. About 4 days later I gave them over the phone authorization to continue to work on my car and take apart my transmission. So please explain to me, how do they expect me to take notice of several signs posted throughout their office area stating that "they are not responsible for theft or damage" if I had not been nor visited the facility until 2 weeks of them already having and working on my car.
Thank you

Sincerely,

******** *****

Business Response:

CITY AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

*** ******** **** ********** *** ***** ************ *** ************

 

 

April 11, 2014

 

RE: *******

To Whom It May Concern,

As stated in our earlier response we did not immediately tow ******** *****’s car because the weather forecasters were calling for 6 plus inches of snow. She had gotten stuck in the previous snow storm and her car no longer moved. We told her we wanted to wait until after the next snow so it wouldn’t be so difficult to move her car around. The damage that is on ******** *****’s vehicle was there when her car was off loaded by the towing company. I spoke with ******** during the course of the time her vehicle was at the shop and did obtain telephone authorization and she did come to the shop to sign the repair order as well. As a matter of fact she came in to get something out of her car but it was up on the lift and we couldn’t lower it because the transmission was out of it and the supports were under the engine.  At that time she knew we were waiting for the warranty company to supply the parts for her car, something we have no control over.
******** came to pick up her car the day after the repairs were completed. I went over her repair order with her, and as previously stated the info was on the repair order which was filled out by me and the other office person ****.  When ******** returned, we went back over it all and she said “I know about that damage; it is from when someone kicked my car”.  She then proceeded to show something to me underneath the bumper that I could not see unless I knelt on the ground and looked under her car.  I believe she did that damage when she got stuck in the snow, there was a piece of the plastic bumper missing. It looks like she must have hit something while moving her car forward and backwards.  When you look at the vehicle dead on you cannot see it unless you kneel on the ground and look under the bumper which leads me to believe that she knew the damage was already there and it was preexisting.
We suggested she call her insurance company because we believe the damage was already there when it came to our shop. At no time did we refuse to help her or deny her any information.

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1