BBB Accredited Business since

Nordika Travel

Phone: (203) 208-3947 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.nordikatravel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Nordika Travel is a travel agency specializing in travel to Iceland and the Arctic and the Nordic Region. The business services include but are not limited to standard and tailor made self drive tours, escorted tours, adventure activities, like volcano and glacier hiking, northern lights exploration, whale watching, photography tours and more.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Nordika Travel meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Nordika Travel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Nordika Travel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 7
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 15, 2013 Business started: 07/01/2012 in CT Business started locally: 07/01/2012 Business incorporated 07/29/2011 in CT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Atli Gudmundsson, Co-Owner Mr. Brynhildur Sverrisdottir, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Atli Gudmundsson, Co-Owner
Principal: Mr. Brynhildur Sverrisdottir, Co-Owner
Business Category

Tours - Operators & Promoters Travel Agencies & Bureaus Online Travel Agency Travel Agencies (NAICS: 561510)

Alternate Business Names
All Iceland LLC

Additional Locations

  • Branford, CT 06405 (203) 208-3947 (888) 528-2591

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with All-Iceland LLC for an 8 day tour of Iceland for myself and husband. Deposit paid September 2012 of $400.00. Remainder paid January 2013 $1608.00. Trip was to begin February 23RD, leaving from BWI, continuing to New York and then on to Iceland. Actual tour started February 25th, 2013. All emails from ****** (agent?/ owner?) stressed we were to secure our own air transportation and travel insurance. (Both of which we did) We were at BWI airport Sat. Feb 23rd several hours early, luggage checked, boarding passes in hand when agent asked to see our passports again. We ere then informed we would not be able to board because Iceland requires passports to be valid 90 days after date of entry into their country. This meant our passports had to be valid until May 24th 2013. Our passports were valid until May 4th 2013. Even tho we had a return ticket for March and proof of an 8 day tour, we were not allowed to board. Several times in emails, agent ****** discussed erroneous dates and I would respond with corrections. Never was there any mention of any passport requirements/ stipulations. Company websites stresses " we specialize only in travel to Iceland-owned and operated by Icelanders, living in U.S. We know our native country." Also,"we will advise you of any changes that are fundamental to the contractor which we believe will affect your holidays". The travel agency will not refund our money- only offer was to re book us at 40% discount-- and even with that- which we considered- air transportation was not possible- sold out. We feel the company is selling a product -tours to their country. We have never been there. We honestly feel they "dropped the ball". Had passports ever been mentioned. we had plenty of time to rectify. As it stands, we have lost all tour monies, airfare and trip insurance for a total of $3,757.00. We would request a credit back to our credit card for $2,008.00. (initial cost of tour paid to All- Iceland) Thank you. Product_Or_Service: 8 Day Tour of Iceland

Desired Settlement: We would like All- Iceland LLC to credit our Visa card $2,008.00 in full

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@***********.com ** are grateful for the opportunity of presenting our point of view in this matter. This complaint is about passport issues. All Iceland did not sell or advice the client about the flights or travel to and from Iceland. Iceland is a part of the Schengen treaty for passport control and there are no specific rules for Iceland. To clarify. The client purchased a land based package beginning and ending in Iceland. Travel to and from Iceland was arranged by the client herself. The client Mrs ** had booked this package with another travel company when she found the same package at a cheaper price with All Iceland. Mrs. **booked the package with All Iceland after having investigated this on the internet. Mrs ** had obviously investigated the flights herself as she never asked All Iceland to help her arrange the flights. All Iceland is not a flight specialist but can help book direct flights to Iceland through our air fare specialist. Mrs. ** booked her own flights and never informed All Iceland about the flight details. Mrs ** sent an email and stated: „I understand the flights are my responsibility". For booking a land based package there are no passport requirements. The client herself is responsible for being at a certain place in Iceland at a certain time to join „the group" for the escorted tour. The client was sent information about practical information, such as currency, how to dress, restaurants, travel itinerary and so on. There was not a specific discussion about passports requirements as the flight travel arrangements were purchased elsewhere. The client was also sent a direct link to All Iceland´s terms and conditions where there is information about passports requirements for US citizens travelling to Iceland. This link was sent to Mrs. **in September. Iceland is a member of the Schengen treaty which is adhered to by 26 European countries. Iceland does not have any specific passport requirements that other European Countries do not have. Passengers entering from any of the Schengen member countries do not need a passport to enter Iceland. Many of our clients visit Iceland on their way from another Schengen country which in that case no passport is needed to enter Iceland. All Iceland is not always familiar with clients nationality nor travel arrangement and we do not give out specific information about passports or Visa requirements as they are so different depending on the travellers nationality and departure country. All Iceland does not receive any information from authorities when passport/visa requirements change and it is always the travellers responsibility to have a valid passport fulfilling the visitors country´s requirement. It is very regrettable that the traveller in this case was unable to board the plane as her passport was not valid 3 months beyond estimated departure date from Iceland. It is totally beyond our understanding why Mrs. **has chosen to complain to BBB about her passport issues as All Iceland had nothing to do with her travel arrangements TO or FROM Iceland. After the incident, All Iceland tried to help her by offering a 40% discount of the next available trip. ** convinced our partner in Iceland to give Mr. and Mrs. **a priority on their waiting list for the trip commencing on March 15. However Mr. and Mrs. ** did not manage to travel to Iceland because their air fare provider was unable to reschedule the flights for them. ** have no idea who their air fare provider is, but we would like to point out to Mrs ** that normally she would have the right to have the airport taxes and other taxes associated with the flight tickets refunded. As a gesture of goodwill even though we have no obligation to do so, All Iceland has offered the client a rebate of 40% towards a new land based package and this offer is valid throughout 2013.