BBB Accredited Business since

Chainsaws Unlimited, Inc.

Phone: (203) 264-0808 Fax: (203) 264-0829 588 Main St S, Southbury, CT 06488 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.chainsawsunlimitedinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chainsaws Unlimited, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chainsaws Unlimited, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chainsaws Unlimited, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 10, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1982 in CT Business incorporated 07/10/1984 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David P. Blersch, President Ms. Kathleen A Blersch, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David P. Blersch, President
Principal: Ms. Kathleen A Blersch, Secretary/Treasurer
Business Category

Tools - Power Actuated Lawn Mowers - Sharpen & Repair Log Splitting Equipment Snow Removal Equipment Generators - Electric Generators Generators - Maintenance Machine Tools Machine Tools - Repair & Rebuild Blowers - Outdoor Gas Power Equipment Lawn Mowers Saws Tools - Cutting Tools - Electric Hardware Stores (NAICS: 444130)

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Cash

Additional Locations

  • 588 Main St S

    Southbury, CT 06488 (203) 264-0808

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Chainsaws Unlimited as was told that it cost $170 to change the oil and sharpen the blades on my tractor. Three weeks later they returned the tractor with a bill for $455. At that point I called them and asked what the additional charges were for and was told the tractor required some additional parts and work. When I asked them why they never called to authorize the additional work I was told that they do not have to call me to authorize the additional work. I did not want the additional work done because I did not want to spend that much money.

Desired Settlement: I was told that it cost $170 to sharpen the blades and change the oil on my tractor. That is all of the work that I authorized and all the I am willing to pay.

Business Response:

complaint #********

 

******* states that he was told his cost for an oil change and blade sharpening would be $170.00.  Perhaps he misunderstood but our seasonal special rate for this work is $179.95.  Everyone here quotes that price for anyone that asks.  Any parts that need replacing are extra and pick up and delivery back are extra.  ****, the owner of Chainsaws Unlimited talked to ******* before his tractor was delivered back.  He explained the bill and the fact that it was not running when we picked it up.  It had to be pushed on the truck when we picked it up.   He also explained that the blades were worn out and couldn't be sharpened safely, so we replaced them.  The extra work was required to make the tractor run.  We had thought he was ok with the work done as he told **** he would send a check so we returned the tractor to him in good faith that he would send a check.  We have sent several requests for payment and received no response or phone call from *******.

We can remove the labor charge for the additional work which amounts to $70.00 plus the tax. We can also remove the charge of .50 plus tax for the fuel stabilizer because it was well within the special offer expiration dates. We cannot remove the pick up and delivery charge as he requested the pickup.  As to the mower blades; does he wish to return the new ones to us and we can give him his old ones back not sharpened? We cannot sharpen worn out blades as that causes a liability for us should someone get hurt. Please let us know if this acceptable and we can send a revised bill.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

No one at Chainsaws Unlimited ever told me that the blades needed to replaced let alone called me to approved any additional work.  All I was told was that they had ordered parts for the tractor and that they were waiting for them to come in.  I did not find out that they replaced the blades and the solenoid until I received the bill for $455.   
Bottomline is that no one at Chainsaws Unlimited every contacted me to approve any work on the tractor above $179.  I did call before having the work done and was told that it cost $179 to change and oil and sharpen the blades.  Then I get a bill for $455.  ANY CHARGES ABOVE AND BEYOND THAT AMOUNT NEEDED TO BE APPROVED BY ME PRIOR TO DOING THE WORK. This is what my attorney told me and this is what the State of *********** Department of Consumer Protection told me.  

When I called about the bill, the person I spoke to told me that they did not have to call me approve the additional work and that laws that apply to automobile repairs do not apply to tractors repairs.  According to the Department of Consumer Protection this is not the case and that statement was false and misleading.  There are several consumer protection laws at the state level that require repair shops to approve any and all work above the original estimate in advance regardless of whether or not its tractor repair or automobile repair.
Either this was a bait and switch situation or someone just failed to call me in advance to approve the additional work.  Regardless they violated a Consumer Protection Law and I'm not paying any amount above $179.  I am fully prepared to litigate the matter if necessary. 

Sincerely,

******* *******

Business Response:

*******,

 

Attached is a new invoice reflecting the $179.95 plus $45.00 pick up and delivery charge and State of ** sales tax.  Please send payment to *** **** ** ****** *********.  We do object to the bait and switch comment. We have been in business in this community for over 32 years.  We would not have lasted this long if our customers were not treated fairly.  We apologize that our mechanic did not call you before repairs were made.

******** *******

Chainsaws Unlimited, Inc.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Thank you.  I will send the check out as soon as I receive the invoice.

Sincerely,

******* *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Chainsaws Unlimited, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)