BBB Accredited Business since

Bridgestone Retail Operations, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (860) 613-2901 Fax: (860) 613-0222 View Additional Phone Numbers 136 Berlin Rd Ste 117, Cromwell, CT 06416


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

According to information in BBB files, this company operates a chain of more than 1,700 company-owned automotive tire and service stores throughout the United States.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bridgestone Retail Operations, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bridgestone Retail Operations, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 30 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

30 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 26
Total Closed Complaints 30

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bridgestone Retail Operations, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1900 Business started locally: 01/01/1900 Business incorporated 12/20/2001 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle, State of CT Dept. of
60 State St, Wethersfield CT 06109
www.ct.gov/dmv
Phone Number: (860) 263-5055
mail@dmvct.org

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Lott, Director Consumer Affairs Mr. Dan Artzerounian, District Manager Mr. Dave Blais, Manager-Vernon Mr. Robert Brophy, Manager-New Britain Mr. Frank Carbone, Manager-Manchester Mr. Gary Carella, Manager-Hamden Mr. John Cronin, Manager-Brookfield Mr. Frank DeGrasse, Manager-New London Mr. Robert Dimauro, Manager-Fairfield Mr. Roger Gabriel, Manager-Cromwell Mr. Dennis Garafola, Manager-Waterbury Mr. Michael Geltman, Manager-Bridgeport Mr. Rich Korda Mr. Abe Lami, Manager-Norwich Mr. Perry Mastrobattisto, Manager-West Haven Mr. Ian Merrick, Manager-Bristol Mr. Frank Mingel, Manager-Southington Mr. Joe Novello, Manager-Glastonbury Mr. Bryan O'Kelly, Manager-Branford Mr. Joao Outeiro, Manager-Wallingford Mr. Brian Papp, Manager-Danbury Mr. Bill Perdue, Chief Operating Officer Mr. Bob Petrucelli, District Manager Mr. Christopher Petrucelli, Manager-Plainville Ms. Carol Tate, District Office Manager Mr. Scott Thyrring, Manager-Bloomfield Mr. Terrence Towers, Manager-New Haven Mr. Matthew Vece, Manager-Milford Mr. Marc Veillette, Manager-Stamford Mr. Pawel Wieczerzak, Manager-Stratford Mr. Scott Zimmerman, Manager-Enfield
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Lott, Director Consumer Affairs
Business Category

Tire Dealers Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Parking Facilities Tire Retread & Repair Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies Battery Supplies Tire Distributors & Manufacturers Battery Repairing & Rebuilding Tire Dealers (NAICS: 441320)

Alternate Business Names
Firestone Complete Auto Care & Tires Plus
Business Management

Dan Artzerounian, District Manager at (860)613-2901.


Additional Locations

  • 1063 Boston Post Rd

    Milford, CT 06460 (203) 878-6859

  • 1145 Tolland Tpke

    Manchester, CT 06042 (860) 646-1761

  • 1197 Barnum Ave

    Stratford, CT 06614 (203) 377-7878

  • 1262 S Broad St

    Wallingford, CT 06492 (203) 237-8999

  • 136 Berlin Rd Ste 117

    Cromwell, CT 06416 (860) 613-2901 (860) 635-6355

  • 139 Putnam Blvd

    Glastonbury, CT 06033 (860) 633-4045

  • 164 Federal Rd

    Brookfield, CT 06804 (203) 775-1295

  • 2300 Dixwell Ave

    Hamden, CT 06514 (203) 288-1634

  • 251 W Main St

    Norwich, CT 06360 (860) 889-9897

  • 288 Queen St

    Southington, CT 06489 (860) 628-9621

  • 300 John St

    Bridgeport, CT 06604 (203) 333-6188

  • 327 Hartford Tpke

    Vernon Rockvl, CT 06066 (860) 871-2456

  • 33 Palomba Dr Ste 1

    Enfield, CT 06082 (860) 741-6550

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    333 E Lake StRetail Headquarters:

    Bloomingdale, IL 60108

  • 371 Cottage Grove Rd

    Bloomfield, CT 06002 (860) 243-8213

  • 45 Truman St

    New London, CT 06320 (860) 443-4361

  • 459 Farmington Ave

    Plainville, CT 06062 (860) 793-4935

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    50 Century BlvdHeadquarters:

    Nashville, TN 37214

  • 525 Saw Mill Rd

    West Haven, CT 06516 (203) 933-7750

  • 55 Chestnut St

    New Britain, CT 06051 (860) 229-0348

  • 680 Chapel St

    New Haven, CT 06510 (203) 787-1208

  • 686 W Main St

    Branford, CT 06405 (203) 488-1712

  • 700 Farmington Ave

    Bristol, CT 06010 (860) 584-2727

  • 750 Kings Hwy E

    Fairfield, CT 06825 (203) 367-3674

  • 809 Wolcott St

    Waterbury, CT 06705 (203) 754-6119

  • 892 E Main St

    Stamford, CT 06902 (203) 327-2930

  • 99 Railroad Pl

    Danbury, CT 06810 (203) 748-3576

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a life time warranty with ********* for wheel alignment. I bring my 2005 **** ***** **** for alignment pretty frequently. I had brought it for alignment. Then two months later the same again. They have reported that my tires were worn on the inside because of bad alignment. I only work 1 mile away part time with very low miles on it. I can not believe this. They had reported that my truck needed repairs on one side but booth tires were abnormally worn in the front. That suggest to me that the lifetime alignment was not done. This happened to me last year at same place uneven were. So i bought new tires that is now worn out. We settled for 3 free oil changes. Situation was over. NOW the same thing happened to the tires that was bought last year from *********. I contacted Corp and they gave me some one to deal with. He suggested to go to different location ********* but to call him first. After repairing the vehicle my self (which they didn't like or make money from). They did the alignment but did not replace my tires that was purchased last year from the money skimming. Please Help me they are trying to Rob me

Desired Settlement: All I want is 2 new tires

Business Response:

Complaint Information:

I spoke to Mr. ******* today and explained that his tires wore out because of loose front end parts in his car. I told him that we would replace the 2 tires for less than $100 plus tax. He was very happy with the outcome and made an appointment to have them replaced tomorrow 7/29.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *******

7/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3-21-15, I took my 2005 ******* ******* to ********* for an oil change. I asked if all of the fluids would be checked at that time, and was advised that checking the fluids and the battery were part of a routine oil change.On my way home to ***********, the car stalled at a red light, all of the lights on the dashboard came on and my car wouldn't start. I called ****** * and had the car towed to ******** ****** in **** *******. The tow truck driver notice there was no coolant and the car overheated.At ********, the mechanic said no coolant was the cause the car overheated. He asked if I had noticed any coolant leak, suggesting a slow leak might have been the cause. I explained I had not noticed any leaking on the ground and certainly would have, either at home or at work, since there was snow continuously on the ground for months. Then the mechanic noticed the sticker for the oil change at *********. Based on the mileage on the sticker, he said the car had only been driven 13 miles since the oil change. That checking the coolant during an oil change is standard procedure. He felt ********* was remiss in not checking the coolant and the overheating of the engine was their responsibility. The engine has to be replaced and he advised that I call ********* and report the problem to them.********* asked that I have the car towed to their shop. After looking at it for 2 days, they called and said the head gasket was bad. The next call was to say the engine was fried and not worth looking at. They felt there was no responsibility on their part. When asked about checking the coolant as part of a route oil change, I was given different answers at different times. Once I was told they usually check the coolant reservoir, so apparently there must not have been a problem. The next time I was told they couldn't take the cap off while the engine was hot.Bottom line is, if ********* had done their job during the oil change, my car would not have overheated and the engine rendered useless.

Desired Settlement: At this point I can't drive the car, and need transportation to work. If ********* had notified me that the coolant was empty, I would willing have paid to resolve any issue they found.I have asked ********* to return my car to running order, either by putting in a new engine and anything else that needs to be repaired or replaced, or by contracting and paying for another shop to handle it. If either of these solutions are not possible, then I need to receive the Blue Book value for my car

Business Response:

Complaint ID#:

********

Company Name:

Bridgestone Retail operations

Company Contact Name:

*** *********

Company Contact Phone:

*** ********

Company Contact Email:

*******************

Consumer's Name:

***** ********

BBB Staff Member (if you know):

******* ****

Complaint Information:

Dear ***** ********,BBB Staff Member, I regret to inform you that ********* has denied any responsibility for the damage to your vehicles engine. ********* is denying your claim. This was done after reviewing your work orders when your car was at the *********** ********* store, information obtain from you, and inspection of the vehicle. ********* would like to assist you in this matter by installing a used engine at store cost for the engine and labor. If you would like to discuss this further please call or e mail me. Thank You, ***** *********

Sent on:

6/26/2015 1:55:03 PM

 

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response for 2 reasons. One, I feel my situation has not been addressed properly by *********. And two, it is clear that damage was done to my car while in the hands of mechanics at ********* in ************ **.

1. *********'s brief response and denial without any discussion of the facts of my claim, is typical of my dealings with *********'s managers. Their attitude is very high handed and dismissive. The first manager assigned to my claim would leave me messages, telling me to call him and leave a message on a message answering system.  After several attempts to speak to him, I finally had to send a second complaint to ********* since I never ended up speaking to anyone.  The second manager I dealt with, ***** *********, could not effectively answer why the coolant was not checked properly as is routinely done during an oil change. Especially since I asked the staff at the desk if this would be done. He did offer to have my engine replaced with a used engine and I would be charged "store cost" for the engine and the labor. When I declined the offer, although I appreciated the recognition that the engine was damaged, I didn't appreciate his arrogance in telling me that if a declined the offer and pursued the matter further, that I would lose. I have followed the Better Business Bureau's suggestion to contact the business/ shop that performed the service first. I then submitted my claim to BBB's on line system. It took ********* 30 days to respond with the same brief dismissive message that I received from ***** in a 3 minute phone conversation.

2. While my first issue was attitude, the second issue is the poor workmanship. The poor workmanship started with the coolant not being checked, causing my engine to overheat and subsequently to end up fried. The shoddy workmanship continued with my engine not being put back together properly before my car was towed back to my home.  Upon inspecting my car that evening, we realized the engine wasn't fully intact, and the cover of the engine was missing. ********* had my car for a couple of days and was given advance notice that the car was to be towed. There is no excuse for not putting it back together.

While the poor workmanship might only be a reflection of the *********** ** shop, the manager's attitude is reflective of the corporation's management.

The bottom line here is, taking my car to ********* for a routine matter should not cost me any more money that the cost of the oil change. And it certainly shouldn't cost me my transportation to and from my employment. As I stated in my complaint, the recovery should be that ********* bears the cost of replacing my engine and any other work needed, along with paying for the labor. The alternative would be to reimburse me for the blue book value of my car when it was in good running condition.


Sincerely,

***** ******** 

Business Response: Our offer sill stands, we would like to help out Mrs ********.We would install a  used Engine at our cost and free labor.
 
              
***** ********* **** ******* **** ********************
 
Bridgestone Retail Operations
** ******* ** ******* *** *****  
EFAX *** ********
Cell: ************
 

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: taking my car for service at ********* should not cost me the price of a new engine or buying a new car. I brought my car to ********* in good faith, and on my way home (less than 13 miles) the engine overheated and died. My car was rendered  useless.

I still believe that ********* is responsible.

Sincerely,

***** ******** 

4/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 18, 2015 I took the car in for a check up on why the engine seemed to be having difficulty shifting in lower gears. Once running along at 55 mph it ran fine. The technicians decided I needed new Engine Sensors, Engine Gaskets, a tune up requiring all new Spark Plugs, a Fuel System Cleaning, an Air Filter, and new Water Outlet Housing for the Cooling System. According to the technician, this required taking apart the entire engine. I had to rent a car for two days. I picked up my car at ********* on February 20, 2015 and paid $2,167.80 in repair costs. At that time I asked the technician about my front license plate, which was missing, along with the frame and four bolts. The tech checked in the garage and said no one could locate it. One week later, on March 6, 2015, my car started steaming from the engine. I stopped the car and opened the hood. There was steam and white smoke coming from an area of the engine. It looked like something had not been hooked up completely. I waited until it cooled off and drove the vehicle home. I called ********* the next morning and explained the problem. They asked me to drop it off on Saturday March 7, 2015, which I did. They could not look at it until Monday, March 9, 2015, at which time they informed me that the antifreeze system needed a new hose, and that they needed to order parts. I had to get rides to and from work. The parts came in on Tuesday and ********* waited until Tuesday night to tell me that the wrong parts had been delivered and that they had to reorder them. I needed to once again rent a car on Wednesday, March 11, 2015, for which ********* paid. The parts were replaced and the engine put back together. I paid for a new Heater System, and a new Cooling system, coming to a total of $728.20. I picked up my car on Thursday night, March 12, 2015. Friday afternoon, March 13, 2015, I drove the car as far as the entrance to the thruway (only about a mile) and I heard a loud rattling sound in the engine, as if something were falling off and got tangled in the motor. Large volumes of white smoke came out of the back of the car. I had to pull over on the side of the highway and slowly made it to the next closest exit. I have a friend who lives close to the thruway and left the car, still smoking, in their yard. I called ********* and informed them of what happened, whose representative replied, "Wow. Really? That's not supposed to happen." They asked me to bring in the car to look at it and see if they could fix it. I told them I would make a decision about towing it there within a few days as I was going out of town for the weekend. I do not feel comfortable having them try to repair my car. I also had to rent yet another car, which is causing me great financial distress.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund: $2,167.80 plus $728.20 = $2,896.00. I do not want ********* to touch my car again.

Business Response: In regards to complaint id#********;

After reviewing the information provided by ******** ********* ****, this matter has been formally documented and referred to the Bridgestone Retail Operations, LLC. Claims Department. The formal case number assigned for for investigation is: *******. Once a claims advisor is assigned to the case the customer will be contacted directly to discuss having the vehicle inspected to determine a cause of vehicle failure and liability. If at any time Ms. ********* **** would like an update on her case, please contact our consumer affairs team at: ************ with the claim number previously provided for assistance. We are dedicated to resolving this as quickly as possible for Ms. ********* **** and are thankful that this matter has been brought to our attention for proper handling.
Best Regards,
*** ******
Sr. Customer Retention Specialist

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,
******** ********* ****

3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The car has been in and out of dealership for 2 moths originally said needed thermostat the next day car over heated antifreeze everywhere in my car said heating core went 1400.00 later they replaced heating core car steamed up heat didnt work and antifreeze on rugs and windshield and widows always telling me hoses burst clamps came undone they should have never took on the job picked up today again and steam is coming off the engine they ruined my car it smells of antifreeze which i paid 200.00 to have cleaned to have it leaked out again on rugs and spitting out of defrosters all over windows

Desired Settlement: I Feel they ruined my car and i dont feel i am responsible to pay them anything its been tied up all winter long in there business every week with another problem relating to them not knowing what their doing and if my car is working right i feel i am owed that also

Business Response: After speaking with the customer we decided to have her bring her vehicle to our *** ***** Store. The vehicel is being repaired and detailed at no charge, the customer is in a rental vehcile also at no charge. The cusotmer was satisfied with this resolution.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this is not resolved yet some I will not say this claim was satisfied until i receive my car back FIXED

Sincerely,
***** ******

2/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is specifically against********* ******** **** **** ***** # ***** ** ******* **** ******** ** ********** and its manager ***** and assistant manager ****. In November of 2014 I brought my 2008******** *** in with an issue of not hot air blowing from the heater after the car was at running temperature along with the engine light and throttle control warning lights on. At this time it was repaired so I thought. I had to bring the car back in January 2015 with the exact same issue. I was told that it was a faulty part they installed back in November 2014 thermostat.I questions **** why was this not caught back in November 2014? Is it not standard mechanic 101 to check the entire cooling system to make sure there are no other problems? He had no answer but **** did try to push, pressure and convince me that the radiator hoses had to be replaced at the same time. Please note he was in front of his computer and knew the engine and all hoses and such were replaced 4 years and 30,000 miles ago. Also I checked around with car mechanic schools and yes it is mechanic 101 to check the entire cooling system.There was absolutely no reason for the hoses to be changed and I told **** this. Because of this repair taking time I took advantage of there free service of bringing me home and picking me up when it was done. When it came time to pick me up it took over 45 minutes multiple hone calls complaining and two of the companies employees to final pick me up. At this time I filed a complaint with the manager ***** and assistant manager **** along with area manager ***** ********* (who is a good man and manager). Less than 1 month letter for a 3rd time all the exact same issues and warning lights came on while on my way to the pool on Sunday, February 08, 2015. This should have been a one day fix by any measure. It was not. Sunday evening shortly before closing I was told they did not finish it or have the part. On Monday February 09, 2015 I spoke with the manager ***** mid morning and was told the part was on its way from ***** ******* ** (3 towns away). I called several hours later and again spoke with manager ***** who changed his story saying he is having difficulty locating a part. At this point since I was obviously lied to by the manager called ********* corporate and filed a complaint (Complaint # *******). I in the complaint and prior when speaking with the manager ***** demanded the area manager ***** ********* call me regarding this. Later the same day at 3:35 PM ***** ********* called me. I informed him of all the above and various other issues with the Manager ***** and assistant manager **** that d not need to be expressed here and are better handled at the company level. ***** ********* explained he would take care of everything and I would not have to pay for the repairs and that he will make sure it is ready before closing today February 10, 2015. He even went as far to contact me this morning at 10:55 AM informing me that the store has all the parts needed to fix the car and it will be ready before closing today. We even arranged for the store to pick me up bring me to the college and once the car was repaired bring the car to the college and leave the keys with security. Trusting area manager ***** ********* but having no faith in manager ***** or assistant manager **** I thought it would be best to cancel my class tonight. I called and spoke with **** just before this and he told me the car is on track to be completed and to the college before the store closes (7:00 PM). At 2:28 PM I called the store and spoke with the Manager ***** and informed him not to pick me up as I cancelled my class and to call me when the car is done so I can be picked up. At 5:45 PM since I have not heard from manager ***** or assistant manager **** I thought it would be best to call and check on the status. This is when manager ***** told me the part(s) they have had since before 10:55 am this morning has a broken part and my car will not be ready until sometime tomorrow. I informed him this is unacceptable and I do not care if he personally has to role up his sleeves and work on the car it better be ready before midnight. He said he could not do that. I told him he needs to have area ***** ********* cal me immediately (as of 6:46 PM I have not received a call). I immediately called ********* Corporate and added to my complaint and informed them I was filling this complaint. four days for a car coolant issue with a ******** ***** dealer and service center less than 2 miles away from the store. There is no excuse no reason. Being lied to deceived and basically held hostage without a car is not acceptable or allowable. I have been going to this particular ********* Complete Auto Care store since November 25, 2008 and worked with then manager ***** ********* until his promotion in the middle of 2014. Since that time I have had nothing but lies, deception and general lack of customer service with now manager ***** and assistant manager ****.

Desired Settlement: Restitution for lost pay at work. I teach at********* ********* ******* and I work Tuesdays from 6:00 PM until 10:00 PM at $35.00 an hour. I will be happy to supply the BBB or ***** ********* with the contract showing my pay. Restitution for being with out a car for 4 days with no means to obtain money from my bank or to purchase milk and food. A rental of a luxury car from ********** cost $99.99 plus tax per day. This totals $539.96. I am willing to negotiate amount but I want restitution or as I told manager ***** over the phone and in a message left on area manager ***** *********** cell phone I will seek legal council and file a lawsuit with the CT court system. I want***** and **** demoted and removed from this store. I demand this be resolved immediately as if it is not I will go ahead and bring the manager ***** assistant manager and the company to small claims court where I will seek the full amount above plus all fees I incur to file such lawsuit. I can be reached at ************************ and/or (**** ******** Respectfully, ******* ***** ** ****** ** ******** ** ***** **** ******** *** **

Business Response:

On 2/12/2015 ** ***** picked up his car.His car was repaired at no charge.The repairs that were needed for** ****** car were repairs that were not under any kind of warranty.******* ********* repaired these coolant leaks at no charge to try and satisfied ** *****.During the time of the repairs ********* repeatedly oftered** ***** a car rental at no charge to him.** ***** declined this offer several times.On 2/11 ********* delivered ** ****** some of his possesions from his car to his home.At that point in time we also deliverd him $100 cash to be used as cab fair to get around while we worked on his car.** ***** used $90 for 2 cab fairs and purchased himself a salad.On 2/13 I called ** ***** to try and compensate him because of the amount of time it took to repair his car.** ***** requested over $500 I agreeded to compensated him for 2 days of lost wages in the amount of $280.** ****** indicates that this would satisfied himand would close this  BBC claim upon recieving the funds from Firestone.

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              Thank you,

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                ***** ********* Area Manager 1106

 

12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a ********* customer for 10+ years and I have appreciated the workmanship and service they have provided. I have referred close friends who also have been raving about the customer satisfaction they have been receiving from them. I have never had a complaint against the business and all issues have been able to be resolved after speaking to the manager. Recently the work done on my car has been poor. My ****** ****** needed tires and a call was placed to the shop to setup an appointment and to order them. The day of the appointment the store advised me that they forgot to order the tires and I had to wait. They were able to get the order placed and the tires in the following day. My complaint is the next day after I picked up my car on December 3rd; one of my tires was flat after the installation of 4 brand new tires. This is unacceptable since the problem was due to poor installation done by a mechanic. Prior to purchasing the tires they installed a **** kit since I was told it needed to be done. Less than 2 months later they say the **** piece was the wrong one installed. All this time I have been driving around on faulted equipment. This is the same piece they had to replace 4 times due since they were not able to tell which one was compatible with my car. Previous manager that I have spoken with have built a relationship with have never allowed me to return more than once after a mechanic error. Recently I have been finding myself constantly to ********* for the poor workmanship done on my vehicles. I have reached out to the ********* complaint department and I spoke with a female name ***** who took my complaint at 8:00 in the morning on December 4th. She told me that I will receive a call within the next 48 hours from a district manager. I haven't heard from the business since. My reference number for the complaint is *******.

Desired Settlement: My complaint is for the poor workmanship of the mechanics and for the store manager. I feel a credit is due to my ********* card for the amount of the tires. I have been a loyal customer to the business and I have never experience this type of customer service. I have never called their corporate office for any issue and the first time I have a serious one after 10 years I have not seen any customer appreciation for being that loyal customer. I have probably spent over 10,000 at ********* and I have paid off my ********* credit that had a limit of 1,000 twice already.

Business Response: Customer has been refunded in full for tire purchase. Store felt that the customer had been inconvenienced on numerous occasions and was deserving of the refund that they were requesting. Customer is very pleased and will continue doing business.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********.

I did tell the business manager I will not be doing business with this company due to yet another poor experience. I will say the manager was apologetic  and provided a refund.

11/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to ********* ******** **** ******* * ** ******** *** ** *** ******** ** for new tires and an oil change on 9/11/2014. While they were installing the tires a service representative came out and told me that my rear passenger brake pad was worn. I told him I just had the brakes done 2 years ago and to leave it alone. Next he came back to me and said the tires couldn't be aligned because there was play in the idler arm. I told him I had just had that replaced last year. He gave me an estimate for $300 to fix the idler arm. I told him I would go back to my mechanic because the 2 items were still under warranty. The next day I went to my mechanic and had him check the brake and idler arm and there was nothing wrong with either. I then went to another place to get the tires aligned and they did it. I asked the mechanic if anything was wrong with the idler arm and he also said nothing was wrong with it. I then went back to ********* to complain and asked them why they had said the 2 items were bad. The salesman hemmed and hawed and said to bring it back and they would recheck it, I told him I would never be back and that I had wasted enough of my time already. They had also charged me for Road Hazard Protection ($80.40) without asking if I wanted it, so I had them remove it from my bill. I was completely disgusted with the way the operate their business and will never use them again and I will tell everyone I know not to use them. They are very unethical and try to rip people off.

Desired Settlement: I don't want ********* to be giving false information to customers about expensive so-called problems with their cars. Also I would like their policy changed to asking customers first if they want other protection policies added on to there bills. I'm 68 and would like to feel that if I go somewhere for service that it will be done, without having the bill padded with other very expensive charges.

Business Response: Hello I am ***** ******* **** ****** *** *** *** ******* store. I have spoken to the customer and have assured her that I can verify whether the parts reccomended were needed for her car if she were to bring it back >At this time she does not wish to do that. I apologized for the perceived treatment she received  and assured her that if she has any other issues she can contcat me personally. I have left her my number if she has any further concerns

11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i own a 2008 *** ******. On june 18, 2014 i entered ********* to purchase four tires. The sales associate advised me, that a free standard oil change would be included with the purchase. my car was worked on by ********* service technician ***** *****. a few months later, after driving approximately 1,000 miles on September 10th, i heard my car making a funny sound, so i took the car into *********. when the technician looked at my car, there was no oil, apparently, the technician that was supposed to have completed the oil change on june 18, drained the oil, but never replaced the oil. So the second technician added 2 quarts, no charge, to my car. Shortly after leaving *********, my vehicle broke down... unfortunately, it was too late, the damage was done, and my engine was blown. I returned to *********, and advise the manager what had happened to my vehicle, which he replied that it wasnt *********'s fault, as i should have checked my vehicle's oil. I dont understand this response. If their technician had done his job correctly, this wouldn't have happened, as my vehicle had no problems prior to his indecent. I do have a mechanic note that worked on my vehicle approx 3 months prior to visiting ********* that indicates my car was in great working condition. the next oil change wasnt due until September 18, so i dont understand why they would think me, or anyone else would check the oil. I have had to purchase a new engine, pay a mechanic to put it in, and rent a vehicle while my car was being repaired.

Desired Settlement: I would like for ********* to reimburse me for the cost of the new motor, the mechanics fee, as well as the cost of the rental vehicle while my vehicle was being repaired. $2,000.00 for the motor, $1,500.00 for the mechanic to put it in, and so far, $175.00 in rental fees.

Business Response: When we received this complaint it was identified as a damage claim issue and a claim was started by our claims department. Our claims agent has attempted to contact Mr. ******* but he has not returned the calls. Additionally, a message was left explaining the claims process and an independent inspector was assigned to the claim. The inspector tried reaching Mr. ******* to set up an inspection but also has not been able to reach him. If Mr. ******* is still interested in pursuing the claim have him contact Mr. ****** ********* in our claims office at ###-###-####. If Mr. ******* is not willing to have his vehicle reinspected for the claim, please close the complaint.

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am complaining about an incomplete diagnosis to my car and an increase bill amount upon having to bring the car back a second time. The initial work in my opinion was never done.

Desired Settlement: $828.42

Business Response: Website Complaint Response:

Incomplete diagnosis Had to bring car back a second time Customer requested her $828.42 back Store granted customers request
8/19/2014 4:30:29 PM

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *****

Business Response:

I am inquiring about the above claim. I received the letter asking if I was in agreement with the resolve of refunding me the monies paid to which I said I am.  I am writing to see what the next step is. To date, I have not received my refund of $828+ from Firestone. Can you let me know what the hold up is or whatever else on my part needs to be done? I thank you!

 

****** ***** ** ** ********* **********

******** ******** ******** *** ******* **** ***** ****

************ ** *****

###-###-####phone

###-###-#### fax

 


Business Response:

I am inquiring about the above claim. I received the letter asking if I was in agreement with the resolve of refunding me the monies paid to which I said I am.  I am writing to see what the next step is. To date, I have not received my refund of $828+ from Firestone. Can you let me know what the hold up is or whatever else on my part needs to be done? I thank you!

 

****** ***** ** ** ********* **********

******** ******** ******** *** ******* **** ***** ****

************ ** *****

###-###-####phone

###-###-#### fax

 


Business Response: We apologize for the delay. Ms. ***** should be receiving her check within the next 7-10 days. Thank you for making us aware of this matter.

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello Im getting in touch hoping there is someway you can help. I dropped my car off at ********* *********** ** location. When I dropped it off the car was in running condition the car was driven that day. An hour later I show up and the tech **** told me he noticed my timing chain jumped 4 teeth so he went to reset it and the engine seized all this without informing me before hand or giving me the option to have someone else do the work. Then proceeded to tell me it cant be fixed and I need a new engine and its $7100.

Desired Settlement: Replace the engine that seized due to the attempted repair or return the car to the working order it was given to them in.

Business Response:

*** ****** had contacted a towing company to tow his vehicle to our store because the engine was making noises. When the tow truck arrived the store employees pushed the vehicle into a bay to check out. It was found out later that the tow truck driver had started the vehicle to drive it on the tow truck. This may have been where the damage occured. Our store never started the engine and advised *** ****** that the engine needed to be replaced. Our claims department sent an independent inspector out to inspect the vehicle and determined this was not caused by our store. This was a pre-existing condition that was exasperated by the towing company driving the vehicle on the tow truck. His claim was denied based on the information provided.

2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife's 2006 ******* Mountaineer was brought to Firestone ******** for diagnosis of an electrical issue. After replacing the battery in one visit, the alternator in another, the battery again in another, the store manager said to take it to the dealer and he woul pay for diagnosis and "make it right". The vehicle had also been in numerous times for a hesitation and loss of power where they replaced the throttle body twice. The symptoms with that kept happening as well. The comment by the store manager to a AAA rep was " my guys aren't good with electrical diag anyway". After aweek at the dealer they diagnosed the electrical as the main junction box and our loss of powe and hesitation as a a transmission problem. We went through almost a year of aggravation and inconvenience and Firestones offer was to refund for what they did and pay for the diagnosis at the dealer? That doesn't make us whole nor does it "make it right". Everytime we brought our car back they had it for days, sometimes a week and not once were we offered a rental for their misdiagnosis and unnecessary repairs. When I bring my vehicle to the dealer for an oil change I get a loner! On top of it all when we complained we received the run around for over aweek before I called corporate to be told that they didn't do anything from the store level as they said they did, that's not very honest practice. We feel as we have been lied to, treated terribly after being GREAT customers, and have lost ALL trust in Firestone as a company. At this point we simply want to be made whole with refund of our battery/alternator/ throttle body, refunded for the dealer diagnosis, and reimbursed for the repair if the junction box - WHICH WAS THE ISSUE FROM DAY ONE THEY MISDIAGNOSED! We feel that's more than fair considering how much of our time Firestone wasted that we will never get back.

Desired Settlement: At this point we simply want to be made whole with refund of our battery/alternator/ throttle body, refunded for the dealer diagnosis, and reimbursed for the repair of the junction box - WHICH WAS THE ISSUE FROM DAY ONE THEY MISDIAGNOSED! We feel that's more than fair considering how much of our time Firestone wasted that we will never get back and we have to pay to have the transmission rebuilt which was the other issue we brought it in for and were run around on misdiagnosis.

Business Response: WE HAVE LOCATED HIS CLAIM CASE AND REVIEWED THE FILE WITH OUR CLAIMS DEPARTMENT. ACCORDING TO THE CASE FILE LIABILITY WAS DENIED. HOWEVER, AS CUSTOMERS SATISFACTION A FULL REFUND OF OUR SERVICE WAS OFFERED. THE NOTES ALSO INDICATE MANAGEMENT MADE A TOTAL GOODWILL SETTLEMENT OFFER OF $1341.47 WHICH IS ABOVE THE ORIGINAL REFUND OF SERVICE IN AN ATTEMPT TO HELP RESOLVE THIS IN AN AMICABLE MANNER. AFTER REVIEWING HIS CASE AGAIN WITH CLAIMS THE CURRENT GOODWILL OFFER OF $1,341.47 STILL STANDS AND WILL BE A FINAL OFFER. IF HE WOULD LIKE TO ACCEPT THIS OFFER OR DISCUSS HIS CLAIM FURTHER, PLEASE HAVE HIM CONTACT HIS ASSIGNED ADVISOR ***** ***** DIRECTLY AT ###-###-####.

2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 7/01/13 131,154 miles Firestone did oil change, rear bakes (pads, and rotors) and replaced two tires. on 9/16/13133,508 miles the back end of the car was shaking and stiring wheel would when i hit the brakes. I ask them to check my back brakes or put it on the machine. He said he would take it for a test drive and he did. He told me the transmission was going and I replied that wouldn't make the back end of my car shake and you did put on the machine tosee whats wrong with the brakes. On decemeber 13, 2013 my son I was on I way home from his game. It was snowing and icy on the roads coming home from my son basketball game. I made a left turn on to my street I pass about three homes and the back end of the car started coming forwared.I was hitting the brakes and the car wouldn't stop. The car was going into a neighbor home and I end up hitting a tree in the yard. The office came out and did a police report and told me my fishtailed. I called auto insurance and started a claim for body repair. On Janurary9,2014 i picked my car up from ******* Auto Body Of Avon . I park the car in garge thursday. Friday morning I take my son to school on my way home started smelling odor in the car . I picked my son up from school and could still smell the same odor in the car. I was on my way home from my son basketball game the smell was so strong in the car my asked me what is that smell and I replied i don't know but starting to make me sick. I pulled the car over and started vomitting on the side of the road. My son got out of the car because there was smoke coming from back end of the car between the tire and he replied mom it smells bad like dead dogs. I parked the car in the garage and called ******* Auto Body Of Avon. They tolled the back to the shop . After checking the car ***** ****** manger from ******* told me to take the car to who ever did the brakes. They didn't do the brakes right and you can't drive this car its not safe. I called Firestone in ********** and he said b

Desired Settlement: I want my brakes fixed and deductible 500.00 , pain and stuffing. They offer to give my money back from body repairs the 4,304.11.On January 14,2014 ****** ***** asked if i want my money back for auto repairs. I went to doctor because I was nausea for four days my doctor think came from inhaling fuse from brake fluid. I want to compensate for not having a vehicle.

Business Response: Thank you for letting us know about Ms. ********'s claim issue. Our claims department investigated this matter and sent an independent inspector out to determine if our store was responsible for the current failure of her vehicle. The inspector indicated that the failure was not related to our service and her claim was denied. Since the claim was denied there was no offer to pay for the repairs. We would recommend that she contact her insurance company to have them re-inspect her car.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: They are response for the brake  the brake were repair by Firestone. They didn't fix the brakes properly. When took my car back to Firestone in 7/01/13  told them the back end on my car was shaking a lot when hit the brakes. I ask them to put my car on a machine, he took my car for test drive and told me the transmission was going and maybe front brakes need to be repaired. On December13/2013 my son and I were coming home from his basketball game in a snowing storm and tried to stop a light and my car weren't stop. I ended up turn on to my street and driving for 1 mile and the back end of the car started coming forward and I tried to stop again and couldn't . The car and I end up in a neighbor yard I almost hit their house but I hit a tree in the yard . I called the police officer and my car insurance . The police officer told me my car fishtailed.My car insurance toll my car on 12/16/2013 to ******* for the car to be repaired and rent me a car until repairs were finished. the car was damaged on the rear passenger side . I picked my car up on 1/9/2013 drove my car home and parked in the garage.  On Saturday evening coming back from my son basketball game the car started to smell bad in the car. I had to pull over because I was getting sick. When I pull over and tried to get out I started vomiting and son got out the car and said the car was smoking.i I was 2miles from the house. I came the house and called the ******* and told them the problem and they had the car toll back to them to see what was wrong and it was the brakes and I was told to take the car back to Firestone.  The brakes were repaired properly.  I called Firestone and got a claim represented name ****** ***** ###-###-#### and said they would take care of the problem with the brakes. On 1/17/2014 my car was toll back to ******* and that they would send inspector out to look at my car.On 1/22/2014 ****** ***** asked my if I want my money back for the repairs done on my car for body work. I  didn't what to say and replied I didn't know I had to make decides right now on what I want . I want my car fixed because I don't have a car and i will let you know late what I want .    I was without car until 1/23/2014 because the inspector hadn't inspect the car. ****** rent me a car on 1/23/2014. On 1/24/2014 ****** said the claim was denied and that I would have to turn the car . I talk to auto insurance 1/27/2014  ******** ****** ###-###-#### about  my car she said this is a mechanic problem and ******* inspected the car and told Firestone this is because the brakes. I needed my car toll back from ******* to my house were they toll it from and I needed car rental until my car is fixed by Firestone .

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/26/2013, I took my car to Firestone Complete Auto Care ** ******** ****** *** ******* for a antifreeze leak. They told my a need a gasket and a thermostat, so the work was down and I was charged $314.00. On 12/31/13, I went out started my car to warm up and notice antifreeze dropping from my vehicle, that I video record with my cell phone. I called Firestone they had me bring the card down. As they checked it, they told me I needed a new radiator and that the job with parts was statemented to $480.00. I sat in Firestone from 9am-2pm, for them to tell me that its not my radiator and that I needed a new water-pump and timing chain pricing me at $823.00 or more. I took the vehicle home and dropped it off @ noon on 1/1/2014. They did not start working on my vehicle until 1/2/2014. I called them up that afternoon and they told me that the car would be ready for 5p.m., yet apond my arrival the vehicle was still on the lift. About 6:45p.m., the service man asked if I had the car towed in. I told him NO, I drove it in myself. Then he tells my that my idol wasn't adjusting and when the car is put gear it shuts off. I told him to take me to my vehicle, so he did. I notice that my engine was shaking and told him, WHY IS MY ENGINE SHAKING SO MUCH, IT WAS NOT SHAKING AT ALL WHEN I BROUGHT IN TO GET FIX. They told me that they wanted to keep the vehicle over night so they can work on it again in the morning.It just been one thing after another and I don't think I should have to pay full price for my vechicle to get fixed. I believe they are doing things to it so I would have to spend more money on it.

Desired Settlement: I was charged a total of 1,137.00 within a week of taking my vehicle to firestone. The problem was not fixed from the first time and now they are giving me more issues. Not to mention holding it for 2 to 3 days, to do a 4 hour job. It is stressful that I have to find a ride to work very day since the 2nd of January of 2014.

Business Response:

Store Manager *** ****** talked to customer and they came to the agreement of taking $300 off of the service price. Customer left satisfied and will remain a loyal Firestone customer.

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to get the clutch fix at firestone in *********** ** because i was there for the summer and because I wanted a place that would have another branch once I go back to *********. and I explain to them that I will be leaving in less than a week and i will be driving back to ********* ****** from *********** **.they gave me an estimate to get the clutch fixed, and they told me there is some seals that need to be replaced. and told that there is a leak in the back and there is seals that needs to be replaced. first bill was $1568.40 Parts $699.96 and labor $749.79and soon as it was done, on the same day I started hearing weird nose in the back took it back to them, and they told me something else is damaged in the back and it needs to be replaced.another long list of thing that got fixed and replaced, and the second bill was $1518.45 Parts $567.84 labor $859.94I walked into their place to get only my clutch fixed.less than a day after I took it back my steering wheel oil started pouring from the car. couldnt drive it for even a block took it to another garage (***** *************) and I showed them the list that firestone repaired, and they pointed out that its a was sloppy work, might be double charged for a lot of things, and they were some parts missing, one was damaged during installation, and showed me a factory seal that was supposedly replaced. they redid the lr axle seal, rear differential cover gasket( needed to be removed to do the axle seal).cleaned out the excess rtv in the rear differential. Replaced the missing grommet on the rf valve cover.I ended up paying $871.47 at ***** ************* to fix what was in the car, and to fixed what firestone did fix properly, and they didnt charge for couple other seals because i just paid to get a lot of things fixed, and they took picture of everything that wasnt fixed properly or still damaged

Desired Settlement: I called them and asked for a refund for the things that I paid to get them replaced at ***** *************, and the parts and labor that I paid for them because, I feel its my right to have a good work done on my car if i was paying $119/hr for labor, and the damaged part that I have on the car.I want a refund for the parts and labor, pay more than $3000 to fix my car deserved having a way better service.

Business Response:

From: ****** ****
Sent: Tuesday, November 12, 2013 1:01 PM
To: ************* ***
Cc: *********************
Subject: RE: You have a New Message from BBB Serving Connecticut Regarding Complaint #*******

 Good morning ***,

Mr. ******’s complaint is currently being investigated by our claims department.  They have been in constant contact with him and are working on a resolution.  Our office will respond to ******** at the BBB when this has been resolved with claims.

Thanks,

****

Business Response: Dear Ms *******,

It appears that the power steering rack and pinion failure may have been an issue of time and mileage that worsened when our store disturbed the area while replacing the inner tie rod end connected to the rack and pinion. Our claims department agreed to reimburse him for the cost of the repairs performed at the independent shop in the amount of $871.47 since it was possible that the failure occurred during our service. Additionally, Mr. ****** questioned a possible double charge and after review it appeared there was some overlapping labor unintentionally charged in the amount of $113.30 less the 10% discount given totaling $101.97. Mr. ****** also mentioned having to rent a car and stay at a motel during the repairs so our claims agent requested invoices for these items but he never received them. In an effort to resolve this matter for Mr. ******, our claims agent offered a settlement of $871.47 + $101.97 = $973.44 for the repairs and overlapping labor plus another $500 to cover the car rental and motel stay without having documentation provided. The total reimbursement should have been $1473.44 but the claims agent rounded this up to an even $1500. Mr. ****** is requesting far more than he is entitled to and has not provided the documentation to support his request. We feel the offer made by us was a fair one but Mr. ****** has declined it. It is our understanding that the offer is still open at this time should he choose to accept it.

 

Sincerely,

**** *****, SCRS

Bridgestone Retail Operations, LLC

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
they didnt ask for any ducomentation for what i spent while i was waitting for yhe car.

i attached the receipt with the highlighted questionable charges, and i took my car with the receipts and the pictures to three mechanices to try to figure out what happened, and they agreed on the same thing, i was over charged and the whole thing is not right, i have in writting in the last page of the atrached file, the work was not done right,
i will attach the pictures in another email if i have to, but the ***** ************* had to redo a lot of work, and they changed a thing that had a warranty on it, and fixed thing without charging for them because they even thought that it was fair to be treated like that from anyone,
they even found a seal that it said on the re,eipt that it was replacex, but when they checked it, it was still the factory seal, so why on the receipt it said that it was changed.
and after explainimg to me from several mechanics that most of the work, if it was the correct way the first time i wouldnt have to go there there, but its a common mistake that mechanic fall for, and it will cause more damage
 
i asked to refund me 2500 since most of the twork wasnt done right or was dont in a poor, i then i asked them to take off the parts from the second receipt, and add it to double charged parts plus ***** ************* receipt, which bring it to$2216.21 
Sincerely,

******** ******

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/25/2013 I had a rear tail light out and Firestone said they could replace it. I went down and gave the information to the desk person, saying I needed a rear light replaced. After awhile they moved my car into the garage. I could see the car and the workman from a window in the waiting room. I went to look and saw a repairman standing at the right front of my car with the hood up. I woundered what he was doing with the hood up. But I also saw that the front tire on the car was flat. I got upset and went to the desk to say " What is he doing with the hood up and my front tire is flat. I was told that the tire was low when they moved it in. They took the tire off and showed me where there was a puncture. He said it was probably low when I brought it down to the service center. I have warning lights for low tire pressure and never saw a warning light traveling to the Firestone Auto Care.They fixed the tire and gave me a bill for $90.65. When I left my tire light came on so I returned to the Firestone Auto Care. They finally got that to stop but told me I had underinflated tires and they raised the pressure to make the light go out. Later, I checked my lights and the rear tail light was out.I complainedbut got nowhere

Desired Settlement: Removal of charge for replacement of front headlight $53.88 or some kind of checking on this business. The order sheet says check L/F light when it should have said left rear light.( if you were sitting in the car. I went to the ****** ******* the next day and they replaced my rear light for nothing. The total cost when the tire repair was included was $90.65

Business Response: Store Manager Spoke to Customer and refunded amount requested, customer satisfied with result.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ********

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been dealing with Firestone for over a few yrs now. I took my vehicle for a catalytic converter repair and throughout the repairs they have not fixed the problem. I have a record of receipts where my vehicle still has the same problem. I need to be reimbursed and have my vehicle repaired elsewhere due to the fact that they do not know how to repair my car. Product_Or_Service: catalytic converter

******** ** - *** *******, CT Firestone.
AND
****** **, ********, CT Firestone.

Desired Settlement: Either repair it or reimburse me all my expenses so can have it repaired properly. I have a case with you already please refer to those and I will mail out the remainder of the receipts.

Business Response: Customer would need to bring the vehicle into one of our store and we will need to review all receipts  We will need to inspect and diagnose car which we will perform atr no charge. Please have customer contact * ********* at ********** to set up store visit

10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My father went to Firestone Autocare today (09/18/13) for a diagnosis and repair. Because he did not speak English, I was talking on the phone with their Service Manager *** the whole time. While driving back to NH, his 2002 ****** kept stopping on the highway, so he drove to the nearest mechanic for a checkup. After a half an hour diagnosis I was told by the technician at Firestone that it was a problem with the catalytic converter. I was assured that once the converter was changed, the car would move without an issue. After comprising on price of parts and labor the car was repaired after 2 hours of service. Total bill came to around $1225.00 parts and all and was paid with a credit card. I was again assured that the parts were under warranty for 2-4 years, and that the problem was resolved. Half an hour after my Dad drove away, I received a call from him saying that the problem was still there. After hours of waiting, and $1225 spent, the car was still stopping in the middle of the highway in the middle of the night and the "check engine" light still on (meaning catalytic converter problem was not resolved). I am angry and frustrated that we spent so much money only to put my Dad's life in danger. Our home in NH is 3 hours away from the store, so any next day evaluation will be difficult.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the management at Firestone to reimburse me the money that I had paid for the service, or some form of compensation. Because we live 3 hrs away, it will be hard for us to drive all the way to CT to have them repair our car. It would be best if they are willing to pay for services that a local mechanic has done for us.

Business Response:

Refunded customer $1,225.94 for repairs done at the ******* Firestone Store. Cusotmer is satisfied with the resolution.

10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday the 23rd of September I had brought my car into Firestone in ******* to get my wheel bearing done. The first thing I noticed that the price was too high. I felt that I was getting ripped off. The mechanic working on my car kept taking time to talk with friends and text instead of working on my car. The manager *** had came in and told me it was taking a long time due to my car was rusted and they were having problems with the abs. I noticed the mechanic putting on my tires and then retaking them off. My sister has asked why and he said it was not right. I could see the mechanic getting mad and throwing tools around. A couple days later after getting my car back. My car on the highway started making strange noise and then my tcs, abs,and check engine light came on. I had been in contact with the corporate already to talk about getting ripped off. I had called him and told him, that I was having problems with my car. He asked me to go back I said I will not go back to that store. I went to the *** ****** location. Where the mechanic had told me that my wheel bearings were so bad. That the ******* store had did such a bad job. They put my life at risk. They had scammed me a few times. I pay $616 to only find out that the job was done so bad. I could of had a accident due to them not doing their job right. The manager at the ******* store has tried to screw me over a few times. I am not at all happy with what has happened. It seems like the corporate guy does not care about what happened. I have witness who can also say they know I got lied to and screwed.

Desired Settlement: I only think its fair to get my money back due to the following reasons, one they put my life at risk, I was scared be on the highways and having car issues, I was lied to and screwed over. Be on the highway doing 65miles the last thing you want is for your car to make noise that is scaring you and for all your lights to come on. I think its on fair to get my money back.

Business Response: It is our understanding that our district office has contacted Ms. ********* and resolved this matter with her. She agreed to a refund of $200 as a customer satisfaction.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Yes that was what happened at firestone. 2 days later im on the highway when my car kicked back and started making noises, shaking and my tcs and abs lights came on. I had called *** he asked me to go to ******* firestone I refused to due I did not feel comfortable going there. He asked me to go to the *** ****** location I agreeded. I go there and thr manager ***** came in and told me they looked at the wheel bearing he told me it was terrible.  That what that ******* office did a horrible job doing my wheel bearings. He asked when can I leave the car I said it will have to be monday. He then told me that he does not feel comfortable letting me drive this car it is unsafe. So after agreeing to the $200. That was before I found out that my car was unsafe due to ******* firestone.  I dont think you or *** understand. That firestone put my life at risk. Here I am young girl on the highway doing almost 70 and having bad car problems. I was scared try to pull over safely not knowing whats wrong. To hear the mechanic telling me my car was so bad, they had did such a bad job. That is not ok. I was scary going thru this. If I had known at first hoe bad my car was I would have asked for my full money back. When I agree to the $200 I haf no idea my life was at risk. I believe its only right to get my money back. For putting my life at risk, I missed some work time having my car break and having to go to the shop, and waste of gas.

Sincerely,

***** *********

Business Response: Spoke to csutomer today 10/01/13. Refunded the total amount to customer, customer is very satisfied.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *********

9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/5/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a ********* ******** liner from ** ***** in 2007. Unfortunately the liner did not hold up and wound up leaking. The liner had a 20 yr warranty. This repair is going to wind up costing us a huge chunk of $$ since we just had the flagstone cemented on the liner. Either that particular liner was defective or ********* makes an inferior product. Unfortunately I have found *********** customer service to be wavering and confusing. At first they said they wouldn't replace the liner, then they said they would replace the liner, and then then said they wouldn't replace the liner. I am perplexed and unsettled by the fact that they would rescind an offer to replace the defective liner. Does ********* stand behind their product? After reading the forums, I see that other retailers have replaced defective liners. I would like my money refunded. The receipt details are below. The liner did not last and should have been covered under their warranty. After their unsettling customer service issues, I would like my $140.40 refunded. Rose ** ***** ********* ** *** ***** ** * ****************************************This pond liner comes with a 20 year manufactures warrant******************************************************** Product_Or_Service: ********* ******** Liner 45mil Order_Number: ***************** Th

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund the $140.40 I paid

7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Came into Firestone Auto in Waterbury to have my front brakes checked out because of a pulsation I felt on the steering wheel as well as brake pedal,Alerted the representative that I knew the rear rotors,Calipers and Pads were bad.Dropped off my car and they told me that because of my rear brakes I was experiencing the pulsation issues,I questioned them at first and they assured me that would fix my issue.I was hesitant at first and decided to go ahead and do as they told me because I had thought they were a reputable shop.Picked up my car and asked what the condition was of my front brakes and they said they were fine.I then drove my car and immediately noticed the same pulsation and returned to Firestone so they could re-evaluate the situation,After they re-evaluated I found out they never even measured the thickness of my front rotors or even test drive the vehicle to verify my concerns,The manager never even apologized.Worst experience ever,I will never return to Firestone.

Desired Settlement: My desired would be some sort of compensation for their dishonesty.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/12) */ Store Manager of the Waterbury Firestone store contacted customer and resolved issue, vehicle is repaired and customer is satisfied.

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car to Firestone, Stamford, for a battery w/ a 5 yr warranty on 7/18/2008. My car would not start on 4/29/2013.I called AAA and they jump started my car, tested my system and told me I only needed a battery.When I called Firestone in Stamford, I was told my warranty was expired.I went there and showed my receipt and pushed them to prorate.After over an hour wait, I was told I needed $1000.00 (one thousand dollars) in repairs,not just a battery, but new alternator,and recommended a serpentine belt. I told them that AAA checked the car, tested the system,and found nothing wrong, except needing a battery. Firestone told me they would not give me a warranty if I only purchased a battery, because there were other problems with the car that I was not taking care of.I told them I would not buy a battery without a warranty. After a long wait of letting them "talk to the manager to see what they could do",at their suggestion.and "putting notes in the computer", I took my car and left.I went directly to ********,Stamford, had a new battery quickly installed for approx. $130.00.They told me my serpentine belt was "like new" and had no cracks.The next day I went to ********, Norwalk and had my system tested, which verfied that my alternator was fine.I feel that Firestone falsly manipulated the "data" they showed me, to take advantage of a single woman. The others in the waiting room were women /elderly. Product_Or_Service: Car Battery Order_Number: Invoice #XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I would like Firestone to send me a check for the prorated 5 year warranty on my battery purchased 7/18/2008.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/02) */ spoke with cust and refunded her $100 for her troubles, cust is satisfied with the outcome Consumer Response /* (2110, 7, 2013/05/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the partial settlement response from the business.) On 5/1/13 I was told, on the phone, that I would be sent a $100 check. As of 5/9/13 I have not received it. I ****** provide an update when I actually receive the check and it clears in my bank account. In addition, after I submitted my complaint , I discovered that Firestone left the metal bracket and bolts (which secure the plastic cover, for the trunk mounted battery), loose in the trunk.This could have resulted in a safety issue, with explosive gases building up in the trunk.The metal bracket secures the plastic cover that secures the seal so the battery gases vent outside the car. I did explain this on the phone and the response was something to the effect of "every car being different " and not being able to address that point.The failure to reattach this seal, which is necessary to prevent explosive gases from building up in the trunk is both negligent and outrageous. I was told, on the phone, that I would be sent $100 check, but I have not received it yet. I ****** provide an update when I actually receive the check and it clears in my bank account. In addition, after I submitted my complaint , I discovered that Firestone left the metal bracket and bolts (which secure the plastic cover, for the trunk mounted battery), loose in the trunk.This could have resulted in a safety issue, with explosive gases building up in the trunk.The metal bracket secures the plastic cover that secures the seal so the battery gases vent outside the car. I did explain this on the phone and the response was something to the effect of "every car being different " and not being able to address that point. Consumer Response /* (-5, 8, 2013/05/09) */ The statement by Firestone that I was refunded $100 is not accurate.I was offered the $100 check on the phone and verbally accepted it, but I do not have it as of 5/9/2013. The person I spoke to was very courteous and admitted they made a mistake, but portrayed it as an error and not intentionally taking advantage. No responsibilty was admitted for the safety risk of the unsecured battery in my trunk. Consumer Response /* (-5, 9, 2013/05/09) */ The statement by Firestone that I was refunded $100 is not accurate.I was offered the $100 check on the phone and verbally accepted it, but I do not have it as of 5/9/2013. The person I spoke to was very courteous and admitted they made a mistake, but portrayed it as an error and not intentionally taking advantage. No responsibilty was admitted for the safety risk of the unsecured battery in my trunk.

4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car to Firestone (Norwich,CT) to have an emissions test done. After the test was done, I was walking to my car when I noticed a big deep scratch on the rear bumper. I went back inside and complained. The manager went out to look at it with me and then he insisted that it happened before I brought it in, he said it looks like someone tried to buff it out (I believe they quickly tried to do so, which also made the paint surrounding the scratch look faded!)He tried to convince me that they couldn't have scratched it and tried to buff it in such little time. So all in all, the scratch was not there before I brought it in, they tried to cover there tracks (only to make it look worse), then instead of owning up to it they lied about it and insulted my intelligence by saying it was already there when I know it was not.

Desired Settlement: I feel it is appropriate for Firestone to pay for the scratch to be repaired at a establishment of my choosing (NOT at Firestone).

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/16) */ please contact ****** at XXX-XXX-XXXX. (district representative) i would like to tlk to you about this. I have tried calling your phone number XXX-XXX-XXXX and it states that your mailbox is full. While i await your call i will do some investigating at the Norwich Firestone concerning the matter

3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/22/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service