BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

Bridgestone Retail Operations, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (860) 613-2901 Fax: (860) 613-0222 View Additional Phone Numbers 136 Berlin Rd Ste 117, Cromwell, CT 06416

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

According to information in BBB files, this company operates a chain of more than 1,700 company-owned automotive tire and service stores throughout the United States.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bridgestone Retail Operations, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bridgestone Retail Operations, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 32 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

32 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 26
Total Closed Complaints 32

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bridgestone Retail Operations, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1900 Business started locally: 01/01/1900 Business incorporated: 12/20/2001 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle, State of CT Dept. of
60 State St, Wethersfield CT 06109
www.ct.gov/dmv
Phone Number: (860) 263-5055
mail@dmvct.org

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Lott, Director Consumer Affairs Mr. Dan Artzerounian, District Manager Mr. Chris Bernier, Manager Mr. Robert Brophy, Manager Mr. Frank Carbone, Manager Mr. Gary Carella, Manager Mr. John Cronin, Manager Mr. Frank DeGrasse, Manager Mr. Robert DiMauro, Manager Mr. Roger Gabriel, Manager Mr. Rick Hanson, Manager Mr. Bryan Holland, Manager Mr. Rich Korda Mr. Abe Lami, Manager Mr. Abe Lami, Manager Mr. Gary Lamontagne, Manager Mr. David Manship, Manager Mr. Perry Mastrobattisto, Manager Mr. Robert Medlar, Manager Mr. Mike Memery, Manager Mr. Frank Mingel, Manager Mr. Joe Novello, Manager Mr. Michael Nowek, Manager Mr. Bryan O'Kelly, Manager Mr. Joao Outeiro, Manager Mr. Bill Perdue, Chief Operating Officer Ms. Carol Tate, District Office Manager Mr. Scott Thyrring, Manager Mr. Terrence Towers, Manager Mr. Matthew Vece, Manager Mr. Marc Veillette, Manager Mr. Pawel Wieczerzak, Manager Mr. Scott Zimmerman, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Lott, Director Consumer Affairs
Business Category

Tire Dealers Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Parking Facilities Tire Retread & Repair Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies Battery Supplies Tire Distributors & Manufacturers Battery Repairing & Rebuilding Tire Dealers (NAICS: 441320)

Alternate Business Names
Firestone Complete Auto Care & Tires Plus
Business Management

Dan Artzerounian, District Manager at (860)613-2901.


Additional Locations

  • 1063 Boston Post Rd

    Milford, CT 06460 (203) 878-6859

  • 1145 Tolland Tpke

    Manchester, CT 06042 (860) 646-1761

  • 1197 Barnum Ave

    Stratford, CT 06614 (203) 377-7878

  • 1262 S Broad St

    Wallingford, CT 06492 (203) 237-8999

  • 136 Berlin Rd Ste 117

    Cromwell, CT 06416 (860) 613-2901 (860) 635-6355

  • 139 Putnam Blvd

    Glastonbury, CT 06033 (860) 633-4045

  • 164 Federal Rd

    Brookfield, CT 06804 (203) 775-1295

  • 2300 Dixwell Ave

    Hamden, CT 06514 (203) 288-1634

  • 251 W Main St

    Norwich, CT 06360 (860) 889-9897

  • 288 Queen St

    Southington, CT 06489 (860) 628-9621

  • 300 John St

    Bridgeport, CT 06604

  • 327 Hartford Tpke

    Vernon Rockville, CT 06066 (860) 871-2456

  • 33 Palomba Dr Ste 1

    Enfield, CT 06082 (860) 741-6550

  • 371 Cottage Grove Rd

    Bloomfield, CT 06002 (860) 243-8213

  • 45 Truman St

    New London, CT 06320 (860) 443-4361

  • 55 Chestnut St

    New Britain, CT 06051 (860) 229-0348

  • 680 Chapel St

    New Haven, CT 06510 (203) 787-1208

  • 686 W Main St

    Branford, CT 06405 (203) 488-1712

  • 700 Farmington Ave

    Bristol, CT 06010 (860) 584-2727

  • 750 Kings Hwy E

    Fairfield, CT 06825 (203) 367-3674

  • 809 Wolcott St

    Waterbury, CT 06705 (203) 754-6119

  • 892 E Main St

    Stamford, CT 06902 (203) 327-2930

  • 99 Railroad Pl

    Danbury, CT 06810 (203) 748-3576

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Headquarters:50 Century Blvd

    Nashville, TN 37214

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Retail Headquarters:333 E Lake St

    Bloomingdale, IL 60108

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 333-6188(Phone)
  • (860) 635-6355(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife's 2006 ******* Mountaineer was brought to Firestone ******** for diagnosis of an electrical issue. After replacing the battery in one visit, the alternator in another, the battery again in another, the store manager said to take it to the dealer and he woul pay for diagnosis and "make it right". The vehicle had also been in numerous times for a hesitation and loss of power where they replaced the throttle body twice. The symptoms with that kept happening as well. The comment by the store manager to a AAA rep was " my guys aren't good with electrical diag anyway". After aweek at the dealer they diagnosed the electrical as the main junction box and our loss of powe and hesitation as a a transmission problem. We went through almost a year of aggravation and inconvenience and Firestones offer was to refund for what they did and pay for the diagnosis at the dealer? That doesn't make us whole nor does it "make it right". Everytime we brought our car back they had it for days, sometimes a week and not once were we offered a rental for their misdiagnosis and unnecessary repairs. When I bring my vehicle to the dealer for an oil change I get a loner! On top of it all when we complained we received the run around for over aweek before I called corporate to be told that they didn't do anything from the store level as they said they did, that's not very honest practice. We feel as we have been lied to, treated terribly after being GREAT customers, and have lost ALL trust in Firestone as a company. At this point we simply want to be made whole with refund of our battery/alternator/ throttle body, refunded for the dealer diagnosis, and reimbursed for the repair if the junction box - WHICH WAS THE ISSUE FROM DAY ONE THEY MISDIAGNOSED! We feel that's more than fair considering how much of our time Firestone wasted that we will never get back.

Desired Settlement: At this point we simply want to be made whole with refund of our battery/alternator/ throttle body, refunded for the dealer diagnosis, and reimbursed for the repair of the junction box - WHICH WAS THE ISSUE FROM DAY ONE THEY MISDIAGNOSED! We feel that's more than fair considering how much of our time Firestone wasted that we will never get back and we have to pay to have the transmission rebuilt which was the other issue we brought it in for and were run around on misdiagnosis.

Business Response: WE HAVE LOCATED HIS CLAIM CASE AND REVIEWED THE FILE WITH OUR CLAIMS DEPARTMENT. ACCORDING TO THE CASE FILE LIABILITY WAS DENIED. HOWEVER, AS CUSTOMERS SATISFACTION A FULL REFUND OF OUR SERVICE WAS OFFERED. THE NOTES ALSO INDICATE MANAGEMENT MADE A TOTAL GOODWILL SETTLEMENT OFFER OF $1341.47 WHICH IS ABOVE THE ORIGINAL REFUND OF SERVICE IN AN ATTEMPT TO HELP RESOLVE THIS IN AN AMICABLE MANNER. AFTER REVIEWING HIS CASE AGAIN WITH CLAIMS THE CURRENT GOODWILL OFFER OF $1,341.47 STILL STANDS AND WILL BE A FINAL OFFER. IF HE WOULD LIKE TO ACCEPT THIS OFFER OR DISCUSS HIS CLAIM FURTHER, PLEASE HAVE HIM CONTACT HIS ASSIGNED ADVISOR ***** ***** DIRECTLY AT ###-###-####.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 7/01/13 131,154 miles Firestone did oil change, rear bakes (pads, and rotors) and replaced two tires. on 9/16/13133,508 miles the back end of the car was shaking and stiring wheel would when i hit the brakes. I ask them to check my back brakes or put it on the machine. He said he would take it for a test drive and he did. He told me the transmission was going and I replied that wouldn't make the back end of my car shake and you did put on the machine tosee whats wrong with the brakes. On decemeber 13, 2013 my son I was on I way home from his game. It was snowing and icy on the roads coming home from my son basketball game. I made a left turn on to my street I pass about three homes and the back end of the car started coming forwared.I was hitting the brakes and the car wouldn't stop. The car was going into a neighbor home and I end up hitting a tree in the yard. The office came out and did a police report and told me my fishtailed. I called auto insurance and started a claim for body repair. On Janurary9,2014 i picked my car up from ******* Auto Body Of Avon . I park the car in garge thursday. Friday morning I take my son to school on my way home started smelling odor in the car . I picked my son up from school and could still smell the same odor in the car. I was on my way home from my son basketball game the smell was so strong in the car my asked me what is that smell and I replied i don't know but starting to make me sick. I pulled the car over and started vomitting on the side of the road. My son got out of the car because there was smoke coming from back end of the car between the tire and he replied mom it smells bad like dead dogs. I parked the car in the garage and called ******* Auto Body Of Avon. They tolled the back to the shop . After checking the car ***** ****** manger from ******* told me to take the car to who ever did the brakes. They didn't do the brakes right and you can't drive this car its not safe. I called Firestone in ********** and he said b

Desired Settlement: I want my brakes fixed and deductible 500.00 , pain and stuffing. They offer to give my money back from body repairs the 4,304.11.On January 14,2014 ****** ***** asked if i want my money back for auto repairs. I went to doctor because I was nausea for four days my doctor think came from inhaling fuse from brake fluid. I want to compensate for not having a vehicle.

Business Response: Thank you for letting us know about Ms. ********'s claim issue. Our claims department investigated this matter and sent an independent inspector out to determine if our store was responsible for the current failure of her vehicle. The inspector indicated that the failure was not related to our service and her claim was denied. Since the claim was denied there was no offer to pay for the repairs. We would recommend that she contact her insurance company to have them re-inspect her car.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: They are response for the brake  the brake were repair by Firestone. They didn't fix the brakes properly. When took my car back to Firestone in 7/01/13  told them the back end on my car was shaking a lot when hit the brakes. I ask them to put my car on a machine, he took my car for test drive and told me the transmission was going and maybe front brakes need to be repaired. On December13/2013 my son and I were coming home from his basketball game in a snowing storm and tried to stop a light and my car weren't stop. I ended up turn on to my street and driving for 1 mile and the back end of the car started coming forward and I tried to stop again and couldn't . The car and I end up in a neighbor yard I almost hit their house but I hit a tree in the yard . I called the police officer and my car insurance . The police officer told me my car fishtailed.My car insurance toll my car on 12/16/2013 to ******* for the car to be repaired and rent me a car until repairs were finished. the car was damaged on the rear passenger side . I picked my car up on 1/9/2013 drove my car home and parked in the garage.  On Saturday evening coming back from my son basketball game the car started to smell bad in the car. I had to pull over because I was getting sick. When I pull over and tried to get out I started vomiting and son got out the car and said the car was smoking.i I was 2miles from the house. I came the house and called the ******* and told them the problem and they had the car toll back to them to see what was wrong and it was the brakes and I was told to take the car back to Firestone.  The brakes were repaired properly.  I called Firestone and got a claim represented name ****** ***** ###-###-#### and said they would take care of the problem with the brakes. On 1/17/2014 my car was toll back to ******* and that they would send inspector out to look at my car.On 1/22/2014 ****** ***** asked my if I want my money back for the repairs done on my car for body work. I  didn't what to say and replied I didn't know I had to make decides right now on what I want . I want my car fixed because I don't have a car and i will let you know late what I want .    I was without car until 1/23/2014 because the inspector hadn't inspect the car. ****** rent me a car on 1/23/2014. On 1/24/2014 ****** said the claim was denied and that I would have to turn the car . I talk to auto insurance 1/27/2014  ******** ****** ###-###-#### about  my car she said this is a mechanic problem and ******* inspected the car and told Firestone this is because the brakes. I needed my car toll back from ******* to my house were they toll it from and I needed car rental until my car is fixed by Firestone .

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/26/2013, I took my car to Firestone Complete Auto Care ** ******** ****** *** ******* for a antifreeze leak. They told my a need a gasket and a thermostat, so the work was down and I was charged $314.00. On 12/31/13, I went out started my car to warm up and notice antifreeze dropping from my vehicle, that I video record with my cell phone. I called Firestone they had me bring the card down. As they checked it, they told me I needed a new radiator and that the job with parts was statemented to $480.00. I sat in Firestone from 9am-2pm, for them to tell me that its not my radiator and that I needed a new water-pump and timing chain pricing me at $823.00 or more. I took the vehicle home and dropped it off @ noon on 1/1/2014. They did not start working on my vehicle until 1/2/2014. I called them up that afternoon and they told me that the car would be ready for 5p.m., yet apond my arrival the vehicle was still on the lift. About 6:45p.m., the service man asked if I had the car towed in. I told him NO, I drove it in myself. Then he tells my that my idol wasn't adjusting and when the car is put gear it shuts off. I told him to take me to my vehicle, so he did. I notice that my engine was shaking and told him, WHY IS MY ENGINE SHAKING SO MUCH, IT WAS NOT SHAKING AT ALL WHEN I BROUGHT IN TO GET FIX. They told me that they wanted to keep the vehicle over night so they can work on it again in the morning.It just been one thing after another and I don't think I should have to pay full price for my vechicle to get fixed. I believe they are doing things to it so I would have to spend more money on it.

Desired Settlement: I was charged a total of 1,137.00 within a week of taking my vehicle to firestone. The problem was not fixed from the first time and now they are giving me more issues. Not to mention holding it for 2 to 3 days, to do a 4 hour job. It is stressful that I have to find a ride to work very day since the 2nd of January of 2014.

Business Response:

Store Manager *** ****** talked to customer and they came to the agreement of taking $300 off of the service price. Customer left satisfied and will remain a loyal Firestone customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to get the clutch fix at firestone in *********** ** because i was there for the summer and because I wanted a place that would have another branch once I go back to *********. and I explain to them that I will be leaving in less than a week and i will be driving back to ********* ****** from *********** **.they gave me an estimate to get the clutch fixed, and they told me there is some seals that need to be replaced. and told that there is a leak in the back and there is seals that needs to be replaced. first bill was $1568.40 Parts $699.96 and labor $749.79and soon as it was done, on the same day I started hearing weird nose in the back took it back to them, and they told me something else is damaged in the back and it needs to be replaced.another long list of thing that got fixed and replaced, and the second bill was $1518.45 Parts $567.84 labor $859.94I walked into their place to get only my clutch fixed.less than a day after I took it back my steering wheel oil started pouring from the car. couldnt drive it for even a block took it to another garage (***** *************) and I showed them the list that firestone repaired, and they pointed out that its a was sloppy work, might be double charged for a lot of things, and they were some parts missing, one was damaged during installation, and showed me a factory seal that was supposedly replaced. they redid the lr axle seal, rear differential cover gasket( needed to be removed to do the axle seal).cleaned out the excess rtv in the rear differential. Replaced the missing grommet on the rf valve cover.I ended up paying $871.47 at ***** ************* to fix what was in the car, and to fixed what firestone did fix properly, and they didnt charge for couple other seals because i just paid to get a lot of things fixed, and they took picture of everything that wasnt fixed properly or still damaged

Desired Settlement: I called them and asked for a refund for the things that I paid to get them replaced at ***** *************, and the parts and labor that I paid for them because, I feel its my right to have a good work done on my car if i was paying $119/hr for labor, and the damaged part that I have on the car.I want a refund for the parts and labor, pay more than $3000 to fix my car deserved having a way better service.

Business Response:

From: ****** ****
Sent: Tuesday, November 12, 2013 1:01 PM
To: ************* ***
Cc: *********************
Subject: RE: You have a New Message from BBB Serving Connecticut Regarding Complaint #*******

 Good morning ***,

Mr. ******’s complaint is currently being investigated by our claims department.  They have been in constant contact with him and are working on a resolution.  Our office will respond to ******** at the BBB when this has been resolved with claims.

Thanks,

****

Business Response: Dear Ms *******,

It appears that the power steering rack and pinion failure may have been an issue of time and mileage that worsened when our store disturbed the area while replacing the inner tie rod end connected to the rack and pinion. Our claims department agreed to reimburse him for the cost of the repairs performed at the independent shop in the amount of $871.47 since it was possible that the failure occurred during our service. Additionally, Mr. ****** questioned a possible double charge and after review it appeared there was some overlapping labor unintentionally charged in the amount of $113.30 less the 10% discount given totaling $101.97. Mr. ****** also mentioned having to rent a car and stay at a motel during the repairs so our claims agent requested invoices for these items but he never received them. In an effort to resolve this matter for Mr. ******, our claims agent offered a settlement of $871.47 + $101.97 = $973.44 for the repairs and overlapping labor plus another $500 to cover the car rental and motel stay without having documentation provided. The total reimbursement should have been $1473.44 but the claims agent rounded this up to an even $1500. Mr. ****** is requesting far more than he is entitled to and has not provided the documentation to support his request. We feel the offer made by us was a fair one but Mr. ****** has declined it. It is our understanding that the offer is still open at this time should he choose to accept it.

 

Sincerely,

**** *****, SCRS

Bridgestone Retail Operations, LLC

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
they didnt ask for any ducomentation for what i spent while i was waitting for yhe car.

i attached the receipt with the highlighted questionable charges, and i took my car with the receipts and the pictures to three mechanices to try to figure out what happened, and they agreed on the same thing, i was over charged and the whole thing is not right, i have in writting in the last page of the atrached file, the work was not done right,
i will attach the pictures in another email if i have to, but the ***** ************* had to redo a lot of work, and they changed a thing that had a warranty on it, and fixed thing without charging for them because they even thought that it was fair to be treated like that from anyone,
they even found a seal that it said on the re,eipt that it was replacex, but when they checked it, it was still the factory seal, so why on the receipt it said that it was changed.
and after explainimg to me from several mechanics that most of the work, if it was the correct way the first time i wouldnt have to go there there, but its a common mistake that mechanic fall for, and it will cause more damage
 
i asked to refund me 2500 since most of the twork wasnt done right or was dont in a poor, i then i asked them to take off the parts from the second receipt, and add it to double charged parts plus ***** ************* receipt, which bring it to$2216.21 
Sincerely,

******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/25/2013 I had a rear tail light out and Firestone said they could replace it. I went down and gave the information to the desk person, saying I needed a rear light replaced. After awhile they moved my car into the garage. I could see the car and the workman from a window in the waiting room. I went to look and saw a repairman standing at the right front of my car with the hood up. I woundered what he was doing with the hood up. But I also saw that the front tire on the car was flat. I got upset and went to the desk to say " What is he doing with the hood up and my front tire is flat. I was told that the tire was low when they moved it in. They took the tire off and showed me where there was a puncture. He said it was probably low when I brought it down to the service center. I have warning lights for low tire pressure and never saw a warning light traveling to the Firestone Auto Care.They fixed the tire and gave me a bill for $90.65. When I left my tire light came on so I returned to the Firestone Auto Care. They finally got that to stop but told me I had underinflated tires and they raised the pressure to make the light go out. Later, I checked my lights and the rear tail light was out.I complainedbut got nowhere

Desired Settlement: Removal of charge for replacement of front headlight $53.88 or some kind of checking on this business. The order sheet says check L/F light when it should have said left rear light.( if you were sitting in the car. I went to the ****** ******* the next day and they replaced my rear light for nothing. The total cost when the tire repair was included was $90.65

Business Response: Store Manager Spoke to Customer and refunded amount requested, customer satisfied with result.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been dealing with Firestone for over a few yrs now. I took my vehicle for a catalytic converter repair and throughout the repairs they have not fixed the problem. I have a record of receipts where my vehicle still has the same problem. I need to be reimbursed and have my vehicle repaired elsewhere due to the fact that they do not know how to repair my car. Product_Or_Service: catalytic converter

******** ** - *** *******, CT Firestone.
AND
****** **, ********, CT Firestone.

Desired Settlement: Either repair it or reimburse me all my expenses so can have it repaired properly. I have a case with you already please refer to those and I will mail out the remainder of the receipts.

Business Response: Customer would need to bring the vehicle into one of our store and we will need to review all receipts  We will need to inspect and diagnose car which we will perform atr no charge. Please have customer contact * ********* at ********** to set up store visit

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My father went to Firestone Autocare today (09/18/13) for a diagnosis and repair. Because he did not speak English, I was talking on the phone with their Service Manager *** the whole time. While driving back to NH, his 2002 ****** kept stopping on the highway, so he drove to the nearest mechanic for a checkup. After a half an hour diagnosis I was told by the technician at Firestone that it was a problem with the catalytic converter. I was assured that once the converter was changed, the car would move without an issue. After comprising on price of parts and labor the car was repaired after 2 hours of service. Total bill came to around $1225.00 parts and all and was paid with a credit card. I was again assured that the parts were under warranty for 2-4 years, and that the problem was resolved. Half an hour after my Dad drove away, I received a call from him saying that the problem was still there. After hours of waiting, and $1225 spent, the car was still stopping in the middle of the highway in the middle of the night and the "check engine" light still on (meaning catalytic converter problem was not resolved). I am angry and frustrated that we spent so much money only to put my Dad's life in danger. Our home in NH is 3 hours away from the store, so any next day evaluation will be difficult.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the management at Firestone to reimburse me the money that I had paid for the service, or some form of compensation. Because we live 3 hrs away, it will be hard for us to drive all the way to CT to have them repair our car. It would be best if they are willing to pay for services that a local mechanic has done for us.

Business Response:

Refunded customer $1,225.94 for repairs done at the ******* Firestone Store. Cusotmer is satisfied with the resolution.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday the 23rd of September I had brought my car into Firestone in ******* to get my wheel bearing done. The first thing I noticed that the price was too high. I felt that I was getting ripped off. The mechanic working on my car kept taking time to talk with friends and text instead of working on my car. The manager *** had came in and told me it was taking a long time due to my car was rusted and they were having problems with the abs. I noticed the mechanic putting on my tires and then retaking them off. My sister has asked why and he said it was not right. I could see the mechanic getting mad and throwing tools around. A couple days later after getting my car back. My car on the highway started making strange noise and then my tcs, abs,and check engine light came on. I had been in contact with the corporate already to talk about getting ripped off. I had called him and told him, that I was having problems with my car. He asked me to go back I said I will not go back to that store. I went to the *** ****** location. Where the mechanic had told me that my wheel bearings were so bad. That the ******* store had did such a bad job. They put my life at risk. They had scammed me a few times. I pay $616 to only find out that the job was done so bad. I could of had a accident due to them not doing their job right. The manager at the ******* store has tried to screw me over a few times. I am not at all happy with what has happened. It seems like the corporate guy does not care about what happened. I have witness who can also say they know I got lied to and screwed.

Desired Settlement: I only think its fair to get my money back due to the following reasons, one they put my life at risk, I was scared be on the highways and having car issues, I was lied to and screwed over. Be on the highway doing 65miles the last thing you want is for your car to make noise that is scaring you and for all your lights to come on. I think its on fair to get my money back.

Business Response: It is our understanding that our district office has contacted Ms. ********* and resolved this matter with her. She agreed to a refund of $200 as a customer satisfaction.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Yes that was what happened at firestone. 2 days later im on the highway when my car kicked back and started making noises, shaking and my tcs and abs lights came on. I had called *** he asked me to go to ******* firestone I refused to due I did not feel comfortable going there. He asked me to go to the *** ****** location I agreeded. I go there and thr manager ***** came in and told me they looked at the wheel bearing he told me it was terrible.  That what that ******* office did a horrible job doing my wheel bearings. He asked when can I leave the car I said it will have to be monday. He then told me that he does not feel comfortable letting me drive this car it is unsafe. So after agreeing to the $200. That was before I found out that my car was unsafe due to ******* firestone.  I dont think you or *** understand. That firestone put my life at risk. Here I am young girl on the highway doing almost 70 and having bad car problems. I was scared try to pull over safely not knowing whats wrong. To hear the mechanic telling me my car was so bad, they had did such a bad job. That is not ok. I was scary going thru this. If I had known at first hoe bad my car was I would have asked for my full money back. When I agree to the $200 I haf no idea my life was at risk. I believe its only right to get my money back. For putting my life at risk, I missed some work time having my car break and having to go to the shop, and waste of gas.

Sincerely,

***** *********

Business Response: Spoke to csutomer today 10/01/13. Refunded the total amount to customer, customer is very satisfied.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/5/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Came into Firestone Auto in Waterbury to have my front brakes checked out because of a pulsation I felt on the steering wheel as well as brake pedal,Alerted the representative that I knew the rear rotors,Calipers and Pads were bad.Dropped off my car and they told me that because of my rear brakes I was experiencing the pulsation issues,I questioned them at first and they assured me that would fix my issue.I was hesitant at first and decided to go ahead and do as they told me because I had thought they were a reputable shop.Picked up my car and asked what the condition was of my front brakes and they said they were fine.I then drove my car and immediately noticed the same pulsation and returned to Firestone so they could re-evaluate the situation,After they re-evaluated I found out they never even measured the thickness of my front rotors or even test drive the vehicle to verify my concerns,The manager never even apologized.Worst experience ever,I will never return to Firestone.

Desired Settlement: My desired would be some sort of compensation for their dishonesty.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/12) */ Store Manager of the Waterbury Firestone store contacted customer and resolved issue, vehicle is repaired and customer is satisfied.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car to Firestone, Stamford, for a battery w/ a 5 yr warranty on 7/18/2008. My car would not start on 4/29/2013.I called AAA and they jump started my car, tested my system and told me I only needed a battery.When I called Firestone in Stamford, I was told my warranty was expired.I went there and showed my receipt and pushed them to prorate.After over an hour wait, I was told I needed $1000.00 (one thousand dollars) in repairs,not just a battery, but new alternator,and recommended a serpentine belt. I told them that AAA checked the car, tested the system,and found nothing wrong, except needing a battery. Firestone told me they would not give me a warranty if I only purchased a battery, because there were other problems with the car that I was not taking care of.I told them I would not buy a battery without a warranty. After a long wait of letting them "talk to the manager to see what they could do",at their suggestion.and "putting notes in the computer", I took my car and left.I went directly to ********,Stamford, had a new battery quickly installed for approx. $130.00.They told me my serpentine belt was "like new" and had no cracks.The next day I went to ********, Norwalk and had my system tested, which verfied that my alternator was fine.I feel that Firestone falsly manipulated the "data" they showed me, to take advantage of a single woman. The others in the waiting room were women /elderly. Product_Or_Service: Car Battery Order_Number: Invoice #XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I would like Firestone to send me a check for the prorated 5 year warranty on my battery purchased 7/18/2008.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/02) */ spoke with cust and refunded her $100 for her troubles, cust is satisfied with the outcome Consumer Response /* (2110, 7, 2013/05/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the partial settlement response from the business.) On 5/1/13 I was told, on the phone, that I would be sent a $100 check. As of 5/9/13 I have not received it. I ****** provide an update when I actually receive the check and it clears in my bank account. In addition, after I submitted my complaint , I discovered that Firestone left the metal bracket and bolts (which secure the plastic cover, for the trunk mounted battery), loose in the trunk.This could have resulted in a safety issue, with explosive gases building up in the trunk.The metal bracket secures the plastic cover that secures the seal so the battery gases vent outside the car. I did explain this on the phone and the response was something to the effect of "every car being different " and not being able to address that point.The failure to reattach this seal, which is necessary to prevent explosive gases from building up in the trunk is both negligent and outrageous. I was told, on the phone, that I would be sent $100 check, but I have not received it yet. I ****** provide an update when I actually receive the check and it clears in my bank account. In addition, after I submitted my complaint , I discovered that Firestone left the metal bracket and bolts (which secure the plastic cover, for the trunk mounted battery), loose in the trunk.This could have resulted in a safety issue, with explosive gases building up in the trunk.The metal bracket secures the plastic cover that secures the seal so the battery gases vent outside the car. I did explain this on the phone and the response was something to the effect of "every car being different " and not being able to address that point. Consumer Response /* (-5, 8, 2013/05/09) */ The statement by Firestone that I was refunded $100 is not accurate.I was offered the $100 check on the phone and verbally accepted it, but I do not have it as of 5/9/2013. The person I spoke to was very courteous and admitted they made a mistake, but portrayed it as an error and not intentionally taking advantage. No responsibilty was admitted for the safety risk of the unsecured battery in my trunk. Consumer Response /* (-5, 9, 2013/05/09) */ The statement by Firestone that I was refunded $100 is not accurate.I was offered the $100 check on the phone and verbally accepted it, but I do not have it as of 5/9/2013. The person I spoke to was very courteous and admitted they made a mistake, but portrayed it as an error and not intentionally taking advantage. No responsibilty was admitted for the safety risk of the unsecured battery in my trunk.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car to Firestone (Norwich,CT) to have an emissions test done. After the test was done, I was walking to my car when I noticed a big deep scratch on the rear bumper. I went back inside and complained. The manager went out to look at it with me and then he insisted that it happened before I brought it in, he said it looks like someone tried to buff it out (I believe they quickly tried to do so, which also made the paint surrounding the scratch look faded!)He tried to convince me that they couldn't have scratched it and tried to buff it in such little time. So all in all, the scratch was not there before I brought it in, they tried to cover there tracks (only to make it look worse), then instead of owning up to it they lied about it and insulted my intelligence by saying it was already there when I know it was not.

Desired Settlement: I feel it is appropriate for Firestone to pay for the scratch to be repaired at a establishment of my choosing (NOT at Firestone).

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/16) */ please contact ****** at XXX-XXX-XXXX. (district representative) i would like to tlk to you about this. I have tried calling your phone number XXX-XXX-XXXX and it states that your mailbox is full. While i await your call i will do some investigating at the Norwich Firestone concerning the matter

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/22/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/6/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service