BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

South Beach, Inc. offers tanning, swimwear and accessories.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that South Beach, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for South Beach, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 28, 2004 Business started: 11/18/2002 Business started locally: 11/18/2002 Business incorporated: 11/18/2002 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Donna Grossman, President Ms. Ashley Backman, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Donna Grossman, President
Business Category

Swimwear & Accessories Clothing - Retail Online Retailer

Alternate Business Names
South Beach Swimsuits

Additional Locations

  • 12 Cody St

    West Hartford, CT 06110 (860) 953-0038 (877) 623-7946

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 623-7946(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a bathing suit to from South beach swimsuits. This company is stating that i ruined a swim suit which i never even wore. They are assuming all responsibility on the consumer instead of a mistake that could have been on their end. They are in not way trying to resolve this matter. The only thing that they will do is send it back to me but even that i have to send them a 10.00 postage. There policy states that i had 48 hours to call stating something was wrong with the bathing suit, couple problems i looked at it new that it wasn't true to size put in back in a box to ship back. Also i did not recieve the package until after 48 hours due to my work schedule. Order_Number: #XXXXXXXXXXX Account_Number: #XXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a full refund for the price of which i paid for this bathing suit.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/18) */ Customer purchased two items; one full price, one final sale. Both items were returned. The full price item was received back dirty and damaged. There seems to be oil of some sort (I assume suntan oil) on the top and black spots up around the arm area. Vicky, Customer Service, spoke to customer on June 12, 2013 at 3:58 p.m.est and resolved this issued. A store credit in the amount of $106.50 has been issued to this customer for both the final sale item as well as the damaged item. A credit isin the amount of $106.50 is in the customers account and she can access this credit when she logs into her account. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) I don't accept this offer because I had explained that I did not use the bathing suit never put it on. And for the non refundable sale item I sent an email stating that the picture showed the top not the bottom and I noticed this in my invoice right after I ordered it. I contacted them via email and they asked if they could have the invoice number so they coul stop the shipment I emailed them right back. 28 hours later I got an email saying my order has been shipped without a reply back from them about the bottoms. When I asked them about it when they called me telling me I ruined a bathing suit they said well some times we just don't have time to catch things like that. As for the store credit why would I want store credit for a company who holds no value to their customers. I have no want to support a business that treats their customers the way that they have treated me. I rather take my money elsewhere. Say I ordered something else from them ship it back because it wasn't true to size and they do this again? It's not worth my time. So I would like a full refund. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/07/03) */ A full refund in the amount of $106.50 has been applied to customer's Visa

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/13/2011 Delivery Issues
1