BBB Accredited Business since

South Beach, Inc.

Phone: (860) 953-0038 Fax: (860) 953-0085 View Additional Phone Numbers 12 Cody St, West Hartford, CT 06110 http://www.southbeachswimsuits.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

South Beach, Inc. offers tanning, swimwear and accessories.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that South Beach, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for South Beach, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on South Beach, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 28, 2004 Business started: 11/18/2002 Business started locally: 11/18/2002 Business incorporated 11/18/2002 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Donna Grossman, President Ms. Ashley Backman, Vice President Ms. Dawn Grabowski, Warehouse Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Donna Grossman, President
Business Category

Swimwear & Accessories Clothing - Retail Online Retailer

Alternate Business Names
South Beach Swimsuits

Additional Locations

  • 12 Cody St

    West Hartford, CT 06110 (860) 953-0038 (877) 623-7946

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An online search for ******** swimwear brought me to South Beach, Inc. I made an online purchase, the suit did not fit correctly and was returned. South Beach issued a store credit rather than a credit to my visa card. We have had several e-mail conservations without reaching a resolution. I did not know it was a final sale nor does my receipt indicate a final sale. South Beach says "it's stated in their terms and conditions that any order that is made with a 40% or greater coupon is considered a final sale"…"using the 40% code triggers the order as a final sale" and they cannot override this. They claim this was clearly stated on their website, I didn't see it. Nor do I remember agreeing to their terms and conditions at checkout, as they claim. I requested a link to the 40% coupon so i could see "final sale" they forwarded the original e-mail promotion which I never received because they did not have my e-mail address at that time.

Desired Settlement: South Beach accepted my return and now have the item for sale on their website for the original price of $77. I would like a credit of $46.20 to my **** ***** A store credit is of no value to me. I will gladly forward a copy of our e-mail conservations, if needed.

Business Response:

**** *******

Please see attached Valentines Day 2016 coupon.   As stated directly on the banner which follows through to the check out page states use of the 40% off coupon (which was off already drastically reduced merchandise) makes the purchase a Final Sale.   Also attached is our Terms and Conditions, which is an option on our home page, the following is stated in the first paragraph. 

  • "Orders made with a coupon of 40% or greater are a final sale.  Items can only be returned for store credit or exchange". 

Then again, you must agree to these Terms and Conditions PRIOR to placing your order.    You must check a box for the PLACE ORDER button to become active.   

Our stock is updated daily.   We always have new items, suits, accessories, flip flops, handbags, umbrellas, coverups and lots of misc items to purchase.   Your credit will never expire.

Best Regards

 

***** ********

 

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I did not know this was a final sale until I questioned the store credit, all they have done since then is try to convince me that I knew before the purchase. My receipt does not indicate a final sale.  They have the returned merchandise on sale for more than I paid and they have my money.  A store credit is of no value because I have no intention of placing another order.  If the merchandise was "drastically reduced" why is it currently on sale for 40% more than I paid? Since they have the merchandise, I would like a credit issued to my **** ****

Sincerely,
******* *****

10/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before ordering over $400 worth of products from this company, I called to explain I would be travelling and unable to return any unwanted items with in the 30 return for full refund window. I spoke to one of their representatives who told me that they would make an exception and refund ,e after the 30 days. Based on this info- I placed the order, Upon returning from my trip- I mailed back the unwanted items and again called the company to confirm pour previous verbal agreement that they would refund me. I then received an email from the company stating that they received my returns and I was refunded. Those funds were never credited to my account- and when I called again, I was told that they have "no record of this conversation and there is nothing they can do. " This is unacceptable. Not my problem if a representative of the company did not log our calls. Ashley - who would not provide her last name and who claims she runs the business- said that they will do nothing to rectify the situation and that it is not possible that I was told I could return items for a refund after 30 days bc she is the only one who can authorize that, I again explained I was told this on 2 separate occasions and she essentially said I was either lying or confused. Furthermore- had I been told that I would only be getting store credit, I would not have given South Beach my business in the first place as I knew I would not be able to send in returns within 30 days due to travel. If I wasn't told that they would refund when I called a 2nd time before shipping the returns, I would have kept the items. Happy to provide the email I was sent stating I had been refunded.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for $371.93 as I was told I would be and as their formal business correspondence via email sent to me on March 16th 2015 stated they had done.

Business Response:
Just wanted to let you know, I check was issued in the amount of $371.93 today.   
I believe ****** is very pleased.   I will forward you her email.

--
Sincerely,

Donna G*******
South Beach Inc
dba
South Beach Swimsuits
Swimwear Rack
Whimsical Umbrella
SoBeTatts
** **** ******
###-###-####


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on South Beach, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)