BBB Accredited Business since

Rizzo Pool Company

Phone: (860) 666-1531 Fax: (860) 666-0790 View Additional Phone Numbers 3388 Berlin Tpke, Newington, CT 06111 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.rizzopools.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Master Pools By Rizzo LLC offers sales, installation and service of custom designed inground pools, spas, grottos, waterfalls, fountains, and natural landscapes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rizzo Pool Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rizzo Pool Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Rizzo Pool Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 28, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1955 Business started locally: 01/01/1955 Business incorporated 03/11/2011 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Gordon Macgregor, Vice President Mr. Albert Rizzo, Managing Member Mr. James Galvin, Retail Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Terri
Principal: Mr. Gordon Macgregor, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Albert Rizzo, Managing Member
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Service & Repair Swimming Pools - Leak Detection & Repair Fountains - Garden, Display Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Landscape Designers Deck Builder Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Alternate Business Names
Master Pools by Rizzo, LLC Rizzo Pools

Additional Locations

  • 3388 Berlin Tpke

    Newington, CT 06111 (860) 666-1531

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company failed to perform the service that they were paid to do, and company failed to respond to our detailed concerns about the errors in their service. Pool company represented that they had the experience and ability to conduct a "pressure test' on our pool, and that they would send two men to do the job correctly. Well, only 1 person actually performed the so called pressure test, and he used a faulty machine and he made inaccurate diagnosis of the pool. Consequently, a significant leak was missed and we had to continually add water to the pool for 3 weeks until alternate companies became available to conduct a proper "pressure test" at our house. I informed the manager of the Pool company multiple times of our concerns and he failed to respond, and failed to rebut my assertions that his worker did not perform a complete or accurate pressure test. I have asked our credit card company to get involved because the Pool company and its manager insisted on payment the same day as the service was done at our home on June 3rd. The Pool company charged $175 for a "pressure test" that was inmproper and unprofessional. The 2nd company came out and spotted the loss of pressure and thus, spotted the pipe leak within 10 minutes of arriving at our home. The 2nd company also illustrated for me how deficient Rizzo Pool was when they tried to conduct the pressure test. 1st the new company's testing device was not broken. 2nd - the new company actually had 2 professionals working collaboratively on trying to diagnose the leak and the broken pipe. 3rd - the new company used a water based system instead of an air based system, simulating what happens when a pool is running. 4 weeks after Rizzo pool left, we spent $500 to have a correct pressure test done, and to get the leak fixed. we also spent much additional money with chemicals and algaecide when we were fighting the battle of the 1/2 inch water loss every day after Rizzo Pool left and told us our pipes were fine.

Desired Settlement: Refund the charges we were forced to pay for an unprofessional and inaccurate "pressure test" and for the inconvenience of having to hire another company and suffer through 3 weeks of high daily water loss. Letter of apology from Rizzo Pool or acknowledgment from the company that their single worker did not identify the obvious pipe leak in the return line by our shallow end stairs.

9/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a Hot Tube from them about 4 years ago. On May 24, 2014 called to order a replacement hot tub cover. Provided them model number for hot tub. They said it would take about 10 days and at that time charged my credit card. Also needed lift for cover replaced and asked that that be done at the same time they deliver cover. About 3. 5 weeks went by and never heard from company. It was only after we called that they set up delivery date. They delivered on June 24, 2014 but it was they wrong cover. It did not fit. First they said they delivered the wrong cover and would call us to schedule the delivery for the right one. They never called back. After calling again they said we ordered the wrong cover and if we wanted the right one, we would have to buy a new one and pay again. The cover was ordered over the phone. They never told us the cover was not returnable and the sale was final. They refused to replace the cover and stopped talking to us. They never delivered or put the lift for the cover. Not a great way to treat a customer who spent about $10,000 on a hot tub from them.

Desired Settlement: Sell us the right cover and install it with the lift that goes with it.

Business Response:
            On May 24, 2014 *** ******** ordered a Hydro Spa hot tub cover from us.  It was to be delivered to his home when the cover was done.  These covers are custom made for the customer.  *** ******** provided us with the incorrect model type of the hot tub.  Due to this incorrect information the spa cover does not fit on his hot tub.        
  When we advised **** ******** about the issue she became aggressive and belligerent, cursing at myself and the co-workers present.  We have not heard anything from the ********** until we received this letter from the Better Business Bureau.  Unfortunately the cover was custom made to the specifications that *** ******** provided to us and we are unable to refund the cost of the cover or return the cover to the manufacturer because it is a custom made item.