BBB Accredited Business since

Building Concepts, Inc.

Phone: (203) 643-0091 Fax: (203) 643-0095 View Additional Phone Numbers 302 E Main St, Branford, CT 06405 http://www.BuildingConceptsCT.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Building Concepts, Inc. offers home design, replacement windows, Four Seasons sunrooms,sky lights, solar systems.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Building Concepts, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Building Concepts, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Building Concepts, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 19, 1996 Business started: 03/14/1988 Business started locally: 03/14/1988 Business incorporated: 06/20/1997 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dimitritos "Jim" Kirtopoulos, President Ms. Leah Monaco, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dimitritos "Jim" Kirtopoulos, President
Business Category

Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction Windows Home Design & Planning Storm Windows & Doors - Repair Home Improvements Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Siding Contractors Skylights Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Windows - Installation & Service Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)


Additional Locations

  • 302 E Main St

    Branford, CT 06405 (800) 416-2182 (203) 643-0091

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wednesday, July 9, 2014 our 4-season sunroom began flooding. Water was pouring down the wall from the roof and onto the sunroom floor. First thing Thursday morning I called Building Concepts to have them come out and repair the roof. (The roof had already been "repaired" exactly 1 year prior) It is now August 12, 2014 and I'm still waiting to have my roof repaired. I've called every week for the past 5 weeks, spoke to someone each and every time and have been promised that someone would get back to me ASAP and NEVER has anyone returned my phone call!! During my phone call last week I was even told that copies of my previous phone conversations would be left on the owner's desk and that he would be the one to call me back. Still no response!! We've spent the last 5 weeks with a tarp on our roof and towels on our floor to try and manage the problem. The lack care and concern for your customers is disheartening. Maybe it is time you focus on improving customer service!

Desired Settlement: I would like my roof repaired properly and free of charge. Given the amount of time I've had to deal with this situation, the number of phone calls I've made and the lack of customer service, I hardly think this is asking a lot. Make this situation right!!

Business Response: This is a response to the compliant from Mrs ********. Building Concepts did follow up with the proposal unfortunately it took a while to find the work order that was completed the year before. The work order that was completed the year before was for gutter repair work on the sunroom and had nothing to do with the leaking roof. Once this old work order was found an estimate was sen to Mrs ******** via email she called our office when she received the email and was upset on why it took so long to get the estimate. I explained to her I didn't not want to charge her for work if we did it the previous year however I explained it was a completely new  area of repair. I am not  quite sure why Mrs ******** is complaining  about work that she does not want to pay for. Please see attached files in reference to the original repair and the contract that was emailed to her.  

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It took well over a month to get any response from the company whatsoever.  During this time I called every 3-4 days, left several messages and NEVER was even given a courtesy phone call in reply.  I asked specifically during the initial meeting if I should call my homeowners insurance and open a claim for the work.  I even told the man that came out to look at the damage that I had a $500 deductible and he immediately and definitively told me the repairs wouldn't come close to costing that much and there was no reason to call my insurance company.  I specifically asked "even if it's not under warranty any long?" and he said yes, the work was so minimal that needed to be completed that he anticipated it costing around $200.  Now after over a month of having a leaking roof, he finally calls me back and tells me the repairs are not covered by the warranty - which we were aware might happen and we were prepared to pay out of pocket.  However the estimate came back over $1,000 worth of repairs!  I've asked several times for reasoning on why I was told something completely different at his site visit and haven't received any valid response.  Here we are now over two months later and this company still has not made this situation right.  Bad business practice is an understatement!!

Sincerely,

******* ********

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a sunroom installed by building concepts. The project was completed on June 17, 2013. A week and a half after completion two other contractors pointed out issues with this sunroom. The gap in the ceiling and the dent in the roof.The project manager was contacted and he said, I know theres a gap in the ceiling, the dent in the roof we can't fix youll have to live with it. I had to ask him to repeat his self and he said the same thing. He went on to say if the panel is flawed it should be placed on the roof side were it cant be seen. He said he would come out and take a look at it, he has not followed up thus far. Product_Or_Service: sunroom Account_Number: #XXXXX_XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the dented panel removed or replaced, if at all possible I would like the ceiling sealed.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ******************** mgr. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***************@********* Hello, My name is ***** **************. I am aware of the situation that ****** ****** has presented to me via phone call. I did let her know that we will set up a time to look at the items needed to be addressed, as well as a sliding door issue she would like us to look at. Due to the uncontrollable weather the week she called, it has delayed me in setting a time with her. I followed up with a phone call, and left a voice message to set up a time to look at items mentioned. I did not state that she would have to "live with it". I explained to her that there is no remedy for a dent in the aluminum, however the panel can be replaced. There are also a number of other contractors working on the project, not affiliated with my company working inside the house. Not saying they dented the panel, but I know hen I shook hands while standing inside the sunroom, received her final check, asked her if she was happy with the work completed, which she replied YES, there was no dent on the ceiling. I did notice while I was there a slight opening in seam of roof panel, which I stated to her could be a slight defect in aluminum and if it was continuous from front to back, may have to be replaced. I was to inspect this as well the next time I met at job site. It is very unfortunate that we have had a clean record with the BBB, and something like this, which I was aware of, has now put a bad complaint on our record. I would like, in any way possible, to have this removed once I meet with the client to resolve issues. We are member in good standing with the bbb.