BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Preston Trading Post offers wood stoves, gas stoves, fireplaces, fireplace inserts, custom fireplace doors, multi-fuel furnaces, cook stoves, high quality furniture, grills, gifts, and more...

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Preston Trading Post meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Preston Trading Post include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 10, 1999 Business started: 09/01/1974 Business started locally: 09/01/1974 Business incorporated: 01/01/1981 in CT
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Biber, President Mr. Richard Edwards, Secretary Mr. Gabriel Stein, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Biber, President
Business Category

Stoves - Wood, Coal Boilers - Sales & Service Furnace Sales & Service Fireplace Equipment - Retail Fireplaces Furniture - Retail All Other Home Furnishings Stores (NAICS: 442299)

Alternate Business Names
J & E Farms, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 651 Route 165

    Preston, CT 06365 (860) 886-1484

  • PO Box 830

    Norwich, CT 06360

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: With regards to health involved in this issue I selected, "yes" only because we are presently in the winter season with temperatures below normal.My pellet stove which I bought from Preston Trading Post in 2007 broke down two weeks ago. March 4th I ordered the necessary part needed to fix it from Preston Trading Post. They said it would take 7-10 days to come in. Today I was hoping it would be in and was planning on driving out there to get it. I called first only to find out it was back ordered and not to be in until the 21st! I am usually a nice person on the phone, however, I let them know that, in the winter people don't order parts to have on hand and, they could have at least notified me of the back order. We have been going there for items since 1988. Evidently, they are too big to care more about individuals and rather more the profit. I let them know their actions were unethical and unprofessional. I have a 37 year old special needs daughter who has been sleeping on the couch with me to keep warm. Had they kindly let me know that the part was back ordered I could have gone somewhere else, OR they could have called around to find a similar part to sell me. I am sadly upset and troubled by this and now I still don't have heat. I recently found out that my electric baseboard unit is unreliable so I can't even use that.

Desired Settlement: I would like future evidence of them being more accountable to their customers when orders arrive and when orders are back ordered,to let them know, if not by phone, by text or email. Supporting documentation to support my claim would be the recorded phone calls purchasing the item and finding out it was back ordered.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

I am aware of this consumer's concerns since I fielded her call on Saturday, March 15th. She placed an order for a ********** **** convection blower for her pellet appliance on March 6th.  She was upset that this part was not in yet, was not interested in a discussion, and since the call was on the weekend, I could not offer any additional information apart from what our computer system projected for an arrival date.  For parts that are not in stock, the standard order turn-around time is usually 7-10 business days which is what is stated to customers.   That range has not expired.  The customer threatened to write BBB and post Facebook remarks about our "unethical" behavior.  I believe she owes us an apology and should be very careful about slandering a good business despite her frustration with her situation.

For clarity, a pellet stove is considered a space heater under law and not a primary heat source.  As such there is no responsibility to have every part conceivable in stock at all times.  We stock many spare parts and support the products we sell, but sometimes luck controls the situation.  Furthermore, the manufacturer (the largest in the hearth products industry) has fallen behind in parts supply.  They have also fallen behind with this specific appliances availability due to the abnormally cold and long winter.  A cursory check of other sites for this part all showed back ordered condition with back logs longer than what our system projected.  We called the customer on Sunday and left a message so that we could credit back her charge card since she was adamant that we cancel the sale on Saturday when she spoke with me.

That said, we checked FedEx this morning and a couple of the convection motors are scheduled in today.  One is reserved for this customer.  If she still wants the part, we will attempt to contact her when the part comes in.

Neither I nor BBB should have their time wasted in this manner, as the part is arriving in the time frame that was given when the part was ordered.  As such, there is no basis for the complaint and nothing to resolve.

Sincerely,
Joseph Biber
President


Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
When I called on the 15th I was told it was BACKORDERED, I waited 9 days before calling to see if it had arrived only to find out that it was BACKORDERED and they would not have them in until this Friday the 22nd. This IS what I was told.     My complaint was that the company did not inform me, a customer, of this backorder and the wait to be longer than expected. Had I known sooner,  I would have looked elsewhere.  Had I not called, only God knows when I would have been informed.    I consider this common courtesy that should have been extended to the customer and wasn't, especially with the cold weather we have had.   

Sincerely,

Martha Stuart

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

5/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Prior to April 5th I contacted Preston Trading Post, where I bought my propane fireplace, because it stopped working. They explained how to reset the fireplace manually with no success and it was determined there was a shortage on a module underneath. On April 5th 2013 a Contracted Man named **** came to exchange the module out. **** explained that he doesn't work for Preston Trading Post, but he does work for them on the side. I was with **** the whole time he worked on my fireplace. HE exchanged a module out. He also told me he switched the new remote I had with another new one. He didn't know how to sync the remote so he called Preston Trading Post and they walked him through it. **** finished up and I asked what I owe. **** said $50.00 and I wrote him a check. The next day the fireplace stopped working. On Monday 4/8/13 I called Preston Trading Post to speak with ****** again, as that was the man **** spoke with. He wasn't in, not the next day, on Wednesday the 10th I left a message and received no return call back. On 4/9/13 I called again and spoke with *****, stating my fireplace didn't work after service. HE gave instruction to fix and this worked. On 4/1713 my significant other received a call stating they needed $276.00. My significant other stated he would like a bill and they stated they don't do that. I called myself and spoke to ******. ****** stated that I owe this money for the parts **** serviced the fireplace. I explained that I would like an itemized bill and do not feel comfortable handing my credit card over the phone without knowing what I am paying for. ****** stated that he is not sending anything without payment. I took the information down. I called back in the afternoon and spoke to ****** again. I stated that it wasn't sitting well with me that I am paying for services/part that I can't see a bill on. HE stated that it's my boyfriends fault for not telling me payment is due upfront. I stated that I was on the phone and this was never said. ( no room left

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I do not thing it's ethical to demand payment over the phone without knowing this trasaction is honorable. I feel like a victim. I will pay my bill, but the remote wasn't necessary to replace as ours was new from them already. What can I do not to be a victim of this? They stated that they did us a favor, but I am not sure how. IS this legal???? We want to return the remote uncharged and not needed.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/19) */ We work hard to see the consumer's point of view when handling any issue. In this case, the consumer has no basis for the complaint. The gas fireplace was purchased in September, 2010, and the electrical components for this unit are out of the warranty period for more than a year. Mr. ******, who heads our technical department referred the issue to a third party licensed professional (****** ******) to service the product. As the consumer could not know what parts were needed, ****** picked up parts (primarily the module) at our store to bring with him. While ****** was apparently paid for the service visit, the parts were not. After the service visit, the consumer had several conversations with our technicians (over a period of about a week) where the consumer was confused about the operational sequences of the unit.Once it was established that everything was working well, we asked to be paid for the parts that were used. (The consumer incorrectly assumed that the parts left in a box were unused. Those parts were the removed parts). When the consumer requested an invoice, she was told that she needed to pay for the parts that were supplied and an invoice would be provided. (According to ****** ****** all the parts that went out were used in the repair). As of yesterday, 4/18/13. the consumer paid for the parts, received a receipt and copy of the invoice, and returned the remote for which they were never charged. I'm sure the consumer's complaint was hasty, ill-advised and should be withdrawn. Getting professional post-warranty service, and begrudging that parts needed be paid for, should not be cause for someone to claim that they are a victim. We hope and trust this consumer is once again enjoying the use of their fireplace.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1