BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Preston Trading Post offers wood stoves, gas stoves, fireplaces, fireplace inserts, custom fireplace doors, multi-fuel furnaces, cook stoves, high quality furniture, grills, gifts, and more...

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Preston Trading Post meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Preston Trading Post include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Preston Trading Post
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 10, 1999 Business started: 09/01/1974 Business started locally: 09/01/1974 Business incorporated: 01/01/1981 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Biber, President Mr. Richard Edwards, Secretary Mr. Erik Rast, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Biber, President
Business Category

Stoves - Wood, Coal Boilers - Sales & Service Furnace Sales & Service Fireplace Equipment - Retail Fireplaces Furniture - Retail All Other Home Furnishings Stores (NAICS: 442299)

Alternate Business Names
J & E Farms, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 651 Route 165

    Preston, CT 06365 (860) 886-1484

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The end of September of this year my wife and I traveled to Preston Trading Post to look for a wood pellet stove. We had heard from neighbors the store was very reputable and had many in stock, therefore we decided to go out of our way traveling to ** rather than purchase from the ** company we had used previously (2008) when a wood burning insert was installed in our fireplace. The salesperson at Preston was very nice and I informed him we already had a wood insert in our house at present. We decided on a model and placed an order. The salesman recommended an installer, ******* ******, to do the installation of the unit. The unit was delivered on the 30th of September and installed on the 2nd of October, although not to our satisfaction because, apparently, an "stove riser kit" was required to properly position the stove in the opening of the fireplace. The stove is presently held up by three pieces of scrap 2x4 wood, with nails and staples protruding from the wood, very unsightly and unprofessional looking to say the least. I immediately contacted *** ****** and his staff informed me the Preston salesman should have asked more questions regarding dimensions of the existing fireplace etc., which he did not. I telephoned Preston and was informed that *** ****** or one of his associates should have come out to survey the job prior to installation. As you can see we were clearly in the middle of this, now having spent over four thousand dollars to have a unit that is unsightly and not working. I was advised to contact "****, " the manager at Preston, who would solve the situation due to his experience with Preston. Unfortunately, this has not been the case. I spoke with **** this Monday the 6th and was told "It's not a big deal," that he would order the kit, almost three hundred dollars, and it would be in by Tuesday or Wednesday of this week. Yesterday afternoon I decided to check my credit card information and was surprised to fine no debit was stated for the kit. I immediately called Preston and spoke to one of the receptionists, who upon looking up my order stated "The kit would have to be ordered, and should arrive by next Thursday, the 14th." I explained I had spoken with **** on Monday and that he also said the unit would be mailed directly to my home address, to which she said it could not be, having to be delivered to Preston. She would speak with **** and call me back for further clarification. This morning (9th) my wife telephoned **** and the conversation did not go well at all according to her. He never exhibited any sense of wanting to satisfy us as customers, and when my wife said she was very displeased with the service, especially since we went out of our way to shop at their store, he gave the impression he could care less. When my wife said if this is not rectified soon she would contact the BBB, he said "Go ahead!" I unfortunately need this kit to complete the installation of the stove. At this point I feel **** may or may not order it for us, thereby delaying even further the use of it. There has never been any tone of helpfulness or even apology for the miscommunication from the start, and certainly no offer of even lowering the price of the kit to accommodate us for our trouble, something at least *** ****** said he would do regarding his installation of the kit. I feel I may have to make the drive to the store, again, but this time it may be confrontational because of his attitude. Very unprofessional, very disappointing for a business that supposedly has such a good reputation.

Desired Settlement: I would hope the kit has been ordered so we can complete the installation of the stove before the colder weather arrives. I still have to coordinate the installation of the kit with *** ****** but cannot do much until I know when the kit arrives at Preston Trading Post. At this point I have serious doubts that **** will follow through based on the confrontational tone taken with my wife this morning over the telephone. Also, I do not have ****'s last name, but he is the manager of the store.

Business Response: I was away when this consumer complaint was forwarded to us. Given the heavy Columbus Day weekend, this is the first opportunity to interview and fact find the issues.  Not surprisingly to me, the desired resolution of the complaint: namely the 2"-10" adjustable riser, has already been shipped to the customer as of yesterday 10/14/2014.  I understand that the customer also paid via telephone for the part yesterday as well. The date of arrival of the part to our store and the order date were as promised.

I do agree with the consumer that the question for the need for a riser might have been discovered during the sales process.  On the other hand, it could easily be missed as this type of installation is relatively rare, which is why we don't stock risers although we sell trailer-loads of these appliances every year.  And the sales process covers many topics because pellet fueled appliances operate in a non-intuitive way, prompting most of the discussion around operation, performance, expected heating area, fuel availability and preferences, warranty and installation venting questions.

The consumer points out that he felt we didn't care. We are sorry that that was the impression made.  Apparently we cared enough to order the special part without concern for credit card payment in advance, which prompted the consumer to believe the part wasn't ordered. There was, apparently, an agitated call from the consumer's spouse, who screamed that "we lied to her", although such was not the case.  **** ****, our stove dept. manager, is a highly respected industry veteran having managed other hearth stores before being tapped to represent the largest Hearth products manufacturer in ***** *******.  **** has served with distinction in our employ for five years before becoming manager. He is professional and not prone to being impolite, even in confrontational situations.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this consumers concerns.  We believe in time, this consumer will feel the transaction was one of the best decisions they have ever made.

****** ****** ***

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I actually prefer not to wholly reject the business response, acknowledging that I appreciate a response from the *** and his standing by his manager, ****. I cannot speak for the conversation between **** and my wife as I was not present. I can only speak of my conversations, which were business like but void, in my opinion, of any "feelings" of what our position was in the process of getting our stove in working order. Perhaps **** was having a bad day, certainly everyone is allowed to have one of those. The fact we drove out of our way to the business because of its reputation was really not acknowledged nor appreciated. I am a %100 disabled veteran, recently a major surgery cancer survivor, and really did not need nor expect to have any aggravation when ordering a pellet stove of all things. The fact the kit was ordered without my credit card being debited first is appreciated, along with the *** delivery at no charge. For this I thank ****. Tomorrow I am having ******* ****** doing the install of the kit and I fervently hope all goes well and the unit looks and works according to manufacturer specs. If asked I would not recommend Preston to anyone who may ask my opinion because of this. This may have been just a miscommunication issue but was the cause of unneeded aggravation for all concerned, although we were the party who had paid out over four thousand dollars. If the unit works as promised then this issue thankfully will be closed in our opinion.

Sincerely,

******* *********

3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: With regards to health involved in this issue I selected, "yes" only because we are presently in the winter season with temperatures below normal.My pellet stove which I bought from Preston Trading Post in 2007 broke down two weeks ago. March 4th I ordered the necessary part needed to fix it from Preston Trading Post. They said it would take 7-10 days to come in. Today I was hoping it would be in and was planning on driving out there to get it. I called first only to find out it was back ordered and not to be in until the 21st! I am usually a nice person on the phone, however, I let them know that, in the winter people don't order parts to have on hand and, they could have at least notified me of the back order. We have been going there for items since 1988. Evidently, they are too big to care more about individuals and rather more the profit. I let them know their actions were unethical and unprofessional. I have a 37 year old special needs daughter who has been sleeping on the couch with me to keep warm. Had they kindly let me know that the part was back ordered I could have gone somewhere else, OR they could have called around to find a similar part to sell me. I am sadly upset and troubled by this and now I still don't have heat. I recently found out that my electric baseboard unit is unreliable so I can't even use that.

Desired Settlement: I would like future evidence of them being more accountable to their customers when orders arrive and when orders are back ordered,to let them know, if not by phone, by text or email. Supporting documentation to support my claim would be the recorded phone calls purchasing the item and finding out it was back ordered.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

I am aware of this consumer's concerns since I fielded her call on Saturday, March 15th. She placed an order for a ********** **** convection blower for her pellet appliance on March 6th.  She was upset that this part was not in yet, was not interested in a discussion, and since the call was on the weekend, I could not offer any additional information apart from what our computer system projected for an arrival date.  For parts that are not in stock, the standard order turn-around time is usually 7-10 business days which is what is stated to customers.   That range has not expired.  The customer threatened to write BBB and post Facebook remarks about our "unethical" behavior.  I believe she owes us an apology and should be very careful about slandering a good business despite her frustration with her situation.

For clarity, a pellet stove is considered a space heater under law and not a primary heat source.  As such there is no responsibility to have every part conceivable in stock at all times.  We stock many spare parts and support the products we sell, but sometimes luck controls the situation.  Furthermore, the manufacturer (the largest in the hearth products industry) has fallen behind in parts supply.  They have also fallen behind with this specific appliances availability due to the abnormally cold and long winter.  A cursory check of other sites for this part all showed back ordered condition with back logs longer than what our system projected.  We called the customer on Sunday and left a message so that we could credit back her charge card since she was adamant that we cancel the sale on Saturday when she spoke with me.

That said, we checked FedEx this morning and a couple of the convection motors are scheduled in today.  One is reserved for this customer.  If she still wants the part, we will attempt to contact her when the part comes in.

Neither I nor BBB should have their time wasted in this manner, as the part is arriving in the time frame that was given when the part was ordered.  As such, there is no basis for the complaint and nothing to resolve.

Sincerely,
Joseph Biber
President


Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
When I called on the 15th I was told it was BACKORDERED, I waited 9 days before calling to see if it had arrived only to find out that it was BACKORDERED and they would not have them in until this Friday the 22nd. This IS what I was told.     My complaint was that the company did not inform me, a customer, of this backorder and the wait to be longer than expected. Had I known sooner,  I would have looked elsewhere.  Had I not called, only God knows when I would have been informed.    I consider this common courtesy that should have been extended to the customer and wasn't, especially with the cold weather we have had.   

Sincerely,

Martha Stuart

5/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Prior to April 5th I contacted Preston Trading Post, where I bought my propane fireplace, because it stopped working. They explained how to reset the fireplace manually with no success and it was determined there was a shortage on a module underneath. On April 5th 2013 a Contracted Man named **** came to exchange the module out. **** explained that he doesn't work for Preston Trading Post, but he does work for them on the side. I was with **** the whole time he worked on my fireplace. HE exchanged a module out. He also told me he switched the new remote I had with another new one. He didn't know how to sync the remote so he called Preston Trading Post and they walked him through it. **** finished up and I asked what I owe. **** said $50.00 and I wrote him a check. The next day the fireplace stopped working. On Monday 4/8/13 I called Preston Trading Post to speak with ****** again, as that was the man **** spoke with. He wasn't in, not the next day, on Wednesday the 10th I left a message and received no return call back. On 4/9/13 I called again and spoke with *****, stating my fireplace didn't work after service. HE gave instruction to fix and this worked. On 4/1713 my significant other received a call stating they needed $276.00. My significant other stated he would like a bill and they stated they don't do that. I called myself and spoke to ******. ****** stated that I owe this money for the parts **** serviced the fireplace. I explained that I would like an itemized bill and do not feel comfortable handing my credit card over the phone without knowing what I am paying for. ****** stated that he is not sending anything without payment. I took the information down. I called back in the afternoon and spoke to ****** again. I stated that it wasn't sitting well with me that I am paying for services/part that I can't see a bill on. HE stated that it's my boyfriends fault for not telling me payment is due upfront. I stated that I was on the phone and this was never said. ( no room left

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I do not thing it's ethical to demand payment over the phone without knowing this trasaction is honorable. I feel like a victim. I will pay my bill, but the remote wasn't necessary to replace as ours was new from them already. What can I do not to be a victim of this? They stated that they did us a favor, but I am not sure how. IS this legal???? We want to return the remote uncharged and not needed.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/19) */ We work hard to see the consumer's point of view when handling any issue. In this case, the consumer has no basis for the complaint. The gas fireplace was purchased in September, 2010, and the electrical components for this unit are out of the warranty period for more than a year. Mr. ******, who heads our technical department referred the issue to a third party licensed professional (****** ******) to service the product. As the consumer could not know what parts were needed, ****** picked up parts (primarily the module) at our store to bring with him. While ****** was apparently paid for the service visit, the parts were not. After the service visit, the consumer had several conversations with our technicians (over a period of about a week) where the consumer was confused about the operational sequences of the unit.Once it was established that everything was working well, we asked to be paid for the parts that were used. (The consumer incorrectly assumed that the parts left in a box were unused. Those parts were the removed parts). When the consumer requested an invoice, she was told that she needed to pay for the parts that were supplied and an invoice would be provided. (According to ****** ****** all the parts that went out were used in the repair). As of yesterday, 4/18/13. the consumer paid for the parts, received a receipt and copy of the invoice, and returned the remote for which they were never charged. I'm sure the consumer's complaint was hasty, ill-advised and should be withdrawn. Getting professional post-warranty service, and begrudging that parts needed be paid for, should not be cause for someone to claim that they are a victim. We hope and trust this consumer is once again enjoying the use of their fireplace.

4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service