This business is not BBB accredited.

Stone Academy

Additional Locations

Phone: (860) 569-0618 Fax: (860) 569-0783 View Additional Phone Numbers 745 Burnside Ave, East Hartford, CT 06108

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers higher education services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Stone Academy include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Stone Academy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1864 Business started locally: 01/01/1864 Business incorporated 08/01/2001 in CT
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Jeanna LaBella, Campus Director Mr. Joe Bierbaum, Corp Director of Admissions/Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jeanna LaBella, Campus Director
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Other Technical and Trade Schools (NAICS: 611519)

Alternate Business Names
Career Training Specialists LLC

Additional Locations


    101 Pierpont Rd

    Waterbury, CT 06705 (203) 756-5500


    560 Saw Mill Rd

    West Haven, CT 06516 (203) 288-7474


    745 Burnside Ave

    East Hartford, CT 06108 (860) 569-0618


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started Stone Academy back in 2015 into the LPN program I failed I was in titled to a second chance when I call back to get into the next class they said they had filled the class for me to call back for the staring class in April.I been calling since The beginning of the new year 2016 when I finally got a hold of someone they said they take new students first that I would have to wait to see if they have room. I did get a call saying they had room I was able to get in the second day of class I was pulled out I was told I was out of school more than 180 days they can not take me back until I paid almost 5600 hundred dollars which I signed an agreement that I was to start paying after I graduate but never got a chance to my second chance knowing I had 180 days to get back in school they should have got me a spot but I was told to call so I can get in the April 2016 program but when I did i was pulled out they said it was more than 180 days they should have never took me back but they did so they want me to pay them first

Desired Settlement: I want my chance to go back I'm in titled to a second chance how many people are they doing this taking money and fulfilling their contract knowing you have 180 days but they don't make effort to get returning students in first broke their 180 days are up

12/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was expelled from a for profit school with no notice, and no explanation.

Desired Settlement: Acceptance back into school with no form or retaliation.

Business Response: This matter involves a school and a student and as such the information is protected by FERPA. We can state that we do not agree with the statements made here and that it was addressed.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


***** **********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Stone Academy
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)