BBB Accredited Business since

Porter and Chester Institute

Additional Locations

Phone: (860) 529-2519 Fax: (203) 375-5285 View Additional Phone Numbers 30 Waterchase Dr, Rocky Hill, CT 06067 http://www.porterchester.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Porter and Chester Institute offers vocational training for electronics / computers, drafting / design, CADD, administrative / word processing, automotive, HVACR and medical assisting.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Porter and Chester Institute meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Porter and Chester Institute include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Porter and Chester Institute
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 08, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1946 Business started locally: 01/01/1946 Business incorporated 01/13/1969 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Vanessa Richmond Mr. James Bologa, COO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Miss. Aileen P Charland, Executive Assistant
Principal: Ms. Vanessa Richmond
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Other Technical and Trade Schools (NAICS: 611519)

Alternate Business Names
The Porter and Chester Institute Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 138 Weymouth Rd

    Enfield, CT 06082 (860) 741-2561

  • 221 W Main St

    Branford, CT 06405 (203) 315-1060

  • 30 Waterchase Dr

    Rocky Hill, CT 06067 (860) 529-2519 (860) 768-1461

  • 320 Sylvan Lake Rd

    Watertown, CT 06779 (860) 274-9294

  • 670 Lordship Blvd

    Stratford, CT 06615 (203) 375-4463 (800) 870-6789 (860) 209-9225

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Although this occurred in 2011, I am still paying the cost of this almost $16,000 loan for an investment that did not pay off. In the wake of recent news articles about many for predatory, for profit specialty training schools that leave its students in huge debt lacking the skilksets needed to succeed in the workforce, I decided Porter and Chester fits the bill. This institution should be held accountable for their deceptive and borderline fraudulent business practices. When investigating this school's ********** ********** program for my son, we were told that students would be PAID for the work they dId on cars. This was a major selling point for us. They fixed cars for non students, charged customers (myself included), but students never saw a dime. A few months into the program, *** announces a change in policy stating they could no longer pay students for labor. Tuition costs remained the same, only now students no longer had any of the promised income to look forward to, income they could have used to begin paying interest on their loans and provide small necessities while attending school. Halfway through the program, my son was removed from the program stating he was failing. There was no opportunity for self correction, and appeals for re-entry were denied. Aside from the deceptive onboarding techniques, the student environment is challenging. Many students are bullied and harassed and have tools stolen from them while the work on cars (unpaid) while instructors do nothing. Teachers are poor on patience and guidance resulting in students like my son lacking the necessary motivation and focus required to succeed. Combine this with the program not being what was presented at the time of application/admission (paid mechanic work to offset loan payments) this experience proved not only costly and unrewarding, but not the return on investment as promised. Now that countrywide, for profit institutions are being held accountable for their disreputable practices, I feel PCI business practices and their education quality needs proper investigation. The Web is littered with customers complaints and dissatisfied PCI customers so perhaps a class action suit is in the works. Of not, it should be.

Desired Settlement: Adjustment of outstanding student loan balance. Other forms of restitution from PCI are welcome to be presented as well.

Business Response:

Without the name of the student this is in reference to, and the campus the student attended, we cannot research or respond to the allegations.

******* ********

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The information as incomplete from my end. There was no there option but "reject" or "accept" as next steps, but this is really an update ti the initial information sent to open this case.
The student's (my son) is ******* ** *******. He was removed from PCI's ********** ** branch in  2011.

Sincerely,

***** *******

Business Response:

Our response – Federal privacy laws under the ****** *********** ****** *** ******* *** do not allow us to disclose personally identifiable student information without the written consent of the student.  As this complaint was not made by the student, we cannot respond to it unless the student authorizes us to release the information from his educational records to the Better Business Bureau which would allow us to address the allegations.

 

******* ********

5/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm an attorney representing a former student at Porter Chester who enrolled in the automotive technician training program in Oct 2009. Porter Chester promised my client training that would give him concrete skills, through hands-on training by *** ********* ****** *********** with years of professional experience and, specifically with the full time career service advisors who would provide career guidance and job placement (See Porter Chester website). My client was so intrigued with what Porter Chester promised that he promised to pay ~$27,000 to Porter Chester to help him achieve his dream of becoming a mechanic. Yet upon attending classes, my client realized immediately that Porter Chester would not fulfill ANY of these promises as the automotive technician training program was in disarray and his class was often left unsupervised, standing around with nothing to do with no instructors or the hands-on training they had promised. The career service department was also in disarray with advisors nowhere to be found and, when the advisors were on school grounds, they could not offer any career training beyond the reformatting of a resume. The skills such as preparing for interviews, tips on the kinds of questions you might be asked-and how best to answer them and ongoing career assistance so promised by Porter Chester did not exist. Despite numerous subsequent complaints made by my client and his father, and a promise that Porter Chester would improve their operation, nothing changed. It became clear to my client that once Porter Chester had his tuition money, they no longer cared about him. Frustrated by the lack of progress, my client registered numerous complaints with Porter Chester's Admissions department and with their CFO, *** *********. In numerous conversations, ********* admitted that Porter Chester had an instructor problem and did not provide my client with the career assistance and training that he had been promised.

Desired Settlement: Based on the above, my client is seeking a total refund of the ~$27,000 he paid to enroll in Porter and Chesters automotive technician training program and may seek damages due to Porter Chesters unfair and deceptive business practices.

Business Response: Mr. ********* attorney has been in discussion with our attorney so I am not able to provide any additional information at this time.  

9/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I graduated from Porter and Chester in Stratford CT in April of 2014. While I was in school I had payments automatically taken out of my checking account on the 10th of every month. On Aug. 4th 2014 I called to see for financial reasons if I could change my payment date to the 20th of each month. I was told that as long as I returned the paperwork within a day they could make the change for this month. The paperwork was faxed the next morning, and I received an email to contact **** ****** because he had a question about some info I provided on the form. *** ****** told me that it would be taken care of and my payment would be taken out on the 20th. On Aug 11th the payment was taken out of my account after I was told it wasn't going to be taken out until the 20th. I called *** ****** on the 12th to try to find out what happened and he told me he checked with the financial dept. and it should have been all set to be taken out of my account on the 20th and he didn't know why it was taken out on the wrong date. On Aug.13th I placed 3 calls to *** ****** at various times. He returned the first call, but I could not take the call because I was working, and the two other times I tried calling all I got was his voicemail, which I left a message both times, but I have not received a return phone call.

Desired Settlement: Due to Porter and Chester taking the payment earlier than they were supposed to, and to no fault of my own, I have three overdraft charges on my account because they took the payment out too soon, I want to be reimbursed a total of $111.00 for the overcharges.

Business Response:

If the student sends us a copy of the bank statement documenting the charges in question, we will be happy to reimburse any fees which were caused by PCI actions.  Please send the copy of the bank statement to:

******* ********, VP, Regulatory Affairs and Compliance, Porter and Chester institute, ** ********** ****** ***** ***** **  *****

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Porter and Chester Institute
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)