BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Goodwin College offers higher education services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Goodwin College meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Goodwin College include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 10, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1962 Business started locally: 01/01/1962 Business incorporated: 08/01/1968 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Noonan, Vice President Enrollment Mr. Mark E. Scheinberg, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Noonan, Vice President Enrollment
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Educational Consultants Other Technical and Trade Schools (NAICS: 611519)

Alternate Business Names
Connecticut Educational Services, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 403 Main St

    East Hartford, CT 06118

  • One Riverside Dr

    East Hartford, CT 06118 (860) 528-4111 (800) 889-3282

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (860) 528-4111(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Goodwin College front loads loan agreements. My issue with Goodwin College is for a balance that I have of $1300. I was awarded loans to cover the cost of school, but Goodwin College will not accept this money as payment because I did not attend the next semester. The College states that both semesters are in a package loan plan.

Desired Settlement: I'm seeking that my balance be erased, either by paying from the loan agreement or for payments that I have already made.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/04/19) */ Goodwin College follows the US Department of Education's regulations when administering aid from the Title IV programs. All students are made aware of these regulations when they initially enroll into the college. Mr. ****** met with a representative from the college's Business Office on March 26, 2013, where these regulations were reviewed with him again. Goodwin College stands by its decision and considers this case closed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Goodwin College does not clearly state that it is a junior college that takes more then 4 yrs to complete!They mislead the students and collect a lot of money and half their students do not realize that they MIGHT come out of 4 yrs with an associates degree. I think its sad that they can not be up front and state the truth. Its not easy to transfer credits and you always lose something in that transfer.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like for my daughter to be given an option to move forward and acquire what she set out to do. She has obtained a lot of outstanding loans and is being told after 3.5 yrs she still has 3 yrs to go and has taken the allotted credits per semester so not sure why it takes 6 yrs to teach for an associates degree except that they are milking the loans from unsuspecting kids!

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/04/17) */ This complaint was filed by Ms. ******'s mother. The VP for Academics at Goodwin invited both ladies to meet with her and discuss their concerns. This meeting took place on April 2, 2013 at Goodwin College. During this meeting, Ms. ****** was given every opportunity to illustrate how she was being disserved. Her academic schedule was discussed at length as well as her future with the college. During this meeting, the VP of Academics answered every concern and Ms. ****** and her mother accepted the outcome. They agreed that they would rescind the complaint to the Better Business Bureau as the college was doing all that it said it would do. Since this meeting, Ms. ****** has met with her Academic Advisor and agreed that she will remain a student at Goodwin College and will pursue a degree in Nursing or a bachelor's degree in Health Science. The College considers this incident closed. Consumer Response /* (2110, 12, 2013/04/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the partial settlement response from the business.)

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

1/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1