BBB Accredited Business since

Goodwin College

Phone: (800) 889-3282 Fax: (860) 291-8285 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 Riverside Dr, East Hartford, CT 06118 http://www.goodwin.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Goodwin College offers higher education services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Goodwin College meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Goodwin College include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Goodwin College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 10, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1962 Business started locally: 01/01/1962 Business incorporated 08/01/1968 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Noonan, Vice President Enrollment Mr. Mark E. Scheinberg, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Noonan, Vice President Enrollment
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Educational Consultants Other Technical and Trade Schools (NAICS: 611519)

Alternate Business Names
Connecticut Educational Services, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1 Riverside Dr

    East Hartford, CT 06118 (860) 528-4111 (800) 889-3282

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/4/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started at goodwin College in 2009 when I was told that I would be done with college in 2 years with my RN and that there was no waiting list to get into the nursing program. Being a single mother, Goodwin seemed like a great option to me as they had night and weekend programs available for the RN program. BOY WAS THIS A LIE. It is now 2016 and I don't have my RN. I have a pathetic associates in health science, lets be honest this is not going to get me anywhere in life. I am in debt for approximately $70,000 in student loans for this degree. THanks to Goodwins misleading practices, I was A. never informed that there even was a max for student loans and B, was advised by multiple academic advisers to take classes to get the "half time college student" and then just drop the classes once they were started. Being the gullible person I am, I thought I was being given the correct way to handle my school journey. I am the first person in my family to even go to college, so it was not like I could even ask if this was the norm. So many of my semesters were filled with these "filler" classes in order to keep my financial aid active. To top it all off, I found recently that Goodwin had not listed my student loans so that they were labeled as deferred, but listed as forbearance. I didnt even know what this meant, but it means that Goodwin filed that I was unemployed. I have held the same job since 2007. (yes that is before I even started at Goodwin.) So this just adds insult to injury, as I am just learning that I have additional monies owed because of this "forbearance" filing.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the credits that I was advised to drop to be removed from my student loans and I would like the forbearance issue updated so that money will also come off of my student loans. I would love to be able to obtain my RN but I dont think that is an option.

Business Response:

********Goodwin College

One Riverside Drive

East Hartford, CT 06118

 

******* *****

Manager, Marketplace Operations

Better Business Bureau, Inc.

29 Berlin Road

Cromwell, CT 06416

complaints@ct.bbb.org

 

March 14, 2016

 

Dear *** ******

Goodwin College is pleased to provide the following response to complaint ID *********

The complainant’s concerns encompass three main points: advertising, coursework, and financial responsibility, which are addressed below. The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) prevents Goodwin College from furnishing specific information about the complainant’s academic performance, dates of attendance, or financial standing.

Advertising

Goodwin College accurately advertises that students pursuing an Associate in Science degree in Nursing can complete their course of study in two years. In general, students who are appropriately prepared to enter the program can complete this degree in 20 months. Pre-requisite, remedial, or repeated coursework can add to the expected time. Additionally, any academic leave that the student elects to take extends the time of completion.

Coursework

Incoming students are advised as to their plan of study. A review of the complainant’s records shows that she was advised appropriately. It is not the College’s practice for an advisor to counsel a student to enroll in courses and drop them later. The “filler” courses referred to in the complaint were appropriate to the degree study to earn her BS in Health Science.

Financial Responsibility

Incoming students receive entrance counseling at which time they are advised of their financial rights and responsibilities. In general, when students have to repeat a course, they incur additional expenses. It is documented that the student was informed of student loan limits several times by representatives from Academic Advising and Financial Aid. The Federal Direct Loan Rights and Responsibilities document informed the student of the aggregate loan limit as well as the then-current amount she had borrowed toward that limit; the student was counseled in person, most recently on April 30, 2015, where she endorsed a document confirming this information. 

The student’s enrollment status was reported correctly throughout her time at Goodwin College via the National Student Clearinghouse and National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS).

We trust that the above information satisfies the concerns raised by this student. Goodwin College will not be adjusting the complainant’s records or financial responsibility. Should the Better Business Bureau have any further questions, please feel free to contact us. We request an update as to the status of the complaint.

Sincerely,

Daniel N*****

Vice President of Enrollment, Marketing, and Communications

Goodwin College

Tell us why here...

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 11127353

I am rejecting this response because: the woman addressing the issue is only referring to my most recent stint at Goodwin. The main issues were for the time span of 2008-2011. I was not filed correctly. They placed my loans on a type that insinuates I was not employed. I have been employed with my current job since 2007. Because of the way they submitted it caused interest to be applied and eat up my student loans even further. Also they do not in ANY advertising state that its a 2 year course "after you finish all the per requesites" 

Sincerely,

****** ********

Business Response:

One Riverside Drive

East Hartford, CT 06118

 

******* *****

Manager, Marketplace Operations

Better Business Bureau, Inc.

29 Berlin Road

Cromwell, CT 06416

complaints@ct.bbb.org

 

March 22, 2016

 

Dear *** ******

Goodwin College is pleased to provide the following additional response to complaint ID ********. Reminder: the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) prevents Goodwin College from furnishing specific information about the complainant’s academic performance, dates of attendance, or financial standing.

We have checked the complainant’s records and are able to share information from the following documents:

Health Sciences Information Sheet

This worksheet was completed by the complainant at the time of her initial enrollment and reviewed by the Assistant Director of Enrollment. Completion of this form indicates that the complainant had attended a Nursing Informational Seminar at the College, where the course of study, pre-requisites, and expected length of completion are covered in detail. Specifically, at this informational seminar, information was detailed relative to the number and complexity of courses that need to be completed before an individual can apply to the Nursing program. It was clearly detailed that applying to the Nursing program is separate from applying to the College to complete pre-requisite coursework.

Health Science Plan of Study

This form was provided to the complainant at the time of her enrollment. It outlines six semesters of pre-requisite study and includes instructions to download the Nursing program application in the fifth semester and to take the National League for Nursing exam and apply to the Nursing program in the sixth semester.

Orientation Program Form

This form outlines the components of the New Student Orientation Program and states that attendance is mandatory for students. New Student Orientation is an additional opportunity for students to speak to key members of Administration, Academics, Financial Aid, and Accounting to make sure they understand their academic plan of study and their financial responsibilities. This document is signed by the complainant and dated the time of her initial enrollment.

In addition, in the complainant’s file are the Goodwin College Academic Advising Checklist for Health Science: Pre-Nursing Track, which outlines the pre-requisite work for the Nursing program, and the Enrollment File Checklist, which indicates that all steps of the enrollment process had been covered with the complainant. These date from the time of the complainant’s initial enrollment at Goodwin. At the time of her return to Goodwin after an absence of several years, the complainant was shown a Preliminary Course Selection Worksheet in which she would be enrolled moving forward.

Advertising

It is the marketing practice of Goodwin College, when referencing the ability to complete the RN course of study within two years, to include the following statement: Additional time is required to complete prerequisite courses.

Reporting Status

Our research indicates that Goodwin College has accurately reported the enrollment status of the complainant. The College only reports whether a student is active; their enrollment status (half time, full time, or less than half time); or if they have withdrawn from the College. Students contact the servicers directly when requesting a forbearance or deferment of their student loans. We suggest the student reach out to her servicer regarding loan statuses as it appears she may be referring to how her loans were reported, not her enrollment status.

Goodwin College considers this complaint closed and will not reply further regarding this matter. 

Sincerely,

Daniel N*****

Vice President of Enrollment, Marketing, and Communications

Goodwin College

8/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a student at Goodwin College, about to complete my degree in teaching, in the last part of the degree there was a change in professosrs, on who had written a book, with mis guiding teaching in algebra, some students complained that the book needed to be corrected, which was done by those who realized the mistakes in the book, I was accused of not taking the quizz also the final, which lead to a failing grade, he refused to correct some of my quizs. I withdrew from the class, and did complain to adminstration, about what happened.. when I returned to school the class I was put in was studying from a diffrent with diffrent information, in the beginning of the class the professor stated he was not teaching the class, the students in his class studyed from the new book, this was a class of students who did not pass using the new book, the professor stated he will only be reviewing, I did not have this book, nor did I study from this book, which he said he would just be reviewing the material, I did not take that class the book, and class I took was entirely diffrent, at that point I had to withdraw, I was mislead, by the advisor, that this was the same book, which it was not. The funds which I had to pay for the class was a private scholarship which I was not able to use at that time, The finicial aide was also cancled because I withdrew from the classes. I recieved several phone calls telling claiming I had taken out a loan from the school, I either paid out of pocket for my courses, I paid for the courses out of pocket I never took out a loan, from the school, The misleading information was sent to collection claiming I had taken out a loan which is false and misleading information given to the credit buera. The monies I paid out of pocket was never returned, after I paid for the classes I was denied a chance to be placed in the correct class with the correct amount of classroom hours and not just a review for a class I had not taken. I was not given the same time in the classroom as the other students, who had taken the full class, none of those people was in my class I signed up for.

Desired Settlement: I paid several hundred dollars to the school, for books and classes, when the money was paid they refused to allow me to enter the correct class, my monies I paid out of pocket should be returned and the correct statis on my transcripts.

Business Response:

The student’s transcript and financial records are correct based on school policies.  The student was provided guidance throughout her courses by the faculty and the tutoring center with the proper course material.   The balance on the student’s record is a result of tuition and fees charged for the courses taken less any financial aid she received.  Several attempts were made to make arrangements for payment, with no response resulting in a collections process. 

The student has not paid several hundreds of dollars for books and classes as stated in the desired outcome, nor was she denied access to the appropriate courses.   ********* academic record reflects the proper grades for all courses attempted/completed.  Her financial record is an accurate accounting of all charges and credits for these courses. 

 

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have read the message from the business and they have given false information, to the BBB, regarding this debt, as stated, I have never taken out a loan from Goodwin College, all the aide the financial aide was in scholarships, and which was a private source, not from the college,and what i paid directly to the college out of pocket, there was only one book needed to finish the year, one class, needed, the other class was canceled, the book was perched from the book store, which were used books, running from 175-200 dollars if bought new, they do not supply any materials, for classes, not the class, I was signed up for. there was no schedule on blackboard, nor professor, contact, on blackboard, to take to admitting to pay for my class, which was one class, I also paid a fee the the accounting office, all these fees were paid out of pocket, by me to the school.

 



Sincerely,

******* *********

Business Response:

The College has received Ms. *********** reply.  

We are struggling to understand what she is trying to communicate in her writing.  Perhaps a personal, face-to-face meeting is in order.  If Ms. ********* would like to meet personally with a member of the Goodwin College Business Office, she is welcome to contact ******* ******, Assistant Director of Student Accounts, at ************ or via email to ********************

The College stands by its account of this matter.

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put in a request for my official transcript from Goodwin College on December 5, 2014. I owed the college close to $4000 and was told that in order for my transcript to be released, I would need to pay off the balance due. I paid the balance due in full on December 2, 2014. I submitted a request for the official transcript from Goodwin College on December 5, 2014 and according to the receipt, was told that it would take 10 business days to process. As of January 5, 2014, I still had not received the transcript, or any type of correspondece from Goodwin College. On January 6, 2014, I spoke with who I was told was the Supervisor in the Business Department named****** She said that the office showed that I still had a balance due, and that she would need to do further research to make sure that my account was in good standing. She said that the request was denied, however I had to call to find out that this was the case. She said that she would get back to me the following day with some information. I stressed to her that I was enrolling in a new school and that this was pertinent information that I needed to start my new semester. I offered to fax over the receipt from the Collection Agency showing that my account was paid in full and she provided me with her fax number. I also faxed over the receipt showing that I put in the request on December 5, 2014. I contacted Goodwin's business department January 7, 2015 and was given a complete run around. First I was told that there was no one by that name, and then the person that I spoke with said that she was new and didn't have an extension for*****. I was transferred to someone's voicemail who was on vacation and wouldn't be returning to the office for a week. I then spoke with someone else who said that I could fax over the information that I sent to ***** and they would review it and get back to me. This seems like a ridiculous amount of time to have to wait for a transcript. I paid an amount that in my opinion was completely incorrect, but didn't have the paperwork proving that the debt was invalid since the last I was enrolled in this school was in 2007. I was relieved to have paid the debt and am owed my transcript.

Desired Settlement: I need my official transcript sent to me immediately and I want the $10 fee waived based on the inconvenience and lack of follow-up.

Business Response: Hello,

Here is a summary of activity concerning this complainant:
  • Complainant has been paying down a balance of over $4,000 to an external collector since 2010.
  • Complainant submitted an online request on December 5th for an official transcript.  Our office let her know that she would need to satisfy her debt to receive an official transcript.
  • On the day of complainant's request our records showed a balance of $1,213.08
  • It appears that complainant paid her balance with credit collection agency but did not follow up with us at Goodwin College.  
  • We did not receive a payment from credit agency until 01/07/15.  After that was applied complainant still had a balance due to Goodwin College of $500. 
  • Complainant still had a balance on her account yet the college decided to release the transcript based on verbal confirmation from the collection agency.
  • The transcript request was sent to the Registrar's Office on 01/07/15 and on 01/09/15 the official transcript was mailed to the address that complainant provided on her request.  
       The college considers this matter closed.
     
    

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint:********

I am rejecting this response because:

1) No one from this college contacted me in regards to my original request for my official transcript. I had to call and I gave them time, about a month to respond and then had to call to find out what happened with my request.

2) It's not my job to follow-up with the school to make sure my debt was paid when I was given a receipt from the collection agency that they use with a receipt showing debt was PAID IN FULL.

3) It's also not my problem that they didn't receive payment from their own collection agency until 1/7 when collection agency received payment in full from myself December 5, 2014.

4) I faxed proof of payment as well as proof of the original request for an official transcript on 1/5/2014 to the Manager of the Business Department. She never called me back until I sent an email threatening to write a letter to the President and the BBB if no one responded to me.

5) There is no balance due on my account, Account was paid in full. College is lying when they state that I have a balance due of $500 when I've clearly proven by verbal confirmation from THEIR OWN COLLECTION AGENCY and signed document showing my balance is paid in full. They've done no favors for me whatsoever, my account is paid in full.

6) I've been paying this debt since 2010 because 3 years after I stopped attending the school, they decided to file a lawsuit stating that I had this large balance due, which was completely false. My parents paid thousands of dollars in money that they claimd I owed in 2007. When I received paperwork showing that I owed money a year after, I wanted to speak with the employee that assisted us and told us that balance due was paid in full. College stated that employee "miscalculated" the amount due and no longer worked there. The fact that employee possibly could have been fired only supports my claim that debt was invalid.

7) Original request for my offical transcript was sent December 5, 2014 and College is lying when they state request was sent 1/7. It was extremely difficult to get something so simple resolved, especially since the college has the money that they claim I owe. I work for a very large insurance company and I will make sure to warn all of my clients to never attend this school. They are very deceitful and I would never want anyone to go through what I went through while attending this school. School is extremely unprofessional along with employees in their handling of students.

Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response:

The complainant desired to receive a transcript of her academic work at Goodwin College.  This transcript has been sent to her.  In the event she hasn’t received the transcript, another transcript is being sent to her via priority mail to her address on record.

Goodwin College considers this matter closed.

9/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Without notification and contrary to a verbal agreement made with the business office, the accounting department turned over an outstanding balance to a collection agency. The only notification of this action was made to me by letter from ***** *******, dated August 8, 2014. The letter included my most recent payment of $100.00 which she claimed that they could not accept because the account had been placed with collections. Upon receipt, on August 11, I contacted *** ******* by telephone to inquire. She could not provide any written notice nor much documentation regarding the matter. She stated that her department was short of resources. She stated she would talk with her supervisor about this matter. I confirmed my email address with her and she stated she would respond to me. To date I have not received an email response nor any other communication from her or her office.

Desired Settlement: It would much easier to resolve this issue with the business office under our agreement, which to my knowledge has not changed. I find it less than prudent and somewhat ruthless for this institution to resort to such strong arm tactics and I am offended by the action. I left this institution because of academic practices I felt to be contrary to an institution of higher learning. Prior to this, I was under the impression that at least the business office offered some sense of integrity.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint.  Below, please find a summary of the transaction in question:

Original amount due from complainant  was $2,950.  Complainant has had this balance since 12/19/11.  Since this date, complainant has made the following payments:

01/26/12      $1010

08/07/12      $500

04/29/13      $100

06/03/13      $100

07/09/13      $100

07/30/13      $100

10/02/13      $100

he complainant's account to a collections agency on 07/21/14 - more than 9 months without any payment.  On 08/12/14 we spoke to the complainant and told him based on system parameters (not having received a payment within 210 days) we sent the account to an agency.  

The complainant successfully completed the course for which he registered.  The college holds that this balance is due and payable.  

Consumer Response: While I appreciate the fact that Goodwin College had the decency to respond, I find it offending that they could not have the courtesy to address the very nature of my initial complaint. Further, I find it offending that Goodwin College does not have the courtesy to acknowledge the whole of what I paid them in earnest during the two year period of my attendance. The balance due, which I calculate at slightly less than that cited, as there seems to be some missing payments, is a mere fraction of the overall $12000.00 that I spent, not by loan or some other means, but by cash for three courses plus fees, books and supplies, all of which were completed successfully. My efforts have been to seek a resolution. My system failed in that I lapsed on making payments. I recognized that and made an attempt at rectifying the situation. I do not have the luxury of system parameters to configure, my finances are done by hand, by a single individual that has been accounting for the tuition of not only myself, but of two children as well attending ***** and ********** ********* *******. However I had an agreement that I would pay "what I could, when I could", and that agreement has precedent. In consideration that Goodwin College no longer wishes to honor our agreement, I have, and would be willing to offer in good faith the sum of $500.00 in settlement of this matter once and for all without prejudice.

Business Response:

Goodwin College accepts *** ****** settlement offer with the following caveats:

Payment of $500 will be made, in one payment, no later than close of business of October 4, 2014.

Payment will be made via certified funds 

In turn, Goodwin College will immediately notify the collection agency of this agreement.  We will instruct the agency to place a 30-day hold on *** ****** account pending payment.  Once payment is satisfied, the collection agency will report same to the national credit bureaus.  

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Goodwin College
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)