BBB Accredited Business since

Rick's Roofing & Siding, LLC

Phone: (203) 332-2577 Fax: (203) 876-0659 63 Seabreeze Ave, Milford, CT 06460

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Rick's Roofing & Siding, LLC offers roofing, siding, replacement windows, and home improvement services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rick's Roofing & Siding, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Rick's Roofing & Siding, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2005 in CT Business started locally: 01/01/2005 Business incorporated 06/09/2005 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Richard W. Crans, Member/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard W. Crans, Member/Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Windows - Vinyl Gutters & Downspouts Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Additional Locations

  • 63 Seabreeze Ave

    Milford, CT 06460 (203) 332-2577


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ricks Roofing had replaced our roof in May. When the roof was replaced, there was debris in the family room from one of the skylights. I mentioned this to the owner Rick during installation, but he said if there was an opening it would have been sealed. In early July, after heavy rainstorms it was apparent that there was a leak. My roof and ceiling had never leaked before. When Rick addressed it, he stated he is not responsible for anything in the interior of the home and that I had a faulty and cracked skylight. I took a look in and out and the skylight looks fine, I don't think it was insulated and sealed and that the roof was installed properly around the skylight. They did come out and state that they repaired and sealed the skylight, however this should have never happened and they should paint and repair the ceiling inside too. If the skylight is cracked now, that should also be replaced as they never told me anything about the skylights prior, during or after the job until I had a leak.

Business Response:

Want to explain both to BBB and to ***** ***** both what happened and the time line.

On May 1st 2015 Rick's Roofing stripped and re-roofed home on ** ********** ****** ********** *** We used all top of the line materials with roofing system.

Not only met local codes, but also met all new home insurance company regulations, which most roofers do not.  Rick's Roofing also did extra work without charge.

On July 8th 2015 ***** ***** called regarding a leak on the skylight on her home. She explained that her son had noticed a leak in her home. ***** explained that her

son saw a leak from the glass on the skylight while she was away on **** ***.  Also said that she hardly ever goes in that room, so may have not noticed it herself.

***** said that she really was not sure what happened with her leak. I am much more aware than the home owner, but should not be so.

On July 10th a crew was sent out and found that the skylight itself (nothing to do with the roof) had many cracks and spaces in the skylight itself. The crew did seal and caulk

the best they could do on the old skylight.  The glass on the skylight was so old as it was pulled from the frame. But we sealed anyway at not cost to customer.

I did call ***** ***** again just three day's after her first call. Explained that her skylight is over 25yrs old, that if not replaced soon, and let go through the winter, out free repair

will probably not last.  Gave the price that would have been from the start of $750.00 to replace the old 25yr skylight. Again Rick's expects our free seal on the skylight to last for a short

time, but advice to replace as very old and very damaged.  On 7/16/15 ***** did agree that she was aware of the age and condition of the current skylight.

Really do not know where to go from now. But customer needs to know that "They , are responsible to protect the home and cover, if necessary with tarps, to keep their property safe.

After all it is there home!


Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
That is not true entirely.  The leak is on the ceiling not from the window.  We never had a leak prior to the roof.  My concerns during the job of debris in the house which would imply that the roofing was not properly is talked around the skylight was never addressed when I called at the end of the job, Rick just told me not to worry.  Also the first major rainstorm we got it leaked and yes my son noticed it first and we had been away but that is clearly irrelevant .

Sealing it would have been the least bag could be do e seeing he roofing company created this problem.  I also had a second opinion and hat skylight is not cracked. It's leaking off the edge. 

***** *****

Business Response:

Very sorry and is good customer. Will call and go out to see.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Rick's Roofing & Siding, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart