BBB Accredited Business since

La-Rich LLC

Phone: (860) 747-4427 89 Diamond Ave, Plainville, CT 06062 http://www.larichremodeling.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

La-Rich LLC offers roofing, gutters, siding windows and construction services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that La-Rich LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for La-Rich LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on La-Rich LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 16, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1990 Business started locally: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated 04/28/2005 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Scott Deprey, Manager/Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Deprey, Manager/Member
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Gutters & Downspouts Home Improvements Deck Builder Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Service Area
Avon, CT | Berlin, CT | Bloomfield, CT | Bristol, CT | Broad Brook, CT | Canton, CT | Canton Center, CT | Cheshire, CT | Cobalt, CT | Collinsville, CT | Cromwell, CT | East Berlin, CT | East Glastonbury, CT | East Granby, CT | East Hartford, CT | East Windsor, CT | East Windsor Hill, CT | Farmington, CT | Glastonbury, CT | Hartford, CT | Manchester, CT | Marion, CT | Meriden, CT | Middle Haddam, CT | Middlefield, CT | Middletown, CT | Milldale, CT | New Britain, CT | Newington, CT | North Canton, CT | Plainville, CT | Plantsville, CT | Poquonock, CT | Portland, CT | Rockfall, CT | Rocky Hill, CT | Simsbury, CT | South Glastonbury, CT | South Windsor, CT | Southington, CT | Suffield, CT | Tariffville, CT | Unionville, CT | Weatogue, CT | West Hartford, CT | West Simsbury, CT | Wethersfield, CT | Windsor, CT | Windsor Locks, CT

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid 765 for warranty I never got. Saying that they are behind is not an excuse. Your men also left a mess around the yard. Didn't pick after dumpster was removed. Stuff was brought from other jobs and dump in the dumpster when we where told nothing but roofing materials could be put in the dumpster. I don't care if you say that the roof is covered since it was put in. We need the warranty from manufacturer in hand. Do we need to take you to small claims court?? Im sick of your excuses that all I heard from the moment we hired you all. The roof was put in the beginning of June. Your excused mean nothing!!!

Desired Settlement: Get the warranty registered with the manufacturer or will sue in court. Thats all!

Business Response:

Warranty was registered and customer was notified

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *****

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $765 for the ****** ****** Warranty which was never registered with *** and not issued to me. Because the registration was never submitted to ***, I never got the factory inspection either. I called LARich on several occasions and was promised my registration would go through and it never did. My last phone call to LARich didn't allow for a message and two trips to the office were unsuccessful.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my $765.00 paid-in advance payment for the factory inspection and ****** ****** ********.

Business Response:

From: ***** ****** [mailto:*******************]
Sent: Friday, May 15, 2015 11:54 AM
To: ******* *****
Subject:

 

Complai t #********

Warranty was registered with ***

Warranty # is *******

 

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Thank you for your email of yesterday relative to the response from LARich.  My last call to *** regarding my roof registration was on December 18, 2014 when I was told, yet again, that nothing had been sent from LARich.  After speaking with a representative from *** that day, I tried to speak with either **** or ***** but I was unable to leave a message on either their office phone or ****'s cell phone.  I am happy to learn that I now have a Warranty #******* with *** for my roof, most likely because of my complaint issued through the Better Business Bureau.

 

I will be more than happy to get what I paid for, ie. the factory inspection of my roof and the ****** ****** ******** if I am still eligible which I fear I am not.  The literature from *** indicates that the contractor must register and pay for this warranty within 45 days after installation and that the homeowner should contact *** within 60 days if the permanent warranty from *** was not received.  The roof installation was completed on April 24 and time went by and not hearing anything from either LARich or *** I checked the fine print from *** and called both the *** toll-free registration number and LARich on July 8.  The customer service representative, ******, (who had departed the company several months later when I called again) was the first *** person with whom I spoke and she verified that no registration was ever submitted by LARich.  I immediately contacted LARich and **** said that my registration and several others were being sent out by express mail.  I called *** and reported this to ****** who said that the company wasn't strict about the time period for registration submittal so I took her word for it and continued to wait thinking that a "Factory Certified Master Elite" company would stand by it's word.  I also noted that LARich was voted "Best Roofing Contractor for *********** ****" according to the annual business poll. 

 

At this point I feel that ***** should uphold his company's standards and ensure that I hear from *** that a company inspector will be at my home within the next couple of weeks and that I will receive the ****** ****** ******** for which I have paid $765.00.  If this is not possible, I want a bank check in the amount of said $765.00. 

 

I drove to the LARich office on two occasions, once in March and again in April to see if I could speak directly with either ***** or ****.  The office was closed and there were piles of empty plastic bags on the floor.  It appeared that these bags had contained some type of snow/ice melting substance. My impression, after these two visits, was that no one was spending any time in the LARich office.

 

Any help I can receive from the Better Business Bureau in arbitrating this dispute will be greatly appreciated.  

 

Sent from my iPad

 

 

Sincerely,

****** *********

Consumer Response:

I called *** this morning to verify that the warranty ******* reported to the BBB and me was,indeed, valid. I have been assured by *** that it is and I should expect to receive a roof inspection and paper work in the near future. The warranty is a direct result of your contacting LARich on my behalf and I thank you very much for your help. It is a big relief for me to have this matter resolved.

 

Sincerely,

****** *********

 

Sent from my iPad

3/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: LA RICH replaced my roof in November 2013 .Some pieces of vinyl siding got broken and post caps on the porch.I called **** ********** and he came checked the damages and said they would replace the broken siding and post caps. He said they couldn't do it until spring because of the cold weather, the siding will crack. I understood and agreed.I had recommended La RICH to my neighbor to replace his roof, which they did in the end of May 2014. **** said they would take care of siding while they were doing the roof next store.I was away that week ,but made arrangements with my neighbor to gain access to the house if needed.They didn't replace the siding while they were there. I called **** several times with the reply they would be there this week,3weeks have gone by still no ****.I left a message saying I was notifying the BBB on 6/16/14

Desired Settlement: Replace siding and post caps,reimburse the cost of the material

Business Response:

From: ***** ****** ****************************
Sent: Monday, July 14, 2014 6:59 AM
To: *********************
Subject: Re: You have a New Message from BBB Serving Connecticut Regarding Complaint #********

 

la rich replaced  roof on ** ******** roof  following  hail damage to  neighborhood

** ********* insurance denied coverage for hail damage.

** ********* neighbors on both sides of him received hail damage.

 

la rich by mistake discarded to vinyl postcaps  during cleanup la rich is sending out a check certified  mail for reimbursements ($18.00)

la rich is not going to replace siding for free regardless if we were  referred to his neighbor.

siding was damaged as a result of hail damage.  vinyl siding repair was never  part of any contract

  ***** ******  la rich llc   owner

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Complaint #********

I never received a check or a e-mail from La Riche.Why would I write to if the problem had been resolved.I would suggest you read the original letter that I sent to you and read S**** ****** response.I don't think he is seeing things correctly.I would also suggest that you talk to **** the forman on the job.We had discussed the damages and he said they would take care of it.I would also suggest that ***** talk to **** about the damages, some how ***** has gotten all wrong                                                              

 

 

 



Sincerely,

**** ********

Consumer Response:

From: ********************** *******************************
Sent: Monday, November 17, 2014 6:26 PM
To: *****************
Subject: LA Rich

 

Thanks for the follow up.I have not heard in any way from **** ****** .He needs to talk to ****, his job forman about what we discussed pertaining to the damages that occur during the replacement of the roof.When I read his last e-mail it did not make any sense,He has everything mix up.I'am open to sitting down with **** and ***** and getting  this ironed out.   

                                                                                       

                                                                                             Thanks again   

                                                                                              **** *  ********

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed a contract on 7/25/2013 to have roof torn off and replaced new gutters also. I PAID EXTRA FOR THE GOLDEN PLEDGE WARRANY 25 YEARS 100% WITH 50 YEAR SHINGLE BEST WARRANTY IN THE INDUSTRY. FOUR MONTHS AFTER HAVING ROOF INSTALLED THIS STILL HASN'T HAPPENED. SOMEONE FROM *** THE SHINGLE MAKER IS SUPPOSED TO COME OUT TO INSPECT OUR ROOF AND SIGN OFF THAT IT WAS DONE CORRECTLY. WHEN I CALLED LA RICH IN AUGUST, SEPTEMBER AND OCTOBER I WAS TOLD I NEEDED TO WAIT LONGER.I FINALLY CALLED *** MYSELF AT ************** TO INQUIRE WHEN THEY WOULD BE OUT. I GAVE MY HOUSE ADDRESS AND WAS TOLD THEY NO INFORMATION REGARDING MY HOME HAVING THE ROOF REPLACED. THEY SAID THE CONTRACTER NEEDED TO CONTACT THEM. HERE IS THE PROBLEM THEY CAN TAKE YOUR MONEY FOR SERVICES AND NOT LIVE UP TO THEIR END OF THE CONTRACT.THIS WARRANY COVERS ME IN CASE THE CONTRACTER EVER GOES OUT OF BUISNESS I CAN ALSO TRANSFER THE WARRANTY ONE TIME IF I SELL MY HOME.WHT DIDN'T THEY DO THIS? WHEN MY ROOF WAS REPLACED I WAS OUT OF STATE THE NEXT DAY IT RAINED. SOME OF THAT RAIN WAS INSIDE MY HOUSE.......YOU THINK THIS COULD BE THE REASON THEY HAVEN'T SENT MY WARRANTY INFORMATION IN?SO INSTEAD OF HAVING A 50 YEAR WARRANTY LIJKE I PAID FOR I ONLY HAVE A 25 YEAR WARRANTY!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I WANT THEM TO HONOR THE CONTRACT I SIGNED.

Business Response:

HAVEING TROUBLE RESPONDING TO COMPLAINT RECIEVED AGAINST LA RICH LLC

 

la rich is a  *** master elite roofing contractor. what this means is when la rich finishes a roof with the golden pledge warranty.  *** will come to homeowners home and inspect finished roof for any installation problems.

this golden pledge warranty is in affect from the day the roof is installed. So there was never a moment that mr ********* roof was not protected. further more  warranty has been registered with ***  (warranty #******)

if I can be of further assistance please do not hesitate to contact.

ps   a  simple phone call by mr *********  would have been serfice in any confusion on this matter

sincerely  ***** ******   la  rich llc

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I WANT SOMEONE FROM *** TO INSPECT MY ROOF AND SIGN OFF ON IT. WHEN THAT HAPPENS YOU CAN CLOSE THE COMPLAINT. WHEN YOU TREAT PEOPLE LIKE IDIOTS THE CUSTOMER IS NOT HAPPY.......READ BELOW.

 


12/7/2013


In response to Scott Deprey’s reply. I CALLED LA RICH IN AUGUST AGAIN IN SEPTEMBER AGAIN IN OCTOBER. I WAS TOLD EVERY MONTH TO WAIT LONGER FOR SOMONE FROM *** TO COME OUT AND INSPECT MY ROOF. SO TO SAY A “SIMPLE” PHONE CALL TO LA RICH WOULD HAVE BEEN SUFFICENT WAS TOATALLY LUDACRIS. I DO HOPE MY EXPLANATION SPELLED OUT BELOW CLEARS UP THE CONFUSION *** ****** SEEMS TO HAVING!!!!!!!!!!!!


I ALSO SAID IN MY COMPLAINT I CALLED *** HOT LINE AT ************** ON 11/28/2013 ALMOST 5 MONTHS AFTER MY ROOF WAS INSTALLED TO SEE IF LA RICH CALLED TO REGISTER MY ROOF WITH *** NO THEY DIDN’T!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THE GOLDEN PLEDGE WARRANTY IS ONLY IN EFFECT IF THE “MASTER ELITE ROOFING CONTRACTOR” CALLS TO REGISTER THE ROOF WITH ***. I WAS TOLD THIS BY THE *** REPRESENTATIVE I SPOKE WITH.


WHEN DID LA RICH REGISTER MY ROOF WITH WARRANTY NUMBER ******?


I CALLED *** AGAIN ON 12/6/2013 LA RICH FINALLY REGISTERED MY ROOF ON 12/6/2013. THE SAME DAY HE REPLYED TO THE BETTER BUISNESS BUREAU COMPLAINT THE ROOF WAS REGISTERED HOW CONVIENENT.


SO I HAD TO FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THE BETTER BUISNESS BUREAU FOR LA RICH TO DO THEIR PART TO HONOR THE CONTRACT I SIGNED IN JULY.


PS---THAT’S A **** OF A WAY TO DO BUISNESS!! YOU MAKE ME OUT TO BE THE BAD GUY WHEN IN REALITY THE PROBLEM WAS YOURS ALL ALONG.


SO NOW I’LL WAIT PROBABLY TILL THE SPRING TO GET MY ROOF INSPECTED. THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN DONE MONTHS AGO. HAD HE REGISTERED THE ROOF AFTER THE AUGUST INSTALLATION I WOULDN’T BE COMPLAINING NOW. THE COMPLAINT WILL BE RESOLVED WHEN SOMEONE FROM *** FINALLY SHOWS UP TO INSPECT YOUR WORK AND SIGNS OFF ON IT. KEEP IN MIND THAT’S WHAT I PAID FOR WHEN I SIGNED ON THE DOTTED LINE.



***** *********

Business Response:

 

LA RICH IS  A MASTER ELITE ROOFING CONTRACTOR  WHAT THAT MEANS IS  THE WARRANTY IS IN AFFECT FROM INSTALATION.    *** is not required to sign off on the roof  it is  warrantied from date of install

 so if it does take till spring for the inspection it does not  affect warranty inseption. The warranty is in affect from install date.

I totally understand your frustration    during my audit   it  was determined that a refund check was issued    it was misunderstood as a refund for warranty, later determined it was for  painting from a leak after install.

sorry again for delay but it doesnot change anything warranty is in affect from date of install

***** ******     owner

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 
Once again there are really 2 warranties here. The one you get from LA RICH when your roof is installed.
 
The other one is from *** the shingle manufacturer it's the GOLDEN PLEDGE WARRANTY.
This is the WARRANTY I paid extra for on the contract. It is also the WARRANTY I had to complain to the BBB about not getting. As before I had to file a complaint for you to honor the signed contract. I finally did receive the GOLDEN PLEDGE WARRANTY in the mail from *** on 12/10/2013. That took 5 months to get.
 
I know the roof is warranted from the install date. Question our roof was installed on 8/8/2013. Why does the Golden Pledge Warranty have a 9/13/2013 installation date? See attached file.
 
You write you understand my level of frustration. You should include this in the contract so the customer knows what to expect when doing business with LA RICH MASTER ELITE CONTRACTOR!!!!!!!!!!
 
I'll close the complaint the day someone comes out to inspect the roof signs off on it. THIS COMPLETES THE CONTRACT I SIGNED WITH LA RICH THE MASTER ELITE CONTRACTOR IN JULY OF 2013 

Sincerely,
***** *********

Business Response:
Roof has been inspected by ***. Warranty was in affect from day one and there is not 2 warrantys there is one I am able to give after the job is installed from day 1.
***** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on La-Rich LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)