BBB Accredited Business since

Globe Equipment Company

Phone: (203) 367-6611 Fax: (203) 366-7003 View Additional Phone Numbers 300 Dewey St, Bridgeport, CT 06605 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.globeequipment.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Globe Equipment Company offers restaurant, catering and kitchen equipment and supplies.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Globe Equipment Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Globe Equipment Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Globe Equipment Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 27, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1938 Business started locally: 01/01/1938 Business incorporated 09/03/1946 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jay Ringelheim, President Mr. Brian Ringelheim, VP
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Brian Ringelheim, VP
Principal: Mr. Jay Ringelheim, President
Business Category

Restaurant Equipment & Supplies Service Establishment Equipment and Supplies Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423850)

Products & Services

Globe Equipment Company offers the following product(s): Blenders, Char Broilers, Freezers, Griddles, Mixers, Ovens, Prep Tables, Refrigerators, Sandwich Units, Sinks, Slicers, Stoves, Tables

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, ACH, Wire Transfer
Refund and Exchange Policy
We accept refunds 30 days after purchase as long as the items are new, and unused. All equipment must be in it's original packaging with valid serial numbers. For any non-stock or special order item, restocking fees may apply.
Service Area
International
Products & Services

We are a family owned and operated business specializing in wholesale restaurant equipment and supplies. We have a showroom open to professionals and the public, as well as an Internet site for customers not located in CT.


Additional Locations

  • 300 Dewey St

    Bridgeport, CT 06605 (203) 367-6611

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/27/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an item on the www.globeequipment.com site and the vendor is failing to honor the advertised price despite receiving an order confirmation and credit charge. Order # ****** Item: Bloc de Foyer Butcher Block SKU: BOO!RN-BF Price: $176.00 Qty: 1 Subtotal: $176.00 Shipping & Handling: $0.00 Grand Total: $0.00

Desired Settlement: Honor the advertised price ($176.00) and order confirmation for the transaction conducted on site.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

Sorry for the delay in response, I was traveling for the past 2 weeks and am just back in the office.  My office staff made me aware of a bug we had in our system over the weekend of April 2nd.  There were a group of of about 1000 products that there was a compound calculation and rounding error where were were off by around a factor of 10, so $176.00 should have been closer to $1760.00.  ($1801 to be exact).  Monday morning when the development team was in and could look at this the problem was rectified.  For the couple of orders that did go through, we immediately credited back the customer and informed them of the error in the system with a link to the corrected pricing. 

This order was placed on Sunday evening and we credited back the full amount Monday morning (Attached are the transaction receipts) 

On our terms and conditions page (https://www.globeequipment.com/terms-and-conditions) we state that we are not responsible for such errors (see section "Other Terms and Conditions")

I am sorry that the customer felt that we failed to honor the order, but we did credit back the funds on Monday morning as soon as the customer service team was back in the office and found the error.  I am willing to give the customer a 25% discount on this item with free shipping, but unfortunately unable to do it at the $176 price.  

Any questions, please feel free to reach out to me at ************************ or via phone at ###-###-####

Regards
Brian


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Globe Equipment Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)