BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides the publication and sale of self-improvement newsletters, books and E-letters.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boardroom, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boardroom, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 117 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

117 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 23 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 53
Delivery Issues 45
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 117

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 20, 1995 Business started: 04/10/1972 Business started locally: 04/10/1972 Business incorporated: 07/05/1994 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Marjory Abrams, Executive Vice President Ms. Michelle Cohen, Director of Circulation and Fulfillment Ms. Rita Kneller, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Marjory Abrams, Executive Vice President
Business Category

Publishers - Book Book Publishers (NAICS: 511130)

Alternate Business Names
Bottom Line Bottom Line Publications Bottom Line/HEALTH BOTTOM LINE/Personal

Additional Locations

  • 281 Tresser Blvd Fl 8

    Stamford, CT 06901 (203) 973-5900 (800) 678-5835

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 678-5835(Phone)
  • (203) 967-3767 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

Boardroom, Inc. DBA Bottom Line has recently been affected by a false advertising campaign. Consumers who receive solicitations or renewal notices labeled with “Bottom Line Personal” and “Associated Publishers Network” on them should be cautious. These communications are not from Bottom Line, and should be disregarded by consumers who do have a Bottom Line subscription. Consumers with questions can contact Bottom Line directly at 203-973-5900. Consumers can also contact BBB at 203-269-2700 or www.ct.bbb.org. Consumers who may have already responded to the notice can contact the BBB serving Southern Nevada at 702-320-4500 or www.southernnevada.bbb.org.


Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Elderly parents harassed with 'bills' demanding payment. NO merchandise was ever ordered or received by parents. Similar issues w/company in 2011 Acct: ********* ******** ******* ***** ****** **** ********* ** ***** Payment Amount: $49.94 Book Title: ********* ***** ****** ******** Billing Manager

Desired Settlement: Parents do not owe billed amount. Book never requested by parents. We request that Bottom Line Books cease and desist requests for payment.

Business Response: An order was received for this book, "********* *****", on 5/5/14. The book shipped 5/8/14.  On 7/17/14 payment of $30.30 was received leaving a balance due of $19.64.  I will have the additional charge removed from the account and have this account marked for "No future promotion of books".

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I'd like to also request that my mother's and father's names and address not be shared to Bottom Line Books subsidiaries.


Sincerely,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/29/2014 Delivery Issues
7/29/2014 Delivery Issues
6/2/2014 Delivery Issues
5/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A number of years ago I(unfortunately)responded to a mailing by the Bottom Line Books company, allowing them to send me a book. Since then I have received numerous unauthorized books from the company with a later demand for payment. In the past I have responded to their demands for payment, but I am now attempting to get them to stop sending me the yearly books and then demanding payment. They do not provide a phone number or web address, but only a PO box number, so I have been unable to speak with anyone from the company directly. I contacted them by mail to indicate that the material they sent was unsolicited and that I will not pay for it. The government's policy regarding unsolicited material indicates that I am under no obligation to either reimburse them for their material or to return it to them. I asked them to take me off of their mailing list, as I do not want to have to deal with their company's harassment in the future. I did not receive a reply from them, but instead received on 4/23/14 a notice indicating that they are going to "take more serious measures" with me in order to force me to pay the $48.94 bill for the book that I did not order. I am sending them a certified letter again stating that I will not pay for unsolicited material from their company and I believe that it is time for me to register a complaint against their company, since I have come to the knowledge that this is their way of doing business. I realize that there have been numerous complaints against this company for exactly this issue, and I believe that measures should be taken to halt this disruptive practice.Thank you.***** ** *****, M.D. Product_Or_Service: Bottom Line Books Yearbook 2014

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would request that the Bottom Line Books company send me a letter of apology indicating that I have been relieved of any obligation they are claiming regarding my receiving the unsolicited material that was sent. In addition, the Founder and CEO of the company, Mr. ****** ********, should be charged with mail fraud, as he is using the US Postal Service in order to illegally bilk US citizens into believing that they are obligated to pay for mat

Business Response: This charge will be cancelled and the account ill be marked for no future books to be sent.  I will write and tell his that sll has been handled as requested.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bottom Line Books is billing me for a book I never ordered or received. I have recently moved so it is possible if they sent the item to me it never reached me. It still does not excuse them from sendi g me an item I did not order did not receive and then trying to bill me for it. I want it to STOP immediately! I am not in good health and am about to have another surgery and do not need to worry about or deal with things like this. It is fraud! And the next thing to blackmail a d steali Product_Or_Service: None Account_Number: *********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want the bills to stop and I want an apology. I also want there to be no damage to my credit. Thank you for your time and efforts. I could not get the courser to go back and correct the spelling above please excuse the mistakes.

Business Response: I have had the charge for any open balance on this account removed.  I also requested the account for ***** ***** be removed from any and all future promotion as the address for the account is not longer valid.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned "Big Black Book" and talked to customer service and I am still receiving "Delinquency Notices"!! I received a "Big Black Book" from Bottom Line Books Publishers. I returned the Big Black Book in December 2013 because I decided it was not worth the money ($49.94). Yet, I kept receiving billing notices. On 13 January 2014 at 5:50pm I called "Bottom Line Books" and informed the person that I had indeed returned the book and that I no longer had the book. I was told the he was going to remove the bill from my customer account. However, yesterday I received a "Delinquency Notice" from Bottom Line Books! I previously received a different book from this company I had not ordered! It took several phone calls and emails to get this rectified! I have come to find out that a lot of other people have the same problems with this company. Go to "*************.com" ****** ****** ********** ******* ***** ******** ****** ********* **** **** ******* ********* ********* ********** ************* *** ******* ***** ******* ***** *** ****** ******* *** ** **** ***** ** ****** **** ***** **** ** * **** *** * **** **** *** ***** ***** ** ****** ** ****** **** ** ** ******* *** ****** **** ******* ****** ****** ******* ***** ****** ************ ****** **** ***** *** ******* **** *** ****** ******* *** ** **** ***** ** ****** **** ****** **** ******* ********** ******* ***** ********* **** ******* ******* ***** ******* ****** ******** ****** **** ****** **** ******* *** ****** ******* *** ** **** ***** ** ****** **** ***** ********* ******* *** * **** **** *********** **** ***** ** ****** ** ******* ******* *** ******* **** ******* **** ******* ******* **** * ******** *********** ****** **** ***** *** ******* **** *** ****** ******* *** ** **** ***** ** ****** **** ***** ********* ********* ***** *** ******* **** ******* ********** ********** **** *********** ****** **** ***** *** ******* **** *** ****** ******* *** ** **** ***** ** ****** **** ***** ****** ******************* ******************** ***** *** ****** **** ******* ******** ******* **** * ******** *********** ****** **** ***** *** ******* **** *** ****** ******* *** ** **** ***** ** ****** **** ************ ****** **** ***** ************ *** ******* **** ******* *********** ******* **** *********** ****** **** ************ *** ******* **** *** ****** ******* *** ** **** ***** ** ***** ***** ****** *** ****** **** ***** **** *** **** ** ***** ** ***** ** **** ********* **** ******* ** ****** ********** *** ****** ******** ******* ***** ***** ****** ********* **** *** ****** ******* *** ** **** ***** ** ****** **** ***** ****** **** ********** ******* ** ****** ******** ** * ****** ****** ** *** ** *** ********* *********** ******* ********* There are many, many more similar complaints like mine!

Desired Settlement: Stop sending me "Delinquency Notices" for a book that was already returned to Bottom Line Books in December 2013. And Take my name, address, phone number, email PERMANENTLY OFF THE MAILING LIST! ****** *********

Business Response:

The charge for Big Black Book has been removed from this account.  Sorry invoices have continued. No balance is due on either account on file for ****** *********.

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me:

 

MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

The charge for Big Black Book has been removed from this account.  Sorry invoices have continued. No balance is due on either account on file for ****** *********.

 



Sincerely,

****** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/6/2014 Delivery Issues
1/24/2014 Delivery Issues
1/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bottom Line Books or Boardroom inc. as they call them selves sent me an unsolited health book and I did not order or request. I sent the book back to them at their processing center in *** ****** **** certified and they are still billing for the books. Here is the letter I sent to them at Boardroom inc.Bottom Line BooksBoardroom Inc.*** ******* **** *** ************* ** **********To whom this may concern.My wife and I request you company to cease and desist and stop any and all mailings to our home at **** ********* ***** *** ******* ** ***** and remove our names and adress from any and all current and future subscriber list.Thank you,***** *** ******* *********** ********* ***** *** ******* ** *****

Desired Settlement: I would like them to not send me anymore mailing at all period. And take me off on their subscriber list and my wife ******* included.

Business Response: The returned book has not been received yet but we are canceling the charge and marking the account for the return.  The account has been marked to remove any and all future promotion.  Unfortunately, we cannot stop anything that may already be "in the pipe line".

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/23/2014 Delivery Issues
12/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/19/2013 Delivery Issues
12/19/2013 Delivery Issues
12/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have made repeated requests for this company to remove my contact information from their database, and to stop sending their junk mail to my address. I don't know who sold these horrible people my address, but they need to stop all mailings to my address immediately. No one likes to be harrassed, and I will NEVER buy anything from them. From the information I have read about them, when people do buy things, they are continuously billed, even after full payment has been made to the company.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want one last letter from this company apologizing for the harrassment, and verifying that I will receive no further communications from them or any of their partners or subsidiaries.

Business Response: I am unable to find a record of ***** ******* in our data base at the address listed above.  However, I will have her name and address added to be eliminated from any and all promotion.  Pleae be aware , we cannot stop anything thqt may already be in progress.  We can only eliminate from future selections.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sent a bill for a book that I did not order. I received a package a couple weeks ago from Bottom Line Books that I did not open and marked as 'refused delivery' and put back in the mail. Now I have a bill from that company. Account_Number: ACcount # *********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) No further contact of any kind from Bottom Line Books.

Business Response:

On 09/06/13 notification was sent to ***** ******** that the 2014 BLYB was being prepared .  If the book was not wanted,

there was a requewt for a post card to be returned.  When no word was received the new books was sent 10/25/13.  The account will be marked that the books has been sent back and the charge will be cancelled. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a solicitation for the Bottom Line Yearbook - 2014. I wrote a very clear and emphatic message on the return slip that I did not want it and that I wanted them to stop further solicitation as they are relentless in their mailings. I received the book anyway despite my clear request to the contrary. I did not open it. I marked it "Return - Refused". Now I get a bill/invoice for the book. This practice is deplorable. Of course they never offer a customer service number to call on their mailings to deal with the matter in a simple way. I have returned the invoice with these details. I now wait to see if the harassment continues. Product_Or_Service: Bottom Line Yearbook 2014

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want them to stop billing me for a service that I clearly refused.

Business Response: Sorry this book was sent when not wanted.  The book was returned for credit 11/21/13 . There is no balance due.  There should be no other invoices sent.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/19/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Discovered Bottom Line Personal gift delivered to same name but different address in CA, but no such address had ever been provided to Bottom Line. Customer Service representative, *****, stated that the U.S. Post Office made the change. Since it was not initiated by the customer, I inquired how that was possible. She stated that the Post Office made a mistake. I then asked how that was possible since an address change initiated by a customer would be done directly with Bottom Line, not with the Post Office. She repeated that the Post Office did it. I then asked her when the change was made, and she revealed it was changed at the time of the renewal of the gift subscription. Clearly, the U.S. Post office doesn't unilaterally make a change of this type. Moreover, the fact that it coincided with the gift renewal is equally revealing. I direct you to an interview with Founder & Chairman, ****** ******* at http://www.bottomlinepublications.com********************************************************************** and note the values expressed in this interview would not include behavior such as making up an answer to a customer versus acknowledging either an error or potential redirection of a subscription (fraud) that will be looked into. As a result of the poor customer service behavior ***** exhibited, I will reconsider future renewals of the several gifts I give annually. Very truly yours, ****** ********

Desired Settlement: My only settlement would be to know that 1) the ********** values are incorporated into the culture of the company, 2)customer service training is a very high priority that includes these same values, and 3) service representatives are held accountable to upholding these values in all interactions with outside parties and customers.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: **** *******, VP
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ********@boardroom.com
Postal address changes are regularly received by the post office. I cannot tell whether the address change is proper or whether it is to be ahnges again. I will contact Ms ******** for moe information.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The field for a response was left blank--i.e., there was no response.

Sincerely,

****** ********





























Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me if it occurs.  To date, I've received no contact. 

Sincerely,

****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bottom Line Books sent me a book that I did not order with an invoice for $48.94. I have never heard of this company before they sent me this book that I did not order. This is not only a shady business practice but it is illegal according to the U.S. Postal Inspection Service website. They recommend that if it happens to take the situation directly to your local Postmaster, which I intend to do. Bottom Line Books should be shut down. There are numerous complaints of all types including this all over the web including reputable sites ***************************. I also am now concerned about my credit information. This is a form of harassment when payment is demanded for something that was never ordered to begin with.Below is an excerpt from the U.S. Postal Inspection Website:

Desired Settlement: ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** *******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/08/15) */ August 15, 2013 **** ******* **** ******** ** ******** ** XXXXX Dear **** ******** Your complaint to the Better Business Bureau was forwarded to Bottom Line Books for resolution. In reviewing your account, our records show that on June 24, 2013 we received an order for the Treasury of Health Secrets for Seniors through our website. The email address that was given to us at the time of the order is: ********@*****.com. This order was shipped on June 28, 2013. Our billing goes out every 21 to 28 days and we have not had any phone contact, email or any correspondence sent to us from you. I have cancelled the account and the balance has been removed. I have also sent you our prepaid return label so you may send back the book at no cost to you. I apologize for any misunderstanding about our books. If you have any further questions, please contact Customer Service at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ******* Customer Service

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/9/2013 Delivery Issues
7/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bottomline Cashed my check # **** November 30,2012 but keeps billing me and not sending the newsletter I paid for. I have copied and mailed canceled check via US postal service and electronically email check to the Bottomline.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement Newsletter or refund.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/08) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, VP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@************* The subscription to Bottom Line Personal for ****** ****** was cancelled 6/17/13. This was an unpaid subsciption so no refund was issued. The only payment seen for Mr ****** was for a 2012 Bottom Line Yearbook purchased from Bottom Line Books. Payment of $38.92 for this was received 12/12/12.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being billed for unsolicited yearbook. They have now sent to collection. When I contacted Company they told me to return book. I do not have book. I am retired disabled.Vision has deteriorated so I don't read much anymore. Collection agency is *********************************** XXXXX.Can you help me? Product_Or_Service: Bottom Line Yearbook

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Cancellation

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/01) */ May 1, 2013 ****** ****** ************************* XXXXX Dear ****** ******: Your complaint to the Better Business Bureau was forwarded to Bottom Line Books for resolution. In reviewing your account, our records show that on October 26, 2012 we received an order for the Bottom Line Year Book 2013. This order was shipped on November 2, 2012. On December 1, 2012 we receive correspondence by mail asking how to return the book and we sent out instructions on that date. We have not received anything else by mail or a call. On April 19, 2013 the amount due for the book went into collections. We have not received the book back as of May 1, 2013. I have noted your account that the book Bottom Line Year Book 2013 has been returned and the balance has been removed. We will also notify the collection agency that the billing has been taken care of with us. I apologize for any misunderstanding about your return. If you have any further questions, please contact Customer Service at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ******* Customer Service

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sometime in Jan., 2013, Bottom Line Books sent me unsolicited and unwanted "Health Breakthroughs 2013" and a bill for $42.95.I refuse to pay. I have offered to send the book back if they will pay the postage.They are threatening "consequences of letting the account become delinquent." I do not feel I owe this. I am retired and on a fixed income, my age is 81.I do not know what they can do to me but I have no intention of paying for something I did not want or order regardless of the consequences. Who knows how many books they will send in the future under the same conditions. I do not feel that I should even have to pay return postage or postage on other letters of discussion. I have ordered books from them in the past and always paid what I owed but this is highway robbery.

Desired Settlement: I feel the best way to resolve this is for them to send me something saying they will pay return postage. I will return the book which is still in pristine condition. I do not intend to spend any money on this ridiculous action of theirs and I suggest they not try black mailing me again.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/14) */ May 14, 2013 ****** * ****** ************************* XXXXX Dear ****** * ******: Your complaint to the Better Business Bureau was forwarded to Bottom Line Books for resolution. In reviewing your account, our records show that on April 16, 2012 we received an order for the Health Breakthroughs 2012. This order was shipped on April 20, 2012. The offer stated that each year the new annual would be sent on a free 30 day preview, and if you did not wish to keep it, it could be returned at no cost to you and the series could be cancelled at any time. A notification card is sent out prior to each shipment, letting our customer know the new annual is ready for shipment and if they do not wish to receive it, please return the notification card and their reserved copy would not be sent. On December 5, 2012 the notification card for the latest book Health Breakthroughs 2013 was sent. We did not receive this card back or a call to us so the book Health Breakthroughs 2013 was sent on January 22, 2013. We have not received any correspondence from you or any phone calls. I have sent you our prepaid return label and you will receive it in 7 to 10 business days. I have also noted your account that the book is being returned and the balance has been removed. Your account is cancelled. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. If you have any further questions, please contact Customer Service at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ******* Customer Service

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchase a book from this company and paid for it November of last year. I have received a letter from a collection agengy claiming my payment is overdue. I cannot even contact a live person at this collection agengy to resolve the matter. Ihad to make a copy of the cancelled check, very inconvenient, and have to send it to them. They did not even provide a stamp; it is not that the stamp is expensive, it is the principle of the thing. It is their mistake. This is happened befor with this company but I let it slide. Not a second time. looks like a way to try and scam people.Thank you for your consideration.****** ******, ** Product_Or_Service: book

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like other consumers to be aware of what this company is doing

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/24) */ April 24, 2013 ****** ****** ***************************** XXXXX Dear ****** *******: Your complaint to the Better Business Bureau was forwarded to Bottom Line Books for resolution. In reviewing your account we show that you had two accounts with us. One is under ****** ****** ********** and the account number is XXX-XXX-XXX. The other account is under ****** ****** and that account number is XXX-XXX-XXX. On account ending *** a book was shipped on March 10, 2010 called Bottom Line Super Foods RX and we received payment for that book. On account ending *** we show the book Bottom Lines Mind Boosting Secrets for $38.92 was shipped on August 16, 2012. On December 10, 2012 a payment of $38.92 was applied to account ending *** but there was no balance owed on that account so on December 27, 2012 we issued a refund back on that account. We were not aware of you having two different accounts and we did not receive any call about the refund being sent back to you. So on account ending *** the book was sent to our collections on February 1, 2013. The book Mind Boosting Secrets is still owed. You can contact us to pay the balance with a credit card or you may send us a check or money order. Once we receive the payment we will notify the collection agency for you. I apologize for any misunderstanding about the payments. If you have any further questions, please contact Customer Service at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ******* Customer Service

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November of 2012, I received an unrequested copy of Bottomline yearbook, along with a bill for it ($42.95). Since I had not requested anything from Bottomline, I threw away the book, rather than go to the post office across town, to stand in line to return the book. (U.S. Postal code says that unrequested books don't have to be returned, or paid for). Since then, I have received billing statements from Bottomline Books, for payment for that book. I have sent a couple of their statements back to them, with notes stating that I did NOT request their publication, and have no intention of paying for a book that I don't have, or use. Bottomline responded with a statement that says in part, "more serious measures may be taken to settle your account".

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Online searches of Bottomline Books, reveals that non-paying people receive a negative notation of non-payment of a bill on their credit-reporting agency reports, when they refuse to pay for unwanted items. I want Bottomline Books, and Boardroom, Inc. to cease sending me things that I didn't request, and to cease sending billing statements for unwanted items.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/24) */ April 24, 2013 ****** ****** ********************************* XXXXX Dear ****** ******: Your complaint to the Better Business Bureau was forwarded to Bottom Line Books for resolution. In reviewing your account, our records show that on November 14, 2011 we received an order for the Bottom Line Year Book 2012. This order was shipped on November 22, 2011. The offer stated that each year the new annual would be sent on a free 30 day preview, and if you did not wish to keep it, it could be returned at no cost to you and the series could be cancelled at any time. A notification card is sent out prior to each shipment, letting our customer know the new annual is ready for shipment and if they do not wish to receive it, please return the notification card and their reserved copy would not be sent. On September 7, 2012 the notification card for the latest book Bottom Line Year Book 2013 was sent. We did not receive this card back or a call to us so the book Bottom Line Year Book 2013 was sent on October 30, 2012. We show on your account that we did receive correspondence and a prepaid return label was sent on December 7, 2012 so you could of return the book without going to the post office. We have noted on your account that you did not order the book and the balance has been removed. We also cancelled any future shipments. I apologize for any misunderstanding about our Year book series. If you have any further questions, please contact Customer Service at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ******* Customer Service

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did not order the book that they sent me . They sent me a book last year that I did not order but I paid for it anyway to keep from ruining my credit and I wrote a note saying I did not want any more of there books! They sent me another book anyway and now I don,t know what to do as there is no contact number! Product_Or_Service: Health Breakthroughs 2013 ( a book ) Account_Number: acct,#.XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to send the book back to them at there expense .And I would like to be taken off of there mailing list !

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/01) */ April 1, 2013 ****** B ****** ************** ******, TN XXXXX Dear ******* ******: Your complaint to the Better Business Bureau was forwarded to Bottom Line Books for resolution. In reviewing your account, our records show that on December 11, 2010 we received an online order for the Health Breakthroughs 2010. This order was shipped on December 15 2010. The offer stated that each year the new annual would be sent on a free 30 day preview, and if you did not wish to keep it, it could be returned at no cost to you and the series could be cancelled at any time. A notification card is sent out prior to each shipment, letting our customer know the new annual is ready for shipment and if they do not wish to receive it, please return the notification card and their reserved copy would not be sent. On October 4, 2012 the notification card for the latest book Health Breakthroughs 2013 was sent. We did not receive this card back or a call to us so the book Health Breakthroughs 2013 was sent on November 27, 2012. We have noted your account that the book is being returned and the balance and been removed. We also sent you a prepaid return label and you will receive in 7 to 10 business days. Your account has been cancelled and no future books will be sent unless you request them. I apologize for any misunderstanding about our Health book series and not receiving your correspondence to us. If you have any further questions, please contact Customer Service at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ******** Customer Service Consumer Response /* (-5, 8, 2013/04/05) */ they need to provide a contact number with there shipment !

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this company sent a book unsolicited and not wanted and expects me to pay for it.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: No settlement requested - for since we did not request this book be sent to us, we will not pay for it, and we don't want unwanted bills sent for this book or a collection agency calling or anything to do with this company. the return address on the book packaging says Bottom Line Publications, 1 return way, des moines, ia. XXXXX.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/18) */ March 18, 2013 *** ****** **************** *******, OK XXXXX Dear *** ******: Your complaint to the Better Business Bureau was forwarded to Bottom Line Books for resolution. In reviewing your account, our records show that on February 20, 2013 we received an order for the The 30-Day Diabetes Cure. This order was shipped on February 26, 2013. As of today's date we have not been contacted by you. I have noted your account that you didn't order the book The 30-Day Diabetes Cure and sent you a prepaid return label. You will receive in 7 to 10 business days. I have also cancelled any future shipments and removed the balance for you. I apologize for any misunderstanding about our books. If you have any further questions, please contact Customer Service at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ******* Customer Service

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
2/22/2013 Delivery Issues
2/20/2013 Delivery Issues
2/8/2013 Delivery Issues
1/30/2013 Delivery Issues
1/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/25/2013 Delivery Issues
1/25/2013 Delivery Issues
1/15/2013 Delivery Issues
1/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/7/2013 Delivery Issues
12/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/3/2012 Delivery Issues
11/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/9/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/5/2012 Delivery Issues
11/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2012 Delivery Issues
8/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/2/2012 Delivery Issues
6/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/5/2012 Delivery Issues
5/25/2012 Delivery Issues
5/25/2012 Delivery Issues
5/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/14/2012 Delivery Issues
4/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/10/2012 Delivery Issues
4/6/2012 Delivery Issues
4/3/2012 Delivery Issues
4/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/28/2012 Delivery Issues
3/20/2012 Delivery Issues
3/14/2012 Delivery Issues
3/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/6/2012 Delivery Issues
2/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/28/2012 Delivery Issues
2/28/2012 Delivery Issues
2/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/27/2012 Delivery Issues
2/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/6/2012 Delivery Issues
2/2/2012 Delivery Issues
1/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/27/2012 Delivery Issues
1/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/11/2012 Delivery Issues
1/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2012 Delivery Issues
1/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/5/2012 Delivery Issues
1/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/13/2011 Delivery Issues
12/6/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/18/2011 Delivery Issues
10/13/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/6/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/6/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1