BBB Accredited Business since

G & W Management, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (860) 274-6725 Fax: (860) 945-3468 365 Main St Ste 3, Watertown, CT 06795 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.gwmanagement.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

G & W Management, Inc specializes in residential property management. The business services include but are not limited to administration, financial services, property maintenance and more. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that G & W Management, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for G & W Management, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on G & W Management, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 30, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1986 in CT Business incorporated 02/02/1989 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Andrew J. Gionta, CEO Mr. Alan Hayes, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrew J. Gionta, CEO
Principal: Mr. Alan Hayes, President
Related Businesses
A & S Contractors LLC
Business Category

Property Management Property Management - Industrial & Commercial Real Estate Rental Service Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals Real Estate Services Property Maintenance Real Estate Maintenance Protection Plan Condominiums Real Estate Real Estate - Commercial Real Estate Agents Real Estate Consultants Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)

Business Management

Alan Hayes, this company's president, is also the president of A & S Contractors, LLC working out of same address in Watertown.

BBB maintains a separate report on A & S Contracors, LLC. The report may be accessed through BBB's website at www.bbb.org, or by calling 203-269-2700 extension 2.


Additional Locations

  • 365 Main St Ste 3

    Watertown, CT 06795 (860) 274-6725

  • 90 Brainard Rd
    Ste 105

    Hartford, CT 06114

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 3, 2015 I noticed we were having significant leaking in our entryway due to ice damming. Water was coming from the ceiling and the walls. There was a huge bubble of water behind the paint on one of the walls. There was also damage to the lighting fixture due to the water pouring from the ceiling. We also noticed there were water marks coming down from the air conditioner slot on one of the walls in our kitchen. This also makes us believe that the water went through the air conditioner itself which would damage it. The carpet in one of our bedrooms upstairs was wet. G&W Management was called on March 3, 2015 and March 4, 2015 to report these problems, but no one answered. A message was left, but my call was not returned. Unfortunately, this is very common when dealing with G&W Management. On March 12, 2015 I called to follow up and make sure our complaint had been received. We were told that several other units were having problems and we would need to wait a little bit before insurance adjusters would be able to come out to assess all of the damage. On April 12, 2015 adjusters came out to assess the damage on 15 units in our complex. The carpet in the bedroom was dry at this point, but we made sure the adjusters noted that there was a problem. We noticed that the light hanging outside our back door was broken and hanging off of the building due to huge chunks of ice falling as things started to melt. There is damage to the siding at the front of our unit due to ice as well. I called ******, the property manager, on April 13, 2015 to mention these damages and he told us not to worry because they do a walk around at the end of the winter to check the outside buildings. To my knowledge no walk around has been done to check or repair these things because they are still broken. I called on May 22, 2015 to speak to ****** to get a status update. He was not able to give us an estimated time when repairs will be made. I called on June 25, 2015 to report a new issue. Due to the ice that built up in the gutters, the gutter is bent above our front door. This summer we have had some days of heavy rain. Water now pours out of the gutter and sprays directly at our front door when it rains really hard, which is starting to damage it. I left a message for ****** but my call was never returned. My most recent call was on July 13, 2015. I discussed with him how in April we were asked to pay $396 as an additional fee and wanted to know what that money was being used for. According to ******, this was put toward the insurance deductible. I asked for a status update. He said they haven't received the check from the insurance company yet and there is no timeline for when repairs will be made. It has been over 4 months since the damage has occurred and not a single thing has been repaired in any of the units in our complex. Due to the water damage I am sure there is now mold behind the walls and ceilings. Although this isn't a health issue at this time, it could be in the future. We have an 11 month old and would hate to think that he is being exposed to mold. We shouldn't have to wait this long to have our house returned to normal. We deserve to have our repairs done in a timely manner, which hasn't happened. We also deserve to know when our repairs will be done, which no one can tell us. I find this to be very unprofessional and inconsiderate of the residents/owners.

Desired Settlement: I would like our unit to be repaired to the condition it was in prior to the damage this past winter. It needs to be done immediately, as we have waited long enough. This includes ripping out any walls and ceilings where water damage occurred in order to check for mold. Also, since the carpet in the bedroom was wet when the damage first started, I would like it pulled up to check that no mold has formed underneath or in the subfloor. If the air conditioner is damaged, it needs to be replaced. The light by our back door needs to be replaced. It is hanging only by the wires. This could become a fire hazard. The broken siding at the front of the unit needs to be replaced. The gutter and our front door need to be assessed for damage and replaced if necessary. I would like a written breakdown of the repairs that need to be done and the cost for each repair.

Business Response: There was an ice damming insurance claim at ******* ***** *********** *********** with a date of loss of 2/22/2015. The insurance is with ***** ****** and to date the Association has not received any insurance funds. This is very frustrating for both unit owners and the management firm as we have no control over the insurance carrier issuing payment.

The gutter issue is part of the insurance claim.
The unit owner is complaining about the $ 396.00 assessment. Each unit owner received a letter from the Association that the Board Of Directors decided to have an assessment for landscaping, road repairs and roof repairs.
Even though the Association has not received any insurance funds G & W has started worl in **** * *  on August 10, 2015. G & W is " FRONTING " this work for the Association and is not obligated to do so.
It is unfortunate that this unit owner can blame G & W for items that the management firm is not responsible. The Association hires all contractors and the insurance carrier. Management firms don't get to vote on hiring the hiring of contractors.

8/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had several problems with G&W since I moved to ******* ***** in 2011. Including snow/ice removal around my unit and front door. They would not take care of this, had no concern whatsoever to the point where I had to contact the town Fire Marshall to come out and contact G&W directly to advise this is in fact a serious hazard as I could not get out my front door when I was told by ****** to "Go out my garage", I fell trying to get into my house due to a large mound of ice/snow that was shoveled directly right in front of my door and had a large bruise. I have several photos along with videos and phone logs to support all of this. My problem now has been going on Since 2/13/2015 where my unit (2 story townhouse) had a significant amount of damage due to the rough winter... Including a soaking wet carpet in my upstairs office which G&W took several weeks to come and rip up. Now, almost half a year later there has not been ONE thing done to my unit. I have no ceiling or lights in my entry way (it is not very easy or pleasant walking in at night and have zero visibility), water stains on my walls in my entry way, tile/baseboards are destroyed in my entry way, ceiling is damaged in my living room along with my hardwood flooring buckling up and my office on the second level has no padding or carpet and all of my belongs were put into a large pile. Also, since there was water coming in over several days there is most likely mold that could be behind the walls where the water was coming in through. On top of this, no work being done I received an invoice for almost $400 and have to pay a large HOA fee of $220/month which I would love to know where that money is actually going towards. The upkeep and maintenance of the condo complex has significantly decreased. I would like to soon put my condo on the market but at this point it is virtually impossible. Breakdown of recent contact regarding the damages: 2/13/2015 8AM - I e-mailed ****** at G&W stating there is a water stain in my entry way ceiling around my lighting fixture with a picture included. 2/13/2015 8:21AM - ****** stated there are other units with damage and to "catch as much water as you can" and to "not worry" because my condo was on the list for repairs which will take place in the Spring. 4/12/2015 - Claims adjusters came to several units to take photos and document all damages. 5/20/2015 7:14AM - E-mailed ****** to see if there was any idea when contractors might be coming out to do work? 5/20/2015 8:19AM - ****** advised they are at a "standstill" as they don't have a check from the insurance company. 6/3/2015 - I spoke with the Insurance Agency to see if they had information/details on the claims check and was told a check should actually be processed any day now and mailed directly to the property manager. 6/4/2015 - I, once again e-mailed ****** to follow up to see what repairs were covered and I want to let my contractor know and get things going as I figured they would soon have the check. 6/5/2015 - ****** advised no scope of work, work is to be done by Board of Contractors (Not even legal to tell me who completes the work). 6/6/2015 - ANOTHER follow up to ****** 6/7/2015 - ****** stated no scope of work and no money. 7/14/2015 - Spoke with Insurance Agency, stated the necessary paperwork to release the check which should have gone out in June still has not been signed/approved! Up until Today, 7/21/2015 I have had no response from ****** or CEO **** in which I sent a final follow-up. This issue has been going on for several months, I have made several attempts to contact G&W myself via e-mail and phone and get this matter resolved but at this point have no where else to turn. This situation is being handled in an extremely unprofessional, poor and uncaring manner. I have never had such a problem or horrible service in anything I have ever dealt with. Because of this I highly regret purchasing my condo which is sad considering this is my first home and would recommend that anyone purchasing a condo make sure G&W is not the management company.

Desired Settlement: I want a detailed breakdown of ALL repairs to be completed to my unit along with the amount per repair given directly to me. I want my unit completely repaired to the condition prior to loss and have the cause of loss actually reviewed and repaired as this has not been the first time damages have occurred. The roof and/or walls need to be repaired to prevent further damage in the future and my interior walls in at least the office and entry way need to also be ripped out to make sure there is no mold growing as that is a large safety concern.

Business Response: G & W Management does not shovel snow and ice. The ****** ***** *********** *********** hires an outside contractor. G & W is not responsible for outside contractors performance.

There was an ice damming insurance claim at ******* ***** with a date of loss of 2/22/2015. The insurance is with ***** ****** and to date the Association has not received any insurance funds. This is very frustrating for both unit owners and the management firm as we have no control over the insurance carrier issuing payment.
The homeowner has complained that she she does not where her HOA fees are going. Our records show that she has never attended an annual meeting that would help her gain knowledge of the Association budget.
Unfortunately, the unit owner is not the insured. The ******* ***** Condominium Association is the insured and the Association is responsible for overseeing all repairs.
Even though the Association has not received any insurance G & W has started work in unit # 9 on August 13,2015. G & W is " FRONTING " this work for the Association and is not obligated to do so.
It is unfortunate that this unit owner can blame G & W for items that the management firm is not responsible. The Association hires all contractors and the insurance carriier. Management firms don't get to vote on hiring of contractors.

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a condo unit at ******* ***** ************ at ** ***** ****** ** *******, Unit **. There is a leak somewhere on the roofing that leaks through my walls and into my garage which is on the bottom floor (townhouse style). This is causing an issue with the leaking and mold is beginning to form in the wall. I contacted the management company of the condo (*** Management Inc.) and requested they handle it as the management agent of the condo complex. They informed me that it was my responsibility. I wrote a letter in return explaining under state statute (Chapter 828 of the Common Interest Ownership Act) that it falls under the condo association's responsibility. They disagreed even after this letter and refuse to do anything. I was recommended by my insurance agent to contact the BBB to held in resolving this issue, as they have not fulfilled their responsibility as a managing agent and the board has not acted responsibly in their role governing the condo association.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is that the condo association and management company repair the damage to my garage and fix the roof leak and to pay for it from the condo's insurance policy or the condo associations funds as required by law.

Business Response:

On April 22, 2014 Maintenance crews responded to a reported leak in the garage of unit ** ** ******* ***** ************, ** ***** *** ******** **. The following report is attached.

 

" WENT TO UNIT FOR FOUNDATION LEAK. CHECKED OUT GARAGE. MOLDY SHEETROCK TO RIGHT OF WALK-IN DOOR. GARAGE DOOR NOT CLOSING ALL THE WAY. TRIED TO ADJUST DOOR BUT OPENER NOT WORKING. THIS IS OWNER'S RESPONSIBILITY."

Unit owner does not live there and he has a tenant that resides at unit # **.. The ******* ***** Board Of Directors have instructed * * * Management not to perform any work in the garage of unit # ** as it is clearly a unit owner responsibility. The sheetrock in the garage became moldy because water comes in under the garage door when it rains because the door which is a limited common element does not close properly. Maintenance crews have checked the roof of the garage and the unit and the roofs are definitely not leaking. This is more a dampness issue.

* * * management is an agent of ******* ***** Condominiums and cannot do any work unless they receive authorization from the ******* ***** Board Of Directors.

 

****** ******

CEO

* * * *********** ***

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have many issues with the management company's response.  First, the inspection was not in depth, as the water fills in from the wall in the garage, not from the outside.  Secondly, the garage door does shut all the way and if it is flooding in from outside the garage, then it is due to the grade of the paving outside the unit, which is considered the common area.  This would also be a condo association responsibility if there was a puddle forming in front of the garage and overflowing into my unit's garage.  But going back to the original discussion, per the state statute mentioned in my original complaint, a structural leak, from the roof or wherever it is coming from, is considered a condo association responsibility.  This is something the management company has a lack of understanding on, and is therefore incorrectly advising the condo association board.  I believe if they even discussed it with their insurance carrier, the insurance company would agree with my argument. 

Sincerely,

****** ******* 

Business Response:

 Professional roofers have inspected the roof and could see no signs of any leaks. in addition the garage ceiling had no water stains. However, the ******* ***** board Of Directors have authorized us to inspect the unit again. I have left two messages for *** ******* to make arrangements with his tenant to let us in the unit.

 

**** ******

* * * **********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on G & W Management, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart