BBB Accredited Business since

My Pet Chicken LLC

Phone: (888) 460-1529 Fax: (877) 577-7262 View Additional Phone Numbers 483 Monroe Tpke # 322, Monroe, CT 06468 http://www.mypetchicken.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

My Pet Chicken, LLC offers baby chicks, chicken coops, accessories, books and free "how to" information, plus gifts and rooster decor.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that My Pet Chicken LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for My Pet Chicken LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on My Pet Chicken LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 13, 2010 Business started: 06/30/2005 in CT Business started locally: 06/30/2005 Business incorporated 02/22/2008 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Derek Sasaki, President Ms. Traci Torres, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Derek Sasaki, President
Business Category

Poultry Equipment & Supplies Online Retailer Farm Supplies


Additional Locations

  • 483 Monroe Tpke # 322

    Monroe, CT 06468

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a batch of nine eggs for my children to experience the hatching process in an incubator. I paid over $75 for the nine chicken eggs. I understood from the online disclaimer, that the eggs were not all guaranteed to hatch. However, I would have expected at least a 30-50% hatch rate. I followed all of the instructions - letting the eggs sit for the allotted time in the proper position. I also ensured proper humidity in the incubator and did not disturb the eggs with the exception of candling after 7 days and refilling the water basin to keep proper humidity levels at 7 and 14 days. Normally, when I candle eggs at 7-days, I see a web of blood vessels indicating proper development in healthy fertilized eggs. Additionally, my normal hatch rate in previous years is approximately 70%. With the 'My Pet Chicken' eggs, there was only blood vessel development in one egg. The remaining eight eggs had no blood vessel development which indicates unfertilized eggs. After 21 days, only one egg hatched. After an additional two days, I cracked the remaining eggs only to find they looked like a normal egg (egg white and egg yolk) with no development. I contacted 'My Pet Chicken' to explain what happened - fully expecting they would respond as a concerned company wanting to provide proper customer service. Instead, they told me it was normal to have a low hatch rate with eggs that had been shipped. Additionall, when I explained how I had candled the eggs and didn't see any blood vessel development indicating non-fertilized eggs, the Company Rep told me the eggs were definitely fertilized. I'd like to know how the Company Rep made that determination as I can't imagine she sat and watched the hen and rooster 24 hours a day watching for fertilization to occur. Finally, she stated the company could not provide any relief since the hatch rate was over 8%. One out of nine eggs hatching - over $75 paid for the nine eggs. If this is "normal" due to the shipping of eggs, how can this company be allowed to continue providing services to customers when it appears their main business is simply collecting consumer money knowing that most likely the hatch rates will be low to non-existent?

Desired Settlement: I would have been satisfied with a hatch rate of 30-50% (approximately 3-5 eggs) for the rate 'My Pet Chicken' charged for the nine eggs. When only one egg hatched, I would have expected an agreeable solution would be for the company to offer to ship 3-5 replacement eggs - or offer a 50% reimbursement of the amount they charged me for the nine eggs.

Business Response:

Hello,

 Thank you for bringing this customer's complaint to our attention. As she mentioned in her letter, MPC does not (and honestly cannot) guarantee a hatch rate on shipped eggs. MPC offers a wide variety of hatching eggs for customers who would like to incubate and hatch chicks at home; there is an inherent risk to this that all customers must acknowledge and agree to before being allowed to finalize their order. 

The snapshot attached, taken from our order processing system, shows the three statements that each customer must attest to (by selecting the check box at the left) before placing their order. Our order processing system will not allow a customer to proceed to the shipping or payment sections of checkout process without all three positive assertions.

 MPC takes every precaution to ensure the eggs arrive in the condition advertised. Great care is taken when packing to reduce damage during shipment and our policy provides for a refund should that packaging prove insufficient and an egg is cracked upon arrival. 

 Many factors will affect the outcome of a hatch, including but not limited to; handling by **** during shipment, external temperatures, customers handling upon arrival, the accuracy of the customers equipment and adherence to effective hatching practices.

To assist our customers in every way possible, we offer many forms of free literature on incubation including our Guide to Incubation and Hatching (http://www.mypetchicken.com/hatching-eggs/guide-toc.aspx), help topics on a wide variety of subjects (http://www.mypetchicken.com/backyard-chickens/chicken-help/What-do-I-need-to-know-about-ordering-fertile-H69.aspx) and one on one help with a customer service representative. Currently, we can be contacted via real-time chat and phone during business hours, six days a week. Our staff can also be reached 24/7 via email, and all inquiries are typically responded to within 24-hours of arrival.

In an effort to refute the assertion that MPC knowing and willingly takes customers payment without the intent to deliver a viable product, I would like to share with you the following statistics:

My Pet Chicken fulfilled more than 1,000 egg orders in 2015 which represents plus or minus 12,000 individual eggs. Of those, only 6 orders qualified for what we consider our "Bad Hatch Deal". In this deal, should the customer choose to try again, we offer to pay half of the total cost.  While we understand how frustrating a poor hatch can be, the feedback we've received from the vast majority of our customers has been overwhelmingly positive. 

In extenuating circumstances, MPC (at its sole discretion) may offer the customer a gift or credit towards a future purchase to help assuage their loss and expenditures. In this instance, the customer service representative that was helping the customer did offer her a $10 credit towards any future purchase. 

 To review our return policies and guarantees please see the link below. http://www.mypetchicken.com/about-our-company/policy/return-policy.aspxhttps://ssl.gstatic.com/ui/v1/icons/mail/images/cleardot.gif

For these reasons, MPC feels that we have gone above our policy and do not agree with this customer's claims.  

 Please let me know if you have any questions or would like clarification on our practices.

Sincerely,

Susan G******

Director of Operations

www.mypetchicken.com

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  Quick response to let you know I will be sending my full response this weekend.  Please do not close out this complaint at this time.  I am currently at work and not able to provide a response now but will be sure to make time this weekend. 

Sincerely,

******* ******

Consumer Response:
I do not accept the response from My Pet Chicken.  I did agree to the risk statements as I placed my order with the vendor.  These are standard statements, similar to "I understand their is a risk my child may be injured while participating in this activity"  (i.e. sport  such as basketball or lacrosse OR birthday party activity such as bouncy houses).  However, when the statement is signed, one understand the chance of the risk (injury or rate of unhatched eggs - whichever the case) is very minimal.  Therefore, there is no concern with signing the statement.  The rate of injury while playing in any of the activities I mentioned is very small - so long as the child follows the proper safety precautions while participating in the activity. Likewise, the rate of unhatched eggs should also be very small so long as one follows all of the instructions provided by the company - which I did to include having the eggs held at the post office; immediately picked up and brought home; left out to sit for the requisite number of hours; turned regularly while in the incubator; temperature and humidy levels maintained, and hands-off during the last few days of hatching. My experience in the past following these guidelines while using eggs from other vendors has been a 70% hatch rate.  This was not the case with the eggs received from My Pet Chicken.  Out of the nine eggs received, none hatched....a 0% hatch rate. This is purely unacceptable.  

As a business owner, I would understand that on occasion, an exception would need to be made to my companies return policy in order to sustain customer satisfaction,  Orders don't always go as expected - whether ordering eggs to hatch or a pizza to eat.  While visitng a specialty pizza restaurant this past weekend (recently applauded by *** ***** ** ******* ********** * *****), I noticed a customer at a table next to me who did not receive the pizza they had ordered.  The owner immediately came to the table and without delay, reassured the customer another pizza would be made for the customer to ensure their satisfaction when they left the restaurant.  The customer was initially very surprised by the immediate responsiveness of the restaurant (and the owner no-less), and then you could see the customer's gratitude followed.  By the look on the customer's face, I could see them not only returning to the restaurant, but also recommending the restaurant to all of their friends.  Heavens, I've even shared the story with several of my friends highly recommending the restaurant, even though I was only a witness to the incident.    In the situation with My Pet Chicken, in the name of customer-service and keeping the reputation of the company, I believe the cost of shipping a partial shipment of eggs to make (and keep) a happy customer would far out weigh the minimal costs for feeding the hen a few extra days to lay the eggs.  If the success rate is as high as My Pet Chicken reports, I don't understand why, at the rate they charge for their eggs ($75 for nine eggs in my case - which is over $8 per egg), they couldn't simply offer to replace my very few eggs accepting it as a small loss upfront with the potential of a life-time customer with multiple purchases in the future.  In this case, I would have even been satisified to pay shipping myself if the offer for a few extra eggs had been extended (which it was not).

Instead, My Pet Chicken simply reiterated their companies return policy, and offered a $10 credit which could only be used for a purchase with their company.  I am not aware of anything I can purchase at My Pet Chicken for $10 without actually having to pay more to offset the additional costs.  So once again, My Pet Chicken is only concerned with padding their pockets with their customers money - or so it seems from my experience with this business transaction.

Thank you for your assistance with this issue.
******* ****** ***** ********

Business Response:

Hello BBB Review Team,

Thank you for forwarding this customer’s email addressing her additional concerns.  While we understand and sympathize with *** ******** concerns, she is alleging that My Pet Chicken sells infertile eggs thus, participating in fraud.  This allegation is unfounded and truly upsetting to read since the foundation of MPC is supplying our customers with quality products and animals (chicks/eggs).  Of course, we deny this wholeheartedly and as was stated previously, we ship thousands of eggs each year and have very few unsuccessful hatches.  Each of our hatching egg programs also go through rigorous quality assurance programs and regularly test for fertility.

We believe, based on notes the customer entered in the order (see below) and our discussion with her when she called to report a bad hatch, that it is very possible customer error. Based on the timeline constructed below, we believe the customer 'held' (didn't set the eggs for hatching) too long which may have inadvertently caused the bad hatch.

Customer’s notes on order:

Preferred Shipping Week: Week of Mar 14, 2016 change date 
Blackout Dates: 
Blackout Dates: Preferable week to receive eggs is week of March 14th (to put in incubator o/a March 23rd). I cannot except eggs after week of March 21st shipping d/t our being away from home while chicks are still too young to place outside on their own.
Will not accept substitutions

The eggs were shipped March 15 (the week of March 14th, as requested by the customer). At the time the eggs shipped the customer was sent a tracking notice with handling information which included a directive to let eggs rest 24 hours, then incubate.  The eggs were delivered on March 17th.   Allowing the eggs to rest 24 hrs., chicks should have hatched on or about April 8th.  However, the customer called us on April 26th to indicate she had only one chick hatch. This report arrived more than 3 weeks after the expected hatch.  For this reason, we were unable to refund her because no shipper of eggs has control over the environment in which the eggs are incubated.

In Chapter 8 of our free Incubation Guide (link) we explain that no development may occur because the eggs were not set promptly after resting. (Please see attachment)

Even experienced hatchers encounter problems with their hatches including but not limited to: equipment malfunction, power fluctuation, improper ventilation, improper humidity, eggs not being turned properly. 

My Pet Chicken stands by our original offer of $10 towards a future order. We are confident in our hatching egg program and do believe the bad hatch might have been from human error.  The customer may have misunderstood the $10 credit.  It was given so that the customer may try again in ordering eggs, if she so chooses.

 

Thank you,

Susan G******

Director of Operations

www.mypetchicken.com

 

5/1/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been ordering chicks from them for a number of years. In the past there have been no issues and, since they are live chicks, I understand some losses occur. This time, however, nearly the entire flock died within one day, 4 over night and an additional six the next day. I called for assistance and was basically subjected to an interrogation that was less about what actually happened and more about finding a way to blame it on me and avoid responsibility. I was interrupted constantly, the rep changed the meaning of my words to create a narrative that diverged from what happened, did not listen to the steps I had taken and refused to escalate the call. The birds were in a small enclosure that was free of drafts with a heating system. I had started the heater several days prior to ensure it maintained the proper temperature. After the reps repeated refusal to allow me to speak with a manager, she informed me one would call me back later that day. No manager did. The rep did call back that afternoon to inform me that they were not going to honor any warranty or do anything to remedy the situation and that no manager would be contacting me. I thought it odd that the manager refused, she informed me that the manager was calling other people but had deemed me as not worthy of her time. The disdain they hold their customers in, by actively look to place blame on the customers without actually listening to the situation and managers who pick and choose who they want to deal with, is palpable.

Desired Settlement: A replacement of the chicks and an apology/explanation from the manager as to why she could not be bothered to call.

Business Response:

Hello,
This letter constitutes our official response to **** ****** complaint regarding the loss of his chicks he ordered from My Pet Chicken. 
Our first contact with *** ***** was a voice mail message on April 16, advising us that his chicks had arrived safely the previous day, but he awoke to find six or seven of them had passed, and requesting that we return his call to help determine the cause of the loss.
As background, My Pet Chicken does guarantee the arrival of healthy baby chicks. Customers must select a box saying that they understand the following, before they are able to complete any purchase: 
We guarantee healthy, live chicks and started pullets. We will offer a refund, replacement, or give credit toward any bird that you properly cared-for but died within 48 hours of arrival, provided you notify My Pet Chicken of any losses, by email or phone, within 48 hours of arrival. 
Clicking on the "properly cared-for" link brings up a page with detailed chick care instructions:

That same day, one of our customer service representatives, an expert in chicken care, returned *** *****'s call. He reported that 9 chicks had now passed. Our representative inquired about the chick's housing environment, food, water and handling to help her determine the possible cause of death, and to help prevent any further losses. *** ***** replied that the chicks were kept outdoors, in an enclosed coop, with a heat source that we categorically deem inadequate for the circumstances in which they were housed (details available upon request). 

Our representative explained the importance of controlling temperature in the chicks' "brooder" area (approximately 95 degrees during the first days life), and that maintaining this temperature in a non heat-controlled environment, where outdoor temps fluctuate from day to night, is nearly impossible. She advised moving the remaining chicks to a more controlled environment to allow them to warm up. *** ***** did not like that idea, and asked to be connected to a manager. Since the manager was not available at that time, our representative explained that she would call back once she was able to speak with the manager about his case.

After an internal discussion with the manager, it was decided that since we deemed the chicks improperly cared for, per our guarantees, My Pet Chicken would not take financial responsibility for the loss of life. Our customer service representative called *** ***** back on April 17th to communicate this. She explained the details of our guarantee, and that the manager would be available to call him back the next day to go over any questions he had. She asked when would be a convenient time to reach him, and *** ***** interrupted, said he was going to dispute the charge with his credit card company and report us to the Better Business Bureau, and hung up the phone.
In summary, it was our opinion that *** ***** did not properly care for his chicks, and therefore he does not quality for a refund, per the terms of our guarantee. He was unwilling to take the advice of our chicken care expert and bring the chicks to a warmer location. My Pet Chicken's refund policy was established to protect customers on those rare occasions when chicks are properly cared for but perish anyway--and to provide yet another opportunity to educate folks on proper care. It was not establish to protect customers who refuse to provide adequate care.

Thank you for your attention in this matter, 

***** ******* 
Director of Operations 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The number of factual errors in your response are too many to list.  Some are distortions, some are outright blatant fabrications.  The dismissive tone of the letter is also indicative of the tone of the rep during the calls I made and what was said.  The chicks were kept in an environment where the temperature was maintained, I tested it for several days in advance.  The "expert" continually interrupted me, ignored what I had to say, and changed what I did say for the purposes of avoiding responsibility.  She also told me that a manager could not be bothered to call me back as she had more important things to do and would not be available to me.  I asked to speak to a manager repeatedly, the "expert" told me no, she could not be bothered. For this ***** person to change the story to make it sound like a manager was going to call is simply not true - as is so much of what she claims in her response.  They don't even have the timeline correct and, as I've said before, her narrative ranges from garbled to outright made up.  
That I refused the advice or to listen to the expert is also untrue, just another made up story so they can avoid liability.  Again, it's a case of them ignoring what was actually said and done, twisting words and looking for ways to blame others.  Case in point, I never refused to move the chicks, and when she called back they were in our kitchen and I was inspecting the survivors while the rep was on the phone with, describing to her what was going on.  *****, however, would rather lie so she can bury the fact that the rep told me repeatedly that the manager was too busy to call me back as she had made her decision and wasn't interested in discussing it any further - I suspect it was probably ***** and she is now trying to cover her refusal by shifting blame to me - the preferred tactic of this company.
The bottom line, the chicks were kept in a small, airtight enclosure with no drafts under an ****** chick brooder that was set so they came in contact with warmer.  There is no reason so many of the chicks should have died under those conditions.

Sincerely,

**** *****

Business Response:

We are sorry that *** ***** is unsatisfied. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer care. The customer service representative who spoke with *** *****'s experienced their interactions very differently than the way *** ***** characterizes them. We stand by our our policies and guarantees. 

Sincerely,
*****
Director of Operations

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The reply wasn't a response to the specific charges or the blatant fictions I outlined.  Additional research concerning other people who have had issues with My Pet Chicken show a distinct pattern of avoiding responsibility and being less than honest when issues occur. There is no effort to provide competent customer service as is evidenced by incorrect timelines, misrepresentations and outright lies on the part of *****.  Not surprising for a company that, it turns out, is not an actual breeder, as they present themselves, but actually a broker who resells from multiple, undisclosed sources.

Sincerely,

**** *****

8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: One of their customer service reps was very rude and as a customer, I find that unacceptable. She was rude to the point that I will not be purchasing from them again and will advise others in the market to go elsewhere. I placed an order for chick feed & a coop, within half a day I contacted them via email to see about canceling a part of my order. They got back to me the next day and said that they canceled it and there was just the cancellation fee to contend with. After learning of that fee, I got back w/in the hr to stop the cancel. There apparently was a mix up since they needed my payment again because someone had canceled to whole thing not just part. No problem, I called got everything sorted out with my order and payment. I then got an email later in the day to let me know that my whole order was back on its way and I just had the cancellation fee & if I had any questions to contact them. Well I had wanted to know about the fee, so called and said "I just wanted to ask about that cancellation fee". The woman I spoke with was very short with me because her immediate response was, "No I'm sticking firm with that it's just $5". I completely get that it's just $5 but it was a simple question since everything on my part was done very quickly.

Desired Settlement: It's just $5 but I want it to be made very aware that they have rude people that work for them, where customer service is not important to them. As a business customer service should be very important. Yes they process things very quickly which is great but their customer service and interpersonal skills are lacking.

Business Response: We're sorry if *** ******* felt our customer service representative was rude. We were working quickly fulfill *** ******* request to cancel and then re-activate her order without incurring fees above the $5 cancellation fee that *** ******* agreed to (see attached). As our policy states, we charge a $5 cancellation fee if the coop hasn't left the warehouse. (see attached email.)

 
We feel this complaint is frivolous and ask that it be stricken from our record. We not only met our policy, but went above to pull the labelled coop from the *** truck pickup to prevent a return shipping fee. Again, we're very sorry that *** ******* misinterpreted our representative as rude. 
 
Best regards,
*****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on My Pet Chicken LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart